View Full Version : Yahoo Mail - 100MB Upgrade
15-06-2004, 01:54 PM
Logged into my Yahoo Mail account today and noticed a few changes - storage increased from 6MB to 100MB, and size per message increased to 10MB. They also changed the user interface a bit.
Cool rite? 6MB to 100 MB....
I actually have the Gmail account...which was given to me by a friend of mine (he's a beta tester) ... Gmail has 1 GB of storage, but i dont really like their user interface. I prefer yahoo.
15-06-2004, 10:14 PM
I think this is a hange in technology..
for eg
just few years ago we r still using floppy disc of 1 MB
now see how much a small memory stick can hold data?
and I hv been to Cebit exhibition recently and the data storage is even more powerful..
one small gadget by sony can contain about 5 to 6 DVD of data..
great... great.. Yahoo is great.. hotmail sux
15-06-2004, 10:25 PM
This got something to do with competition as well. Before Gmail start with the 1 GB email, other email providers have been so quiet. And now yahoo start the ball rolling...to fight with Google in Gmail...
15-06-2004, 10:34 PM
I think with present technology growth do u think ReCom will upgrade just like Yahoo mail?
sim_min
16-06-2004, 01:43 AM
i think Yahoo!Mail must be experiencing heavy traffic due to this unpredictable news. I got 2 Yahoo mailbox, one is the normal one and the other is the Yahoo! Mail plus which i paid $19.99 per year. Until now i still cannot log onto my Yahoo! Mail plus. The intro page is still hanging there for the whole hour since I click on the button "Continue to Yahoo! Mail Plus" but on the other hand, for my the other normal mailbox, i can check mail like usual...
just wondering who else is experiencing the same problem like me? :roll:
16-06-2004, 02:41 AM
I guess unless the cost comes down, we won't be able to get sufficient bandwidth for much larger expansion... It is costly and also ReCom survives on donation~! No ad or any revenue-generating activity and we want to stay that way.
16-06-2004, 08:06 AM
hhehe..i'm so happy with the increment! for once, there'e this notice on the upper right hand side of the page, saying "you got 3% of mail" hihih..before this, i was always on the red..coz my mailbox is always like 85% full..esp w the msgs from the Recom Newsgroup LOl
juz wanna say, so glad they're upgrading the service. yahoo's getting better n i'm satisfied w their service..though it got hacked like bad last year (was it 2 years ago?)
16-06-2004, 10:34 AM
all this big storage mailboxs are overrated.
in fact, you could have a mailbox as large as you hard drive if you want with various softwares (like pine, mulberry or even outlook)
16-06-2004, 11:20 AM
all this big storage mailboxs are overrated.
in fact, you could have a mailbox as large as you hard drive if you want with various softwares (like pine, mulberry or even outlook)
whats the point? using outlook makes us more vulnerable to viruses... and furthermore.... who would want their hard disk drive to be fully occupied with mails? ^^
16-06-2004, 11:46 AM
the point is, in the past, you could always have a mailbox larger that Gmail or the new yahoo mail. When Google announced about the big ass mailbox, people took the announcement as if it some breakthrough in technology or something when in fact, it isn't.
Therefore my claim of these things being overrated.
Cmon, almost nobody needs a 100MB or 1 GB mailbox, just as nobody needs a mailbox as large as their hard drive. and while outlook may has some shortcoming, other softwares are great. I myself am using mulberry to collect all of my emails from almost all of my mailboxs.
furthermore, the one that really need that kind of mailbox size usually has their own server to accomodate their needs.
most ppl will only use the giant mailbox for merely spams. and oh shit, i could already imagine a super size spam.
16-06-2004, 11:54 AM
well, however i think they have changed the size limit for files sending which is quite useful.
And 100MB maybe useful to someone who dont check their email often...
16-06-2004, 12:58 PM
yaa..true..true..very true..as for me, juz glad dont see the 'red' anymore, claiming that my inbox is super full heheh :wink:
16-06-2004, 01:00 PM
YEAH!! SMILEY'S WORKING AGAIN!! YEA!!!! luv you super efficient mods! *smooch* :P
17-06-2004, 08:21 AM
boo hoo hoo!!! y i still din get the 100mb upgrade??!! my frends got it too already but me! too much!
17-06-2004, 08:24 AM
Agree with _earth. Those large files of spams could soon hit all the mailboxes...bad news...
17-06-2004, 08:26 AM
the point is, in the past, you could always have a mailbox larger that Gmail or the new yahoo mail. When Google announced about the big ass mailbox, people took the announcement as if it some breakthrough in technology or something when in fact, it isn't.
Therefore my claim of these things being overrated.
Cmon, almost nobody needs a 100MB or 1 GB mailbox, just as nobody needs a mailbox as large as their hard drive. and while outlook may has some shortcoming, other softwares are great. I myself am using mulberry to collect all of my emails from almost all of my mailboxs.
furthermore, the one that really need that kind of mailbox size usually has their own server to accomodate their needs.
most ppl will only use the giant mailbox for merely spams. and oh shit, i could already imagine a super size spam.
yeah... i agree with what u've said.
now i dont know the meaning of deleting mails alrady....hehe
but i dont really like gmail...
i like yahoo...but the spams ...arrggh!
its good that i wont reach the red limit already... i'm waiting for important mails... replies from unis... ^_^ 8) I dont have to be afraid of boucing their mails off!
aquila
17-06-2004, 10:19 AM
nah... worry not about spam taking away your mailbox limit... it's not counted towards your 100MB.... a fren of mine has 5000 spam mail and growing... he wants to see how big it can get... crazy guy
lynnx01
17-06-2004, 12:40 PM
i've been using my yahoo mail since 2001.. but then now still giving me 4mb le.. weird.. they announce there 100mb, but i look at it still the same. only layout different.
17-06-2004, 03:05 PM
nah... worry not about spam taking away your mailbox limit... it's not counted towards your 100MB.... a fren of mine has 5000 spam mail and growing... he wants to see how big it can get... crazy guy
dont u know some of the spam can reach the inbox...
now that counts towards the 100mb...
it's irritating :evil:
17-06-2004, 05:51 PM
i've been using my yahoo mail since 2001.. but then now still giving me 4mb le.. weird.. they announce there 100mb, but i look at it still the same. only layout different.
Huh? sure or not? i think most of our accounts got upgraded to 100MB liao... At least i can stop deleting my mails when i have to be away for a week or so now... :D
18-06-2004, 11:42 AM
i think u just need to wait...
this upgrade is for all yahoo mail users...not only those who used it for long time....
maybe by the time u read this, u'd already been upgraded... 8)
18-06-2004, 07:20 PM
what if ReCom has a very big mail for itself? it can keep a lot of things in it right?
19-06-2004, 12:20 AM
you mean an email account for ReCom at Yahoo? I think if the need arises, that would be a good idea... But I think most of us have hundreds of MB on uni email account right?
19-06-2004, 09:50 AM
i'm kinda digressing a bit :) ..but it's kinda related...
do recom has its own personal mail? somewhere where ppl can send in questions etc and the mods/anchors/admins can check them? something like a support group emailing kinda thing..hope you get what i mean LOL :D
can we provide email @<hidden> for our members? that;d be cool. though i do know that it might be a bit of a utopian kinda sitch coz we dont hv our own server n all...we might not hv enough space..anyway, anyone..answer me pls...Thanks! :wink:
19-06-2004, 10:33 AM
For any feedback on ReCom, email support@<hidden>
19-06-2004, 11:24 AM
oh..oke! thanks for telling me :wink:
25-06-2004, 10:58 AM
yo.. does anyone has Kitaro and Yanni ?s MP3 files?
can u send to me via yahoo mail?
u can pm me for MP3 exchange... thanx
25-06-2004, 11:26 AM
http://thewhir.com/marketwatch/mic062404.cfm
the war won't end soon.
25-06-2004, 11:29 AM
Competition is good!!! :lol: :lol:
Hotmail 250MB Email...News From Cnet (http://news.com.com/Hotmail+to+offer+250MB+of+free+storage/2100-1032_3-5245523.html?part=rss&tag=5245523&subj=news.1032.5)
25-06-2004, 11:29 AM
http://thewhir.com/marketwatch/mic062404.cfm
the war won't end soon.
high time msn do so...
the 2MB feature really s_x
earlier they should include a feature where we can block big files...
otherwise my Inbox always overload....
MSN is so kaya yet they are not generous.... until yahoo come and compete with them... haha
launa
25-06-2004, 03:23 PM
don't worry for hotmail. i just hear that hotmail will be expand to 250mb soon. that means our hotmail account will be 2.5 larger than yahoo, but who cares if the email storage get bigger and bigger?
for now, i very lazy to delete my email now.............
25-06-2004, 03:29 PM
yeah... i didnt even bother to delete mails...in my gmail account...
oni using 10mb of the 1000 mb storage now...haha...
25-06-2004, 03:34 PM
Gmail is nothing in the near future...
the technology is shooting up like crazy..
I think my memory stick is getting small..
25-06-2004, 03:36 PM
wow....what r u using the memory stick for? palm top?
cool.. i dun even have such a gadget....
25-06-2004, 03:38 PM
i heard about memory stick only about 6 months ago... i have not been following the trend for some time i guess..
after going to CeBIT high tech expo in hannover I have seen some small deviced that can hold for 20 over GB
it?s good that now email follow up with the technology...
25-06-2004, 03:39 PM
what if the future phone can store data as much as 10 memory sticks?
25-06-2004, 03:42 PM
yeah..it's possible...
but is it practical?
whats the point of so much memory in phone?
download video? the screens are just too small....
besides.....256mb is more than enough for a phone...
but there is no phone with so much memory yet i think...
25-06-2004, 03:45 PM
it?s possible with current tech.
if we can store some stuffs and send it to cyber hard drive wirelessly?
imagine i plug my HP into your laptop and copy some music... after that I send those files wirelessly to anyone or anyplace with disc space???
25-06-2004, 03:49 PM
yeah..its true...there are still so much to explore..
but 250mb....for an email account...it's very good enough at the moment. we dont have to worry about getting bounced emails due to over storage quota...
there is one problem remains....spam.
25-06-2004, 03:55 PM
does anyone wants to exchane huge documents with each other? MP3 is going on right now.....
I wish we could exchage bga files in the future...
25-06-2004, 08:27 PM
have you guys seen a 256MB XD-card? I dont know whether they have a 1GB XD yet.
I tell you, its small. Amazing how physical size is getting smaller but the memory itself is huge these days.
25-06-2004, 08:56 PM
have you guys seen a 256MB XD-card? I dont know whether they have a 1GB XD yet.
I tell you, its small. Amazing how physical size is getting smaller but the memory itself is huge these days.
u mean sd card? secure digital?
i thought they already got 1gb ones...
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0001A06GW.01-A1NDBS7YGOPBD6.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
Selling in amazon dot com..
25-06-2004, 11:49 PM
nope. I mean XD, the latest card. The dimension of xd is smaller than sd.
http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/cpg_xd.asp
26-06-2004, 02:23 PM
i have heard there?s already CP card with 4 GB some time ago...
but if we reflect back..
in just few years time...
we already have GB tiny devices.. comepare few years back we have big MB devices...
isn?t the tech. flying very fast?