View Full Version : Psychological Test for JPA students

SHuLy
15-06-2004, 10:33 AM
i was just going through the messages by the members and noticed how ISA, bumi rights, non-bumis disadvantage, going against the government, especially for students funded by the government..etc.

did you know that now (i'm not sure about other students posted in other colleges) JPA students have to undergo a psychology test??! those leaving this year are currently experiencing the (what i call), PSYCHO-camp/workshop (2days only) i heard that the questions for the test posted was about patriotism and one of the quetions sounded like this: have you ever talked bad about the government . choice: YES or NO.

to those who went through this, a penny for your thoughts?

tunsrilanang
15-06-2004, 11:27 AM
i i heard that the questions for the test posted was about patriotism and one of the quetions sounded like this: have you ever talked bad about the government . choice: YES or NO.

what happens if we answer 'no' to the q? our scholarship will be taken back?

i wonder if students want to answer honestly , or answer the questions in the test with 'supposedly right and correct answers that the gov't wants to see/hear.

apakah objektif peperiksaan psikologi itu? menambahkan exam semata mata?

yizheng
15-06-2004, 11:27 AM
haha cool....
at first sight, i thought u've typed wrongly for psychometric test.... so there are 2 tests to go through?

15-06-2004, 11:42 AM
The main thing everyone here wants to know, I feel, is whether or not the scholarship will be taken back if you answer 'yes' to that question. If I were in a situation such as that, I'd definitely go for the honest option and mark 'yes' even though many will tell me that I should answer 'no' just for 'safety'.

Also, I believe our govt has constantly misinterpreted patriotism as loyalty to the govt/ruling party. If not why put questions like this together with questions on patriotism?

15-06-2004, 12:16 PM
Patriotism is to love your country, and willing to die for your country.

To love or to hate the ruling government doesn't make you any more or any less a patriot.

It's 2 different things altogether.

The_Observer
15-06-2004, 03:40 PM
I wonder to what purpose is such a workshop + test for....?

To be optimistic...what good is such stuff for anyway? Especially to students fresh out of secondary school.

To be pessimistic...Gestapo tactics by our Government?

About patriotism, I couldn't agree more with kevin and defiant. I love my the land I am born in but I do not love the Government half as much as it half deserves...

gohweihan
15-06-2004, 08:03 PM
From the Malaysian mentality of avoiding trouble with the government, the people who set these questions would already had predicted a majority "Yes" answer from the people who takes the test. This is also fueled by the Malaysian mindset of being grateful to the people who help you, therefore try your best to please them.

The fact is, the government is trying to get the students out of their fear that their scholarship will be revoked to answer the question in the favour of the government. I believe that there is no clause within the contract that the JPA scholarship can be revoked if you had ever did things like talk bad about the government.

Only when this subtle mind control tactics work, the government would have the statistics that they want. It would then play out in the government's favour that they can claim, based on these tests that students love the government. This small sample will of course, be used to represent the whole student population in the country.

Of course, being a government which practices non-transparency, they can just come out with fake statistics and sell that to the people. However, it is just better for them to have some real-life data to back themselves up. This method of testing the JPA students provides the data they need.

This situation reminds me of the Iraq presidential vote, where it is claimed 99.6% support Saddam Hussein. To what extent it is true remains a question.

SHuLy
16-06-2004, 06:29 AM
well, that sample question was only ONE in 200! when my friends come back (which happen to be today), i'll ask them to tell what did they do at the camp/workshop, and also other questions which were asked in the test.

i had no idea why is this test need and why the workshop needs to be done. to foster unity in interactions during the camp? are they merely finding an excuse just to execute this camp and therefore shadowing it with the 'psychology test'?

what is the real objective?...we shall hear soon from them returning today.

17-06-2004, 02:46 PM
The whole ATU10 is going to attend this psycho camp on 28 and 29 June. We will be grateful if someone can tell us what we are to expect.

gohweihan
17-06-2004, 05:00 PM
well, that sample question was only ONE in 200! when my friends come back (which happen to be today), i'll ask them to tell what did they do at the camp/workshop, and also other questions which were asked in the test.

One in two hundred, or two hundred in two hundred questions, the fact that if it ever comes out as a question in the test, it would draw questions and scepticism. Of course, the government can come out with reasons to back their choice of questions, but it should remain true that it is the right of every individual to comment on the government, whether it is good or bad. No one has the rights to ask (or in the case of the way the question is asked, force) you to disclose whether you had talked bad about the government, because it is your right to choose whether or not to disclose that information (willingly).

17-06-2004, 05:58 PM
Hie all, just came back from the Psycho workshop yesterday.

A summary: 80% total waste of time. the rest was ok, met nice people from other colleges, had nice facilitators.

Ok... maybe i should start on the purpose of the workshop.

Part of it is to remind JPA scholars to come back and serve after completing their studies.

However, the real reason is to ensure that we are psychologically prepared when we fly overseas. Apparently there are people that had mental breakdowns during their course there. The scholarship has been affected because she had to undergo coulselling and stuff. In the end, she came back as she could no longer continue. JPA wants to avoid these situations.

We are also given the results of our Psycho test that we took before attending the workshop. This is nice, and i had to say, the results were quite accurate to a certain degree. The facilitator explained clearly what it means and all in a one to one session. Quite interesting to 'know' myself better.

Other than that, we kinda waste our time waiting for them to complete their work, sleeping, and eating. 6 meals a day by the way. :)

Mr. Yusri were also present, so we kinda bombard him with tons of questions that night.

The dorm was nice! it was air conditioned, and we kinda on it 24 hours, so its really cool... there's also a swimming pool nearby which is of olympic standards. By the way, it is held in Batu Caves inside a sports complex which is really new.

Conclusion, a waste of time and money, but improvements is possible. able to meet new people. Nice place to sleep. Friendly facilitators.

17-06-2004, 06:48 PM
i think some of the 200 questions repeat itself, but perhaps they ask more specifically... I ticked lots of dunno... does that mean that i dunno much about myself? the reason why i tick dunno is because the question is to vague and subjective. it doesn't count the frequency and some special circumstances when we encounter some stuffs...

SHuLy
17-06-2004, 09:41 PM
well, albeit boring and using up funds, if there is something to be learnt, it's not all wasted...perhaps as zeroth said, with proper planning,it could have been done better.

i hope that this camp can forge new friendship which could prove useful someday. it also gives us the chance to meet up with our 'adopted parents'!

17-06-2004, 10:47 PM
In fact, you will get the chance to take a lot of these psychological test abroad. I have taken at least 5 times in the past 3 years in US. And the questions tend to repeat, because they want to judge yourself consistently. It will be of great help to you guys, especially in that you could know your personality well.

qedx
18-06-2004, 02:32 PM
Patriotism is to love your country, and willing to die for your country.

hell no. it's to make the other bastard die for his :P

from The Devil's Dictionary:
PATRIOT, n. One to whom the interests of a part seem superior to
those of the whole. The dupe of statesmen and the tool of conquerors.

PATRIOTISM, n. Combustible rubbish read to the torch of any one
ambitious to illuminate his name.
In Dr. Johnson's famous dictionary patriotism is defined as the
last resort of a scoundrel. With all due respect to an enlightened
but inferior lexicographer I beg to submit that it is the first.

19-06-2004, 12:33 AM
sounds like paradise compared to bina insan....hehe... esp about the friendly facilitators part...thought they were a dying breed already

19-06-2004, 12:38 AM
The BTN officers during our time is fantastic...very nice people~!

Steppe
19-06-2004, 05:34 AM
Are the questions asked related to how you feel, how you will act under certain circumstances, what is your opinion/views?

Are these tests geared towards finding out emotional stability or personality?

22-06-2004, 10:52 AM
hell no. it's to make the other bastard die for his :P

heard that somewhere in a game.... its a quote by someone during ww2 rite?

22-06-2004, 07:02 PM
i heard that they have counsellings, rite? will they spotcheck our bags? can bring cards arr?

22-06-2004, 09:55 PM
nope, no spot check. we actually watched football at 2 in the morning in the lobby, hehe...

cards? can, played it there too!

23-06-2004, 10:56 AM
Haha... i can see myself playing Bridge and Chor Tee on next Monday liao :wink:

gatecrasher
23-06-2004, 06:48 PM
sounds nice though...hehe! i wonder if it'll be the same for all the other subsequent psychology camps held..hmm...sure hope so! :wink: [/quote]
No!!! Don't jinx it! You should hope that there'll be NO MORE CAMPS!! Especially BTN! We've all had enough s**t during Bina Insan haven't we?
The psycho camp is now unavoidable though. Luckily it actually sounds nice. :) Even though those who know me might find it hard to believe what i'm saying.
And oh yeah it would be very interesting to know what they make of all the dunnos in my test. Hehe... Trying to force me to reveal myself huh?? That's what you get.

23-06-2004, 09:03 PM
answer the questions accurately, its for your own use actually.

23-06-2004, 11:45 PM
This is for the benefits of students. I would love to go for as many such camps as possible. We learn a lot!