View Full Version : Individual STPM 2010 Candidate
lost08880
07-10-2009, 03:34 AM
hi guys...i'm new here...
i'm 20 now...but i want to retake private individual stpm next year...that means i study on my own and i don't have to attend the school...
so here are my questions if i were to take science stream course,
a) is the evaluation based solely on my stpm examinations results?
what about the paper 3? i don't have to do paper 3??
b) how long will it take for me,as a private candidate,before i can sit for the examinations? 1 year or 2 years?
c) if it takes me 1 year only,it means i'll be taking my degree at 22 years old..will i still eligible to apply for scholarship to study oversea?
ling910520
07-10-2009, 08:12 PM
A, u need to take paper 4 instead of paper 3 for science stream .
B, Student can only take the stpm after two year of the spm exam , for example if u take spm in 2008, then u can only take stpm in 2010.but u is resit for the exam , so u can take the exam anytime if u like as long as u are register with the pejabat pelajaran daerah.
C, that depends on the term and condition of the scholarship that u intend to apply , but usually they will accept because most of the undergraduate scholarship provided in malaysia like JPA , shell and sime darby does not imposed such a rule.
Correct me if i am wrong . any way nice to meet u becoz i also plan to take stpm as private individual candidate in 2010.+u+U
lost08880
08-10-2009, 05:29 PM
thanks ling910520 (http://recom.org/forum/member.php?u=13981)...
hopefully we can keep in touch and yeah,let's strive for STPM 2010..!!!!
:study
Hi, im sitting 4 STPM 2010, next year as a private candidate. Im taking p.Am, math t, bio, and chem. paper. Can any1 suggest some study guide which can aid me to master these subj.
Is there any othr book tht can aid u in bio and chem.? Books which is other than ace ahead fajar bakti, and longman series.
30-10-2009, 06:59 AM
Thread merged. Klay, if you are asking for help, it would be better to ask all of your questions at once. As such, find out what do you really need to know, and querry for them.
hai klay..where r u from?
im private candidate 2010 too..
hai..me too.
hope you guys can email me
Hi jisu, im from sabah. Em, which subj will u take? Did u take science stream?
Marki
10-12-2009, 08:49 PM
hi everyone... how are you ? im 19 years old and this year STPM candidate.. yea i just finished my last paper today... but now, i feel like i cant get good result for my STPM..
so, me and some other friends are thinking about retaking STPM for next year.. i just want to know, we need to register at jab pendidikan daerah and then ??
a) are we gona sit the exam on november 2010 or theres system like July papers ??
b)when we can start to register ? and we will be 'calon menumpang' in any sch right ??
c) and im taking SC stream, so about the paper 4, what is the format ? we must write report ??
btw.. i would like to keep in touch with you guys.. so feel free to email me.. THANKS :)
Marki
10-12-2009, 09:00 PM
hi Klay.. hi Jisu... im actually this year STPM candidate... but idk, i feel like my result gona be ugly, so me n some of my friends thinking to retake the STPM as private candidate next year....
for Klay, i think if u hv all the notes from previous stpm years, it will be the best for notes...for maths, i think those books with a full step answers would be good... (i forgot the title) haha..
and ofc, try ur best to keep in touch with ur form 6 teachers for any updates on exam format n ect...
and btw im also in science stream.. and i would like to keep intouch with u guys for any updates.. :)
take care.. :)
ling910520
11-12-2009, 12:28 AM
A) i am not familiar with the system , but i think july paper is for spm only
B) It is open for register in middle january each year, make sure you read through all the guide because you sure dont want any technical problem when you take the exam.But , it has one category of student which can register as late as june , they are the student who are unable to secure a place in public universities and MPM will allowed they to retake the exam . (so , i suggest u use your result apply for uni first , if really cant, then only retake)
C) Paper 4 varies from subject to subject. it is much like spm science subject paper 3 with the exclusion of report part (for chemistry lah, physics and bio dont know)
Marki
12-12-2009, 06:11 PM
@<hidden>
oh.. i see.. thanks for ur answers...
Gemini
13-12-2009, 11:06 PM
Hello,everybody!I've just finished my STPM 2009.
If it comes out in March that I did not do well and I want to retake STPM, which is the safe pathway for me to choose?
i) Enter TARC STPM programme (though I don't know whether I can directly enter upper six in TARC because the edu fair in my area will only be held on thursday)
ii) Individual STPM candidate (that means I need to study alone and is that enough for me to cope STPM 2010?). Besides that, I've visited mpm website and there states that registration for private candidate usually will be opened in January according to the year 2008. Does that mean I need to make decision before the results out in March?
iii)Reenter upper six in government school. This is what I think but I have no one to clarify on this.
I have bad feelings that I won't get good results after I finish my STPM exam.
Can any experienced recommers or kind-hearted who know the informations about the retake of STPM tell me more? Please help me~~~
Marki
14-12-2009, 08:56 AM
Hello,everybody!I've just finished my STPM 2009.
If it comes out in March that I did not do well and I want to retake STPM, which is the safe pathway for me to choose?
i) Enter TARC STPM programme (though I don't know whether I can directly enter upper six in TARC because the edu fair in my area will only be held on thursday)
ii) Individual STPM candidate (that means I need to study alone and is that enough for me to cope STPM 2010?). Besides that, I've visited mpm website and there states that registration for private candidate usually will be opened in January according to the year 2008. Does that mean I need to make decision before the results out in March?
iii)Reenter upper six in government school. This is what I think but I have no one to clarify on this.
I have bad feelings that I won't get good results after I finish my STPM exam.
Can any experienced recommers or kind-hearted who know the informations about the retake of STPM tell me more? Please help me~~~
hai gemini, i guess we are in the same shoes.. lol.. btw which stream did u took for ur stpm ?
same as u ,i hv the feeling tht my coming result nxt year will be not so good... i think if u want to retake, its good to hv few friends who also wana do retake, i guess tht will help u to hv study group n at least u wouldnt study alone...
and as LING910520 stated above, the registration for private candidates open in mid on january also as late as june, means u can apply to local uni with ur current 2009 result, if cant get into uni, u can register as private.. sound messy ..haha..btw wish u a huge good luck for ur coming result..
Gemini
14-12-2009, 11:32 AM
hai gemini, i guess we are in the same shoes.. lol.. btw which stream did u took for ur stpm ?
same as u ,i hv the feeling tht my coming result nxt year will be not so good... i think if u want to retake, its good to hv few friends who also wana do retake, i guess tht will help u to hv study group n at least u wouldnt study alone...
and as LING910520 stated above, the registration for private candidates open in mid on january also as late as june, means u can apply to local uni with ur current 2009 result, if cant get into uni, u can register as private.. sound messy ..haha..btw wish u a huge good luck for ur coming result..
I don't think I've any friends who wanna resit. Most of them will choose to study in private colleges even they do not do well in their exam. The thing is I want to study critical course, Medicine. I've read some magazines and there states that the minimum to study medicine in India is 3C's.
By the way, I am in Biology Science stream. I am pretty worried that I'll fail my chemistry.I don't know. The paper is difficult. Besides that, I don't think I could have enough money to study in India even if I'm lucky enough to fulfill the min. requirements except that I manage to get a PTPTN loan. I think my parents are only affordable to pay me living allowances.If you want them to pay me fees + living allowances +miscelllanous without a loan, they cna't afford these.
freddy
14-12-2009, 12:02 PM
marki....i"m also this year candidate...most probably i would retake next year
Marki
14-12-2009, 06:25 PM
marki....i"m also this year candidate...most probably i would retake next year
ahh..great! u in which stream ?
freddy
20-12-2009, 07:26 PM
i'm in science stream.....biology....u?? i really hope we can score this year...
stpm 2010 candidates......lets strive hard this year.....
Wow.. most of u guys want to retake stpm again. it sounded like its sooo.. difficult 2 achieve gud result. Hey, i jst finished spm last year, but i barely pass it through. yet, i still want to take stpm nxt year as p.Candidate. as u guys know, i dont hav much exp. in any of the stpm question. can u email me some of its details?
21-12-2009, 12:20 PM
I would like to remind everyone that asking for the others to email tips to you is not encouraged in this forum. Do remind yourself that sharing is caring. Anything that is worthy for you to know is worthy for the others to know!
And thread private STPM candidate thread merged due to similarities in topics.
freddy
30-12-2009, 04:15 PM
anyone intrested to study in uk after stpm 2010??pls tell me de procedure....
jay4eva
01-01-2010, 04:47 PM
As a private candidate, how are you to perform the science practical work ?
I'd like to know. :)
ling910520
15-01-2010, 08:46 PM
anyone register for stpm 2010 as private candidate already , if done register already , please explained the procedure here so that we can avoid any technical issue when we register ourselves later.
risha_913
16-06-2011, 03:01 PM
hi, jisu, i am private candidate of year 2011, and i am science stream student. Do you have your copies of written Practical 4 paper with you? I am so puzzled about the format lah. anyone having it? care to share please!!!
jay4eva- u will have to sit for written practical exam... namely Paper 4, Practical paper
JAYanne
09-08-2011, 08:19 PM
hi, jisu, i am private candidate of year 2011, and i am science stream student. Do you have your copies of written Practical 4 paper with you? I am so puzzled about the format lah. anyone having it? care to share please!!!
You can find this book. Oxford Fajar Koleksi Kertas Soalan STPM Jurusan Sains published by MPM. I found Bio and Chem paper 4 2009 included. Here is one of the question for paper 4 Bio:
1. In a pea plant, the characteristic of being tall (T) is dominant to the characteristic of dwarfness (t) and is determined by the single gene. A tall homozygous pea plant which has purple flowers is crossed with a dwarf pea plant which has white flowers.
(a) State the genotype of male and female parents and F1. [3marks]
Male parent:..............................................................
Female parent: ..........................................................
F1: ..........................................................................
(b) The F1 obtained is self fertilised. The resulting F2 produced are as follow:
......etc..etc...
Sorry for making it too short:P Lack of free time now. You can search the book from any bookstore or borrow from your Form 6 teachers(if they have). There will be drawing diagrams as well. 2 questions for 30 marks. Time period, one hour.
Btw, nice to meet you all :) I am sitting for STPM 2011. Having trial exam tomorrow but still loitering at Recom now:P
Me too, having the same feeling that I wouldn't get good result for the coming STPM and planning to retake it next year. So, another new member for STPM Retakers!
Check out the number of STPM private candidates here
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/2/19/nation/20100219141714&sec=nation
Anyone knows what is the difference btween private school candidate and private candidate?
Check this out! It's an article about the paper 4 for stpm. One of the private candidate had voiced out his concern.
http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/19stpp/Article/
jamuel4534
08-11-2011, 11:13 PM
Hi I have some question related to this topic =D Needing help...
I am a Lower 6 Bio student right now (registered as school candidate) but I wish to take Physics as an additional subject, which means I will take all 3 sciences. Am i eligible to apply for Physics test as a private candidate (in which I will do paper 4 instead of 3)?