View Full Version : [STPM] Biology reference books

oinkoink
15-06-2004, 07:27 PM
How to study effectively for this subject then? 8O

Thread title changed to biology reference books to reflect the discussion within this thread
seehua

oinkoink
15-06-2004, 07:36 PM
We're using the Longman and Pearson Pre-U Biology text book now. But i doubt that it's enough if u wanna know more about what you are learning. My teachers recommend Campbell or Biological Science. Which one is better?

knkh_87
16-06-2004, 10:25 AM
In my opinion, the Longman and Pearson book is insufficient for the STPM syllabus, but it is good for those who prefer graphical presentations to long and boring paragraphs of information.

Sixth form teachers in my school recommend 'Success in Biology for STPM' by Fajar Bakti. It is very comprehensive (sometimes too comprehensive). But it is a very tedious book to read, because its presentation is very unlike Longman's book.

About the Advanced Level Biology books, Biological Science 1 and 2 cover most of the syllabus, but because it is black and white (but still very expensive), it is a rather boring book to read. I would propose Campbell's book. It covers both aspects of a good reference book, with comprehensive text and interesting graphical representations. And, it comes with a CD.

salyeo
16-06-2004, 12:16 PM
our school uses the Success in Biology for STPM (Fajar Bakti) as text book. it covers most of the topics in the STPM syllabus and i like the concept maps at the beginning of each chapters. i think that this book + any other good reference would be sufficient enough for STPM~

another book that i would recommend is Advanced Biology by Oxford. It cost around RM100. Its way of presentation is very simple yet specific. u can get all the main points and key words frm the text, and the illustrations are colourful and interesting~ i tend to understand faster and better frm this book.

oh yeah, i got this 'phobia' to study the Reproduction topic.... seems like there are too many things need to be memorised. i would like to know wat sort of questions frm this topic that u guys had spot for this year's STPM.

bill
16-06-2004, 04:11 PM
helo , i m a lower six student.Is the bio fajar bakti reference book good and information totally correct?I asked tt coz my bio teacher said the book got a lot of wrong information...so,wat others' opinion?
sorry if there is any offensive word.

salyeo
16-06-2004, 04:33 PM
well, rarely there's book with 0% errors one =P as for the fajar bakti Bio, there's indeed some mistakes, however, i guess ur teacher will point them out so that u guys can make corrections...

for a better quality Bio books, u'll need to invest in those imported one which are pretty expensive.... but those books are usually packed with too much extra info' which is not included in STPM syllabus. if u are not so into Biology and dont really enjoy reading, better dont kill yourself with those bombastic texts of those super thick biology references 8)

baby-doc86
16-06-2004, 07:12 PM
erm..........my teacher said tat d campbell would b the best among d reference books.........i own 2,fajar bakti n campbell

salyeo
16-06-2004, 07:36 PM
yeah... i got the Campbell too, but i would only refer to it once in the blue moon. i still prefer the Oxford Advanced Biology =P coz i can always do quick revision with it >.<

oinkoink
17-06-2004, 11:54 AM
Oxford Advanced Biology? Hm.. i didn't heard of it before.. but will try to look for it. so it means.. so far the recommended ones will be Oxford and Campbell right? So what about the pricing for these books? including the fajar bakti ones.

joebf86
17-06-2004, 02:34 PM
Oxford Advanced Biology? Hm.. i didn't heard of it before.. but will try to look for it. so it means.. so far the recommended ones will be Oxford and Campbell right? So what about the pricing for these books? including the fajar bakti ones.

Campbell costs around RM70 something
Fajar bakti costs RM30

joebf86
17-06-2004, 02:36 PM
seems like Campbell is so popular among form6 students...
my question is the extra infomation that i got from this book will be tested in SPM? or da extra knowledge is just for those who have a great interest in biology?

Moozy
17-06-2004, 05:44 PM
I'm very concerned of the "extra knowledge" in imported books like Campbell too. We are already late for 2 months and I 'm sure many would agree that it's better if we used custom-made STPM reference books, rather than waste our time on something that's not in our syllabus. I think the Longman Pearson one is insufficient. Any other advice on how to get sufficient but not too much info for STPM Biology?

baby-doc86
17-06-2004, 06:04 PM
i hav a little request...........if anyone knows the mistake in the Fajar bakti bio book, could u possibly tell me(just d pages so that i can find it out n correct d fact), coz i dun think tat my teacher will tell n me. I worry tat i will get d wrong info from tat book.
thanks a lot.

salyeo
17-06-2004, 09:07 PM
Advanced Biology (Oxford) --- RM109 in Popular bookstore
Pelangi Biology ---- RM25

Well... for STPM, everything will ONLY be tested according to the syllabus. so, generally if u wanna study Biology for STPM.... those topics not mentioned in the syllabus booklet, NO need to study that much~ just read for better understanding will be good unuff.

17-06-2004, 11:16 PM
I will say that use the book that you think give you the best understanding. Everyone learns differently, so different book may cater for different people.

I would say it is good for you to learn beyond the syllabus for general understanding and interest. While it may not help you in STPM directly, it helps build up your overall understanding. And perhaps you can focus on the STPM syllabus. Use the index and content page, to find out the relevant information.

oinkoink
18-06-2004, 10:35 AM
I guess u're trying to say that just read thru.. but try not to memorise word by word..

18-06-2004, 11:19 AM
do short notes....in point forms...
refer to ur stpm syllabus ....
it'll be very helpful.
short notes are extremely helpful for u to refresh ur mind bfore exams...
just my 2 cents...

oinkoink
19-06-2004, 05:50 AM
Besides, there's also great resources on the net concerning biology. For example , http://www.emc.maricopa.edu/faculty/farabee/BIOBK/BioBookTOC.html . They can help a lot too.

19-06-2004, 09:34 PM
i own fajar bakti , pelangi , n campell, i think campell is the most interesting,fajar bakti ,u will muntah darah when u read it during exam,n pelangi quite good to read during exam,fajar bakti contains more info though.

oinkoink
20-06-2004, 10:20 AM
Hey, no one heard of biological science? My seniors say it's better than Campbell if u wanna study. Campbell is mainly for reference.

greyhair
20-06-2004, 03:50 PM
Besides, there's also great resources on the net concerning biology. For example , http://www.emc.maricopa.edu/faculty/farabee/BIOBK/BioBookTOC.html . They can help a lot too.
i found that very detail on this link. may i know the information that based on STPM syllabus?

20-06-2004, 05:06 PM
Hey, no one heard of biological science? My seniors say it's better than Campbell if u wanna study. Campbell is mainly for reference.

alevels students and even undergraduates who are studying biology related courses use Biological Science as their text book. It's very detailed actually....and yes, it can make u muntah darah... :lol:

hey, i actually find that by using interactive methods..such as biology cd-roms and so on ...very interesting. u can actually absorb better by learning using these cds....

try em...

20-06-2004, 06:20 PM
greyhair, it is not STPM syllabus.

One good method for you guys to study would be to learn from the syllabus, i.e. know what you need to know from the syllabus, and then learn from those textbook/reference book specifically for STPM and then if you are not clear after that, use the material online. Go to the main page of this SIG, and there are a few links provided by fellow ReComers. Feel free to share more links too and learn from there, to see if that would make your understanding better...

joebf86
20-06-2004, 07:00 PM

well as far as i know, biological science is not as famous as campbell. but it was my fren who introduced it to me...TAR's tutor recommend it to them...yeah i found this book very useful. too bad, i only have a photocopied version, so it's black n white.

but, it's hard to find this book. Volume I is available in Kinokuniya KLCC and it's damm expensive (RM160..., if i m not mistaken).however there's a cheaper version,around RM70++,it's actually for sale in places like india,pakistan, etc etc.tat 1 is available in bookshops in Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, near Sogo.

20-06-2004, 07:23 PM

well as far as i know, biological science is not as famous as campbell. but it was my fren who introduced it to me...TAR's tutor recommend it to them...yeah i found this book very useful. too bad, i only have a photocopied version, so it's black n white.

but, it's hard to find this book. Volume I is available in Kinokuniya KLCC and it's damm expensive (RM160..., if i m not mistaken).however there's a cheaper version,around RM70++,it's actually for sale in places like india,pakistan, etc etc.tat 1 is available in bookshops in Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, near Sogo.

yeah...just buy the india, pakistan version of biological science..
i have one too... the paper is not shiny and easier to read actually.... i prefer this book ...and furthermore, it's cheaper....
it's a good book....i used it for my alevels...

salyeo
20-06-2004, 07:40 PM
One good method for you guys to study would be to learn from the syllabus, i.e. know what you need to know from the syllabus, and then learn from those textbook/reference book specifically for STPM
yeah.. that's true!!! learn frm the syllabus!! use the books that suit u the most so that u can understand the text easily. it's a big waste if u just follow ppl's suggestions and blindly buy this and that books without considering whether the books are useful to u or not. well, honestly, there's no particular book which is the best. some books have better presentations regarding a certain topic while another book is good in another topic..... so, the best solution is by doing ur own notes! pick and choose the important points frm several books according to the syllabus, and i think that would be sufficient for STPM, especially for the essay part.
i own the Campbell, Biological Science1&2 (photocopied), Advanced Biology, Fajar, Pelangi and Longman. b4 there's any biology vol.2 books in the market, i was using the Biological Scn coz the text are similar to the software provided by government one (so that i dont need to copy notes in school when the teacher was using the software to teach =P). It's a good book but i think it's better used as a reference coz there are too many things not in our STPM syllabus.

bill
20-06-2004, 07:42 PM
too bad...cant find it in JB.However ,there r 2 version,1 international version n 1 ..normal version.Wat is the difference?

bill
20-06-2004, 07:48 PM
biological scn?salyeo,do u mind telling me wat is the colour of the book o anything to recognise tis book?

20-06-2004, 08:39 PM
one question,fajar book says water is universal solvent but campell says water is not,coz universal solvent can't be kept in any container,including cell ,so,can anyone tell me the details?

20-06-2004, 09:04 PM
biological scn?salyeo,do u mind telling me wat is the colour of the book o anything to recognise tis book?

the biological science 1 is red in colour
biological science 2 is blue in colour
the india, pakistan edition (combined both biological science 1 and 2 into a book) is red in colour
the original 2 in 1 book (costs more than RM100 ...) is green in colour if I'm not mistaken.

20-06-2004, 09:07 PM
one question,fajar book says water is universal solvent but campell says water is not,coz universal solvent can't be kept in any container,including cell ,so,can anyone tell me the details?

er.....wat do u mean littleprince... by quoting wat u said about water not being a universal solvent as it cant be kept in any container?

do u mind to quote the explanation from campbell book?

just trying to help :wink:

20-06-2004, 09:16 PM
"it could not be stored in any container,including our cells" , i think it mean water will dissolve the cell as well if it is universal solvent?

21-06-2004, 09:34 AM
too bad...cant find it in JB.However ,there r 2 version,1 international version n 1 ..normal version.Wat is the difference?

International version usually is soft-cover, whereas normal version is thick-cover, and cost wise, it is huge different. Generally, as long as it is same edition, it should be exactly the same, except the cover and may be international version may not have color.

salyeo
21-06-2004, 12:38 PM
"it could not be stored in any container,including our cells" , i think it mean water will dissolve the cell as well if it is universal solvent?

Water is called the universal solvent because so many things dissolve in it. Most substance that are polar or ionic will dissolve in water, for example the salt which is made up of positive Na ion and negative Cl ion.
the cytoplasm of cells is about 90% water. as we know that most biochemical reactions take place in solution, therefore, there are advantages having such a poweful solvent available in our cell.
the surface of cells are covered by membranes (phospholipid bilayer). u can study about the structure of membrane and understand that why the cell is not dissolved in water!

21-06-2004, 01:31 PM
yeah...the term universal solvent given to water is not because everything can dissolved in it....
but it's because it can dissolved a wide variety of solutes....
not only cells, there are still a lot of other subtances which cannot be dissolved in water....
correct me if im wrong.... :oops:

bill
21-06-2004, 09:41 PM
thanks 4 pandaboy,chenchow n...all.
tat 2 science bio books r really good books as i ever read them.(just forgot the name )however,it really takes some time to memorise the key point of another Alevel book .

24-06-2004, 07:29 PM
please refer to campell book , it states that water is not universal solvent.

oinkoink
26-06-2004, 11:49 AM
I've borrowed three books from the library and i planned to fotostate one of it. Please recommend. the three books are as follows...
1) Heinemann Advanced Biology by Ann Fullick
2) 3rd Edition Advanced Biology by Collin Education
3) Biology, a functional approach (4th edition) published by Nelson.

02-07-2004, 10:18 PM
hai,,,,,cambridge biological science good?

02-07-2004, 11:59 PM
Personally, I think the best revision book, would be a book that after you read, you can really understand the concepts. Personally, I believe all those choices of reference books have pretty good coverage, so what you could do is to check with the syllabus of your exams and if it has pretty good match, what matters is whether the book suits you.

A book that suits someone else may not suit the other person. For instance, I like to read books which are long-winded. I like to read textbooks, but not lecture notes. Mainly because, I need to relate, and think through the processes. However, this method may not be suitable for some people. So, it really depends on your tastes.

belindango
04-07-2004, 05:14 AM
i haf this really big prob in bio..the most worrying subj..after reading for so many times i still can't get the facts..like where are the important points..my teacher just blah everything out n later end up saying"all this not important one"than wat r we suppose to study :?
abt books.. i haf biological science 1 n 2 n the campbell book..but i can hardly find time to read those books..n the campbell cd is lousy..after using it like twice then the next time use it hafta go online then it can work..
oh n where can we gud questions for exercise..like for the other subj there is the federal book then wat is there for bio?

bill
05-07-2004, 09:17 PM
cambridge bio book is for limited understanding n fajar bakti bio book is for memorising...is tat true?correct me if i m wrong...

n 1 more thing,i found tat there's one LANGUAGE SPECIALIST for every book by fajar bakti(see behind the page).does it mean tat o books jus translated from malay version by non-expert...? :cry:

09-07-2004, 11:17 PM
bio very hard ah...............my teacher "fly" all the way...........i'm like dying

teazo_darren
12-07-2004, 07:46 PM
in fact for me if i study biology, well i think if can details study is more better.i am using this method......like let's say if the parts about genetics, well i will use the books about genetics like principle of genetics, by simmons and snustads; if about cell or anatomy parts well i use other books...but for exam, then read the notes that made from the books.hmmm

oinkoink
26-07-2004, 11:31 AM
any of u started the insect collecting project?

joebf86
28-07-2004, 08:40 PM
interested to find out how biology lessons are conducted in schools?
did ur teacher use da CD?
which topic are u in now?
mine at protein....sigh

teazo_darren
29-07-2004, 06:46 PM
my school.haha.now erhmm...in chapter 5.soon in protein synthesis~

lzyee
30-07-2004, 09:30 AM
i am from matricolation..
we r now entering photosynthesis

bill
30-07-2004, 09:55 PM
wat???u mean chapter7:DNA and protein synthesize?my godness!my teacher is just staggering at 2nd chapter ,tat carbohydrate one! :( SOOOOO SLOW!

lzyee
31-07-2004, 11:13 AM
i meant the plant photosynthesis

bill
31-07-2004, 09:50 PM
chapter 8?my god..."fainted!"
i found tat it is really hard to memorise all the point even in tat "cell structure" chapter from fajar bakti ...how can u all do tat???

oinkoink
01-08-2004, 04:37 PM
i'm at taxanomy now... teacher skipped to that chapter. finished chapter 2 oredi liao la.
Teacher uses CD sometimes...

joebf86
01-08-2004, 08:00 PM
can anyone brief me on da essay part? such as how marks r given..point by point or...roughly?....

AmySpring
02-08-2004, 04:23 PM
Hai.Nice to meet all of you.I joined this recom at last week and i find that this recom is useful.It's really help us a lot in our studies.Thank to those who have made contribution to the network's success.I really appreciate it :D I would like to ask a question i.e how to strengthen our memory in memorising biology that need to be memorised? So far, we know that biology need a lot of memorising than understanding. I notice that most of my friend include me can't recall back what we had memorised before after a few days,not more than 1 week!! 8O Maybe all of you may think that i'm asking a silly question :oops: , but this question already playing in my mind for so long. I wonder is that any way to solve this problems other than keep study back and look back what we had just memorised and studied?Thank you :)

03-08-2004, 10:14 AM
amyspring, welcome to ReCom family~! ReCom is as good as the summation of all its members... So, feel free and definitely we hope that you could help invite more of your friends to come over and ask questions and share their knowledge too~! The more people in this forum, the more brain would help thinking on those stuff.

On memory, I would say that the main thing is understanding. Do you really understand the stuff or you are just trying to stuff everything into memorizing. Personally, I believe that with good understanding of the material, memorization could be reduced to a minimum. I personally don't memorize and I think memorizing is just like churning everything in and then in exam, throwing everything out. There would be problems too, as by memorizing, you wouldn't be having much room in your brain to think analytically in STPM, as the exam questions won't be straight-forward.

So, I would suggest that you try your best to understand the material, before trying to memorize, kay?

And on forgeting after memory, i would say that look back at what you have learned frequently, could help you keeping your memory fresh. This could be looked at like, everyday before you start studying, you could refresh what you have learned or even memorized earlier, and with this short refreshing frequently, it would help keeping it in your memory...

Welcome to ReCom again~! Please make full use of ReCom~!

joebf86
23-08-2004, 12:09 AM
i desperately need a grasshopper 4 cm long, for my biology assgnment..tried to catch them but failed to even find 1..anyone know where i can buy 1?

23-08-2004, 05:13 AM
chapter 8?my god..."fainted!"
i found tat it is really hard to memorise all the point even in tat "cell structure" chapter from fajar bakti ...how can u all do tat???

Make your own notes, even though u already have the reference book... write it in a way that u can understand, ie draw diagrams, tables or comparisons, charts, blah blah... usually for mechanisms, i prefer charts or diagrams...

do u mean that u cannot memorize the functions of the organelles or the names of those parts of the organelles? for the functions, i guess common sense and logic is needed... yeah, understand the shapes or the structure of the thingy and try to see how they are suited in their functions... and for the names of the parts of the organelles, the only thing u can do is to be creative about the names, by using some mnemonics or something else...

25-08-2004, 11:35 PM
hey ya , biology , so many things to memorize , i heard it is very hard to get A , anyway , ganbate all biology student.

seiken
22-12-2004, 11:41 PM
For recomers who is studying Form 6...which chapter did your teachers taught until?
Me in Chap 10 : Nervous system
Is it too fast?

23-12-2004, 12:11 AM
yes

seiken
05-01-2005, 02:45 PM
Hi guys...
Just wanna if you all have any information when the 2nd volume of the Biology STPM published by Pearson Longman will be out. My school has finished 10 out of 11 chapters in the Volume 1 book...

seiken
05-01-2005, 02:51 PM
Anyway..have u all started on the catching insects, collecting plants, and ecology project? We caught some insect and bought some as well. RM2 for each insect at Cameron Highlands. Man, for the framing of the insects we spend a whooping RM160....

joebf86
21-03-2005, 11:31 PM
has anyone started their ecology project?
where it is done?

bill
27-03-2005, 10:24 PM
my fren said the LONGMAN volume 2 will come out in JUNE ...but dont noe is it reliable o not...
my sch(in jb) finish the bio project (the only 3 experiment that we finish till now) last year-end term.how many exp we all finish?
for ur info,my project includes intro,25 insects n traits ,25 plants n traits, n exp 20th report...forgot the name ored...in the report,we wrote the plants n insects we hav seen,apparatus in catching specimen,topography situation, energy flow(how the sun energy has been used by plants n animals ,succesion ,interaction btw animals n plants+animal n animal+plant n plant)... sorry cos cant rmmb everytin n some "extra" is required by bio teacher...THANKS TO HIM :evil:

PINKPIGGY
29-03-2005, 04:51 PM
TOPIC 2:
Does cytoplasm includes the organelles (eg.chloroplas,mitochondrian,vacuole.........)?
Or just the fluid around them? :oops:

Thanks 2 anybody who reply :o

29-03-2005, 06:35 PM
TOPIC 2:
Does cytoplasm includes the organelles (eg.chloroplas,mitochondrian,vacuole.........)?
Or just the fluid around them? :oops:

Thanks 2 anybody who reply :o

Yes, cytoplasm includes the organelles...
Without the organelles, it's called cytosol, the aqueous part of cytoplasm.

paqralos
10-05-2005, 01:21 PM
has anyone started their ecology project?
where it is done?
i have done it... it's on the school field.. damn tough la... have to do it under the hot son :(

13-05-2005, 12:14 PM
finally handed in our ecology project..gonna be handing all the
others b4 the coming holiday..almost done except i think we dun haf enaf plants yet..our projects not really expensive..coz wats the use to spend so much money..juz simple complete n nice can do..

momofelix
16-05-2005, 10:16 AM
hey all!

i wanna know,which bio chapter you are doing now at school?
my teacher is about to start the reproduction chapter..i think my teacher is too slow.. :(
does anyone know anything about the longman biology volume2?which book you use for volume2?my teacher recommend us the fajar bakti one if we couldnt find the longman one...

-audrey-
16-05-2005, 10:27 AM
Anyway..have u all started on the catching insects, collecting plants, and ecology project? We caught some insect and bought some as well. RM2 for each insect at Cameron Highlands. Man, for the framing of the insects we spend a whooping RM160....

u mean u can go n buy insects instead of collecting them? cool!!! i hate insects, n i thought maybe i should overcome that fear but..thanks to ur idea, dont think i have to! make a trip up to camerons n get em all framed!! yay~..brilliant. will the teacher know u do that? or do they actually encourage that? to safe trouble? :roll:

paqralos
17-05-2005, 09:35 PM
hey all!

i wanna know,which bio chapter you are doing now at school?
my teacher is about to start the reproduction chapter..i think my teacher is too slow.. :(
does anyone know anything about the longman biology volume2?which book you use for volume2?my teacher recommend us the fajar bakti one if we couldnt find the longman one...

my skol sucks big time man... they're so sllow.. i think the teacher skips a lot.. :x dont know how am i gonna study.. all by our own :x have to get some other extra stuffs from my friends from the other skol..

now i'm reading on taxo... still have couple of chapters to finish up.. and i'm gonna sit for my aper 2 tomorrow.. kkinda screw up :x :P

dont know la.. fajar bakti seems to have lotsa unnecessary explanation.. need a lot of time to quote all the important stuffs... :P

andreleeqs
20-05-2005, 08:46 PM

u mean u can go n buy insects instead of collecting them? cool!!! i hate insects, n i thought maybe i should overcome that fear but..thanks to ur idea, dont think i have to! make a trip up to camerons n get em all framed!! yay~..brilliant. will the teacher know u do that? or do they actually encourage that? to safe trouble? :roll:

Yaya i also want to know is that encourage by teacher. If yes i would buy it rather than catch.. haha

joebf86
20-05-2005, 09:33 PM
well, if u r from kl, i suggest u go and get it at a factory in Batu Caves. it's kinda famous among KL students. the insects are pretty cheap, provided u dont take the extraordinary ones. as for butterflies, they are quite a number of choices. besides that, some strange beetles which u wont come across in gardens n stuff...

as whether one should buy or catch it, i think u have to catch insects like cockcroaches or buy crickets. for beetles, it's quite impossible to catch the strange types.

if u notice the one done by the seniors, it seems like everyone buys at least some of the insects.

teelun
21-05-2005, 01:57 PM
sorry everyone.. i ma physics student who takes biology on my own.. does anyone know about biology paper 4? please i need help.. 8O

paqralos
21-05-2005, 03:15 PM
sorry everyone.. i ma physics student who takes biology on my own.. does anyone know about biology paper 4? please i need help.. 8O
i thought u're gonna sit for it when u're taking STPM.. just have to ask for the teacher to get the syllabus for all the experiments that bio students r doing.. should be fine..

teelun
21-05-2005, 10:05 PM
oo.. icic.. but the format.. wat do i do in the paper? draw specimen? write procedure of experiment? memorise experiment? :cry:

paqralos
21-05-2005, 11:20 PM
yep.. kinda like form 4 and form 5 for paper 3.... u have to consult ur teacher about it la.. they will tell u roughly what u should do...

teelun
22-05-2005, 12:45 PM
thank u so much!! :D

zihuey
31-05-2005, 03:00 PM
well, my teacher recomment campbell, i took form6 in terengganu. My fren said campbell is excellent. He jz read campbell n didnt read others book,he can get A in mid year exam..Campbell has Lots pictures,we can understand very quickly and feel interested when reading it. Well, i seldom read it, because it's too thick. i bought it at popular book shop, rm101.95 ( nett price).

leng_cyl
31-05-2005, 07:45 PM
erm... I'm studying lower six currently..

I bought Fajar Bakti's biology volume 1 last week...
although my teacher recommended Longman Pearson for us, which costs RM 40 ~RM 50, I don't follow him.

Besides, I bought a imported biology reference book.
it is BIOLOGY, 8th edition, by Dr. Sylvia Mader

I saw it in MPH, I bought it for reference, though I never heard any good or bad about this book, I just bought it. It cost me RM83.80.

http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/sites/dl/free/0072919345/cover/MaderBio8e04wh_nm.jpg
http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/sites/0072919345/information_center_view0/

I went to the MPH, midvalley with my best friend, she bought Campbell's while I bought this one... so that we two can share to see ~
I think this book is not bad also, however, both of these two are in USA english, not in UK's... only Oxford's in UK's (from many I've seen)

I've consider to buy the oxford's, however, I think it would be similar to the Fajar Bakti's as Fajar Bakti has a subsidiary of OXFORD... not sure though ~

baby_ghost
01-06-2005, 08:45 PM

Is it in STPM syllabus?

baby_ghost
01-06-2005, 09:33 PM
Hi,I am a new user here!nice to meet you all(concern in study)!
I am a lower six student,so still new to form 6!
I have a fews questions to ask you guys:
1)I already got the Campbell but our teacher recommend us to buy Longman volume1.So,should I buy it?or it is enough for STPM by using Campbell?But is the information in Campbell a bit too much?I mean a bit out of syllabus?Or should I have two books?which are Campbell and Longman?(I also have tuition notes)By the way,is there other books which are more suitable for STPM bio students?
2)Is there any effective ways to score bio in STPM?or is there any better ways to study bio?does bio really need a lot of memorizing?Can we just study by understanding it and not memorizing?any skills for it?
3)Bio is a subject which need a lot of study or doing exercises to tackle the question?
Lastly,is there anything else that I should know as a bio student?
Thanks to those who kindly reply!

leng_cyl
02-06-2005, 08:25 PM
1. Campbell...etc... are books imported from other country, while they surely almost cover all of the topics (some may not) in our syllabus, not only cover but also more than what we want.

To me, I think these books are just for more information, to let us to understand the topics deeper and clearer, not for exam purpose.
They are just kind of reference.
Since everybook has its own way of presentation, explaination, everyone may suit to different way of them, depends.
I'm using the Fajar Bakti's and the other imported reference book I mentioned in the last post above.

I'm also a lower six student, same as you.

2. To me, I think biology really needs much of memorizing.
For some topics, we should have understand the process (or ...) before we can memorize it, so that we can memorize it easily. But for some other topics, we can just depend on memorizing, In my opinion, e.g: nutritions
I'm quite scare I am not able to score well too because I'm weak in memorizing. But I believe that as long as I'm interested in this subject, I can make it. We can create our own way to memorize them. It will be easier.

3. I believe every subject needs much study, not only biology. Exercises help us to memorize them better maybe, and of course to tackle the questions too... :lol: (don't know what i'm talking about, lolz)

aha... all of this just my opinion and what I do. :oops:

nicodemus
02-06-2005, 10:50 PM
Which book of Campbell's is the best?

I run a search through the net and found two but when I got to the MPH in my town, i got a totally different one from what I checked out from the Net. :?

1. Biology 6th edition
--- by Neil A. Campbell and Jane B. Reece
--- published by Benjamin Cummings
[/img] http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0805366245/ref=pd_sim_b_3/102-4735664-4036141?_encoding=UTF8&v=glance

2. Biology 7th edition
--- by same author and publisher
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/080537146X/ref=pd_sbs_b_1/102-4735664-4036141?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance

3. Biology 7th edition ( what I found at the shop )
--- by same author
--- published by Pearson

Sooo....actually which one is the best? :? [/url]

baby_ghost
03-06-2005, 01:58 PM
Dear leng_cyl,
Thanks a lot!I do appreciate it!

To nicodemus,
I have the biologi 6th edition which my brother used it during his 1st year in UTM.That book was recommended by his lecturer!
In my opinion,biologi 7th edition will be better(updated).For me,I will choose the biologi written by same author and publisher caz it seem more original!P/s:this is just my opinion!

elle
08-06-2005, 11:14 AM
water contracts/expands below 0?C?

teelun
08-06-2005, 06:55 PM
water expand at 0 C becuz of the hydrogen bond in water. when water is in liquid form.. hydrogen bond form is in chain form. but when water freezes. the bonds form net shape. this make the volume of ice bigger than in liquid phase. =>

elle
09-06-2005, 10:57 AM
i noe dat water expands below 4?C. my teacher told me dat it stops expanding below 0?C and contracts. so i'm quite confused. anyway, thanks for ur answer.

seiken
10-06-2005, 08:36 PM
Wait..I cant understand this Why would everyone choose Fajar Bakti as the Bio book to study? Dont u all think that the book has too many unnecessary things to study? Some of them are not in the syllabus. Dont u think that we should follow the syllabus for STPM? For me I prefer Longman and Pelangi..though Pelangi a bit too simplified...

joebf86
10-06-2005, 11:38 PM
i dislike fajar bakti too as it contains quite a number of errors. besides, some forget to mention that it doesnt cover the syllabus in some topics. u will realise that later. the language too is a problem, too complicated. on the presentation part, it's hard to read cause of the improper organisation ( too much facts in "numbering") and the diagrams.

as for pelangi, the facts are more organised, in point forms thus easier to understand. but one thing, it contains far too much that need, in certain topics. those might be useful but actually more to irrelevant facts which cud add to headache.

somehow i prefer longman. its more organized. if u need more info, refer to reference books will be a better idea.

in short the best wud be make ur own notes from different sources.
dont think of buying all the books in da market. u will not have enough time to read all of them...

how i know? cause i did...haha

anyway gud luck.

paqralos
11-06-2005, 07:23 PM
The process that occurs during the transformation of pyruvic acid to lactic acid in an aerobic repiration of muscle cell is reduction

the answer for this question is actually reduction.. it is given in the book.. this is the question for 1999 STPM.. this is the explanation in the book..

Pyruvic acid receives 2H+ to be converted to lactic acid.

i'm not sure whether this is the answer for it.. anyone pls confirm it.. thanks...

the second quetion:

During the complete oxidation of one molecule of glucose to CO2 and water, 38 molecules of ATP is yielded. How many molecules of ATP will be yielded if the respiratory toxin such as cyanide is added to the oxidation process?

the answer for this question is 2 ATP...

if cyanide is added.. the oxidation process will be stopped before it reaches glycolysis right? if so... i think that would be 3ATP formed...

anyone pls confirm this as well... thanks...

kpchen
18-06-2005, 11:27 PM
Anyone knows where to get Campbell's Biology 7th Edition (Hardcover) in the area of Selangor or KL? Please don't recommend me to go to Amazon.com and order online (cuz it's 100+ USD !!!). I've been to MPH One Utama, Times One Utama and several Popular bookstores but all they have is the paperback version. Any other websites or secret bookshops? Cuz according to the MPH staff, the distributor did not import the hardcover version and I want it cuz the paper quality's better (judging by comparison with the hardcover 6th edition) compared to the paperback version. Help, please?

mei
27-06-2005, 11:06 AM
The process that occurs during the transformation of pyruvic acid to lactic acid in an aerobic repiration of muscle cell is reduction

the answer for this question is actually reduction.. it is given in the book.. this is the question for 1999 STPM.. this is the explanation in the book..

Pyruvic acid receives 2H+ to be converted to lactic acid.

i'm not sure whether this is the answer for it.. anyone pls confirm it.. thanks...

the second quetion:

During the complete oxidation of one molecule of glucose to CO2 and water, 38 molecules of ATP is yielded. How many molecules of ATP will be yielded if the respiratory toxin such as cyanide is added to the oxidation process?

the answer for this question is 2 ATP...

if cyanide is added.. the oxidation process will be stopped before it reaches glycolysis right? if so... i think that would be 3ATP formed...

anyone pls confirm this as well... thanks...

the ans for the 2nd qn is 2 ATP.the cyanide will inhibit the krebs cycle and the ETS.because it inhibit the cytochrome oxidase enzymes.
the ans for the 1st qn is that the pyruvate is reduced to lactate by receiving 2 H from NADH.hop this will help u

nicolegigi
02-07-2005, 05:49 PM
hey........everybody,
may i know where can i get 1975-1990 STPM past years question +answer!on web .....can???wat is the URL???

i hope somebody can help me.GRATEFUL

I m a lower 6 student in SMJK SAMTET.My school library also dun have.just got 1990 until now n even trial exam paper also got......
but sadly no answer

jinnee
09-07-2005, 12:13 PM
i am a upper 6 student
struggling to study bio when there's only about 4 months be4 stpm

last year my teacher used longman vol. 1 as our text book and i like longman because it is well-organized and it follow the syllabus. if you notice, in the starting of every chapter, syllabus is listed out.

he taught us until chapter 3, and he continued teaching us vol 2 chapters. at tat time the only available text book for vol 2 is fajar bakti. i really dislike fajar bakti, bcoz the presentation is not well-organized and it makes me don't have interest to study. he recommend us to buy campbell too, but it's just for a reference and we seldom use it. so i waited until this year for longman vol 2 to be published. finally it is out in the market and now i'm using it to study chapters in vol.2. i've abandoned the fajar bakti.

actually there's a book about syllabus to study for stpm. u can try to get it from ur seniors or teachers. if not u can buy it from mpm. check out http://www.mpm.edu.my

leng_cyl
09-07-2005, 01:04 PM
hmm.. seems like longman will be better huh?
I'm a lower six student now, and using fajar bakti volume 1. But actually my teacher recommends us to use longman. I thought fajar bakti's will be nice;
however, when I asked opinion from my senior, he also recommends me to use longman. He used Fajar Bakti before too, and said at first, it is quite ok, but when reach the chapter about photosynthesis (if not wrong), he said this book can be thrown away... (that means not good then)
[and fajar bakti really got quite a lot mistake, for example: page 37, the basic amino group, (- NH3). should be (- NH2)]
[the text is quite hard to understand also, using complex language 8O]
so.. then he changed to use longman.
as a result, I'm buying longman now also. =.="

jinnee
09-07-2005, 01:10 PM
ya right, when i was in lower 6, my teacher said he chose longman vol 1 for us bcoz he used fajar bakti vol 1 previous year and there are mistakes. conclusion, dont use fajar bakti! hehe..

nicolegigi
10-07-2005, 10:18 AM
i bought all the books that 's available in the market already ...i think......stupid.

Campbell,fajar bakti,pelangi,longman,teacher's note.

Currently i m using longman+teacher's note+campbell.

joebf86
10-07-2005, 04:03 PM
hey........everybody,
may i know where can i get 1975-1990 STPM past years question +answer!on web .....can???wat is the URL???

I m a lower 6 student in SMJK SAMTET.My school library also dun have.just got 1990 until now n even trial exam paper also got......
but sadly no answer

i m looking for past year papers too,too bad cant find it, even in the school library?
do u mind to post it up or send to me? i pay u back...
yeah i know it's troublesome but...
do u know where i can find the past year papers?

i'm from kl

nicodemus
09-10-2005, 10:04 PM
Hello... Need some help here!!! Please...

Which book is better for studying biodiversity and reproductive system? Especially for kingdom Animalia and reproductive system of the same kingdom too...

I have looked through Campbell and Advanced Biology for further information but they are insufficient and not according to syllabus. Any other books that I can refer to?

(Don't tell me Longman, Fajar Bakti or Pelangi...)

joebf86
09-10-2005, 10:52 PM
well i think further description is not required for our syllabus. what is in fajar bakti and pelangi is good enough. u just need to make overall comparison among the animals in the kingdom, for reproduction.

as for biodiversity, it should be enough too la. the questions wont ask so detailed one.

confused-freaker
23-10-2005, 03:07 PM
I was doing stpm 2000 paper...and this question came up:

The following table shows the results of an investigation of the substrate concentration [s]. on the rate of reactiov, V, at a constant enzyme concentration under standard conditions.

[s]/mol dm^-3 | V/micro mol min^-1

2.0x10^-1 | 60
2.1x10^-2 | 60
2.2x10^-3 | 60
2.3x10^-4 | 48
1.5x10^-4 | 45
1.3x10^-5 | 12

(a) What is the value of V max for this reaction?

Ok,,,,,em my guess the answer is 60....but that longman book gave me 600 micro mol min^-1.....could anyone help me rectify/confirm the asnwer? thanks in advance.

Bloom
26-11-2005, 06:28 PM
i has problem in rememberist the bio term

PINKPIGGY
02-12-2005, 05:18 PM
(a) What is the value of V max for this reaction?

Ok,,,,,em my guess the answer is 60....but that longman book gave me 600 micro mol min^-1.....could anyone help me rectify/confirm the asnwer? thanks in advance.

I agree with your answer, 60. I think it's the typing error of that book.

sour-plum
19-12-2005, 02:41 PM
erm....actually i very confuss to use which reference book will be better.......maybe some 1 will tell me that,campbell,oxford,fajar bakti,pelangi,longman........and whatever reference books which sold in market......... :oops: but do we really can finish all those books????i still have other subjects like PA,Mathematic and Chemistry.........and the same things occured when i asked for opinions for which books are better for those subjects........

We really can finish????if we really can finish reading all,can we remeber all??then do we really can obtain all those information in exam???moreover i met some problems like get different information for the same topic in different books.........
so how :?:

amoz
21-12-2005, 10:43 AM
Just my 2cents.

Having all the biology reference books in the world is not going to help unless you read it. So I think its better to stick to 2 books (1 as your main reference, the other in case you want to refer). If there is any info u really cant find those 2 books, well u can always refer to other books in library.

As for differing info in different books, my teacher said that the info in Biological Science will be taken as the standard. (e.g. if campbell says water is not universal solvent and bio science says otherwise, you take the bio science version). My teacher got it from an education ministry official so i guess its true.

I hope this helps.

dvmpt
21-07-2006, 11:46 PM
yea, i must agree with amoz. you can have all the books but they're useless if u're not reading it. as for me, i'm using biological science vol 1 n 2 together with the teacher's notes.
i find that biological science is actually very compact and relevant.. another thing is, all the imported books are not based on stpm syllabus. what i'm doing now is i read the biological science according to the syllabus.

sunshine88
24-07-2006, 02:32 PM
the complementary cd that comes along with the longman's reference book including bio....is very useless!!!

jeremy3232
03-08-2006, 04:35 PM
heylo... just being curious here...

when are we supposed to finish Bio Vol. 1? I'm in lower 6 this year and according to my seniors, their teacher (which is the same as mine) just finished vol. 1 in June and they have just started Vol.2 a month ago... Is it possible to finish reading Vol 2 in 2 months time?!! 8O

But as for now, my Bio teacher seems to be going quite fast (i think?! :? ) She have just finished teaching chap.5 (Cell specialisation). Is her speed of teaching ok or way toooooo slow?! :?:

sunshine88
03-08-2006, 06:55 PM

when are we supposed to finish Bio Vol. 1? I'm in lower 6 this year and according to my seniors, their teacher (which is the same as mine) just finished vol. 1 in June and they have just started Vol.2 a month ago... Is it possible to finish reading Vol 2 in 2 months time?!! 8O

But as for now, my Bio teacher seems to be going quite fast (i think?! :? ) She have just finished teaching chap.5 (Cell specialisation). Is her speed of teaching ok or way toooooo slow?! :?:

whoaaa!!!why so fast one...?! :o ..i have to say jeremy3232,that ur teacher is pretty speed...We only finished the first chapter after several weeks..cuz our teacher explains to us in detail.And now,we r in bio vol.2...We'd finished taxonomy and now we're about to finish biodiversity...We didn't proceed to chapter 2 of vol.1,cuz the teacher said that we need to do the project this year.We had to study theme H first before we are able to start our project.My teacher will resume theme A after she completes teaching theme H....Maybe ur seniors have studied parts of vol.2 during their lower six.......same like what i'm going through now. 8)

yen87
03-10-2006, 11:42 PM
people who is interested getting reference book(stpm and A-level) with a cheap price (pj and kl area)

i have tons of it ....physics , chem ,bio

all publish from oversea ....

principles of biocemistry(david L nelson)
university physics( young and Freedman)
organic chemistry ( IL finar)
physical chemistry (ATKINS)
advance biology (norman k wessells)
advance biology (michale roberts)
and the list go on .....

please feel free to contact me 012-2755728 (yen)

04-10-2006, 04:56 PM
Hi. Are those books suitable for the STPM syllabus?

sunshine88
29-10-2006, 11:14 AM
do u have campbell's biology yen 87????

leng_cyl
05-12-2006, 10:54 PM
Sharing of the essay questions of STPM BIOLOGY 2006:

5(a) Describe 4 properties which render water to be an important medium for life. [8marks]

5(b) Describe the importance of water soluble vitamins in human metabolism. [7marks]

6(a) Hormones are important chemical signals in the growth & development of plants & animals. Compare plant & animal hormones from the aspects of their production, transportation & mechanism of action. [8marks]

6(b) Abscisic acid is a hormone that can inhibit plant development. Describe the inhibitory action of this hormone. [7marks]

7(a) Explain how active immunity is acquired through humoral response. [10marks]

7(b) State 1 function of each type of the following cells.
(i) Plasma cell
(ii) Helper T cell
(iii) Macrophage
(iv) Cytotoxic T cell
(v) Suppressor T cell [5marks]

8(a) According to Hardy-Weinberg law, 5 conditions must be satisfied to achieve genetic equilibrium in a population. State 3 of the conditions. [3marks]

8(b) Describe the mutations that occur in DNA and chromosomes. [12marks]

9(a) Describe the processes involved in the mobilisation of food reserve in an endosperm in seed germination. [8marks]

9(b) Describe the processes invovled during fertilisation in humans. [7marks]

10(a) What is meant by biological diversity? [3marks]

10(b) Describe the physical and biological characteristics of mangrove swamp forests in M'sia. [6marks]

10(c) State the threats to the ecosystem in (b) and the conservatoin measures that can be taken to address them. [6marks]

joebf86
14-12-2006, 04:11 AM
Overall it seems tougher than 2005 questions.

5(b) might be alittle tough as vitamin isn't a really popular topic and my teacher even skipped that part.

6(b) also requires specific understanding.

8(b) seems too general. You can write pages and miss the points they want.

This year's biodiversity question seems OK.

I'm kinda surprised no questions on the last few ecology chapters.

Anyway, good luck to all STPM 2006 candidates. Getting A in biology is easier than chemistry. Cheers~

dvmpt
17-12-2006, 12:09 PM
hei fellow bio students. anyone knows where to get info bout names of plants on de project we're doing?

sunshine88
17-12-2006, 06:50 PM
hei fellow bio students. anyone knows where to get info bout names of plants on de project we're doing?

http://www.4to40.com/earth/geography/htm/insectsindex.asp?counter=25

after u have reached this webpage, scroll down and u'll notice a green box below.Click on the 'Insects' and Plants' for the details u may be looking for.
U can also do researchs in public libraries or also google.

ccyik
31-01-2007, 06:03 PM
Does any of u guys hv the answer for STPM's Bio ppr 1??

lawteoh
12-07-2007, 11:33 PM

wei.. you serious ah? SO SO SO fast!!!!!

Erm.. let me ask you one question.. did what she teach entered ur brain? that means u understand it.. lol..

My teacher is rushing.. some more just finish chapter 2 and starting on chapter 1 now.. finish carbohydrate part already.. but we students are blur blur by that time.. hehe

lawteoh
12-07-2007, 11:34 PM
do u have campbell's biology yen 87????

Erm.. volume 7? I got volume 7.. but then, no time in reading it.. too busy with school stuffs..

lawteoh
12-07-2007, 11:36 PM

5(a) Describe 4 properties which render water to be an important medium for life. [8marks]

5(b) Describe the importance of water soluble vitamins in human metabolism. [7marks]

6(a) Hormones are important chemical signals in the growth & development of plants & animals. Compare plant & animal hormones from the aspects of their production, transportation & mechanism of action. [8marks]

6(b) Abscisic acid is a hormone that can inhibit plant development. Describe the inhibitory action of this hormone. [7marks]

7(a) Explain how active immunity is acquired through humoral response. [10marks]

(i) Plasma cell
(ii) Helper T cell
(iii) Macrophage
(iv) Cytotoxic T cell

8(a) According to Hardy-Weinberg law, 5 conditions must be satisfied to achieve genetic equilibrium in a population. State 3 of the conditions. [3marks]

9(a) Describe the processes involved in the mobilisation of food reserve in an endosperm in seed germination. [8marks]

10(b) Describe the physical and biological characteristics of mangrove swamp forests in M'sia. [6marks]

10(c) State the threats to the ecosystem in (b) and the conservatoin measures that can be taken to address them. [6marks]

It seemed like all require good memories to answer it.. haiz..

currently only can answer 5(a).. thanks for sharing the questions.. hehe

Hope I didn't spam here.. Apologies for flooding this forum cause I quote too much..

jeremy3232
14-07-2007, 05:13 PM

Erm.. let me ask you one question.. did what she teach entered ur brain? that means u understand it.. lol..

My teacher is rushing.. some more just finish chapter 2 and starting on chapter 1 now.. finish carbohydrate part already.. but we students are blur blur by that time.. hehe

err... actually chap 5 here refers to fajar bakti and not longman. anyway, my teacher now has yet to finish volume 1, 1 more chap to go and a whole volume 2 (except taxo and biodvsity) to go before trials :roll:

day_dreamer
14-07-2007, 05:25 PM

(i) Plasma cell
(ii) Helper T cell
(iii) Macrophage
(iv) Cytotoxic T cell

Thanks for sharing..
LOL ~ I can only answer 4 to 5 questions..

lawteoh
16-07-2007, 12:07 AM

err... actually chap 5 here refers to fajar bakti and not longman. anyway, my teacher now has yet to finish volume 1, 1 more chap to go and a whole volume 2 (except taxo and biodvsity) to go before trials :roll:

?? Err... blur.. Can list out the chapters in Fajar Bakti and which one u hv finish ah? cause sounds like Fajar Bakti is different from Pelangi and Longman.. haha..

wgy589
16-07-2007, 01:30 PM

(i) Plasma cell
(ii) Helper T cell
(iii) Macrophage
(iv) Cytotoxic T cell

Thanks for sharing..
LOL ~ I can only answer 4 to 5 questions..

No joke, but if you can give a precise answer for 2 essay Q's, you can easily get an A.

STPM 2006 Bio is considered very tough with many Q's out of syllabus.

lawteoh
16-07-2007, 09:05 PM
Like which questions?

day_dreamer
16-07-2007, 10:12 PM
Probably question 10 ..

Ecology questions are always out of the syllabus..

You need to read a lot to keep up with the latest news.. :D

lawteoh
18-07-2007, 12:03 AM
Probably question 10 ..

If its out of syllabus, why go and choose that question? lolx.. I thoght common sense can answer ecology already?

day_dreamer
18-07-2007, 12:13 AM
Probably question 10 ..

If its out of syllabus, why go and choose that question? lolx.. I thoght common sense can answer ecology already?

Common sense can help..

But when asked about examples and so on... LOL ~ mati king kong kiang..

fullerene
18-08-2007, 12:34 AM
For the water soluble vitamin question: vitamin B as an answer wasn't accepted... it should be vitamin B complex

many students bombed in this part... most forgot to add complex after the B... though easy, it's a tricky question... even though your vitamin B functions are correct but the answers won't be accepted if u refer to vitamin B as vitamin B without the complex there... this sucks

day_dreamer
18-08-2007, 12:48 AM
For the water soluble vitamin question: vitamin B as an answer wasn't accepted... it should be vitamin B complex

many students bombed in this part... most forgot to add complex after the B... though easy, it's a tricky question... even though your vitamin B functions are correct but the answers won't be accepted if u refer to vitamin B as vitamin B without the complex there... this sucks

Wow... Thanks for the advise and highlights .. :D

WinnieH
15-10-2007, 09:41 AM
hey........everybody,

but sadly no answer

wahlaooo how did u get your hands on 1975 questionS???? can i know? i only got the 80's till the current ones...

lawteoh
15-10-2007, 12:43 PM

Also, for the example of prosthetic group ( I remember its in structure) , many students wrote haem as an example (including me) and the answer is wrong.. must state the location also.. haiz..

And for the importance of hatch-slack pathway to c4 plants.. many wrote to prevent photorespiration/ increase the fixation of CO2(including me).. which is also wrong.. Answer must be to adapt in warmer climate.. sucks la..

If I am not mistaken, this 2 is from STPM 2006 (which I just sat in my school exam)

fullerene
15-10-2007, 04:12 PM

Also, for the example of prosthetic group ( I remember its in structure) , many students wrote haem as an example (including me) and the answer is wrong.. must state the location also.. haiz..

And for the importance of hatch-slack pathway to c4 plants.. many wrote to prevent photorespiration/ increase the fixation of CO2(including me).. which is also wrong.. Answer must be to adapt in warmer climate.. sucks la..

If I am not mistaken, this 2 is from STPM 2006 (which I just sat in my school exam)

u mean u have to state haemoglobin as well? Wow... do we have to be dat specific? Haha... most of my answers are usually kinda not specified... sigh...

lawteoh
16-10-2007, 12:23 PM
nope.. u must say where its located.. like liver or smtg.. can't remember the exact answer.. my teacher talk too fast that time.. :lol:

The answer is memang haem, but stil missing some parts.. so, wrong.. u could see the vitamin B complex.. that's why its so strict.. And hor.. dun ever attempt ecosystem question.. according to analysis, most students only get 1/10 for the first part cause of some reasons..

fullerene
17-10-2007, 11:23 PM
lol... i usually prefer to skip any questions relating to the ecosystem hee =D

wat about genetics? I love genetics especially the calculations part

WinnieH
18-10-2007, 10:02 AM
yeah me too. ecosystem is a killer for me. 8O i would most probably skip it if it ever comes in stpm this year.

lawteoh
18-10-2007, 03:01 PM
Everybody seems to hate ecosystem.. haha.. Then, like that what for studying it woh? :P

Genetic? Maybe it would be interesting.. still haven't reach there yet.. maybe next year.. haha

fullerene
19-10-2007, 08:24 PM
oh yeah... genetics is fun! =)

u'll learn more than wat u learned during form 5... like linked genes, codominance, incomplete dominance, etc... i never knew these existed haha

day_dreamer
17-05-2008, 12:17 PM
How to calculate the pressure for the interstitial fluid ?

I am so damn confused with osmotic pressure and hydrostatic pressure too !

Enlightenment please ! :)

sugarspice
25-05-2008, 04:43 PM
Seniors please recommend some good Bio books for reference besides the green colour Fajar Bakti...

My teacher recommended us the Longman book by Lee Chin.

Should we study those AS adn A2 lvl books? My teacher actually asked us to get these.....but there are so many out there, duno which one is the best eh......

wilson
26-05-2008, 12:17 AM
I find this website quite useful.

For those studying Biology, do pay a visit there.

http://www.biology-online.org/

Hope it helps.

mochitor
26-05-2008, 12:58 AM
Erm i am in lower 6 now, and so far i have been advised by my teacher to either get Campbell or Biological Sciences for further reference. Otherwise the oxford fajar bakti is sufficient but you got to be smart enough to spot the errors on your own. About the Advanced Biology, hmm i dun think you will need this book if you could get the campbell or BS (I'm hunting for BS) as its almost similar with more details in certain topic and touch and go with the rest! Wahaha...I do have the Advanced Chemistry though..

wilson
26-05-2008, 01:37 PM
Erm i am in lower 6 now, and so far i have been advised by my teacher to either get Campbell or Biological Sciences for further reference. Otherwise the oxford fajar bakti is sufficient but you got to be smart enough to spot the errors on your own. About the Advanced Biology, hmm i dun think you will need this book if you could get the campbell or BS (I'm hunting for BC) as its almost similar with more details in certain topic and touch and go with the rest! Wahaha...I do have the Advanced Chemistry though..

Hey, I am also in lower six this year. Hmm.... according to my biology teacher, the Majlis Peperiksaan Malaysia is using the Campbell biology book as their reference to set the marking scheme. And the Biological Science by Cambridge university press is one of the recommended books too.

Guess what, I have just bought those two books, for reference and mere knowledge enrichment. If you are sure you will take biology-related courses in university later, why not buy these books now? You'll need it later.

By my observations and comparisons, I find that the Campbell Biology is better and more informative than the Biological Science.

hmm.... that's what I think....... :)

sugarspice
27-05-2008, 07:10 AM
Hey, I am also in lower six this year. Hmm.... according to my biology teacher, the Majlis Peperiksaan Malaysia is using the Campbell biology book as their reference to set the marking scheme. And the Biological Science by Cambridge university press is one of the recommended books too.

Guess what, I have just bought those two books, for reference and mere knowledge enrichment. If you are sure you will take biology-related courses in university later, why not buy these books now? You'll need it later.

By my observations and comparisons, I find that the Campbell Biology is better and more informative than the Biological Science.

hmm.... that's what I think....... :)

Can I have the complete title and the author(s) of the two books you have stated (Campbell and the one by Cambridge Uni Press)? Just in case I buy the wrong book.....:nuts

One more thing, can I find these books in MPH bookstore? Where did you buy them from?

Thankx.

27-05-2008, 07:40 AM
my teacher recommended an A level book as a reference... red colour cover... she said it is informative... she will be using ACE book... a new book... by the way, where can we buy the dissection set???

natlee
27-05-2008, 08:36 AM
Can I have the complete title and the author(s) of the two books you have stated (Campbell and the one by Cambridge Uni Press)? Just in case I buy the wrong book.....:nuts

One more thing, can I find these books in MPH bookstore? Where did you buy them from?

Thankx.

for campbell, author: campbell..reece
i bought in 2007 in augst, seventh edition.
yellow colour skin, bout 80++ for soft cover
300++ for hard cover..

wilson
27-05-2008, 10:05 PM

Thankx.

For the campbell biology, there are many editions, but the latest is the eight edition (if not mistaken). The title is just BIOLOGY. The main authors are Campbell and Reece. The sixth edition has green cover.

For the Biological Science, the title is Biological Science. The authors of the third edition is D.J. Taylor, N.P.O. Green and G.W. Stout. If you want to buy this book, I suggest you to purchase the low price edition, which I bought also.

I bought the books in a bookstore in Kuala Lumpur. Its name is Pustaka Buku Mukmin near Sogo KL there. The selling price is quite low. The campbell eight edition is sold at 80+ and the Biological science low price edition (with red cover) at 70.

day_dreamer
27-05-2008, 10:14 PM

Thankx.

Why are you buying these long-winded books for STPM ?

JUST GET A COPY OF THE SYLLABUS AND READ ACCORDING TO THE SYLLABUS !!

mochitor
28-05-2008, 12:01 PM
Why are you buying these long-winded books for STPM ?

JUST GET A COPY OF THE SYLLABUS AND READ ACCORDING TO THE SYLLABUS !!

We want knowledge dear...not just pass some government exams! Wahaha...btw if you are too lazy to read long-winded books, please don't discourage us( the rajin ones) from reading them..Thank you. Wahaha:))

byron988
28-05-2008, 12:22 PM
lol.....

i'm stuck wf my ecology project ....

the one on soil analysis and quadrat...

any1 have done hers/his ...

plz teach me .....:nuts

sugarspice
29-05-2008, 02:51 PM
May I ask how are we supposed to dry the leaves?

I have been putting the leaves under a think stack of newspapers for 5 days d....but the leaves are still green...

My teacher said we need to dry the leaves in an oven or put under the sun. If we do that wont the leaves get crinkled and brake easily??

Thanks in advance.

Vaan
29-05-2008, 06:24 PM
Where to get Campbell Biology textbook? I went to bookstores and there is only Longman Biology textbook. Can we ask our teachers to get from their sales people?

29-05-2008, 06:33 PM

I have been putting the leaves under a think stack of newspapers for 5 days d....but the leaves are still green...

My teacher said we need to dry the leaves in an oven or put under the sun. If we do that wont the leaves get crinkled and brake easily??

Thanks in advance.Oven might work. Just put it at a very low temperature and watch it dry.

Where to get Campbell Biology textbook? I went to bookstores and there is only Longman Biology textbook. Can we ask our teachers to get from their sales people?
Some bookstores might help you to import the book if you request them to do so. Else ask your seniors if they have them.

WinnieH
29-05-2008, 09:00 PM
lol.....

i'm stuck wf my ecology project ....

the one on soil analysis and quadrat...

any1 have done hers/his ...

plz teach me .....:nuts

hey there... don't worry too much bout quadrat... it's pretty easy. just follow the instructions and make the quadrat. as for the counting part, just hentam the numbers inside... and for the plant's species, just write anything you found on internet, but do be relevant. like if you don't have hibiscus there, please don't write hibiscus there .. or roses or whatever... it's easier if you find weeds' scientific name.

kpchen
29-05-2008, 09:00 PM

Campbell's Biology usually can't be found under the STPM section (where the Longman book is most likely to be found).

Find it under the Biology section (where other expensive Biology books can be found haha) at MPH or Borders but I'm not sure if you're getting the best prices there.

mochitor
30-05-2008, 09:22 AM

Thanks in advance.

Erm, yeah the put leave under the stack of paper takes months to dry up. Your fastest way would be put under the sun. But don't leave it out too long. Short sessions in the afternoon will do the trick. Alternately the oven trick suggested by vseehua should do it. Wahaha

day_dreamer
30-05-2008, 12:17 PM
We want knowledge dear...not just pass some government exams! Wahaha...btw if you are too lazy to read long-winded books, please don't discourage us( the rajin ones) from reading them..Thank you. Wahaha:))

Ahaha... so funny ... Dear RAJIN ONE ~ Sure you can give it a try .. just by the time you give up , don't look back at me and stare at me with your pathetic eyes...

Knowledge comes useful only when you have a chance to use them. Without scoring high on STPM , DON'T THINK ABOUT GETTING A WORK IN THE SCIENTIFIC FIELD !!

Look around , ASK AROUND , most people who scored average in STPM now end up working as executive or business admin in office ( although they take biology for STPM )

AND LOOK AROUND AGAIN ! - those who scored high are either now serving as doctors, pharmacists , biotechnologist or even serving overseas as scientist ...

SO DEAR RAJIN ONE >>>>> GAMBATEH OH ~ IF YOU'RE SO KEEN ON ABSORBING KNOWLEDGE BLINDLY ~~

Campbell's Biology usually can't be found under the STPM section (where the Longman book is most likely to be found).

Find it under the Biology section (where other expensive Biology books can be found haha) at MPH or Borders but I'm not sure if you're getting the best prices there.

Kinokuniya also has plenty of choices .. i actually discourage STPMers from reading these thick post-STPM level books...

I'm not lying .. pls take a copy of the syllabus and concentrate on it... (there's way too much KNOWLEDGE there already)

mochitor
30-05-2008, 12:27 PM
Ahaha... so funny ... Dear RAJIN ONE ~ Sure you can give it a try .. just by the time you give up , don't look back at me and stare at me with your pathetic eyes...

Knowledge comes useful only when you have a chance to use them. Without scoring high on STPM , DON'T THINK ABOUT GETTING A WORK IN THE SCIENTIFIC FIELD !!

Look around , ASK AROUND , most people who scored average in STPM now end up working as executive or business admin in office ( although they take biology for STPM )

AND LOOK AROUND AGAIN ! - those who scored high are either now serving as doctors, pharmacists , biotechnologist or even serving overseas as scientist ...

SO DEAR RAJIN ONE >>>>> GAMBATEH OH ~ IF YOU'RE SO KEEN ON ABSORBING KNOWLEDGE BLINDLY ~~

I don't see your problem...'IF YOU'RE SO KEEN ON ABSORBING KNOWLEDGE BLINDLY'..you are such a sour grape..thats what you are..you think Einstein studied his syllabus only? I am not implying that i want to be like Einstein but i just don't get your mentality!!! You are behaving like.Oh thats not in your syllabus so no need to know..where the heck you learn that? That kinda thinking make us be retards..not letting the mind grow that is!!! Limiting knowledge to plain syllabus!!! Wahaha

day_dreamer
30-05-2008, 12:32 PM
I don't see your problem...'IF YOU'RE SO KEEN ON ABSORBING KNOWLEDGE BLINDLY'..you are such a sour grape..thats what you are..you think Einstein studied his syllabus only? I am not implying that i want to be like Einstein but i just don't get your mentality!!! Wahaha

Ah... go ahead dude.. we'll see what happens in future :)

Einstein lives in a knowledge savvy 1940s Europe , where education is a free and liberal route..

We two lives in a 21st century Malaysia , where education has been twisted and strained like a crammed muscle and it keeps on cramming .. until space for education liberty is not present anymore...

The only way to survive is to find your way out of this cramped space. The syllabus is a good guide to lead you out of this maze. But if you wish to explore at your own will ... go ahead , I wish you luck :)

mochitor
30-05-2008, 01:41 PM
Ah... go ahead dude.. we'll see what happens in future :)

Einstein lives in a knowledge savvy 1940s Europe , where education is a free and liberal route..

We two lives in a 21st century Malaysia , where education has been twisted and strained like a crammed muscle and it keeps on cramming .. until space for education liberty is not present anymore...

The only way to survive is to find your way out of this cramped space. The syllabus is a good guide to lead you out of this maze. But if you wish to explore at your own will ... go ahead , I wish you luck :)

Hey..you are a nice person after all..:nuts wahaha..So tell me how did you find your way out of the maze? Are you some kinda scientist now? Shesssh are this kinda questions allowed in this thread or youngyew gonna pulverize my post? Wahaha

dvmpt
02-06-2008, 04:36 PM
dun follow the syllabus blindly! do some xtra revision on topic u think is relevant!
wat's relevant den? trust ur instincts and conscience!
study abit abit den last minute!
u have 2 peak and perform at the correct time.

sugarspice
09-06-2008, 12:32 AM

No it's usually under 'reference' or 'life sciences' or just 'science'.

I couldnt find Campbell and Biological Science in MPH Gurney and BORDERS Queensbay (Penang)...zzz...looks like these books are only available in KL.....:cry

Vaan
13-06-2008, 10:27 PM
It's official this year Majlis Peperiksaan Malaysia will be using Campbell Biology Textbook's syllabus. So you have to get it no matter what the cost.

13-06-2008, 10:30 PM
umm,one question,how you guys know whether MPM using which books as syllabus? mind enlight others? =)

Vaan
14-06-2008, 01:10 AM
I heard it from teachers and friends about the syllabus and MPM using Campbell Biology textbook.

day_dreamer
14-06-2008, 03:51 PM
i have 2 campbell books! lol. 7th and 6th edition. PM me if you're interested :)

I thought MPM only gave a list of books they recommend. Campbell and alot more are in that list. I don't think they use it as our syllabus

Hm... agree.. total there's 28 books.

Most of them same size as Campbell. [Campbell is the third book listed on the list]

I tried scanning the list but it's 24MB .. could't upload it to my flickr account.

sugarspice
14-06-2008, 04:15 PM
MPM has a list of books?

Can I have the link for it? ty.

lsw1990
14-06-2008, 05:30 PM
http://www.mpm.edu.my/main.php?Content=vertsections&SubVertSectionID=67&VertSectionID=54&CurLocation=54&IID=&Page=1

lawteoh
15-06-2008, 10:12 PM
http://www.mpm.edu.my/main.php?Content=vertsections&SubVertSectionID=67&VertSectionID=54&CurLocation=54&IID=&Page=1

Well, that is only the syllabus and SUGGESTED reference book..

Holyboy27
30-06-2008, 07:33 PM
Hey, what if, I cant find the 6th edition of Bilogy by Campbell and Reece? Can I use the 8th edition?

sugarspice
01-07-2008, 05:06 AM
Why do you want the 6th edition? Do you mean 6th edition is better than 8th edition? I doubt so.

Holyboy27
03-07-2008, 04:32 PM
Why do you want the 6th edition? Do you mean 6th edition is better than 8th edition? I doubt so.

I dont mean that. Sometimes info between books might differ.

Holyboy27
06-07-2008, 08:09 PM
Hey, the book $158 in Borders! hardcover though... My teacher said I could borrow it from libraries. What do you think? Borrow from library or buy it?

sugarspice
06-07-2008, 08:31 PM
Erm do u mean the BIOLOGY by Campbell and Reece?

I bought the paperback 8th edition , RM 89.90 only. :nuts

Holyboy27
06-07-2008, 09:16 PM
Oh, is that so? That's cheaper than the hardcover ones! Where did you get it? I hope its in Penang...

wuenwuen
08-07-2008, 04:37 PM
i have 2 campbell books! lol. 7th and 6th edition. PM me if you're interested :)

I thought MPM only gave a list of books they recommend. Campbell and alot more are in that list. I don't think they use it as our syllabus

Hrm... is it necessary to study the THICK FAT BOOK to study the bio STPM 2008??? hrm... i've flipped through the book.. and it's really freaks me OUT!!! Am I study medicine now>>> that's my mind was thinking at that moment.. currently I"m using the longman biology 2008... is it good? I heard my friends say her cousin managed to get 3.9 in bio exam by using the longman biology 2007.. I"m wonder..

oh yeah.. i'm very interested with your campbell reference book.. hehe.. hrmm which edition is better choice to tackle stpm 09?

sugarspice
10-07-2008, 05:08 AM
The latest edition is the 8th edition and it looks sth like this

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w139/mymaplememories/41Ht8vDgwGL_SS500_.jpg

I bought it in KL for RM89.90. There was a discount the time I bought it but I am not sure whether the discount is still on for now....http://www.recom.org/forum/%3Ca%20href=%22http://s175.photobucket.com/albums/w139/mymaplememories/?action=view&current=41Ht8vDgwGL_SS500_.jpg%22%20target=%22_blank%22%3E%3Cimg%20src=%22http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w139/mymaplememories/41Ht8vDgwGL_SS500_.jpg%22%20border=%220%22%20alt=%22Photobucket%22%3E%3C/a%3E

Holyboy27
10-07-2008, 08:20 PM
AAHHHH! KL! I'm in Penang. Popular and Borders do not sell the book. MPH told me they do not have the book anymore because its too expensive. They dont carry it anymore and if i want to order, I must pay the american price, which is about rm500...

peihoon
13-07-2008, 06:28 PM
OMG... it seems that what i read is so little compared to you guys... my teacher didnt mention about the thick book at all... he prepared his notes for us... you wanna buy the book because you teacher asked you to use it? it seems really thick...

13-07-2008, 11:12 PM
my teacher didnt prepare notes for us... we need to read ourselves from the book... she asked us to buy the fajar bakti ace ahead book...

Holyboy27
13-09-2008, 08:14 PM
I doubt my teacher will finish syllabus in time. She prepares her notes, her handwritten notes. She gives us the notes, she wants us to make our own notes too.

As of September of 2008, she has only managed to finish one chapter, that is chapter 2, organelles. My class is now in Taxonomy. She jumps from topic to topic.

12-10-2008, 08:37 PM
i think longman book better... it is easier to understand compared with fajar bakti...

sitiradziah
15-10-2008, 08:50 PM
i want pastb year queston

wilson
27-10-2008, 01:39 AM
i think longman book better... it is easier to understand compared with fajar bakti...

I would say the best way out is to have both longman and oxford fajar ace ahead. And guess what, try to get a book like campbell biology or the biological science by cambridge university press. Majlis Peperiksaan Malaysia (MPM) actually uses these books as reference, as we do not have a textbook as standard.

Whenever two books have contradicting information, I will refer to these two books.

sugarspice
28-10-2008, 01:12 PM
Does "cerdik" still publish STPM past year series?

Age_2_Perfection
30-10-2008, 04:25 PM
whoever wants campbell 7th edition ebook can pm me.. I have it. I also have Biology by Raven, Atkin's Physical Chem (7th ed).. Campbell biology really helps. It gives detailed explanations that the normal longman or farja bakti books omits...

Most Malaysian science textbooks are not textbooks at all. Only a few ones are good, Physical Chemistry (fajar Bakti) by Tan is good.. Others are just a diluted or copied versions of the good foreign textbooks

ken_cck_kid
02-11-2008, 09:41 PM
dont do past year question... better study the notes..stpm never repeat their past year questions( only "some" school teacher USES them as school exam).. anyone agrees with me??? Btw the new LONGMAN text book is quite usefull...

miaofen
15-12-2008, 03:45 PM
OHH i see. o.O well i had just finished spm recently. bt I'm most probably enrolling myself in STPM. Well, is it still recommended to use campbell's book for biology? I'm trying to prepare early b4 leaving for ns .=.= for 2nd batch haha

lawteoh
16-12-2008, 11:57 AM
erm.. if u have the time, its recommended.. but i kinda doubt you would have any time in reading that.. I bought that book too, but didn't really touch it.. cause basically, u dun really need that book to answer questions in stpm. Books which are easier to understand includes longman vol 1 and 2.

sugarspice
18-12-2008, 01:36 AM
OHH i see. o.O well i had just finished spm recently. bt I'm most probably enrolling myself in STPM. Well, is it still recommended to use campbell's book for biology? I'm trying to prepare early b4 leaving for ns .=.= for 2nd batch haha

I recommend Biological Science by DJ Taylor etc (Cambridge Press). Malaysian STPM Bio syllabus is based on this. Plus in the book there are short but useful exercises.

Campbell is only good if you re taking American pre-u courses at private colleges. There are things that STPMers need to know which you can't find in this book.

miaofen
24-12-2008, 12:25 AM
I recommend Biological Science by DJ Taylor etc (Cambridge Press). Malaysian STPM Bio syllabus is based on this. Plus in the book there are short but useful exercises.

Campbell is only good if you re taking American pre-u courses at private colleges. There are things that STPMers need to know which you can't find in this book.

I see thanks a lot=)

ucanmakeit
23-12-2009, 08:05 PM

where can I buy this book and for campbell too? is it available at popular?
thanks.

sugarspice
23-12-2009, 09:19 PM
where can I buy this book and for campbell too? is it available at popular?
thanks.

I bought it at Kinokuniya, KL. Anyway, I guess you can anytime make an order with BORDERS or MPH. And no, I don't think it's available in Popular.:)