View Full Version : National Anthem
18-06-2004, 09:22 PM
Not sure if this topic has been discussed or not, but I thought I might start a thread on this thanks to something I saw today. This morning while on duty during my school's weekly assembly, I observed that many students don't have any respect at all for the nation anthem. When it was played, many of them refused to sing it and even fooled around, pushing and joking with each other. Does this happen only in Malaysia, or does it happen in other countries too? Any overseas recommers can enlighten me on the attitudes foreigners have to their national songs?
18-06-2004, 09:43 PM
In fact, in my high school, national anthem is sung by majority of students pretty loudly... may be like 5-10% of students don't really care, but majority of us, do look at the national flag when it is raised and sing out loud...
In US, there is no assembly or anything, and national anthem is almost never played. I heard it like 2-3 times in my 3 years here...once when Clinton came for commencement, once on the university president convocation... So, can't really make judgment.
I remember Malaysians sing Negaraku loudly is when National anthem is played abroad. When we were in Singapore, celebrating Merdeka was the biggest event than we look upon every year... Don't think the tradition is there so much anymore, due to MOE Singapore interference. But during 30th August night, negaraku is sung out loud, with many patriotic songs are sung....it is touching moments..
WantChair
18-06-2004, 11:21 PM
In my school, this is not much of a problem since the students used to sing the national anthem without musical accompaniment... naturally, the students have to participate, and in the process, they learn to respect the song...though of course, the kind of music here is what you would expect from a school consisting mostly of boys...
when the students feel no need to participate in singing the national anthem, they would never acknowledge its presence, or realise its significance, that does not make tham less patriotic in any way, only perhaps, more ignorant towards their national symbol... the only solution here is to force them to sing... but that does not help them develop patriotism, does it?
Kevinlim
18-06-2004, 11:49 PM
when the students feel no need to participate in singing the national anthem, they would never acknowledge its presence, or realise its significance, that does not make tham less patriotic in any way, only perhaps, more ignorant towards their national symbol...
Urm, does singing the national anthem out loud makes u more patriotic? I mean does it means that one is not patriotic to their country if they don't sing the national anthem? As for me, I don't think that singing the national anthem is really that important. I feel that respecting, understanding and appreciating the national anthem is much more important than singing it out loud. There is no point in forcing one to sing the national anthem when they don't appreciate it. Patriotism is something that comes from deep within our heart.
18-06-2004, 11:53 PM
Perhaps it is acceptable if they do not want to sing the national anthem, but does behavior like joking, laughing and fooling around while the national anthem is being played acceptable?
18-06-2004, 11:57 PM
Agree with Kevin Lim on this matter.
I am still baffled by the majority of Singaporeans who don't even understand what their national anthem means, how each word is pronounced, yet they just sing it every day... For those who aren't aware, Singapore National Anthem is in BM.
19-06-2004, 06:24 PM
I am still baffled by the majority of Singaporeans who don't even understand what their national anthem means, how each word is pronounced, yet they just sing it every day... For those who aren't aware, Singapore National Anthem is in BM.
Yar... during my course in Singapore, We joined into their assembly daily and witness them singing their national anthem and the pledge. A friend told me he don't know the meaning of the song. The basically just memorised it.
I think we should be proud that we understand our national anthem, and sang with high spirits along with it. However, maybe it is too peaceful here with no real crisis, making us forget.
But then again, maybe youths these days don't care anymore.
SpRInG
19-06-2004, 07:45 PM
for one to be able to sing the national anthem with spirit, one need to have the fire to burn inside of one's heart.
However, in my opinion, i do not see such a big issue when people refused to sing the national anthem. Consider the factors, they may not be feeling well, they may be suffering from sore throat. Why sometimes people dont' feel like standing even when the national anthem is being sang? SOmetimes, we just dont' feel it. And for me, it's just a song. There's not big deal about it.
SpRInG
19-06-2004, 07:48 PM
but also, please don't get me wrong. IT doesn't mean that i'm not a patriotic person.
I just want to stress taht patriotism and singing the national anthem by standign straight or not standing straight has nothign to do with patriotism
19-06-2004, 08:08 PM
Americans sing their National anthem right before the baseball game.
baseball is the national sport.
As far as I know (or see on TV) , no one make fun of their national anthem.
but some of them don;t even know their national anthem either
(star sprangled what?)
but they recite their pledge at school.
19-06-2004, 08:36 PM
i think the problem is with the parents. that's what we always call as role model. parents themselves never concern n react to the national anthem. so now we expect new generation to respect the anthem???
02-07-2004, 06:56 AM
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/2/nation/8349993&sec=nation
Azmi: Know the ?Negaraku? first
KUALA TERENGGANU: Foreigners who want to take up citizenship must be able to sing the Negaraku under a special programme to turn them into loyal citizens.
02-07-2004, 10:56 AM
This reminds me of Singaporeans singing their malay national anthem.
While they are at it, maybe the foreigners can remember things like these too: "Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Di-Pertuan Agong..."
Can't find any rational explanation how that will "turn them into loyal citizens"...
03-07-2004, 02:46 PM
I remember when I was a child I sing negaraku every morning during perhimpunan and I dunno the meaning of the lyrics throughout my primary school life.....
wpyeoh
03-07-2004, 03:21 PM
Our national anthem is short and simple, I guess, so it's not a burden to learn it. I don't see anything wrong with singing it every day at perhimpunan, though I don't see the point in it either (heheh ^_^) The important thing is to respect it and BE ABLE TO RECOGNISE IT.
In response to USSDefiantNX74205's first post, the French national anthem is really long, so most people don't know how to sing it. They know just one part of it (the chorus or something like that) They certainly do not sing it at school every day. :-)
Just a question: Do Singaporeans just learn English in school or are there other languages?
03-07-2004, 03:34 PM
in germany the national anthem is written by Josept Hyden.
but it?s actually a cacat song because the first 2 paragraph of the song are actually banned....
23-07-2004, 12:54 AM
Just a question: Do Singaporeans just learn English in school or are there other languages?
Singaporeans are made compulsory to take up a mother tongue, be it Mandarin, Malay or Tamil.
The important thing is to respect it and BE ABLE TO RECOGNISE IT.
Right on. It's the matter of showing respect to your country. Ok, if someone's up there talking, or if your teacher is teaching, of if ur parents are nagging you, you still have to listen even though u dun want to, coz it's a sign of respect, rite? So, if u are a third viewer, and and u see a scenario of a mother trying to talk to her son, and then this guy go and talk to his other friends, play around, didn't pay attention to his mom.... what do u think of the guy? Disrespectful? Well, same case here... even though we dun feel like singing while our national anthem is chorusing in the air, at least stand still lar... dun goyang-goyang here and there...
23-07-2004, 10:55 AM
in germany the national anthem is written by Josept Hyden.
but it?s actually a cacat song because the first 2 paragraph of the song are actually banned....
then, how do they sing the song? stgh? huhuh..got aa...such things :wink:
Still remeber during my primary school days when most of my friends made jokes of our national anthem. We changed the first two lines of Negaraku. Maybe that time we were still small and did not know what patriotism was. But now, I think most of us do respect our national anthem.
When our national anthem is sung, we just need to stand straight, right? One thing still bothers me is when I was in Form 5, my school forced us to line up outside the classroom when Negaraku was played everyday. But to me, I think stand straight will do, what is the need to line up outside the classroom?? To show others how patriotic we are??
debbie
23-07-2004, 01:03 PM
First, Germany's national anthem is not "cacat", iQing, plz note tht Haydn products are far from the word "cacat". If Haydn's work is "cacat" then wht do you call the M'sian anthem? Retarded? Singing the "Negaraku", does not have anything to do with patrotism. Well, to a certain extent it does ; paying due respect to it is important .... but does it really matter if one sings it? And is the person who is "fooling around " while it is sung less patriotic then the one singing with gusto. Speaking for myself, I love my country and I'm proud of it but I do not put heart and soul into singing the song unless it's during some comp.Personally, it's not the best anthem around. And you'll more likely hear me racketingWaltzing Matilda while running down the stairs then Negaraku. Malaysia, even though you've not got the best anthem around, I still love you.
23-07-2004, 01:30 PM
Hmm... how do u guys define patriotism? Defend the country? I dunno... i prefer defining it as being able to map your country in ur heart.... and thus, while singing or listening ur national anthem in a foreign land, it will make me miss Malaysia more and more... Well, someone once cited it, "You won't know what you miss until you leave it."
23-07-2004, 06:57 PM
Maybe singing the national anthem proudly is a by-product of patriotism. Not the otherway round. If you're patriotic and love the country, then the national anthem will mean something to you. It is one of the symbols of your country. The words remind you of the identity of this nation.
I think that all of us, because of the way we were brought up, having to sing the national anthem at assembly every week would be reminded of Malaysia every time we hear the sweet strains of the anthem being played.
Personally though, I still prefer the old old old version of the song. Seemed to have more heart.
23-07-2004, 09:53 PM
this is out of the topic,but what you guys think about our national flag?isn't that too american?
negaraku has a fine tune!!seriously,the tune is much better than many national anthem i have heard so far in sea games.
wpyeoh
24-07-2004, 11:38 AM
When our national anthem is sung, we just need to stand straight, right? One thing still bothers me is when I was in Form 5, my school forced us to line up outside the classroom when Negaraku was played everyday. But to me, I think stand straight will do, what is the need to line up outside the classroom?? To show others how patriotic we are??
I think standing up is already not really necessary, but it's still okay. And standing up straight like a stick is absolutely not necessary. Just as long as you don't loll about, hunched shoulders and all...
gatecrasher
24-07-2004, 09:31 PM
Personally though, I still prefer the old old old version of the song. Seemed to have more heart.
i've never heard it before, in fact. sad. all i know is it's slower and statelier. personally, that sounds more suitable.[/quote]
the French national anthem is really long, so most people don't know how to sing it. They know just one part of it (the chorus or something like that)
it's the marseillaise right? it's quite short in my piano songbook. or maybe that's just the chorus?
negaraku has a fine tune!!seriously,the tune is much better than many national anthem i have heard so far in sea games.
don't know about that.
i only know 4 national anthems, and finlandia's my favorite (it is a national anthem right?)
kucingbiru
25-07-2004, 04:32 AM
i too like the old version better. but why should we have old or new versions? can we have as many versions as we want? like the US anthem, it can be pop or soul, depending on occasion. Jimi hendrix once performed his national anthem at woodstock. it sounds good. it doesnt have to be in the style of march all the time right?
p/s: but please no Siti Nurhaliza version like the UiTM song. it's freakin boring. :P
wpyeoh
25-07-2004, 11:01 AM
it's the marseillaise right? it's quite short in my piano songbook. or maybe that's just the chorus?
Yup, that's it. But I don't know if i would recognise it; it's really no big deal in france. Our teacher told us about it only because we talked about our national anthem.
gatecrasher
25-07-2004, 10:08 PM
i too like the old version better. but why should we have old or new versions? can we have as many versions as we want? like the US anthem, it can be pop or soul, depending on occasion.
we're referring to the official version (it exists, doesn't it? the one played at functions, school etc.)
Jimi hendrix once performed his national anthem at woodstock. it sounds good. it doesnt have to be in the style of march all the time right?
that one arr? could barely recognize it. heard it only once or twice, can't remember exactly what i thought but it was probably something like 'not easy on the ear to say the least' or 'weird'. just curious, how do you manage to like it? :)
p/s: but please no Siti Nurhaliza version like the UiTM song. it's freakin boring. :P
what is that? what is that? please tell! sounds interesting! :wink:
26-07-2004, 12:46 AM
UiTM song is boring....... and it's way too long... i'd rather sing wawasan 2020 (reminds me of BTN)... hehe...
26-07-2004, 06:09 AM
well, i guess it really depends on the mood and situation...
when our days were numbered in INTEC (ATU10s), we all juz cant help feeling a tinge of nolstagia and sadness...during the juniors' orientation, they had to sing the uitm songs rite (like we all did)...a bunch of us simply ikut bersama and sang at the top of our voices...really like from the heart...and our voices were louder than the juniors'!haha...i'm juz saying tad normally, while we were still students of INTEC, we'd think tad the uitm song is boring etc...and refuse to sing it...now tad we're leaving (tecnically speaking, we have left), we juz cant help 'feeling' the song and singing it...
Oh, by the way, i heard tad russia's national anthem sounds like the anthem they used in the communist era...i heard the song...it's pretty marching marching beat...quite nice...
kucingbiru
26-07-2004, 08:18 AM
we're referring to the official version (it exists, doesn't it? the one played at functions, school etc.)
that's the only version i guess.
that one arr? could barely recognize it. heard it only once or twice, can't remember exactly what i thought but it was probably something like 'not easy on the ear to say the least' or 'weird'. just curious, how do you manage to like it? :)
it's quite a controversial performance by Hendrix, but i like it. I guess that's his style of showing his respect to his country. well, i can't really explain why i like it. it's just that i feel like whatever comes out of his guitar is good.
what is that? what is that? please tell! sounds interesting! :wink:
it's a 5 minute version of lagu rasmi uitm, too slow, too lemah lembut, aah, i'm sick of it. u have to go to Intec orientation to hear it. if you still dont get the picture, try singing ur high school song, reduce the tempo to like 60bpm, legato, in the style of Siti Nurhaliza. you'll get it.
john_doe_85
26-07-2004, 08:36 AM
Singaporeans taught in English, must learn one additional mother tongue.
Most don't sing the anthem, as it IS an option. They mostly say the pledge which they can at least understand. I remember dodging classmates before assembly so I don't have to listen to their hilarious and odd-sounding singing for assembly... Aiyoh... :D
26-07-2004, 08:49 PM
What i know is that we can't sing our own anthem in other countries, unless it's our national day, yes? Coz last time, my senior in Singapore played Malaysia's anthem on the piano and she was upbraided by the sweeper...
gatecrasher
26-07-2004, 09:34 PM
Huh? Really got such thing ah?
Anyway is the Siti Nurhaliza version of the UiTM song sung by her or merely in her style? What's with her and UiTM? Was she a UiTM student or what?
kucingbiru
27-07-2004, 05:13 AM
Huh? Really got such thing ah?
Anyway is the Siti Nurhaliza version of the UiTM song sung by her or merely in her style? What's with her and UiTM? Was she a UiTM student or what?
in her style.
27-07-2004, 09:11 AM
i remember once, we malaysians were just congregating for nothing at the open space ampitheatre down at my hostel...we juz suddenly strike up and sang negaraku for no reason....we sang louder n louder...i was a little scared we'll be reprimanded since everyone was looking at us.. thank goodness ntg happened...