View Full Version : Discussion: Road to study of Pharmacy

octopus-jy
24-09-2009, 01:54 PM
I?m currently taking Cambridge A-Level. Last year, I scored 12A1 in SPM 2008 and I could not secure any scholarships including JPA. Now, this coming October and November, I?ll be taking AS and A2 together. I wish to continue my tertiary education in pharmaceutical field. I?m interested in chemistry based subject.
As I?m going to finish my course, I?m worry about which university I should go and really blur on the procedure of applying for local or overseas universities. I also don?t know which suitable scholarships I can apply for.
I would very glad that if there are any scholarship holders or seniors can lend me a helping hand, guide me and give me some constructive information.
Thanks a lot. =)
Ps. Sorry for the poor English. =(

p0laris
24-09-2009, 02:09 PM
your situation is kinda same as mine..
I scored 14As for spm but couldn`t secured for jpa...but i dont really care bout it `coz I alrdy started with my pre-u since january with full merit scholarship too...
Imma finish my course in november soon..and I`ve applied for couple of universities in Aust
btw which country you wish to further ur study ? that`s important..

octopus-jy
24-09-2009, 02:15 PM
Hii =)
i'm thinking of UK and AUS if possible. But of course my family can't afford the expensive fee. So now searching for helps. If not I'll be going to local uni.
Which universities in AUS you applied? can share?

24-09-2009, 02:32 PM
Hii =)
i'm thinking of UK and AUS if possible. But of course my family can't afford the expensive fee. So now searching for helps. If not I'll be going to local uni.
ThanksYou may apply for JPA scholarship if you manage to secure offer from Ivy League standard universities, you may check this thread: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Undergraduate (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411) for more information on this scholarship.

p0laris
24-09-2009, 02:38 PM
Hii =)

mostly are GO8..coz others are not recognised by the gov :notrust
uniSA..monash...sydney...queensland and tasmania
when are you goin2 graduate from a lvl ?

octopus-jy
24-09-2009, 02:54 PM
You may apply for JPA scholarship if you manage to secure offer from Ivy League standard universities, you may check this thread: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Undergraduate (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411) for more information on this scholarship.

How to apply for Ivy League standard universities?
through UCAS? or go to each university's website and download the application form?

mostly are GO8..coz others are not recognised by the gov :notrust
uniSA..monash...sydney...queensland and tasmania
when are you goin2 graduate from a lvl ?

I'll complete my A-Level at this year end. So, currently I don't have any results that allow me to apply for any universities. But most universities have intake period at around February, right? What can i do for now?

You apply straight from the website of respective universities or through IDP? Can explain the process?
really thanks a lot. =)

p0laris
24-09-2009, 04:36 PM
1 year a lvl programme uh ?!?! that`s crazy >.<
but i knw that the procedure for universities application in UK is kind of complicated..
Need2 write personal statement n things like that..and those who takin` cal this year were done with their uni applications for next year if im not mistaken !
Coz my frenz who r doing cal in taylors alrdy submitted their applications..
yeaa i applied thru idp...i juz gv them my spm and mid term result...
and some application fees as well..
you muz provided them ur latest curiculum result...i think you should discuss with person inchrg in ur college

kudin
26-09-2009, 07:26 AM
My opinion is very simple. Better u asking pharmacist who graded from oversea or local university.
Asking them,is it the knowledge or skills that had been though is good enough for them especially when they start working.
I did not deny u to study at oversea..but what u must know is..certain course in our local university are more advanced from the aspect research and so on.:amuse

Just my opinion(medical student)

tracy12
07-01-2010, 03:59 PM
is pharmacy course very tough? even tougher than medicine?

starlover
07-01-2010, 04:51 PM
is pharmacy course very tough? even tougher than medicine?

well, some said so =)

a pharmacist can be considered as drugs expert, and I think it involves a lot of memorising and understanding. And of course, excellent practical and communicative skills too. And it's a lot more than just knowing the name of the drugs, that's what a senior told me.

in my opinion, everything is tough if we think it is tough. Mindset :wink

tracy12
07-01-2010, 06:24 PM
is it easy to get jpa scholarship for pharmacy?
is it more easy to get the scholarships study in local u than the overseas one?
thank you

yup
07-01-2010, 07:41 PM
thank you

for local u, actually very minute amount of scholarships for pharmacy course are available. for eg,imu only offers 2pharm scholarship every year ( and you hv 2fight with student fr all over msia) , UCSI pharm course dun offer full scholarhsips either.

in my opinion, dere are more overseas scholarships for pharmacy.
but regarding de ease to secure the scholarhsips, i m not kinda sure.

starlover
08-01-2010, 04:37 PM
thank you

Regarding the first question, I'd say no. (this is just my opinion) It's not easy. The places offered are limited, I think it's about 100++ only for pharmacy. I applied for pharmacy JPA PILN last year, it's a very tough competition..

Second question, I'm not sure but I think there are more scholarships offered to study overseas. So more chances :amuse

Annabelle88
08-01-2010, 04:40 PM
I am a 2009 STPMer .
Any overseas scholarship i can apply (for pharmacy course)?
Anyone can enlighten me and list down related scholarship?
Thanmks

what's the overseas scholarship that can be apply using stpm result?

yup
08-01-2010, 11:50 PM
Regarding the first question, I'd say no. (this is just my opinion) It's not easy. The places offered are limited, I think it's about 100++ only for pharmacy. I applied for pharmacy JPA PILN last year, it's a very tough competition..

Second question, I'm not sure but I think there are more scholarships offered to study overseas. So more chances :amuse

ya... i applied for jpa PILN 2009 pharmacy scholarships too...n i din get for de first time,n their reason is the competition was too keen(lame)...but after dat i appeal n i get it but dey only offer me to finish my pharmacy course in local private u which dey sent me to...

everybody with full A1 in spm think dey shud get jpa sponsored...but dats not the case...many stories behind it...even 14As students failed to secure it...so my advice is...nvr expect too much from jpa...dun expect urself will get it at de very first place, den when u din get it u wont lose much,n when get it u accept it as a gift fr God..:)

tracy12
09-01-2010, 07:29 PM
i m a 2009 spm leaver, wat m i going 2 do after i get my spm result?
is it better 2 take foundation course o a-level?
4 ur information i m interested in taking pharmacy.
thank you...........

starlover
11-01-2010, 12:16 PM
i m a 2009 spm leaver, wat m i going 2 do after i get my spm result?
is it better 2 take foundation course o a-level?
4 ur information i m interested in taking pharmacy.
thank you...........

it depends on you actually..If you're sure to take up pharmacy, you can just take up foundation course.

But if you want to go overseas, take up A Level :nod

If you're being sponsored, say JPA, just follow their plans for you. No need to worry.

*what you have to do after getting your result, apply for scholarships~
do your research, there are lots of scholarships available (but not that much for pharmacy though) and be careful with closing dates of applications

winnie314
02-02-2010, 08:50 PM
i juz got my alevel results..and now plannig to study pharmacy in ucsi..but as i know the pharmacy programme in ucsi is still under provisional accreditation..it is not full accreditation..so i would like know is the degree recognised by Pharmacy board of Malayisa??can i register as a pharmacist in Malaysia after i have completed the programme?

sofiazee
03-03-2010, 12:56 AM
I am a 2009 STPMer .
Any overseas scholarship i can apply (for pharmacy course)?
Anyone can enlighten me and list down related scholarship?
Thanmks

what's the overseas scholarship that can be apply using stpm result?

Singapore Scholarship for Singapore. Automatic consideration for ASEAN Scholarship when you apply to NUS. Sime Darby overseas scholarship also sponsors to NUS. Try JPA Tajaan Tambahan too, walk around ReCom :D

As for Australia, they only hv 1 entry ie Feb so it's either you forget abt it or delay a year, haha.

As far as I'm concerned application to UK and I believe US too has already closed. I'm not quite sure abt Ireland, heard Trinity College Dublin is good, and application either hasn't open or hasn't close (heard it's around June).

meiying26
03-03-2010, 10:09 AM
Is that any way for me to enter pharmacy with STPM cgpa3.34 ? seem like not possible ....except i m a millionaire to pay myself go study oversea/private college:cry ..right ?

03-03-2010, 02:58 PM
Is that any way for me to enter pharmacy with STPM cgpa3.34 ? seem like not possible ....except i m a millionaire to pay myself go study oversea/private college:cry ..right ?
It is impossible for IPTA, IPTS might still accept though.

beeohh
03-03-2010, 03:07 PM
hello guys,I got CGPA of 3.83 and I intend to do pharmacy in local uni as my family financial background couldnt afford me to study private.
Anyone knows which local U will accept my application most probably.

03-03-2010, 03:11 PM
hello guys,I got CGPA of 3.83 and I intend to do pharmacy in local uni as my family financial background couldnt afford me to study private.
Anyone knows which local U will accept my application most probably.Frankly speaking, it is not quite possible if you are non-bumi because there are only 3 public universities (UM, USM, UKM) offering pharmacy, while most if not all non-bumis have CGPA of 4.0, plus in favor of matriculation students. However, since last year USM has autonomy to choose their own students, they did take some non-4-flatters into pharmacy.

cmching1990
06-03-2010, 09:13 PM

u may try ur luck wif usm since they r nt choosing all 4-flatters into their university.
bt i suggest u try other options

gd luck~

sugarspice
06-03-2010, 10:13 PM
^ can try IMU pharm with PTPTN

michelle_k
07-03-2010, 02:34 AM
Hi there,

Does anyone here knw how much is the fees for pharmacy course at UCSI?

sugarspice
07-03-2010, 12:17 PM
Hi there,

Does anyone here knw how much is the fees for pharmacy course at UCSI?

Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons)----- 4 yrs--- RM 88,000

refer website (http://chimas2u.com/home/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=77&Itemid=90)

Feni2008
07-03-2010, 01:51 PM
Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons)----- 4 yrs--- RM 88,000

refer website (http://chimas2u.com/home/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=77&Itemid=90)

adding somemore...
NOT INCLUDED OTHER FEES.:P

michelle_k
07-03-2010, 02:26 PM
adding somemore...
NOT INCLUDED OTHER FEES.:P

means RM88000 covers oni the tuition fees?:huh
How bt the accommodation?
How is the condition of the on-campus and off-campus accommodation?
Between on-campus and off-campus, which one is better?:wink

How far is the off-campus accommodation from UCSI?

Is there any scholarship?
Can I apply using my foundation (MMU Foundation in biological sciences)results for the scholarship?

sugarspice
07-03-2010, 02:51 PM

Is there any scholarship?
Can I apply using my foundation (MMU Foundation in biological sciences)results for the scholarship?

Wah, you want so detailed info. Sorry I can't help. I am not a UCSI student, and am not prospecting UCSI also. Perhaps you can search through ReCom and see whether there's a thread dedicated to UCSI. :)

Feni2008
07-03-2010, 03:02 PM
@<hidden>

Do call UCSI for the scholarship T & C.
And for what i heard, the total expected fee for the course is bout RM110k+ sumthing ( for last batch i think).

tracy12
11-03-2010, 07:07 PM
can anyone help me? i really nid some help now. i juz get my result n it is quite good. i m oso goinf 2 study pharmacy but many ppl around me said that there r too many pharmacist now n the income oso not so good. really? then hav any other subject that i can choose? dentist? physcology? nutrition? can someone recommend me some other courses? thank you!!!!

starlover
11-03-2010, 08:45 PM
can anyone help me? i really nid some help now. i juz get my result n it is quite good. i m oso goinf 2 study pharmacy but many ppl around me said that there r too many pharmacist now n the income oso not so good. really? then hav any other subject that i can choose? dentist? physcology? nutrition? can someone recommend me some other courses? thank you!!!!

Too many pharmacists? I think Malaysia is short of pharmacists, the demand never goes down.

Choose the one that suits you best, you're going to do this for the rest of your life. Don't look too much into income yet :nod

supergoh
11-03-2010, 09:09 PM

Sometimes, people would say that it is better to become a doctor than a pharmacist because a doctor can do much of a pharmacist's job.But not the other way round.

Are there too many pharmacists? Well,i would rather say there are many medical schools producing pharmacist.

Choose the course that you like.Do not follow your friends.

11-03-2010, 10:32 PM

dear....
Where did you hear all this?
I think Malaysia is short of pharmacist now...
That's why it is still one of the critical courses now.
And about the income, you cant never be sure.
The income for goverment doctor and pharmacist are almost same.
1 thing for sure, i heard from students who take pharmacy.
The hectic life of doctor never ends from his first step of taking medic.
But for pharmacist, our work wont be as hectic as docor.

blurhead
12-03-2010, 02:30 AM

Pharmacy in the government sector earns a rather respectable amount of pay, starting pay including allowances is bout RM4k? Going private or even opening your own pharmacy will most likely have a better pay even... If you're REALLY considering the income level as a major factor in the deciding of your future career, (not thinking about your interests,) I would think that dentists would earn the most money (just my personal opinion). But one advice, DO WHAT YOU REALLY LIKE and LOVE, not what job earns the most!

tracy12
12-03-2010, 02:36 PM
really very very very thank you 2 u all 4 giving me so many useful advices.
i m gaining back my confidence nw to take pharmacy course.
i m applying for the scholarships^^
n hope that i can get it
really thank you to u all

Annabelle88
12-03-2010, 02:45 PM

Did u apply usm for pharmacy course?

tracy12
13-03-2010, 10:22 AM
Did u apply usm for pharmacy course?

no. now still can i apply?

13-03-2010, 01:43 PM
no. now still can i apply?
Are you post SPM or STPM student? USM application is only open for STPM or equivalent students.

miafikmaa
14-03-2010, 01:46 PM
actually im wanna kno about pharmacy course in malaysia.. which one is better? pharmacy vs medical labratory technology vs doctor..:)

starlover
16-03-2010, 08:19 AM
actually im wanna kno about pharmacy course in malaysia.. which one is better? pharmacy vs medical labratory technology vs doctor..:)

It depends on yourself :amuse. Better in what sense btw?

smy
29-03-2010, 09:40 AM
Try aimst.The tui fees r abt 90k and ptptn can gives up to 80k.if im not mistaken the basic and residence fees will amount to abt 8k a year.
U can try masterskill too or apply for imu full schl or nottingham partial schl.If u want to go to the best private uni then it will be Nottingham.

uuyw
29-03-2010, 10:51 AM
the cheapest is at masterskill + u will get La trobe university cert. I think accom. is also free. But the campus is quite small.

extrio
16-05-2010, 03:39 AM
hey anyone goin to ucsi for pharmacy?

16-05-2010, 07:36 PM
In order to register as a pharmacist in Malaysia, a person must :
a. Possess a degree recognized by the Pharmacy Board of Malaysia
b. Undergo pupilage training not less than a year that is recognized by the Pharmacy Board
c. Pass a Forensic examination conducted by the Pharmacy Board.

UCSI offer:
Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons), 4 years local, July intake. (interview required)
Tuition fees: approximately RM 100,000

Masterskill College offer:

1. Bachelor of Pharmacy, 4+0 with La Trobe University, Australia.

2. Diploma in Pharmacy, 3 years local.

Kalynn
16-05-2010, 09:03 PM
hey anyone goin to ucsi for pharmacy?
i went for the interview n now wait for the result

Annabelle88
16-05-2010, 09:41 PM
i went for the interview n now wait for the result

Can i apply now? UCSI Pharmacy:oh

tsunade
16-05-2010, 10:00 PM
sure you can.=)

Kalynn
16-05-2010, 10:15 PM
Can i apply now? UCSI Pharmacy:oh
sure..i'm worried for the interview result now:(

mitsukolyn
17-05-2010, 03:22 PM
sure..i'm worried for the interview result now:(

GOOD LUCK GIRL~!!My friend is also going to study pharm in UCSI too...

Kalynn
17-05-2010, 05:03 PM
GOOD LUCK GIRL~!!My friend is also going to study pharm in UCSI too...
ur friend pass the interview?greats..

mitsukolyn
17-05-2010, 11:03 PM
uhm..im nt sure..but i knw she went for the interview...she said overall the interview was nice..the interviewers were friendly...just that she said that there is no test because she studied, thinking that there will be a test,but then to her surprise, there was none.lol

Kalynn
18-05-2010, 02:16 AM
uhm..im nt sure..but i knw she went for the interview...she said overall the interview was nice..the interviewers were friendly...just that she said that there is no test because she studied, thinking that there will be a test,but then to her surprise, there was none.lol
yaya..i was quite surprise too..no chem test is given..i even asked the interviewers y there is no test.he said because our alevel/stpm results is good enough so no test given lol

callista
28-05-2010, 09:31 PM
anyone here knows whether the pharmacy undergraduate course is accredited by MQA and
JPA?

i've checked both websites and found that the course is not accredited.but i just wanna make sure.

is it true that one cannot get PTPTN loan if the course they're taking is not accredited by MQA?but monash has high reputation both in malaysia and overseas.but will i have problem with the loan if i get an admission at monash pharmacy course?

acgerlok7
28-05-2010, 10:18 PM
Hope seniors can enlighten me on this...Do pharmacy bound students need to take biology in their pre-uni??

mitsukolyn
28-05-2010, 11:22 PM
Hope seniors can enlighten me on this...Do pharmacy bound students need to take biology in their pre-uni??

Nope..its not compulsory...but then having Biology knowledge would definitely helps a lot...if not, you will have a lot of catch ups to do...:)

anyone here knows whether the pharmacy undergraduate course is accredited by MQA and
JPA?

i've checked both websites and found that the course is not accredited.but i just wanna make sure.

is it true that one cannot get PTPTN loan if the course they're taking is not accredited by MQA?but monash has high reputation both in malaysia and overseas.but will i have problem with the loan if i get an admission at monash pharmacy course?

may i know which uni ur referring to?? i dont know much bout the PTPTN loans stuff. But you can always call them up to ask whether the pharm course in Monash will be able eligible for you to apply the PTPTN loan or not. Or else, try applying for scholarships ...There's so much scholarships available for local studies in Msia...

yaya..i was quite surprise too..no chem test is given..i even asked the interviewers y there is no test.he said because our alevel/stpm results is good enough so no test given lol

haha...ic...yeah..maybe their policy has changed...haha...anyway, whether they carry out a test or not,its not an issue. at least u all have the "chance" to study again..ahhaaha...

uuyw
28-06-2010, 10:27 PM
anyone know anything about the pharmacy course at management and science university (msu) ? is it good?

extrio
28-06-2010, 10:29 PM
anyone know anything about the pharmacy course at management and science university (msu) ? is it good?

im not really sure about msu,y not try ucsi,or imu,or aimst?

uuyw
28-06-2010, 10:39 PM
imu is too expensive. ucsi's foundation only start in august and have to wait 11 months before you can enter the degree. so left msu and aimst.. is aimst good?

mitsukolyn
28-06-2010, 11:27 PM
imu is too expensive. ucsi's foundation only start in august and have to wait 11 months before you can enter the degree. so left msu and aimst.. is aimst good?

they said that imu 's fees increased every year...aimst cert is locally recognised...as well as ucsi...anyway, ucsi is also not bad i guess...

extrio
30-06-2010, 11:10 PM
they said that imu 's fees increased every year...aimst cert is locally recognised...as well as ucsi...anyway, ucsi is also not bad i guess...

yup imu..overrated n expensive..popularity doesnt immediately translate to quality,for private unis that is..anyways..if you want to study pharmacy,any form of pre-u/prep school is needed..because form 5 chem n form 6/foundation/alevels chem is completely different though it is a continuation from f5.. besides i dont think thats allowed..imu,ucsi,aimst or anything else for a matter of fact..prob doesnt have much edge among one another,from what i heard,foreign lecturers with strong accents (no offence) is a common sight in private unis...local unis? dont have much to say 'cept for 'work hard(4 flat is MUST) and good luck coz you're gonna need it'...andd..if money aont a problem by all means enrol yourself in nottingham(for pharm lah that is)..and.. is money is the deciding factor(no money lah i meant) whereby local uni is deft not an option( they choose us,not the other way round)..then the only advice i can give ..just hold on to your passion for pharm,work hard get first class honours(no need to pay back ptptn loan,ahaha) n into the deans list..bcoz at the end of the day,your qualification meant the most,not your alma mater(of coz to a certain degree,a question of where your alma mater is an inevitable ques,but not the ultimate ques)..wateva it is,personal interest/passion should be put above anything else,right i should shut up before i digress further:amuse

dana
21-12-2010, 11:16 PM
what about pharmacy course in monash?

MrsYes
08-01-2011, 07:14 PM
imu or monash(local) better?

any senior from imu or monash? =)

pls help!! =) :)