View Full Version : local U or private U

cooldownguy86
17-06-2004, 06:00 AM
well, i'm just after form 5. i'm doubt wheter which one is better - taking a diploma in tarc, then get into utar's year two, or get form six, get into local U. by the way, my interest is IT. not to say, the private route is faster. but the important part is, the industry out there prefer local U or private U? and one more question. i heard the government is making those three years courses back to four again. issit true? i am worried that if i do form 6 and go to local U it is longer and the quality is lower than the privates (in this case Utar).

17-06-2004, 08:07 AM
do u mean....local public uni and local private uni? private unis are local also wat....

but with so much competition in getting to public u.... i'm afraid that u might not be able to get the course u applied for. or else i will suggest u go go for form 6 because u can change ur mind anytime after stpm... who knows? 8)

17-06-2004, 08:12 AM
I will say that, on which graduates that the industry would prefer? It would not really be depending on which university you come out from, but how good you are. I am talking about not only your technical skills, but also how good is your soft skills, in particular leadership skills, communication skills, teamwork, adaptability and time management. I would think that the possession of these five skills, it will do wonders for you.

I agree with what pandaboy says. It depends on what kind of education you want to have. Either route is possible and it really boils down to what you are looking for.

Utar hasn't really been establishing itself yet. I have read some negative comments in Malaysiakini before by a speaker who went to Utar and speak, and he found that the students weren't that attentive. But that was just one citation I get. So, it may not be the true picture. I would say you can check it out and decide.

17-06-2004, 08:31 AM
Yeah, as Chen Chow mentioned in his post, technical skills is the most important, not just the degree alone. And that is what interviews are for...before u're offered the job. Who will want to employ a first class honours degree holder who can responds to questions from the interviewer? rite?

if u plan to go to any private uni, follow a tour to visit the university. i think this can be arranged, just contact the uni and take a look at the unis, their students and so on. It's very important... so that u wont make a wrong choice and regretted it. Hope that helps 8) .

17-06-2004, 09:01 AM
one thing i want to say though,
i haf 3 frends in TAR....n frankly speaking, there's a lot of probs...

17-06-2004, 03:03 PM
one thing i want to say though,
i haf 3 frends in TAR....n frankly speaking, there's a lot of probs...

what problems are u referring to? mind to share?

cooldownguy86
17-06-2004, 03:43 PM
yea..i mean ipta vs ipts.
ipts courses is conducted in english. is this an advantage?
what about my question earlier. is the government going to change three years courses back to four years? or i should ask, how long is the bachelor of computer science?

yup, tar do have problem. i mean every ipta/ipts do have it's own problem. nothing is perfect.

anyway, if u guys were me, which 1 do u go for? ipta or ipts?

thank you for answering. your reply is very vital to me. i'm trapped. i'm travelling on both roads. i wanna quit one of them.

17-06-2004, 05:26 PM
yea..i mean ipta vs ipts.
ipts courses is conducted in english. is this an advantage?
what about my question earlier. is the government going to change three years courses back to four years? or i should ask, how long is the bachelor of computer science?

yup, tar do have problem. i mean every ipta/ipts do have it's own problem. nothing is perfect.

anyway, if u guys were me, which 1 do u go for? ipta or ipts?

thank you for answering. your reply is very vital to me. i'm trapped. i'm travelling on both roads. i wanna quit one of them.

is money a problem for u? if not, why dont u do twinning programmes in ipts?

cooldownguy86
17-06-2004, 05:40 PM
yup. money is a very very big deal to me.

17-06-2004, 11:01 PM
I would say that most technical courses are teaching in English too in IPTA, or at least they are moving towards it.

I think most of the technical courses would be changed to 4 years. But it is based on my vague memory. Try to look for reliable sources for those information.

18-06-2004, 11:33 AM
yup. money is a very very big deal to me.

in that case....taking stpm is a better choice...
this is because stpm is recognised by ipts too... so u actually have a choice there if u didnt managed to get ur course in ipta...
but u cant enter public uni based on ur diploma from itps...
just my 2 cents worth.....
8)

bill
18-06-2004, 08:34 PM
unfortunately i m facing the same problem with cooldownguy86. althought i m taking form 6 now but still think tat the standard of teachers ,esp related to English ,still...can be better.I m afraid tat if i want to enter ipts(if i take loan),then my English will b the weak point.
however,anybody knows tat if i want to enter nus to take pharmacy,A level or STPM will be preferred?Does it guarantee a place if I get CGPA4.0?(i just say IF)

19-06-2004, 12:06 AM
For Pharmacy in NUS, 4.0 is definitely Not guaranteed. Singapore is facing precisely the same problem that IPTA is facing. Too many apply and too few places available. Not sure how many exactly they have, but they have 240 places for medicine...and it is very competitive too. Singapore does not provide any scholarship for their citizens abroad on medicine or pharmacy, so this is the only route for them, unless they pay themselves to go abroad.

STPM or A Level is fine. I think you need minimum of 4.00 to stand a chance and you need to be good in co-curricular activities and other aspects too.

And Singapore A Level has grade inflation too. About 1500 students are with all 4As (CGPA 4.00). So, go figure!

But this doesn't mean that you will have no chance... If you have a will, you have a way!

The_Observer
19-06-2004, 12:35 PM
IT you say...hmm....I always thought that local public uni.s for IT kinda lags...but then I am away from home for like what, half a decade?
I would have suggested doing a twinning programme but money is a big issue...hmmm....<muses>

Word of advice: Don't come to Australia for IT. I think they have rather high latency in IT compared to even countries like Taiwan....

gohweihan
19-06-2004, 04:52 PM
I think it's not that the level of technology in Malaysia is lagging, just that the method in which the public universities adopt them is kind of slow.

19-06-2004, 06:31 PM
I think it is the ways things are taught.

Because like over here, you learn programming in more than 10 languages... Not too detailed, but you learn how to learn a new language easily... You are flexible... And you can just learn on your own given a new programming language for instance.

However, I think IPTA focuses on one programming language and students just learn very detailed in the language, hence, causing the students not that flexible, in learning newer languages...

I am making generalization here, but that's my personal observation... Really hope that my perception is wrong..

19-06-2004, 08:03 PM
Because like over here, you learn programming in more than 10 languages... Not too detailed, but you learn how to learn a new language easily... You are flexible... And you can just learn on your own given a new programming language for instance.

how many can be able to go 'over there' ???

Randomphantom
19-06-2004, 09:36 PM
Being an ex-TAR(a-level) student I can say that it isn't very conducive for English speaking, although pre-u studies may be the exception. If english is a problem, try english tuition, use it daily, read newspapers etc. No one's stopping you ;)

As for UTAR, its new and yet to be established. Campus life... seriously the college has more of it but the university doesn't - yet. Main campus is still under construction, and you may have to experience some shifting around (although I think the campus near TARc houses the ISE fac - information system eng).

I would say - if you are confident in acing STPM, (given when recently many found it tough to get into their course of choice even with string'o'As), go for F6, get in your choice course/u. If not, better to take the direct and safer path. At least you won't get stuck with some obscure course. There is the PTPTN loan if money's a problem. TARC is definitely inexpensive (not so for UTAR though). Check out other IPTSes, many other twinning programmes exist. Quality wise they might* even be better then the IPTAs especially those focusing on IT studies. On the other hand, if you aren't sure of pursuing IT, then do f6, gives you much time to ponder.

About programming, learning many languages would definitely equip you with more tools each suited to deal with different tasks.

NUS- you have to apply for Science to enter Pharma, for which you require good grades in Bio/Chem subs. Anyway the rage is Life Science(biotech) now so I guess that scales down competition a little.

cooldownguy86
19-06-2004, 10:17 PM
well, now only i remembered. after the advance diploma in tarc, u have the choice to top up the degree at UK for about 6 months. how about that?

Randomphantom
19-06-2004, 10:41 PM
Well if you don't mind the money you need to fork out for that.

cooldownguy86
20-06-2004, 08:48 AM
well....there is the ptptn right? i can borrow money for it right?

20-06-2004, 08:52 AM
For IPTA and IPTS, you can borrow money from PTPTN at:-
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/

For those in IPTA and IPTS, there are 5000 JPA scholarships open for applications too. http://www.jpa.gov.my

cooldownguy86
20-06-2004, 11:12 AM
Pembiayaan Belajar Universiti Di Luar Negara

Soalan :
Adakah PTPTN akan membiayai pelajar yang akan menuntut di universiti luar negara?

Jawapan :
Tidak,adalah menjadi dasar PTPTN sehingga kini untuk hanya menawarkan pinjaman PTPTN bagi peringkat pengajian di IPT tempatan sahaja.

does this means i can only apply ptptn until the advance diploma only? for the top up degree at UK i cannot borrow money from ptptn? or i can without letting them know the purpose of it?

kevinkhoo1986
20-06-2004, 11:35 AM
PTPTN not available for overseas study? Thats mean i will definately continue in Form 6 because i must finish my architecture course in overseas(Cant afford for it, RM 200k for two years) to become a turly architect in Limkokwing.

cooldownguy86
20-06-2004, 12:44 PM
u can finish your architecture course in overseas by choosing form 6?

kucingbiru
20-06-2004, 03:28 PM
Pembiayaan Belajar Universiti Di Luar Negara

Soalan :
Adakah PTPTN akan membiayai pelajar yang akan menuntut di universiti luar negara?

Jawapan :
Tidak,adalah menjadi dasar PTPTN sehingga kini untuk hanya menawarkan pinjaman PTPTN bagi peringkat pengajian di IPT tempatan sahaja.

does this means i can only apply ptptn until the advance diploma only? for the top up degree at UK i cannot borrow money from ptptn? or i can without letting them know the purpose of it?

i dont think you want to borrow money from them to study abroad. after interest, it might cost you a million bucks.

cooldownguy86
20-06-2004, 06:47 PM
i just need about 20k for the top up degree

21-06-2004, 08:17 AM
just wanna announce that i have enrolled in UTM for diploma last week . any UTM students here???

21-06-2004, 08:53 AM
I would say call up PTPTN to check whether you can borrow the money from them for studying abroad.

PTPTN interest rate is the lowest available, unless you are using your parents' or relatives' money. It is at 4% and only start counted after you finish your studies. This is a huge saving compared to 8% or higher from bank and they started counting interest, from the moment you get money.

The 4% difference(assuming 8% interest in bank) in interest is significant, if you borrow say RM100,000 over 4 years, each year RM25,000. You would need to spend an extra of RM10,400.00 on interest paying to bank for that 4 years alone.

or i can without letting them know the purpose of it?
You must show proof of where you study etc, to get the money paid directly from PTPTN to IPTA and IPTS.

For studying abroad, contact JPA for loan. They usually have some loan, either through Pinjaman Boleh Ubah or those normal loan wiht 4% interest rate. This lower interest rate would be much better than borrowing from bank.

bill
21-06-2004, 09:05 PM
thanks 4 all the help given.
about ptptn loan ,my fren's sister applied for tat n still didnt get the reply.she was a stpm student n now take the sedaya pharmacy course.anybody knows the chance to get the ptptn loan?wat the difference btw tat n jpa loan?

Randomphantom
23-06-2004, 12:53 AM
Does JPA really have this convertible loan/normal loan for studying abroad? Couldn't find it on their website...

23-06-2004, 01:51 AM
Difference between PTPTN loan and JPA loan is that PTPTN only for studying at IPTA and IPTS, not for studying abroad. I believe for IPTA, PTPTN is guaranteed getting.

Randomphantom, call up JPA and ask!

Randomphantom
24-06-2004, 06:26 PM
Alright then... i have a feeling that it'll take more then a few calls.