View Full Version : Broga incinerator
18-06-2004, 01:02 AM
The project has just been approved despite the proposed plant is located in a proven water catchment area.
I am personally disgusted by the Malaysian government's decision for succumbing to certain party's pressure to approve the project.
IMO, the project could at least be relocated outside of any sensitive ecoregion.
the ienvironment is never a determining factor in our government's decision making; any government for that matter -_-. you should know that by now.
18-06-2004, 10:58 PM
IF THE BLOODY INCINERATOR IS SO SAFE....
WHY DON"T THEY BUILD IT IN DAMANSARA HEIGHTS OR PUTARJAYA WHERE ALL THE FAT POLITICIANS ARE STAYING?
Sorry. I'm very emotional over the issue, along with the Damansara SJKC closure issue and the Nanyang takover issue.
Shihirizada1990 (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/Shihirizada1990/)
19-06-2004, 07:26 AM
another example of BN's political high-handedness....
19-06-2004, 07:37 AM
This article by DOE lines up a number of environmental measurements that are planned. I think they do consider environmental issues, although I do not know much about these stuffs.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/19/nation/8253355&sec=nation
19-06-2004, 07:43 AM
the ienvironment is never a determining factor in our government's decision making; any government for that matter -_-. you should know that by now.
yes that is true, in malaysia at least. even the the US - the worst polluter in the world - despite the daily corruption of the EPA, at least all projects need to pass its EIA. In Malaysia, EIA means nothing. In Malaysia, the EIA is passed even if a project would jeopardize a water catchment area.
And because of this, the government has just single-handedly lowered the local environmental standard.
I am so proud to be a Malaysian where standard means nothing. All hail to the garbages and be damn with the water cache area. Now, we all could drink garbage water. And hey, its better than Singapore's recycled urine water!
20-06-2004, 10:20 AM
Can ReCom send a protest note to Ong Ka Ting about this?
We can demand him to move his house to Broga/Semenyih. See if HE likes it.
Stupid politicians!
Viva la resistanza!
No Incinerator!
Build at politicians house@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>
Live sex (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
20-06-2004, 10:59 AM
I understand the sentiments, but I think the governments do look into those various issues, through the numerous measurements set up right?
Randomphantom
20-06-2004, 11:42 AM
Of course, they 'apparently' look through the various issues... environment is not a question so long as its NIMPBY-not in my politician's back yard.
http://202.186.86.35/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/19/nation/8253355&newspage=Search
Wonder how many of these conditions will be fulfilled and carried out. Anyways, we will never know...
20-06-2004, 05:18 PM
RECYCLE, NOT BURN
ReCom against Incinerator.
Solidarity for Broga!
Build it at Ong Ka Ting's house!
Waterbongs (http://glassbongs.org/)
08-01-2005, 03:00 PM
Not really about Broga but:
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/32675
The Department of Environment (DOE) has last month announced that it was seeking public comments on a detailed environmental impact assessment (EIA) report for a resource recovery centre/waste-to-energy (RRC/WtE) plant proposed in Semenyih.
The public has one month to respond in writing to the set of four volumes containing an estimated 400 pages of executive summary, two volumes of the main report and appendices.
Copies are available for viewing at the DOE library in Putrajaya, Kajang Municipal Council (MPKj), Kompleks Penghulu Semenyih, Kajang district police headquarters and all state DOE offices until Jan 15.
The report was first put up for public viewing on Dec 17 and the deadline for submitting written comments is Jan 29.
However, for those who want a copy of the report, it is available at RM1,000 per copy from the office of the project developer, Recycle Energy Sdn Bhd, in Semenyih.
funny. A report costs RM1000. Nice tactics to prevent informed opposition.
08-01-2005, 06:43 PM
We should all insist that these waste dumps be built at Bkt Damansara where all the politicians live their lavish lifestyle.
Why can't the government have intensive Recycling campaigns? It worked in Sarawak and Australia. Why can't it work in KL?
Cannabis seeds (http://marijuanaseeds.org/)
kucingbiru
08-01-2005, 11:20 PM
u guys need to calm down. the Govt is doing that for our own good. they are not stupid, they have studied the environmental impact thoroughly. come on, they wont destroy the nature, u know it.
the waste dumps should not be built at Bkt Damansara. u're not crazy are u? that's a residential area. they wont jeopardize the health of our children for political reasons. come on, our great leaders know what's best for us.
and of course that's the gayest thing i've ever said. :P
09-01-2005, 03:37 AM
u guys need to calm down. the Govt is doing that for our own good. they are not stupid, they have studied the environmental impact thoroughly. come on, they wont destroy the nature, u know it.
Yes, but the information on the EIA should be made public, regardless what the project is all about.
And I've thought EIA is supposed to be free. In past, I think it was free and the public could read it for free at some location.
kucingbiru
09-01-2005, 03:39 AM
Yes, but the information on the EIA should be made public, regardless what the project is all about.
And I've thought EIA is supposed to be free. In past, I think it was free and the public could read it for free at some location.
dude, i wasnt serious. read my last sentence.
Has Semenyih been designated the country?s waste capital? The town is the site for the proposed mega-incinerator, dubbed as the biggest of its kind in the world, a sanitary landfill, and now a waste recycling plant.
And apparently EIA reports are NOT free.
The public has one month to respond in writing to the set of four volumes containing an estimated 400 pages of executive summary, two volumes of the main report and appendices.
Copies are available for viewing at the DOE library in Putrajaya, Kajang Municipal Council (MPKj), Kompleks Penghulu Semenyih, Kajang district police headquarters and all state DOE offices until Jan 15.
The report was first put up for public viewing on Dec 17 and the deadline for submitting written comments is Jan 29.
However, for those who want a copy of the report, it is available at RM1,000 per copy from the office of the project developer, Recycle Energy Sdn Bhd, in Semenyih.
Contacted yesterday on the hefty cost of the report, a DOE officer said the price tag was beyond their control as it was the prerogative of the developer, Recycle Energy Sdn Bhd.
Recycle Energy is 51 percent owned by Malaysian Mining Corp Bhd, controlled by business tycoon Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary with the remaining stake held by Core Competencies Sdn Bhd.
According to the DOE officer, a panel of experts would deliberate on the public feedback after the Jan 29 deadline.
09-01-2005, 11:48 AM
public feedback my fucking ass. These people don't give a shit about public opinions. They would do it regardless.
But you guys gotta give it to them though, These guys actually took the time to let public talk about it.. Most of the time they build it and right before the grand opening they say, hey what do you think about this thing we built right next to your house? OK ka? Kalau tak ok pon tak boleh buat apa apa..
Fucking morons!
I say, kill 'em all!
09-01-2005, 01:48 PM
GRRRRR.... misled_youth very angry....
I'm going get some of em' NO INCINERATOR tee shirts.
And make some stickers to distribute!
Together we'll pressure gov to make recycling COMPULSARY.
Live sex webshows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
18-07-2006, 11:26 AM
Since that landfill tread is gone, I think this is the most relevant thread.
I scanned a table from The Edge some time ago and I just wan to share it. It concerns some cost and benefit analysis between landfill and incinerator. (http://www.maddruid.com/2006/07/829-of-sanitary-landfill-versus.html)
18-07-2006, 08:03 PM
but ofcourse that is not factoring the NIMBY. Land for this purpose can be very expensive.
21-07-2006, 06:51 PM
We are all NIMBY-ist, one way or another.