View Full Version : Info: New grading system for SPM 2009
JoyceLWY
03-10-2009, 02:33 PM
There is a new grading system for Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) 2009 using A+, A, A- and more. Check out this link to read more.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/10/3/nation/4835675&sec=nation
I'm not sure if this is good for us, but I hope the range of marks for A+ is not too high. Anyone else heard about it? I'm not sure about the range of marks. Care to share?
Hmm, what a surprise, really. Less than two months before our SPM examinations, then BOOM. Thank you. Sigh.
slappyfin3
03-10-2009, 08:06 PM
It's great news actually, this way more people can shine.
kaiyi
03-10-2009, 08:25 PM
yeah, but the ministry should announce it earlier
Hanqing
03-10-2009, 10:05 PM
this is good one, differentiating the better one than high achiever.
vaduz
03-10-2009, 10:16 PM
This is actually a good system. But i think it should be implemented next year not now.
even if they wanna do it now they should at least tell 6-7 months earlier before exam.
03-10-2009, 10:40 PM
That way, excellent students would be sorted out with the mediocre one. and the selection criteria to get a scholarships would be highly easier, does it meant that it would be inclined towards for those who get more A+? and to whether the highest excellently score is easy to get or the otherwise remain unknown.
lilynda
04-10-2009, 08:58 AM
I was really shocked because I didn't realise they implement the system this year. They should announce earlier so that I can prepare for the exam which is almost 1 month ahead. They didn't say about the range of marks so I dont know how good i must be.
lonewolf5999
04-10-2009, 05:35 PM
Under the old system the range of marks for the A1, A2 and so on was not disclosed either, so equally you wouldn't know "how good you must be".
slappyfin3
04-10-2009, 05:47 PM
Well, the excellent students out there are still going to be excellent even though this system is implemented. So I think it gives good motivation and helps us realize our true potential. Better now than later and it falls in line with the 1Malaysia theme.
meiso
04-10-2009, 05:48 PM
That way, excellent students would be sorted out with the mediocre one. and the selection criteria to get a scholarships would be highly easier, does it meant that it would be inclined towards for those who get more A+? and to whether the highest excellently score is easy to get or the otherwise remain unknown.
in the 1st place,how they place the marks for the excellent one is another thing to ponder.Just wonder how the A+ marks would be like,if it is around 75, no point too,because it will again be many students scoring around this range,again making the selection 'kabur'!
slappyfin3
04-10-2009, 05:53 PM
Hello,
I have a few friends in MRSM who have just heard their Principals speech pertaining to the new grading system. Basically, this is what all of us should know:
The new A+ grade is NOT AFFECTED by the National Average. It is a Fixed mark which is higher than the A1 grade for your school exams.
Rumours on the grades (from my friends, conveying it from their teachers) are as follows :
All 3 Sciences are >85
Pendidikan Islam >90
My advice is to not get stressed out and just use this as motivation to score higher marks. At least, at the end of the day, you can be proud of your A+'es and you can prove your worth in those nervy interviews.
All the best to all of you :D
slappyfin3
04-10-2009, 05:58 PM
in the 1st place,how they place the marks for the excellent one is another thing to ponder.Just wonder how the A+ marks would be like,if it is around 75, no point too,because it will again be many students scoring around this range,again making the selection 'kabur'!
I made a new thread on this. The A+ grade is higher than the A1 grade for school exams. And It is not affected by the national average score (aka the bell graph)
04-10-2009, 06:05 PM
To avoid redundancy, please do not make a new thread on the same issue. I have merged the other thread here.
I made a new thread on this. The A+ grade is higher than the A1 grade for school exams. And It is not affected by the national average score (aka the bell graph)
may i noe wat is the rumored marks for A+, A-, and A grade...?
is A+ > 90..?
unsolvedcryptex
05-10-2009, 01:59 PM
No much comment bout this.im sick of the new system.i hate it.
slappyfin3,it might actually makes a lot of difference if ure excellent students.but its not the case if ure not so excellent.It is not in line with anything.I think its more in line with the 10 Subjects policies implemented starting from next yr.That will really ensure students have qualities.When we r now aiming for more A1s ,this system just start to jump in that we have to rly put extra hard for our weaker subjects.It's quite unfair.Unless,this system is implemented next yr,then its quite justified.Moreover,think about subjects like Chinese language or EST.We know that chinese is so hard to score.Now,it makes chinese language harder rite?EST.EST is also another killing subject.Somehow,Information Transfer require more than correct techniques.Essay is not that bad but wat if we get some topics that we never learnt?then students go panic.Enuff said.It is predicted that this year EST is going to b tough to score.How i predict,read some past yr's student's statistics.When we r aiming for A1 for EST,now its A+ for EST.
I cannot help but to agree that this system does differentiate the excellent A1s and the not so excellent.But the implementation on this year itself is too unfair
Hello,
I have a few friends in MRSM who have just heard their Principals speech pertaining to the new grading system. Basically, this is what all of us should know:
The new A+ grade is NOT AFFECTED by the National Average. It is a Fixed mark which is higher than the A1 grade for your school exams.
Rumours on the grades (from my friends, conveying it from their teachers) are as follows :
All 3 Sciences are >85
Pendidikan Islam >90
My advice is to not get stressed out and just use this as motivation to score higher marks. At least, at the end of the day, you can be proud of your A+'es and you can prove your worth in those nervy interviews.
All the best to all of you :D
onli those 4 subs got A+??how bout other subjects ?
Descartes
05-10-2009, 03:14 PM
Hi.. For those who have exact information about the new grading system, can u make a table which specify the range of mark for A+, A1 and A2 for every subject? TQ
there's no more A1 and A2...
the new one is A+, A, A-, B+, B, C+, C.... and so on....
i think A+ is > 85.....tat makes 84>A>75.... and 74> A- >70/65....
tat is juz my logical guessing....
unsolvedcryptex
05-10-2009, 07:16 PM
there's no more A1 and A2...
the new one is A+, A, A-, B+, B, C+, C.... and so on....
i think A+ is > 85.....tat makes 84>A>75.... and 74> A- >70/65....
tat is juz my logical guessing....
wats ur skul's A1 benchmark?mine 80.thats y i guess its 90+.lolz
but seriously i hope its 85+.pray for it.
my skul's benchmark is oso 80+ for A1....
but i feel the new grading should go this way....
A+ > 85.....84>A>75.... 74> A- >70/65....
05-10-2009, 10:42 PM
I wasn't that concern with this issue before because I thought it would only be implemented for next year's SPM candidates. But after realising it starts this year it is a shock! Does this mean that it will be harder for us to obtain the best results? This could be harder for average students to get the best results if the standard has really gotten higher. (Like me..T.T *sniff)
So do you think this is a good choice? I think it gives us a clearer view of those real excellent students. However in return, it's causing pressure in other students too. Things will get more competitive.
But in my opinion, if our grading system wasn't that lenient in the beginning, we wouldn't need to have 3 different grades of A. Obtaining an A1 can already mean a lot. Seems to me like the A1 has been substituted with A+ whereas A is similar to A2. It's just that students will have higher chances to get an A- instead of a B3. If the standard has not increased. I guess. >.<
slappyfin3
05-10-2009, 10:51 PM
Maybe it's some sort of mind game they're playing to just see if we can rise to the challenge?
Any way you look at it, the uncertainity looming about and the shocking nature of this system's implementation should make one thing clear to all of us :
We must push ourselves to score higher than just the borderline A grade.
I'm a firm believer that this is good motivation even though I know I may not be able to achieve this snazzy new sparkly shiny grade for all my subjects. However, at least I'll know which subjects I really did well in. That makes my results more satisfying IMO. And at least there's 3 different A's now, so more people can be straight A scorers :D
lilynda
06-10-2009, 08:14 PM
we are the first batch in this system.So, the standard is still a mystery..wait and see then and hope for the best. Nothing we can do except strive hard and pray!
unsolvedcryptex
07-10-2009, 08:46 AM
Maybe it's some sort of mind game they're playing to just see if we can rise to the challenge?
Any way you look at it, the uncertainity looming about and the shocking nature of this system's implementation should make one thing clear to all of us :
We must push ourselves to score higher than just the borderline A grade.
I'm a firm believer that this is good motivation even though I know I may not be able to achieve this snazzy new sparkly shiny grade for all my subjects. However, at least I'll know which subjects I really did well in. That makes my results more satisfying IMO. And at least there's 3 different A's now, so more people can be straight A scorers :D
I must agree tho that im motivated more.coz its my kiasu attitude.last time like 70+ also i happy like mad.now i felt like had to strive more.so i agree ur motivation point.sighz.but i still think the implemention is wrong.
wahaha
10-10-2009, 02:36 PM
my aim 10A+~~~
i must work hard~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
unsolvedcryptex
10-10-2009, 08:09 PM
my aim 10A+~~~
i must work hard~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
wow.so motivated.lol.
u shud ask restless.somone in his skul must get 15A+.yeah i can die if im him
10-10-2009, 08:23 PM
haha. What makes you think that someone in my school can get that result? xD And who are you talking about? Though I do wish "he" could. You think it's a good idea to get this many subjects?
And please don't die if you really got 15A+. xP
unsolvedcryptex
10-10-2009, 08:28 PM
haha. What makes you think that someone in my school can get that result? xD And who are you talking about? Though I do wish "he" could. You think it's a good idea to get this many subjects?
And please don't die if you really got 15A+. xP
wat makes me think that?coz i got one fren last time tuition wif him.everytime puji him whenever we see them(i think he can read this).sumore i same tuition cls wif him..but i stopped that now d.so no more.ok la got la .,.got another cls.duwan reveal his name la.think u also know d wat.
good idea or not?i cant answer.but if i get ,i wun die la.
i wun die if i get 15A+ coz im refering to die before taking.wif my current subjects i also half die d.i cant imagine if im him
lilynda
11-10-2009, 08:24 AM
my aim 12A+..slogging hard now all because the new system.
hhhcce
11-10-2009, 02:16 PM
Haha. Getting an A+ in Chinese will now be 95 and above.
How do you noe..??!!
impossible 2 get such marks.... even getting A1 last time was a MAJOR PROBLEM.... getting 80 for Chinese is aredi super hard....
are you sure is 95 and above...?
lowxuan
11-10-2009, 11:43 PM
How do you noe..??!!
impossible 2 get such marks.... even getting A1 last time was a MAJOR PROBLEM.... getting 80 for Chinese is aredi super hard....
are you sure is 95 and above...?
hhccc get the pt...coz scoring an A1 in SPM previously already very very hard...so...A+ shud be that range...90<
unsolvedcryptex
12-10-2009, 01:32 PM
hhccc get the pt...coz scoring an A1 in SPM previously already very very hard...so...A+ shud be that range...90<
i understand bout the chinese paper prob.Sighz.i dun take chinese tho but i hav a few frens from restless's skul taking chinese.so i understand how hard it is..but dun wry.just sit first.let's wait and watch if wat my EST teacher say is correct.She say wooor..dun wry.the graph will help u.that time i felt like ok.im not debating bout this with her.haha.
lilynda
12-10-2009, 06:32 PM
i understand bout the chinese paper prob.Sighz.i dun take chinese tho but i hav a few frens from restless's skul taking chinese.so i understand how hard it is..but dun wry.just sit first.let's wait and watch if wat my EST teacher say is correct.She say wooor..dun wry.the graph will help u.that time i felt like ok.im not debating bout this with her.haha.
what graph? i'm taking est this year..is est going to be hard or easy? there are less than 10 people taking est in my class.
fr kuching
kaiyi
13-10-2009, 03:44 PM
actually i dont knew what's the use of EST since we already study out maths and sciences in english. est need some skills to answer (which my school teachers didnt knew, and that cause many of our schoolmates failed to get straight A1s or even with a B).
so, for me its no doubt tough.
13-10-2009, 03:51 PM
Chinese is not hard.... It's just the A1 threshold which makes it tough... EST is not tough, but you have to grasp the correct answering technique... Oh well, our exams seem to emphasize more on technique rather than critical thinking or knowledge nowadays...
huh...?? chinese not hard..??!! the worst subject for me... i'm in a chinese sch... mandatory for all students... HOW GOOD IF I CAN CHOOSE NOT TO....
yo can memorize all the 名句精华。。?
lowxuan
13-10-2009, 09:09 PM
I have some tips to score in EST, this is wat my teacher told me when i was form 5 in 2007, anyway i get A1 in est...ok then..the tips are :
Those teacher who mark EST paper are mostly ENGLISH TEACHER, NOT science teacher, so they MIGHT NOT even noe wat 's the REAL scientific term or REAL CONCEPT, so, in ur EST essay, try to put ANY scientific term and CONCEPTthat u learnt in ur chem, phys, bio.
but then, don simply use the term or concept that even a art-class student noe that it is wrong.
if ur essay is full of scientific term and grammar-error-free, ur paper will gv good impresssion to the marker ^^ the marker will be thinking : w0w, so many scientific term, this guy deserved an A1...xD
if my memory din failed me, that yr my essay question is bout thermoplastic, i think i almost vomit out wat i memorized in chemistry...xD
fallingdown
13-10-2009, 11:24 PM
seriously... I was shocked they change the grading system.... I got the news from penceramah.... Luckily SPM I didn't take EST...
unsolvedcryptex
13-10-2009, 11:45 PM
what graph? i'm taking est this year..is est going to be hard or easy? there are less than 10 people taking est in my class.
fr kuching
The bell.sry
It's going to b hard this year.last yr was easy.this yr hard.so yeah.thats wat gonna b for EST.most probably come out the type of essay in 2007 and 2005.It's like a repetition of format of essays.Most of the time be prepared for everything.Dun rely on wat i said.This is based on my analysis.
I have some tips to score in EST, this is wat my teacher told me when i was form 5 in 2007, anyway i get A1 in est...ok then..the tips are :
Those teacher who mark EST paper are mostly ENGLISH TEACHER, NOT science teacher, so they MIGHT NOT even noe wat 's the REAL scientific term, so, in ur EST essay, try to put ANY scientific term that u learnt in ur chem, phys, bio.
but then, don simply use the term that even a art-class student noe that it is wrong.
if ur essay is full of scientific term and grammar-error-free, ur paper will gv good impresssion to the marker ^^ the marker will be thinking : w0w, so many scientific term, this guy deserved an A1...xD
if my memory din failed me, that yr my essay question is bout thermoplastic, i think i almost vomit out wat i memorized in chemistry...xD
in 2007,synthetic fiber came out as Essay.Thermoplastic r not learnt in chemistry SPM actually.let alone thermoset plastics.Anyway,thx for ur tips.
my EST teacher said i failed badly in my essays because I wrote like English essay.zzz.I accepted that and now im changing my method to more direct.I guess I wrote a bit like English essay.But i do add some scientific terms inside.The thing that im not satisfied about that is actually I felt like im penalized for writing like English essay.okla over it
seriously... I was shocked they change the grading system.... I got the news from penceramah.... Luckily SPM I didn't take EST...
its okla.sometimes had to suck it up!weng,and everyone lets just suck it up and strive hard in our spm la.theres no time to whine.
One of the most wonderful thing that I experience in my life journey is that sometimes when I take up challenges with my personal interests and passions in view, I succeeded in getting what I want.That feels like a sweet victory.Instead, I (or many) will regret when the results come out and they complained that if they have done that at the particular moment, they would not have regretted it.Now they regret it.I am already aware about the EST problems, but i still take it because I am afraid I will regret for my whole life just because I didnt take EST while the whole cls scored EST easily.So those who take chinese or EST and face problems,dun b afraid.just do it.who knows later u will regret.belum cuba belum tau ma
huh...?? chinese not hard..??!! the worst subject for me... i'm in a chinese sch... mandatory for all students... HOW GOOD IF I CAN CHOOSE NOT TO....
ure not the onli one studying in chinese skuls that force students take chinese.restless also.
kaiyi
14-10-2009, 01:03 PM
i'm from chinese sch, too. actually you don't have to push yourself too hard for "memorise all", this makes you like them less. you can use them in conversation,eg, while kidding with your friends. some of them are beautiful like 李清照 or sad or patriotic.
my experience is our teacher used to tell us stories about the poets and poems, maked us had more ?feeling? to the 名句精华. My friends and I who are interested in poems will search for the whole poems, this increase our understanding to the poems.
since it's only 30 ++ days left, it is advisible try to understand why they had been written like that, what they are trying to say and read them out loudly.
unsolvedcryptex
14-10-2009, 02:13 PM
correction for my analysis.
like i said its not from any source.its from myself.dun rely on it.I think 2008 Essay has a lot of similarites with 2005 and 2007.It means our yr may hav similarities with 2006 ,2004 which is the easier essay.But,I doubt that the its going to b easy to score for our year.
15-10-2009, 12:40 AM
yo can memorize all the 名句精华。。?Last time, we had test for every 10 sentences taught, so we would study regularly instead of mug them up during final exam,I guess it helps. Language is not something that you can improve overnight, there isn't much can be done in the last minute, especially with the essay if you do not have firm foundation in grammars.
P/S: I like Chinese so I don't find it difficult...:)
lowxuan
15-10-2009, 01:31 AM
in 2007,synthetic fiber came out as Essay.Thermoplastic r not learnt in chemistry SPM actually.let alone thermoset plastics.Anyway,thx for ur tips.
my EST teacher said i failed badly in my essays because I wrote like English essay.zzz.I accepted that and now im changing my method to more direct.I guess I wrote a bit like English essay.But i do add some scientific terms inside.The thing that im not satisfied about that is actually I felt like im penalized for writing like English essay.okla over it
xD that's y i say i vomit out everything in chemistry, though i din learn the plastic in chemistry, but the marker dunno bout plastic also,(as i said, he's not science teacher) .....so, i used lots of chemistry term, concept in my essay xD..
lilynda
15-10-2009, 11:19 AM
is this year est going to be a comparison essay?
unsolvedcryptex
15-10-2009, 01:51 PM
xD that's y i say i vomit out everything in chemistry, though i din learn the plastic in chemistry, but the marker dunno bout plastic also,(as i said, he's not science teacher) .....so, i used lots of chemistry term, concept in my essay xD..
ooh..ok.ok..i dun rly wanna follow lo. abit of Factual Error or Irrelevant.thx for the vommitting out everything tho.lolz
Kimayu
17-10-2009, 06:18 PM
I'm just worried about English Literature.It's rather hard to predict how the graph is going to be every year.Nevertheless,good luck for all those sitting for SPM this year.Approximately,a month left...so let's work hard for those A plusses...:))
lowxuan
16-03-2010, 08:19 PM
ooh..ok.ok..i dun rly wanna follow lo. abit of Factual Error or Irrelevant.thx for the vommitting out everything tho.lolz
so..how's ur est? o.O?
unsolvedcryptex
16-03-2010, 10:44 PM
so..how's ur est? o.O?
LOL.. you can laugh d.. A-.. haiz..... spoilt my results. I thought I did quite well in Essay. Mayb the IT, it was damn damn hard!:cry
lowxuan
16-03-2010, 10:52 PM
I'm not laughing =_=...swt...i'm not that kind of ppl though...anyway...straight As is really awesome ^_^ congrats~
lilynda
16-03-2010, 10:54 PM
LOL.. you can laugh d.. A-.. haiz..... spoilt my results. I thought I did quite well in Essay. Mayb the IT, it was damn damn hard!:cry
i also gt A-..:cry
lowxuan
16-03-2010, 11:29 PM
awww >_< est is really hard...anyway...from this year onward...10+1 onli =x...so..no more est~ <<ok la...maybe onli my school?
extell
17-03-2010, 05:19 AM
Are people dropping EST? Some schools has severe cases of students getting the most B for EST...ouch.
I think the problem here is with the format.
Koschei
18-03-2010, 02:11 AM
Are people dropping EST? Some schools has severe cases of students getting the most B for EST...ouch.
I think the problem here is with the format.
Yep. It's inconceivable that students with A1s in their 1119 would get A2s for EST, but that's exactly what happens. When my teacher said that the markers adhere strictly to the marking scheme, she really means that. Unfortunately such strict adherence doesn't really fit when grading subjective subjects like languages. Data transfer is a joke, and is only made hard because of the way examiners are made to stick strictly to the mark scheme.
lilynda
18-03-2010, 09:09 AM
Yep. It's inconceivable that students with A1s in their 1119 would get A2s for EST, but that's exactly what happens. When my teacher said that the markers adhere strictly to the marking scheme, she really means that. Unfortunately such strict adherence doesn't really fit when grading subjective subjects like languages. Data transfer is a joke, and is only made hard because of the way examiners are made to stick strictly to the mark scheme.
yea..i get A1 for gce o-level english but get A- for est.T.T Data transfering is tricky. I'm regret taking it. This is my opinion.
18-03-2010, 09:53 AM
I think EST is one of the most useless subject, and whenever possible just drop it, if you want to maintain more As, it is better to take up Account, Economi or even Art, these subjects are much easier to score, and at least you get something out of it. EST was initially introduced to help adapt to the transition of teaching science and maths in BM to English, and I don't know why it still remains after such a long time, where students were already studying science and maths in English since Form 1, and now it's changed into BM again.
extell
18-03-2010, 12:55 PM
Yes, which is why I think they shud either expose the actual format to all the schools or omit data transfer part. I think the time frame given is pretty short too. My teacher told us to write in a manner as scientific as possible. I used to read some reader's digest and newspaper articles beforehand so the essay part was fun to compose. :)
During my year it was about synthetic polymers? Thank goodness we have some info on that in Chemistry..
yea..i get A1 for gce o-level english but get A- for est.T.T Data transfering is tricky. I'm regret taking it. This is my opinion.
Awww...thats pretty unfair on your part. :(
I think EST is one of the most useless subject, and whenever possible just drop it, if you want to maintain more As, it is better to take up Account, Economi or even Art, these subjects are much easier to score, and at least you get something out of it. EST was initially introduced to help adapt to the transition of teaching science and maths in BM to English, and I don't know why it still remains after such a long time, where students were already studying science and maths in English since Form 1, and now it's changed into BM again.
Art FTW!~ Lol. Almost effortless for me.
And yes, I think they're switching back to BM soon so they maintained the subject. :notrust Its really a lame move after all the textbooks have been changed etc. And people have been scoring well in English these 3 years!
18-03-2010, 01:08 PM
Yeah yeah, that's why i dropped EST and took up Account. Luckily, i got A+ for it. :)
nyanko
29-04-2010, 09:34 AM
i got A1 for GCE-O Level English and an A for EST
alter_ego
29-04-2010, 09:53 AM
yeah, i agree with u. for me EST stands for Extra Sleeping Time.:lolnothing much can do except self-reading about science and technology things.and i hate it. well,it was my school policy that all students of my batch need to take EST as an extra subject, yeah, it's compulsory to everyone. but i managed to get an A+ for EST.i never thought of an A before.:laugh
nyanko
29-04-2010, 09:59 AM
wow an A+ for est! lol the extra sleeping time is funny. half of my classmates who didn't take est just went to the back of classroom during est period to chit chat or do their homework:)
kun_JK92
29-04-2010, 10:04 AM
haiz..same here..we don't want to take est but our principal don't allow us to do so...anyway...I only get an A for it...:-((
nyanko
29-04-2010, 10:04 AM
i just remembered something a friend of mine said. EST is an 'EXTREMELY STUPID TEST' lol
29-04-2010, 10:18 AM
there is actually a huge advantage of taking EST. we can indeed learn a lots of scientific words and terms and usually apply those terms that we have learnt in the triple sciences into it.
IMO, this subject should be made compulsary to be taken by any science students.
remember the last part of report writting, it will actually expose you and might teach you how to write a standard research scientific report. You need it for university level. Hence why not equipped yourself with that while u may take it as a preparatory subject to a higher level of education.=)
AllenChew
29-04-2010, 11:11 AM
well i think the last part report be useful only..the objective parts test for english..n the information transfer are sucks..last time rumour said that if u wan to get an A1 in est u nid to gain 90 marks..owh gosh...even with A+...hate it!!only get an A also..and unfortunately i m the last batch in my sch which forced to take est in spm:notrust
29-04-2010, 11:21 AM
well i think the last part report be useful only..the objective parts test for english..n the information transfer are sucks..last time rumour said that if u wan to get an A1 in est u nid to gain 90 marks..owh gosh...even with A+...hate it!!only get an A also..and unfortunately i m the last batch in my sch which forced to take est in spm:notrust
well, i beg to be differ, even the first or 2nd part regarding the information transfer test you on the skills of understanding, organising,and analysing the information in a scientifically and systematically way.
Perhaps it might all boil down to personal perception on the grading system for EST subjects. it is not all about the lenient or strict marking scheme but just take it as a learning process, just like what u learn in moral education. We are not trained to be morally inclined when we take the moral subject, it is the other way round where we are trained to answer the question by learning up all the techniques and style to get the proper and accurate answers.
the same applies to our batch as well who are made compulsary to take EST. though i just strike A2, the whole learning process i take it as a fruitful one.=)
29-04-2010, 11:27 AM
well, i beg to be differ, even the first or 2nd part regarding the information transfer test you on the skills of understanding, organising,and analysing the information in a scientifically and systematically way.
Perhaps it might all boil down to personal perception on the grading system for EST subjects. it is not all about the lenient or strict marking scheme but just take it as a learning process, just like what u learn in moral education. We are not trained to be morally inclined when we take the moral subject, it is the other way round where we are trained to answer the question by learning up all the techniques and style to get the proper and accurate answers.
the same applies to our batch as well who are made compulsary to take EST. though i just strike A2, the whole learning process i take it as a fruitful one.=)
Yep, i like your quote. The outcome doesn't really matter, but the most important thing is the journey on achieving it, to gain invaluable experiences. Experience is the best teacher. :)
AllenChew
29-04-2010, 11:35 AM
ya i also enjoy the report writing part..but just easy fret when est always bcum stumbling block in my exam~~~:(
and for moral education..why are the rules so weird..we have to memories all the nilai..n during exam..we must write it out correctly without one word changing..are tis useful?the objective we learn moral is to bcum mentally moral~~not to train our memorising ability:notrust
edoovel
29-04-2010, 02:41 PM
Lol this thread seems to be gone out of topic. New grading system -> EST? Lol. By the way, I personally think that A+ is not necessary above 90 marks, because some of my friends, get an A+ for add.math but an A for math. Funny right?
About EST.. I took this subject.. and the second part of information transfer I did something really wrong (I think that will cost me 4 marks), but the essay I wrote very long and crapped a lot (the question is about friction - I talked something beyond that, which may be non-sense, like super-conductor and Maglev) but fortunately I get an A+ =). yeah the tip is: talk as much as you can, don't worry what u write may be wrong.. and most importantly, use lots of scientific terms. (nevertheless thanks to my school teachers who emphasize a lot on how to answer EST)
29-04-2010, 03:50 PM
I think they set the grades according to the distribution graph but not according to marks. In other words, lets say the government want to have 15% students get A+ in Additional Mathematics, then they will adjust the graph even if it means the last student in the 15% only got 70 marks for his/her Additional Mathematics.
Anyway, I think SPM 2010 batch will not have any problem with this new grading system since they have more time to prepare themselves for it compared to us, which knew it a few months prior to SPM.
EST emphasises on answering technique, especially for information transfer part. Do more practice and ask your EST teacher if you have any problem with the format. Insert Extra Scientific Terms(as what my EST teacher told me) to score A+ for it. It worked just fine with me and I got an A+ for EST. :)
AnnieChan
29-04-2010, 04:16 PM
i thought elaboration was important too.. you should be able to elaborate on the points and give your examples.. you might or might not know this.. but the textbook is ACTUALLY useful.... i am not talking bout the content though.there's this part in the index/chapter pages that describes what type of reports that are shown in the book ( the difference and so on.. ) we bump into it last minute lucky us huh :)
personally, i still think that the scores should be revealed. thats the best way larr i think for transparency and fairness. but it is a personal opinion of mine.. don't you guys agree?
nyanko
29-04-2010, 05:02 PM
[QUOTE]personally, i still think that the scores should be revealed. thats the best way larr i think for transparency and fairness. but it is a personal opinion of mine.. don't you guys agree?/QUOTE]
yup i felt the same way too. i wanted to noe the marks to my favourite subject like ad maths and accounts, juz wanted to see how i fare among my classmates(rivals) :)
unsolvedcryptex
29-04-2010, 05:30 PM
[quote]personally, i still think that the scores should be revealed. thats the best way larr i think for transparency and fairness. but it is a personal opinion of mine.. don't you guys agree?/QUOTE]
yup i felt the same way too. i wanted to noe the marks to my favourite subject like ad maths and accounts, juz wanted to see how i fare among my classmates(rivals) :)Definitely not 90. lol
29-04-2010, 05:34 PM
Definitely not 90. lol
I am sure i can get more than 90 for maths and add maths. :P
29-04-2010, 05:39 PM
I'm sure i can get more than 90 for Maths, Add Maths and Account!!! :P
for addmaths,ACCOUNTS AND ENGLISH, i TOTALLY AGREE THAT IT IS NOT 90.By the way,my tuition teacher said dat in previous yrs,to get A1 for addmaths is 78,for bio is 80 and for phy is 72.
unsolvedcryptex
29-04-2010, 06:03 PM
for addmaths,ACCOUNTS AND ENGLISH, i TOTALLY AGREE THAT IT IS NOT 90.By the way,my tuition teacher said dat in previous yrs,to get A1 for addmaths is 78,for bio is 80 and for phy is 72.
That is so impossible. LOL
To think of it, add maths shud b lower. bio is normally higher. physics also shud b lower be around there. lol
ala u smart ma
I'm sure i can get more than 90 for Maths, Add Maths and Account!!! :P
Last year's add maths and account are the hardest. u must b very very pro to be able to say that. I doubt i can get 90 above for add maths and account coz its too hard for me
29-04-2010, 06:10 PM
Last year's add maths and account are the hardest. u must b very very pro to be able to say that. I doubt i can get 90 above for add maths and account coz its too hard for me
Yep, i can say that Add Maths and Account last year are the hardest, but well, practice makes perfect. It should be easy if you have done the similar styles of questions before. Just enjoyed the exams! :amuse
nyanko
29-04-2010, 06:41 PM
i don't think the add maths last year is really that hard, just that usually i have enough time to check twice or sometimes thrice the paper 2 during school exam but during spm i manage to check only once the whole paper. but i agree the accounts last year ques 2 is damn hard, felt dizzy after trying it summore in penang it was so hot in the afternoon
29-04-2010, 06:55 PM
i don't think the add maths last year is really that hard, just that usually i have enough time to check twice or sometimes thrice the paper 2 during school exam but during spm i manage to check only once the whole paper. but i agree the accounts last year ques 2 is damn hard, felt dizzy after trying it summore in penang it was so hot in the afternoon
I love sleeping, and i slept after checking my Add Maths Paper 1 as well as Paper 2 for two times, then slept for another hour for each paper!!! Add Maths exams are sleeping time for me.. ZzzZzzZzzZzz~ :amuse Oh, by the way, for the Account, yep question 2 of paper 2 was indeed very very hard, and I couldn't make it stable for a few thousands. In fact, cause of i had spent too much time on my attempts to make it stable, i forgot to do the question 2 part C, which was a very easy question, until i passed up the paper and realised it. Dang...:( Fortunately, still A+ for me. :)
29-04-2010, 07:09 PM
ala u smart ma
No la. Its just that I like maths and add maths and my add maths teacher is really nice to help my class to do revisions a few months before SPM.
29-04-2010, 07:23 PM
No la. Its just that I like maths and add maths and my add maths teacher is really nice to help my class to do revisions a few months before SPM.
Yep, I love Add Maths and Maths too!!! My Add Maths teacher is very very dedicative, and she reaches school at 6.30am and goes back to her home at 11pm every weekday. She also did lots of additional classes to me and my friends, and she gave lots of exercises to us, including past year trials exams for every state, SBP and MARA, and past year actual exams. :amuse
terencegreen
29-04-2010, 07:35 PM
yeah i agree that last year add maths was pretty easy...paper 1 was damn easy but paper 2 got few question made me scratch my head few times before answer..:lol..but seriously i didn't answer 1 or two questions though in paper 2..:lol..but still managed to get a+..so i don't think the grading is 90++ for a+..:whoa..
unsolvedcryptex
29-04-2010, 07:43 PM
I love sleeping, and i slept after checking my Add Maths Paper 1 as well as Paper 2 for two times, then slept for another hour for each paper!!! Add Maths exams are sleeping time for me.. ZzzZzzZzzZzz~ :amuse Oh, by the way, for the Account, yep question 2 of paper 2 was indeed very very hard, and I couldn't make it stable for a few thousands. In fact, cause of i had spent too much time on my attempts to make it stable, i forgot to do the question 2 part C, which was a very easy question, until i passed up the paper and realised it. Dang...:( Fortunately, still A+ for me. :)
Pretty lucky . LOL. To be hoest, question 2 is the hardest! once u try it u may say account is hard and 90+ is hard to be reached. lol. in question 2, they combined everything. I cant balance on that question oni. the rest no prob
29-04-2010, 07:52 PM
yeah i agree that last year add maths was pretty easy...paper 1 was damn easy but paper 2 got few question made me scratch my head few times before answer..:lol..but seriously i didn't answer 1 or two questions though in paper 2..:lol..but still managed to get a+..so i don't think the grading is 90++ for a+..:whoa..
Well, i think if you can get 70% for the Add Maths last year, you can get A+ already. :)
Pretty lucky . LOL. To be honest, question 2 is the hardest! once u try it u may say account is hard and 90+ is hard to be reached. lol. in question 2, they combined everything. I cant balance on that question oni. the rest no prob
Yep, only question 2 is the hardest. But i think, it seemed like a real life question that made by LCCI. The others, no problem though. :)
alter_ego
29-04-2010, 08:11 PM
i thought elaboration was important too.. you should be able to elaborate on the points and give your examples.. you might or might not know this.. but the textbook is ACTUALLY useful.... i am not talking bout the content though.there's this part in the index/chapter pages that describes what type of reports that are shown in the book ( the difference and so on.. ) we bump into it last minute lucky us huh :)
personally, i still think that the scores should be revealed. thats the best way larr i think for transparency and fairness. but it is a personal opinion of mine.. don't you guys agree?
yes i agree with u. but i don't think they will reveal the scores.85 marks is A…70 marks also can be A. 60 marks also can be A. it depends on how the ministry wants to save their water face. we never know which level of marks of A, B, C or D. well, it's only my opinion.:)
nyanko
29-04-2010, 08:23 PM
Hey did anyone here felt like they failed sejarah but happen to get an A+? I did :)
29-04-2010, 08:27 PM
Hey did anyone here felt like they failed sejarah but happen to get an A+? I did :)
Wow, you must be damn lucky! Oh, if you want to know, my History teacher told me that never blank the paper if you don't know. Every single word can be counted as a mark. That's what my teacher said, and i was really shocked. How come SPM can be that lenient? Never mind, its the government policy.
nyanko
29-04-2010, 08:30 PM
i m glad that work towards my advantage phew. only studied form 4 and 2 chapters from form 5 d wan my teach spotted.
unsolvedcryptex
29-04-2010, 08:45 PM
Well, i think if you can get 70% for the Add Maths last year, you can get A+ already. :)
Yep, only question 2 is the hardest. But i think, it seemed like a real life question that made by LCCI. The others, no problem though. :)
question 2 is exactly by LCCI. lol. if im not mistaken question 3 also. question 2 and 3 every year also by LCCI
29-04-2010, 08:59 PM
question 2 is exactly by LCCI. lol. if im not mistaken question 3 also. question 2 and 3 every year also by LCCI
Yep that's right. Most of the question 2 and 3 are made by LCCI every year, and undoubtedly it would be very tough. :)
01-05-2010, 01:59 AM
i just remembered something a friend of mine said. EST is an 'EXTREMELY STUPID TEST' lol
A subject is stupid if one thinks it is. It's just like philosophy.
I can also say Pure Science is stupid because I've wasted 2 years memorising mind boggling formulas which I most likely won't be applying in my daily life! (This is just an example by the way, I actually like Science :) )
EST was no doubt my forte in secondary school and I like it because this subject approaches Science without being too technical and it reminds me the reason I became interested in Science in the first place. I'm glad to say that I've gained plenty of general and scientific knowledge throughout my EST classes (and not to mention plenty of eye-opening stories from my teacher).
nuel92
01-05-2010, 11:24 AM
I hate EST! that is all. thank u
AllenChew
01-05-2010, 01:28 PM
for addmath math n account,i have seen plenty of A+'s among my frens and all the good student..the common stumbling blocks for them(include me) are either bio,chinese,est~~btw i found that moral is not that easy to get A+ also~~:)
01-05-2010, 01:38 PM
for addmath math n account,i have seen plenty of A+'s among my frens and all the good student..the common stumbling blocks for them(include me) are either bio,chinese,est~~btw i found that moral is not that easy to get A+ also~~:)
Yep, lots of people can score in Add Maths, Maths and Account because i believe that the graph for the students to score A+ was very low. Maybe those who scored only 70% can get A+, for Add Maths and Account, due to the fact that Add Maths and Account(No.2 in Paper 2) exams last year were quite challenging. In my school, lots of people stuck at Bio and EST, and these two subjects has become the tradition for students to stuck at every year.
For Moral, yep i think last year Moral exams changed their format, and it was quite surprising that the paper didn't ask anything about current issues. You can basically predict the sub-questions for every question asked, such as "sebab-sebab", "kesan-kesan" and "cara-cara". Those questions require students to give significantly detailed answers, to be able to score good marks. Just write as much as you can, and also be logical and rational when you are writing your answers. A+ shouldn't be a problem then! :)
michael_cool
01-05-2010, 10:29 PM
Ya. My school for 2009 just fews ppl get an A+ for biology but chemistry and physics are much better than it. For moral, it was really had changed the format until our school's percentage of A+ drop! We got shock because moral is quite easy to score if you had memorized it
lilynda
01-05-2010, 11:04 PM
Ya. My school for 2009 just fews ppl get an A+ for biology but chemistry and physics are much better than it. For moral, it was really had changed the format until our school's percentage of A+ drop! We got shock because moral is quite easy to score if you had memorized it
agree..less people get A+ for biology. Guess what, my friends can get A+ for add maths n just A for maths lol. i think the graph 4 the students to scoe A+ in add maths is low while for maths it is high.
manglish_lysia
01-05-2010, 11:22 PM
For my school, even the top students didn't get an A+ for moral. Surprisingly, the format did change compare to previous year.
But I'll say that moral is not really that easy. For the past two years, I hafal all the Nilai-nilai and definasi and yet, good grade is never within my reach. Understand where each nilai stands in which situation is important. By luck, I manage to understand at the last minute how to answer each moral questions and the nilai fixed for a certain situation.
To me, if compare EST and moral, I think moral will score a higher grade in the scale of worthiness.
02-05-2010, 01:12 AM
To me, EST is not that bad. If I am to compare EST with moral, I would say EST is more worthy than moral studies. I learned many things through EST classes, especially the technologies thingy and other infos such as natural disasters which we won't learn any in other science subjects. The general knowledge gained through EST classes are far more worthy than the moral studies where we only need to memorise and know the technique to answer the exam papers. It might be hard to get an A+ for EST in SPM but I do enjoy all my EST classes and I never regretted taking it in my SPM. FYI, I got an A+ for both subjects in my spm. :laugh
zahra
02-05-2010, 10:31 AM
For EST, it depends on your teacher. Some teachers teaches EST as if EST is merely another English subject. For my class, it was compulsory for us to sit for EST. But thank god, my EST teacher was a very good teacher. She did all the research on the internet despite being a busy teacher.
EST helped me to understand current issues related with science and technology, and it brushed up my scientific writing skills. Also, it helped me to think out of the box. EST is can be useful or useless. It all depends on the creativity of your teacher.
Anyway, I got an A+ for my EST. :D
unsolvedcryptex
02-05-2010, 10:35 AM
I realised there are two type of ppl in this thread.
1st, people who scored A+ for EST and the second one is those who did not score A+ for EST
People who scored A+ tends to say its an useful subject while otherwise did not think so.:amuse:amuse:amuse
nyanko
02-05-2010, 10:43 AM
1st, people who scored A+ for EST and the second one is those who did not score A+ for EST
People who scored A+ tends to say its an useful subject while otherwise did not think so.:amuse:amuse:amuse
haha true and i'm the latter:nuts
02-05-2010, 11:04 AM
HELP! I sat for my SPM in 2009 and sent my Literature in English (LIE) paper for remark due to unsatisfactory results. However, until now I have not received any letters from the Education Ministry. While reading the Star today, there is a letter in the Education segment saying that a fellow student has already received his re-examined results in the middle of April. He took the SPM last year too and if he already received his re-examined results, then where are mine? It's been so long and I'm still waiting for it.
02-05-2010, 01:35 PM
Although starlemon took spm a few years back then and didn't get A1 for EST, he still likes EST a lot. I believe people do like the process of learning EST but its the grade that they get(hard to get A+) make them hate it. What we learned in the process is what matters the most, not the grade of our exam. Its not a core subject anyway.
HELP! I sat for my SPM in 2009 and sent my Literature in English (LIE) paper for remark due to unsatisfactory results. However, until now I have not received any letters from the Education Ministry. While reading the Star today, there is a letter in the Education segment saying that a fellow student has already received his re-examined results in the middle of April. He took the SPM last year too and if he already received his re-examined results, then where are mine? It's been so long and I'm still waiting for it.
My friend also haven't get his remark result. Maybe the letter just arrive later than expected. Did you check this out with your former school?
swing
24-05-2010, 02:46 PM
when we are talking about SPM tips, the important thing is get yourself familiar with the SPM exam format and the question patterns !
thus, do more exercises is vital to score A in SPM 2010
http://www.malaysiaexampaper.com/spm.html is the place where u can get free SPM past year paper , trial exam paper( all states), and somemore SPM online exam, try the interesting experience now !:whoo
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.