View Full Version : Info: Scholarships that can be applied for using SPM 2009 Trial Results
slappyfin3
19-09-2009, 03:18 PM
Hi, I'd like to share some news about some scholarships that we (SPM 2009 Batch) can apply for with our trial results :
Yayasan Sime Darby Scholarship Programme
MNRB Scholarship Fund
I didn't link them to their pages because I forgot how ._. (it's nothing a good search engine can't fish out anyway)
If there are any more out there which are available please do post them here :)
P/S : Can we apply for Khazanah's Scholarship with our trial results?
CCY_to_the_top
19-09-2009, 11:52 PM
Bank Negara Malaysia.
and for Sime Darby, do ur research before u accept it. They got XTREAMLY high requirement during ur pre-U.
orthopod
20-09-2009, 08:26 AM
Bank Negara Malaysia.
and for Sime Darby, do ur research before u accept it. They got XTREAMLY high requirement during ur pre-U.
im just curious.What do you mean by extremely high requirement.What is it like for a levels and SAM..it cant be more than straight a's can it?
slappyfin3
21-09-2009, 10:30 AM
You need 7A1's + in your trial to apply for YSD Scholarship.
Btw, I've checked and Bank Negara isn't open for trials o.o
CCY_to_the_top
21-09-2009, 03:46 PM
what i mean is u need high academic achievement not to obtain the PRE-U scholarship, but to continue ur scholarship (making sure that they wont terminate ur scholarship due to poor academic achievement).
E.G.
Sime darby only allowed you to apply for 6 Universities in USA. and all of them are Ivies and Ivies standard uni. So once the Uni in USA dont accept u into their uni, u are done.
same goes to BNM. but there are 10 uni for BNM.
*I mean, for USA. Im not sure about UK program.
*Think wisely. But i advise u too apply 1st and think later. there are no social responsibilities that some recomers will bring out later in the thread. So, just apply.
btw, BNM do offer scholarships for trials.
lowxuan
21-09-2009, 04:37 PM
do u alll noe any bout STPM trial exam 1?
SukQin
21-09-2009, 08:05 PM
Petronas scholarship is also available.But I dont know whether it is open for application already or not.By the way,when I visited the YSD,the scholarship is only for the undergraduates.Can we really apply YSD by using our trual exam results??
unsolvedcryptex
22-09-2009, 12:02 PM
Petronas scholarship is also available.But I dont know whether it is open for application already or not.By the way,when I visited the YSD,the scholarship is only for the undergraduates.Can we really apply YSD by using our trual exam results??
got pre-u also.check properly.
die la..i dun have trial result.sumore date line is 3 oct.how many ppl got their trial result d?no trial result cant apply?
slappyfin3:i help u 2 link it
click here (http://impact-my.jobstreet.com/jobs/jobdesc.asp?type=0&eid=14961869&jid=903924&did=337&its=0&src=8&itn=)
slappyfin3
24-09-2009, 01:35 PM
unsolved - my school marked our trial papers pretty fast. Within the week (if you were kalut enough to go asking around) you could find out what your results were. Did you ask your teachers yet?
unsolvedcryptex
24-09-2009, 01:50 PM
unsolved - my school marked our trial papers pretty fast. Within the week (if you were kalut enough to go asking around) you could find out what your results were. Did you ask your teachers yet?
erm
first,we all din rly go and ask la..later affects other subjects.so we just concentrate on our paper.besides,the timetable is very tight.we dun have a lot of free time.
second,now is holiday cant ask.our teachers also prefer to mark it during holiday.
I think i am open to any changes in the marks.who knows mayb we can get marks on some place.so if i were to ask my marks before skul holiday,it might not be the correct marks.later rugi la.put lower marks.haha.later 6A1 oni.haha.miss 1 A1.
Sighz.but will wait till skul reopen and wait for my marks.if can apply.if cant then nvm looo.Threres another one at march
slappyfin3
24-09-2009, 02:06 PM
erm
first,we all din rly go and ask la..later affects other subjects.so we just concentrate on our paper.besides,the timetable is very tight.we dun have a lot of free time.
second,now is holiday cant ask.our teachers also prefer to mark it during holiday.
I think i am open to any changes in the marks.who knows mayb we can get marks on some place.so if i were to ask my marks before skul holiday,it might not be the correct marks.later rugi la.put lower marks.haha.later 6A1 oni.haha.miss 1 A1.
Yeah, that's true too. Squeezing extra marks can only be done once you've got the paper in hand and an iron will to get that A XD
unsolvedcryptex
24-09-2009, 08:52 PM
Yeah, that's true too. Squeezing extra marks can only be done once you've got the paper in hand and an iron will to get that A XD
haha..so u submited ur markss?
slappyfin3
25-09-2009, 01:55 AM
Yeah, I figured If i was satisfied with my marks i'd just use them anyway. Oh BTW, Khazanah is also open for application. You need to register before sept 28 tho
unsolvedcryptex
25-09-2009, 05:26 AM
oh ok thx.
thats not the case for me.we barely even know wat marks we got.when did ur trial start actually?mine is first of sept.coz i thot its actually too early la for us to know all of our marks.i suspect ur trial starts earlier than mine.
Correction.Khazanah is not open for us yet.
slappyfin3:u sure u registered with khazanah?thats undergraduate u know.
slappyfin3
25-09-2009, 11:54 PM
Well, I applied for khazanah, my friend from another school told me that his counselor told him to apply. It says SPM or equivalent. Trials is equivalent to SPM. Wouldn't you say so :D?
Yeah I think mine started earlier than yours. It was a 2 1/2 week long trial for me. One subject a day haha.
unsolvedcryptex
26-09-2009, 11:02 AM
Well, I applied for khazanah, my friend from another school told me that his counselor told him to apply. It says SPM or equivalent. Trials is equivalent to SPM. Wouldn't you say so :D?
Yeah I think mine started earlier than yours. It was a 2 1/2 week long trial for me. One subject a day haha.
erm ok...but then its undergraduate .how do u fill in the pre-u results?haha
slappyfin3
27-09-2009, 12:08 AM
Lol, i just gave them my SPM trial results. There was no pre-u course asked. You can check it out, me and a friend filled in the topmost one.
unsolvedcryptex
27-09-2009, 09:47 AM
ooh ok.nvm la dun wanna apply for it.
first,like i said no trial results
second,i dun have pre-u results.altho its not asked.mayb u overlooked it.i think it will b asked or smtg.or mayb rly dun hav.
lolz.thx for telling anyway
zulex
29-09-2009, 04:32 PM
my friends had attended sime darby talk past few weeks. she said that if you have applied using ur trials results, chances for you to apply for sime darby scholarship after SPM result is very thin. probably ur application after SPM is rejected.
any sime darby scholars? is it true after all?
anyone noe of other scholarship tat can apply wit trial results...?
for biomedicine or medicine...
CCY_to_the_top
30-09-2009, 09:38 PM
for medic. scholarships are limited. very limited.
in fact, i think only JPA offers medic scholarship. But of course, there are many ways out there.
wahaha
01-10-2009, 12:59 PM
Jpa need to apply using spm result or trial result?
starlover
01-10-2009, 05:09 PM
anyone noe of other scholarship tat can apply wit trial results...?
for biomedicine or medicine...
i don't think there are scholarships for medic using trial result. JPA and MARA can only be applied using spm result.
for medic. scholarships are limited. very limited.
in fact, i think only JPA offers medic scholarship. But of course, there are many ways out there.
agreed.:nod
Jpa need to apply using spm result or trial result?
spm result. you need to be aware when the application is going to be opened. it is shortly after the spm result comes out :nod
i would appreciate it if anyone here can gif a full explanation on all the differences of biomedicine or medicine...
i would also like 2 noe the job opportunities of biomedicine....
Thanks.....
unsolvedcryptex
02-10-2009, 05:27 PM
i would appreciate it if anyone here can gif a full explanation on all the differences of biomedicine or medicine...
Thanks.....
well i cant help u in this,but then u can always google search it.it takes initatives to go 2 edu fairs to ask bout courses and googling.its not wrong to ask here,but try to have a bit initiative to make some research urself.sometimes wat others say might not b the thing ure finding.Unless,u know both of them,just a little bit confused bout the differences
slappyfin3
02-10-2009, 05:58 PM
my friends had attended sime darby talk past few weeks. she said that if you have applied using ur trials results, chances for you to apply for sime darby scholarship after SPM result is very thin. probably ur application after SPM is rejected.
any sime darby scholars? is it true after all?
My counselor didn't tell us that though, haha.
Thanks.....
Well, here's my 2 cents
Biomedicine is usually not concerned with the practice of medicine as much as it is with the theory, knowledge and research of it; its results render possible new drugs and a deeper, molecular understanding of the mechanisms underlying disease, and thus lays the foundation of all medical application, diagnosis and treatment.
That was from wikipedia. I suppose you might as well research what Nuclear Med. is about too since you're considering studying medicine from what I can tell.
Like cryptex said, you need a little initiative and a search engine to find out more about your choices :)
JoyceLWY
03-10-2009, 02:37 PM
Hey guys, have you heard about the new grading system? Using A+, A and A-? Is it going to be implemented this year for our SPM?
So the Bank Negara scholarship is not open for application yet right?
what i mean is u need high academic achievement not to obtain the PRE-U scholarship, but to continue ur scholarship (making sure that they wont terminate ur scholarship due to poor academic achievement).
E.G.
Sime darby only allowed you to apply for 6 Universities in USA. and all of them are Ivies and Ivies standard uni. So once the Uni in USA dont accept u into their uni, u are done.
same goes to BNM. but there are 10 uni for BNM.
*I mean, for USA. Im not sure about UK program.
*Think wisely. But i advise u too apply 1st and think later. there are no social responsibilities that some recomers will bring out later in the thread. So, just apply.
btw, BNM do offer scholarships for trials.
could you post the link for the application of BNM using trials please? thanks a lot.
TheTruthIsFake
03-10-2009, 03:04 PM
I thought BNM scholarship is only open for real SPM results. Not trials?
slappyfin3
03-10-2009, 08:35 PM
Hey guys, have you heard about the new grading system? Using A+, A and A-? Is it going to be implemented this year for our SPM?
So the Bank Negara scholarship is not open for application yet right?
could you post the link for the application of BNM using trials please? thanks a lot.
There is no link, you need to ask your counselor for details about it. however, with the new grading system up I think it would be better to focus on getting A+ so that you can have a better chance at getting the scholarship after your SPM :)
These trial scholarships are v. limited I hear. ( and eventually they will look at your actual SPM anyway )
Hope that helped XD
JoyceLWY
03-10-2009, 11:45 PM
Ooh okay, thanks! Hmm, I hope my counsellor is able to help. Heh, the last time I went there to ask about ASEAN scholarships, they were quite clueless, lol! thanks anyway (:
unsolvedcryptex
04-10-2009, 10:07 AM
Ooh okay, thanks! Hmm, I hope my counsellor is able to help. Heh, the last time I went there to ask about ASEAN scholarships, they were quite clueless, lol! thanks anyway (:
Before u ask your skul counselor,try making some research here or at their own website first.that will b the best.Then find your skul counsellor,to get more extra infos.I think they know more about matriculation and asasi/diploma at IPTA.My skul's counsellor knows quite alot.Yeah,and i was lucky to have her.
If ur skul's counsellor wasnt able to provideo infos,then try asking ur seniors or any relatives.
There is no link, you need to ask your counselor for details about it. however, with the new grading system up I think it would be better to focus on getting A+ so that you can have a better chance at getting the scholarship after your SPM :)
These trial scholarships are v. limited I hear. ( and eventually they will look at your actual SPM anyway )
Hope that helped XD
I hate the new A+ system.Sighz,i had to work extra extra hard for Sejarah and Bm.I think all of u know the importance of both of these subjects.So now,its like scoring 80+ in ur Sejarah and Bm for SPM.@<hidden>@<hidden>(the 80+ benchmark is my assumption of A+ which takes the benchmark of A into account.So,its just my assumption of A+.Its might correct.might not be)
is Sejarah tat important...? i thought onli BM and Moral is most important 2 get an A+..?
TheTruthIsFake
04-10-2009, 02:32 PM
Problem is.. I heard that A+ is not 80+ but 90+
That MAKES everything difficult. (Maybe aside from Math, Add Math, Chemistry, and Accounts)
slappyfin3
04-10-2009, 05:59 PM
I'd agree with you on that but I've never come across an Add Maths paper I could get more than 85 on haha. Ah well, maybe I'm not A+ add maths material :)
unsolvedcryptex
04-10-2009, 09:14 PM
is Sejarah tat important...? i thought onli BM and Moral is most important 2 get an A+..?
yes sejarah is important.due to certain reasons,find out urself if u want to.i cant reveal y these 3 subs r important.
That MAKES everything difficult. (Maybe aside from Math, Add Math, Chemistry, and Accounts)
yea i know in skul level i think A+ is 90+.I heard that as well.Think again,in spm,If 70+ is considered A,then we can consider A+ is 80+.That is my assumption.since,in normal skul results,we tend to get A2,but in spm,we can get A1.I had some seniors who failed add maths,but passed with flying colours in spm.Therefore,90+ in spm for A+ is quite impossible isnt it?
Nevertheless,I dun care!its still betta to score the most.But to score sejarah and bm as well as moral A+ is like hell.Bio as well.haiz .thats y i totally dislike the new A+ system despite it gives a more detailed infos bout excellent students.
I'd agree with you on that but I've never come across an Add Maths paper I could get more than 85 on haha. Ah well, maybe I'm not A+ add maths material :)
dun wry bout add maths,its not that hard compared to Sejarah.My trial sejarah sucked a lot.sighz.I calculated,for one to get 80+ in sejarah ,its like getting somewhere 15/20 in each essays and 8 wrongs for structure.In MCQ,its like 35/40.Of course,this is just a benchmark to get 80 for sejarah.It can change.Imagine that!15/20 in sejarah essay.@<hidden>@<hidden> i can die like that.
haiz.gotta work extra hard for my spm bcz of the new system.
where did u heard tat A+ grade is >90..?
is the source u heard from reliable..?
anyone here has reliable info on the new grading system..?
anyone noe the benchmarks for A+, A, and A-...?
slappyfin3
06-10-2009, 11:01 AM
I don't think they'll tell us what the grade for A+ actually is. Perhaps the guru2 pakar will congregate and discuss this matter in detail after our SPM results are analyzed.
TheTruthIsFake
17-10-2009, 06:14 PM
The MNRB Scholarship Fund, I think thats for SPM 2008 batch. Because it says the deadline is 12/1/2009.. which is well, long ago.
tsuhuey
12-11-2009, 01:35 PM
hey, i wonder did anyone of you apply for the sime darby pre-u scholarship? it's the only scholarship that i found.. which is based on the spm trials at the moment..
isha02
14-11-2009, 03:37 PM
hey, i wonder did anyone of you apply for the sime darby pre-u scholarship? it's the only scholarship that i found.. which is based on the spm trials at the moment..
hi.i applied using my trials last year n im now a sime darby scholar.doin pre-u now.feel free to ask if anytin :)
zahra
14-11-2009, 08:14 PM
*hands up!*
I applied Sime Darby Scholarship using my trial result.
to isha02
1. When did they announced the shortlisted candidates last year?
2. How was the evaluation? How was the interviews?
3. How about scholars who did not meet the requirements when the SPM result was announced?
Hehe. Sorry ya, too many questions. But I am really curious. :P
isha02
15-11-2009, 09:56 PM
*hands up!*
I applied Sime Darby Scholarship using my trial result.
to isha02
1. When did they announced the shortlisted candidates last year?
2. How was the evaluation? How was the interviews?
3. How about scholars who did not meet the requirements when the SPM result was announced?
Hehe. Sorry ya, too many questions. But I am really curious. :P
hi :)
1.by shorlisted candidates, u mean d ones who were chosen 4 d scholarshp or 4 d 1st intw? i tink 1st intw startd around end of nov or early dec...final assesmnt was around end of jan or early feb...we enrolled 4 pre-u by d end of feb...
2. 2 b frank, d asesmnts were hard...i tink u cn google up n c d type of assmnt tey do :) bt u noe wut? d whole journey has been an amazing learning xprnce.d assmnts were tough, bt tey made us grow as individuals.u wil learn lotsa ting bout urself aftr evry assmnt.aftr all 4 assmnts, u wil realize u hv canged in a +ve way.
3. SD is very serious bout tis policy...my fren dint meet req 4 her spm, n she was terminatd...she appealed so many times, bt in d end, nutin workd.so yeah, its kinda serious.
hope tat helped.cnt go detailed here, hv tonnes of essays 2 do*sigh*
haha, gud luck!
tsuhuey
16-11-2009, 12:37 AM
hi isha02,
i applied the pre-u thinggie using my trials too, just got notified one week ago by SD ... erm, it seems like there'd be a first assessment on the fourth week of december, after spm..
I'd like to ask,
1.) what's the first assessment of yours? i've done some 'research' on this SD scholarship, through what i've come across.. will it be the PHONE INTERVIEW?
and i've also read through many previous experiences of SD candidates, i could only say that it's challenging..
2.) would you advise me to 'just be yourself' too during the interview? let my own personality shine?
i sincerely appreciate your help, feeling grateful at the same time for accidentally 'bumped' into this network one month ago. Thank you!
isha02
16-11-2009, 09:47 PM
hey ter, i wil make a quick reply here coz im xtremely busy at d moment...
1) i nvr had fone intw.my 1st asmnt was verbal n numerical asesmnt, personality test n group discusion.
2)definitely.i tink tats wat won me d scholarship.but b d best part of urself.dare 2 speak up n stand by ur own opinion.u might find urself defending an idea alone while d whole room disagrees.just b confident in urself n trust ur ideas.b prepared 2 b bombarded w questions.tey wil try 2 point out weakness in ur answr.dont give up! DEFEND :)
tsuhuey
15-12-2009, 02:06 PM
hey ter, i wil make a quick reply here coz im xtremely busy at d moment...
1) i nvr had fone intw.my 1st asmnt was verbal n numerical asesmnt, personality test n group discusion.
2)definitely.i tink tats wat won me d scholarship.but b d best part of urself.dare 2 speak up n stand by ur own opinion.u might find urself defending an idea alone while d whole room disagrees.just b confident in urself n trust ur ideas.b prepared 2 b bombarded w questions.tey wil try 2 point out weakness in ur answr.dont give up! DEFEND :)
thanks for replying again, just finished my spm yesterday.. so i'm gonna prepare myself for this .... wonder will the assessment be held in my own state or do i have to travel somewhere else to do the assessment... and the worst thing is my parents are planning on a vacation at the moment and sime darby hasn't told us the exact date about the assessment.. stuck in the middle.. yiish
isha02
15-12-2009, 07:10 PM
thanks for replying again, just finished my spm yesterday.. so i'm gonna prepare myself for this .... wonder will the assessment be held in my own state or do i have to travel somewhere else to do the assessment... and the worst thing is my parents are planning on a vacation at the moment and sime darby hasn't told us the exact date about the assessment.. stuck in the middle.. yiish
haha sure...feel free 2 ask if nytin...im kinda free now since i ald got my uni offer...so cn sit bk n njoy life hahaha....well,d itws r usualy held around kl...my 1st assmnrt was in bukit kiara(sime darby business skul) n d 3rd assmnt was in wisma SD...final asmnt was in PNB Darby Park...so its all around kl...wer r u frm?
tsuhuey
15-12-2009, 08:35 PM
i'm a penang girl.. how many days did you get to prepare yourself before the assessment? in other words, when will sime darby notify the candidates before the thinggy? will i be required to send them or bring them any documents?
was the numerical assessment tough? coz when i went for the asean schol. assessment... i screwed up.. hahaha, what an experience.
isha02
15-12-2009, 10:39 PM
lol i dont rili rmmbr how many days i had...its almost 1 year now...bt i dint do much preparation lol..
yea tey did ask 4 photostated copies of certs,ic n stuff like tat...
tsuhuey
17-12-2009, 11:35 PM
i just received the notification, my first assessment will be on the 23rd of december at bukit kiara, the business school too. task 1 is the group discussion.......task 2- online assessment.. same as yours.
group discussion, erm, senior.. how long is the task? 20 minutes? tell me about it, will you? please please please. and the online assessment too..
owsee
18-12-2009, 11:39 PM
hello, i m new here..
tsuhuey: i got the notification too.. 23rd dec n same venue as urs.. hope 2 c u there.. =.=
isha02
19-12-2009, 12:11 PM
i just received the notification, my first assessment will be on the 23rd of december at bukit kiara, the business school too. task 1 is the group discussion.......task 2- online assessment.. same as yours.
group discussion, erm, senior.. how long is the task? 20 minutes? tell me about it, will you? please please please. and the online assessment too..
i dont rmmbr how long it as...hey stop worrying so much laa...haha...i went ter not knowing anyting...so did all my other frens...n we survived just fine...d group discussion was pretty long...maybe around 30 mins...x sure...online assmnt got diff sections...each section 20 mins i guess...x sure as well...just b urself n do ur best la...we dint evn hv any seniors tat we askd tat time...haha...d online assmnt was prety hard though...
tsuhuey
19-12-2009, 05:04 PM
hello, i m new here..
tsuhuey: i got the notification too.. 23rd dec n same venue as urs.. hope 2 c u there.. =.=
see you there! i wish you all the best! god bless!
i dont rmmbr how long it as...hey stop worrying so much laa...haha...i went ter not knowing anyting...so did all my other frens...n we survived just fine...d group discussion was pretty long...maybe around 30 mins...x sure...online assmnt got diff sections...each section 20 mins i guess...x sure as well...just b urself n do ur best la...we dint evn hv any seniors tat we askd tat time...haha...d online assmnt was prety hard though...
ya, i should probably stop worrying now.. phew, senior, once again, i thank you very much. for the info, and everything. I'm gonna give my best shot. finding my way, finding my path, finding my destiny..
if it's mine, it'll be mine, if it's not.. then i'll find another way and make it through....
isha02
19-12-2009, 05:59 PM
tsuhuey, wat course r u planing 2 apply in SD anyway?
n wic country?
owsee
20-12-2009, 12:09 AM
[quote=tsuhuey;290734]see you there! i wish you all the best! god bless!
many thxs, n lots of lucks 2 u... i m aso very nervous now.. dun noe wat i might face during tat interview.. hope everything going smoothly..:)
tsuhuey
20-12-2009, 02:00 PM
tsuhuey, wat course r u planing 2 apply in SD anyway?
n wic country?
I'm planning to apply medicine.....country probably any as long as i get to do medicine... UK, INDIA, anywhere...
yeowyang
28-12-2009, 03:38 AM
hey all,
i'm shortlisted for the first assessment (according to the e-mail i've received a couple of weeks ago) but then i haven't been called up for any interview...
so does tat mean i'm terminated??? or is there another assessment which will be held due to the large number of applicants???
and tsuhuey, how does the assessment work???
can explain briefly here???
ur help if greatly appreciated...
tsuhuey
28-12-2009, 11:57 AM
some of my friends did not receive the second email too.... i'm not quite sure bout your condition right now.....maybe you could phone SD ?
bout the assessment... there're two parts.
Firstly, you have to do a group discussion. It's a topic concerning sime darby corporate.. like how you'd improve the annual profit.. something like that..
If you've passed the group discussion, you'll do the online assessment. verbal, numerical and personality test. i find this session hard coz there is time limit and you really have to read and think fast..
30-12-2009, 10:17 PM
hey...i'm a newbie here...nice 2 meet all of u...well...i have applied for BNM scholarship using Trial JPWP KL result and went for the interview too...for ur information, BNM was only opened to selected top 19 schools over Malaysia, which included my school of course(SM Sains Alam Shah, KL)...and it would not be available to be applied by online...the form can only get by referring school's councellors...the courses i have applied for is actuarial science...and the result will be known in the first week of January 2010...only six candidates were selected from each school for the interview...and i heard that only 25 capable candidates would be offered for the scholarship...it would be very competitive i think...so, wish me luck k!!! Gud luck to all of u too...=)
31-12-2009, 08:36 AM
Good luck to you owsee and nicholas! My trial result came out late and so I did not have any chance to apply any scholarships :cry Just have to wait for March... :(:wtf
31-12-2009, 12:46 PM
owh...thanks ya...:P
31-12-2009, 08:32 PM
Good luck to you owsee and nicholas! My trial result came out late and so I did not have any chance to apply any scholarships :cry Just have to wait for March... :(:wtf
The chances of getting full scholarship using trial results is very low compared to when you applied using SPM results. So, relax and enjoy the break because when the results comes out, your all have to been working to hunt down the scholarship and brace urself for the interviews.