View Full Version : Music

14-11-2003, 03:43 PM
hehehe...don't know what to say. ooo..ooo Ludicris came to Cornell the other day....and Nappy Roots too.

What are people listening to this days?
Currently i have radioheads live recordings playing on my cd player.

eeyore
14-11-2003, 04:16 PM
well ... i have kinda a mix of interests when it comes to music ... don't laugh ok? ...

sometimes i like stuff by billy joel and bob dylan and bob marley ... sometimes i listen to rap, sometimes disney stuff ... sometimes classical stuff ...

14-11-2003, 04:21 PM
disney?

clchong
14-11-2003, 04:58 PM
hey, sometimes i listen to disney songs too..it brings me to the cartoons world and also my childhood time..

14-11-2003, 07:10 PM
heh ... 95% of my mp3s are anime/japanese songs .. and they are playing in my winamp3 alllllllllll the time .. I love anime sooooo much ... beat me :P

silverblue
14-11-2003, 07:25 PM
I think music is one of the best things in life...

imagine how a movie will feel like if there weren't any background music or soundtrack to accompany it... all those orchestra sound effects that creat tension, happiness, mystery, mirth etc...

music.. ahh

you can sing to it, you can study with it, you can create/compose it, you can play it, you dance to it, you can unwind with it, you can shower with it, you can praise God with it, you can ......

music.. ahhh

it relieves you from stress, it makes you high when you are on the dance floor, it creates excitement, it makes you feel that you are a superstar, it transports you into a magical world, it makes you angry, it makes you sad, it makes you want to fall in love, it makes you smile and it also HEALS YOUR SOUL... :wink:

14-11-2003, 07:43 PM
I really like jam bands. I think they're the greatest bands in the world. Doesn't matter who they are. Once u hear a jam band you will really learn to appreciate music. These guys play for the music. THey don't care about the audience or the money. Well, maybe after the performance they do, but when they're playing a song, it's just the music and them.

I miss Damn Brandy.

royston
14-11-2003, 08:23 PM
Well, I am a typical Hokkian boy, although I am not as Ah Beng as singaporean... (no singaporean around huh...heehee) but the music I like is quite a lot...

First, I like cantonese songs which I used to sing and I can remember all the lyric even after few years ... haha...

Second, I like old songs like Boney M, Beegees, The Beatles, and my favourite songs is Elvis's Are You Lonesome Tonight... a little bit Ah Pek is it? hahah ... !! :lol:

Thirdly, I like Japanese songs such as Chage Aska, Anzentitai, Bz, Matsu Takako and Utada Hikaro coz I love to watch Matsu Takako's movie, she is sooooo cuteee .... (pervert!!)

Lastly, I love a kind of music called Enigma. A lot of my friends nearly kick my a** when I played the songs, they said like ghost songs... haha!!

numbtumb
02-12-2003, 03:36 PM
i currently like placebo n american rejects.n yeah yeah yeahs?they're cool...n no doubt's new single rawks tho its a coversong

02-12-2003, 04:41 PM
Sounds like I have the oldest taste.. still pretty much stuck with Bach when coding, Mahler when driving, Tchaikovsky when bathing and Dvorak when cooking, something like that..

No James Horner / John Williams fan here?

Btw, where's Malaysian made Mr. Cow these days?

02-12-2003, 09:04 PM
I heard that Malaysia Mr. Cow is going to study movie making in US sometime before but for some reason it was suspended. He told me that he likes to produce his own movie so I think maybe he is on his way to chasing his dream now...
Just maybe, not sure though.

About music, I listen to any kind of music from classical, oldies to rock n roll but I seldom memorize any of them. This is because I like to LISTEN to them but I am too lazy to switch on the radio, or play a Cd or even click on media player.
Until now, I can just memorize and sing a Malay song, a few English and Chinese songs. Sad huh!
But if just part of them then it will be a lot though. Just have no time to memorize those songs as I always listen to different songs all the time.

No favorite singer or band 8)

02-12-2003, 09:10 PM
I like to listen to new age and chinese intrumental

my favourite artist is Sarah Brightman... anyone?
sarah can sing new age as well as classic

Enya's voice is cool, mysterious + canvas like

Kitaro

Yanni

that's all for now

modern rock makes me vomit.
i say no to linkin part etc...

Music is changing so much that music in this decade is far different from ten years ago...
and I dun like the change.... hehe

03-12-2003, 06:21 AM
basically i listened to almost every type of songs (excluding those weird ones) and many languages as well be it chinese, canto, hokkien, teochew, hakka, english,malay, french, spanish or japanese. as long as the song is nice i will listen to it.

but definitely rock and roll is my favorite. i used to like alternative rock like oasis but now i like heavy metal better, like metallica and x japan. more stressful maybe?

any x japan, metallica and glay fan here?

03-12-2003, 02:21 PM
kenny G is the worst ripoff of a musician ever...well maybe a tie with Richard Clayderman

03-12-2003, 02:22 PM
kenny G is good. And how could you say Clayderman is a ripoff?
He has one or two modern classic man.

03-12-2003, 02:23 PM
kenny G is definitely a poser. He's so mechanical.
So is clayderman

03-12-2003, 02:25 PM
d00d!
i'll take kenny G or clayderman anytime over britney.

03-12-2003, 02:33 PM
that's like comparing appples and oranges.

John Coltrane over kenny G ...any century

03-12-2003, 02:34 PM
well, can't really argue with that.

03-12-2003, 02:39 PM
do u play any musical instrument? I actually set this topic to discuss more musician type stuff like exchange of scores and maybe teach technics. recommend good books or sites to learn stuff.

But this discussion is good too :)

03-12-2003, 02:46 PM
i dont really play instruments though I'm trying hard to play Pachelbel's Canon D on piano - can't really say im making progress :(

i do listen to tons of classicals. My fav is Strauss' Blue Danube. Not that I think it's the best but it was the first classical i've heard a long time ago.

15-12-2003, 10:38 PM
Personally, I dun play musical instrument too, but my younger brother plays violin, piano and flute. Well, I like music..and I'm an ardent fan of recent music, as long as the songs are nice, ranging from english, korean, japanese and mandarin. Anybody wanna share nice, good songs? :roll:

princess_ac
15-12-2003, 11:59 PM
So is clayderman

I totally disagree with that statement. I think they are such a proficient musician.
What makes you say Kenny G & clayderman is a poser by the way?

soul_out
16-12-2003, 01:07 AM
I can't believe there are no Jay Chou and David Tao's fans here. They are just brilliant.

soul_out
16-12-2003, 01:19 AM
So is clayderman

Ain't ur picture in recom with a sun glasses facing the monitor screen quite "possy" as well....hahah.....joking only, no hard feeling.... :D

16-12-2003, 03:31 AM
nope no hard feelings. :)

Just that Kenny G isn't really that good. He isn't the god of the saxaphone.

16-12-2003, 05:56 AM
know who is the best composer in the whole world currently?

John Williams. period.

16-12-2003, 06:46 AM
know who is the best composer in the whole world currently?

John Williams. period.

hmm.. James Horner http://www.james-horner.com/ beat John William anyday.

16-12-2003, 06:56 AM
horner is good. However, horner doesnt produce as many classics as williams.
That's why williams is in league of his own.

comparing horner to williams is like comparing pachelbel or vivaldi to bach or mozart.

16-12-2003, 08:22 AM
comparing horner to williams is like comparing pachelbel or vivaldi to bach or mozart.

coundln't have said it better myself. Agreed.

Anyway here's a funny song i would like to share Click here to download! (http://recom.org/download/7_Hari_-_Karim_Daud.mp3)

polarized
16-12-2003, 12:45 PM
i got cool stuff.

if u guys have iTunes (if u dont know yet..iTunes can be used on PC!!), u can get free music.

dwd 'MyTunes'....it's free (and i think it is illegal). it's a plug in to the iTunes.
what it does is when u play the song from other people's comp (u gotta be connected to a, dorm's or whateva, network--> so if u live off-campus..UNLUCKY), u can get the songs directly from them..for free..without them knowing u r dwd their mp3's.

so, y wait....
illegal is good......don't get caught (n i don't thnk you would be!!)

*everything said above does not have anything to do with the poster*

16-12-2003, 12:49 PM
woi jon, change your avatar d00d!!!
it's ok to screw wolverinemalaya but dont screw the ppl here d00d!!! :D

Ishveir
16-12-2003, 01:36 PM
oh so it is Jon aH?
chill la Jon take it easy
and you too earth, dOOd.

qedx
16-12-2003, 01:51 PM
lol karim daud hahaha dah lama dah tak dgr lagu tuh hahahahaha

polarized
16-12-2003, 02:54 PM
dOOd...
change d...
woot (jebai nyer stail :p)...

16-12-2003, 02:55 PM
Eh polarized teach me how to make animated gifs.

16-12-2003, 03:04 PM
thanks jon!
w00t!

polarized
16-12-2003, 03:10 PM
emmmm

tough job. did 1....no, modified one 1 week ago and it took me almost a day to figure out wat's next and wateva was wrong wif my gif. in the end that gif( the one i used at http://www-personal.umich.edu/~jkenniel/Animation2.gif) makes evrything in a site go slow :(.

get this software at : http://www.jasc.com/trialreg.asp?pid=003
no need to register. and try ur best to learn it.

if u have sth of other format, get this format convertor at:
http://www.flydragonsoft.com/download.htm
or
http://www.contextconvert.com/download.html

choose which 1 u like.

p/s: teach me how 2 create link to url.....

16-12-2003, 03:17 PM
for html
something (targetted url)

there a few other attribute you could add into the anchor tag.

go to http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_links.asp for a comprehensive list of available anchor attributes.

16-12-2003, 03:17 PM
polarized:
This: goblue (http://www.umich.edu) will link to umich.edu.

16-12-2003, 03:18 PM
of coz, the tags with square brackets are custom codes for this site only...

17-12-2003, 01:26 PM
I somehow missed this post. Do listen to the song, it's hilarious! :D

"kita berjinak hari Rabu..." LOL

coundln't have said it better myself. Agreed.

Anyway here's a funny song i would like to share Click here to download! (http://recom.org/download/7_Hari_-_Karim_Daud.mp3)

wmgan
12-01-2004, 05:35 PM
Any Horowitz/Rachmaninoff/Scriabin fans here?

sanghanuman
13-01-2004, 01:58 AM
Berjinak ke berjimak?

13-01-2004, 09:28 AM
Berjinak ke berjimak?

oo...i don't know. what's berjimak? my BM's bad...

16-01-2004, 05:47 AM
My piano teacher used to pass on her collection of Horowitz recordings to me - great pianist! Still not bored of Rachmaninoff piano concertos... they are amazing! Scriabin - who is this?

MarquisX
16-01-2004, 02:43 PM
john hornier?

listen to : Louis Armstrong, Gillespie, Bach, Mozart,etc..
dance to: Telepopmusik, dj remix, Iwan+Amelina+Mas Idayu (yeah, those dangdut freaks)
headbanging to: metaLLica's, Slipknot's, some Led Zeps

don't understand: Tatu....i know their vid-clips are steamy

MarquisX
16-01-2004, 02:43 PM
john hornier?

listen to : Louis Armstrong, Gillespie, Bach, Mozart,etc..
dance to: Telepopmusik, dj remix, Iwan+Amelina+Mas Idayu (yeah, those dangdut freaks)
headbanging to: metaLLica's, Slipknot's, some Led Zeps

don't understand: Tatu....i know their vid-clips are steamy

deadmeatz
12-02-2004, 12:57 AM
woohoo~
talking about music, imma into punk rock and emo.
blink182, the get up kids, brand new, ya da ya da. enough talking about it, btw has any of you guys listen to asian kung-fu generation? they're from japan. if u're a naruto fan, then u might have noticed it. the 2nd OP in naruto, haruka kanata. hell yeah! they rox! :wink:

deadmeatz
12-02-2004, 12:57 AM
woohoo~
talking about music, imma into punk rock and emo.
blink182, the get up kids, brand new, ya da ya da. enough talking about it, btw has any of you guys listen to asian kung-fu generation? they're from japan. if u're a naruto fan, then u might have noticed it. the 2nd OP in naruto, haruka kanata. hell yeah! they rox! :wink:

12-02-2004, 04:22 AM
if you're interested in non-mainstream music, here's a site that streams free music.

www.epitonic.com

some of you may have heard of it already.

12-02-2004, 04:22 AM
if you're interested in non-mainstream music, here's a site that streams free music.

www.epitonic.com

some of you may have heard of it already.

23-03-2004, 02:43 PM
is there any mandarin songs supporters in this topic here???

23-03-2004, 02:43 PM
is there any mandarin songs supporters in this topic here???

23-03-2004, 05:09 PM
Basically I listen to certain songs to my likings, despite the category or singers... But I only like certain songs on certain times... When I'm hype, i'll go for semi rock like Simple Plan, if i wanna sleep, it's time for soft pop songs like Savage Garden... But usually, it's either classical or some mandarin songs, albeit i dun understand mandarin...

23-03-2004, 05:09 PM
Basically I listen to certain songs to my likings, despite the category or singers... But I only like certain songs on certain times... When I'm hype, i'll go for semi rock like Simple Plan, if i wanna sleep, it's time for soft pop songs like Savage Garden... But usually, it's either classical or some mandarin songs, albeit i dun understand mandarin...

b_ronick
24-03-2004, 02:53 PM
music!!
one of my most fav things in life...
it's a pleasure listening to music..

hmmm...what type i like listening to..
actually i'm into all kinds of music..nuthin really specific..
but currently most played cd would be michael buble's and kelly clarkson's thankful..
ask my frenz..they are so tired of listening to those songs that they will scream when i tell them i'm goin to play those songs!!hehe..
even oldies are something that i like..and linkin park and a whole list more!!
guy sebastian's songs are quite good too!!

but i am really in love with buble's voice..sigh..

24-03-2004, 05:36 PM
Hi, I am JAy chou, Jacky Cheung, Faye Wong and Yan Zi fan.
Both of them have excellent voices. As for Jay, I like his R&B style; I never love R&B before. Faye has a very outstanding voice among all pop queens.

For western music world, I admire the talented voices from Mariah Carey and Celine Dion. To me, MC is always the best singer (not performer) in the world. Celine does as well as MC but sometimes her high-pitch-added voice effect is irritating. She would be greater with her voice if she just let her high pitch voice fades naturally. Hahaa...too demanding i am.

btw, if anyone has something to share like poster, wallpaper or calendar, pls feel free to offer. I have some collections from MC, Celine and Jay.

lonewolfhan
24-03-2004, 08:06 PM
Hei NatureSimple.. . Mandaring Songs supporter here.. Hmm... kind of sad coz in INTEC... not much ppl listen to Chinese Songs... so i always lost track to the latest songs until i get a chance to go back home.. hehe..

Hmm... i like a lot of ppl songs eh.. hehe... such as YanZI.. Jay Chou.. 5566... S.H.E... Michael & Victor...

Besdies... i like all the soundtracks of the taiwan series i watch.. all the songs are VERY nice~

lonewolfhan
24-03-2004, 08:10 PM
Hmm.. besides chinese songs.... i love FINAL FANTASY soundtracks.... if all of u have the chance.... u must listen to the songs... .especially Piano version one.... its.... itss.... DAMN nice! :D

25-03-2004, 01:22 AM
I think music is one of the best things in life...

imagine how a movie will feel like if there weren't any background music or soundtrack to accompany it... all those orchestra sound effects that creat tension, happiness, mystery, mirth etc...

yeah, you're right. but try to watch an Iranian movie, for example, Children of Heaven. They use very little music, but the movie is still expressive. I wonder how they did it.

lonewolfhan
25-03-2004, 08:43 AM
hehe...anyway, i also like sun yan zi and jay chow and S.H.E....though the prob here is...i don't understand a word they're saying! :( (banana) dunno mandarin. but still, i listen to the songs. :oops: oh yeah, and i also like wang lee hom and F4 <-- *ahem* i know lotsa people say that they're voices are not good. but i find their songs very nice wert...especially 'jue bu neng shi qu ni' plus harlem yu's 'ching fei de yi' NICE! :oops: :lol:

Hmm... If u need the translation of the songs... ask me.. hehee... Yea... i HATE F4.... but... "jue bu neng shi qu ni" is very nice.... used to listen to it over and over again everyday... KEkeke...

Wahh... So many ppl like YanZi Jay Chou and S.H.E..... nice nice !!! however.. many ppl said that S.H.E are not talented.... but.. their songs are nice... although they cant compose songs.. they can sing... and their performance are natural and friendly.. juz love them! hehe..

want to mention oso that Yanzi and Jaychou's PIANO is SUPERB !!!! they can really play !

tree007
25-03-2004, 09:14 AM
yeah.. i love mandarin songs too... i like jay chou n fish leung (liang jing ru) best... oooo.. love their songs n voices..

SHE not talented nvm lah.. cute enuf dy.. hahaha.. hebe's wailing.. ooooo can make my hair stand.. hahahaha.. :P

F4 songs r quite nice actually.. just the singers... errr.. haih... incompetent... if they join american idol, surely kena "cha" by Simon Cowell wan.. hahahaha...

in addition, i agree tha John WIlliams is in his own league.. however... somehow.. i prefer James HOrner's scores... sounds.. more... touching.. nicer.. espeacially the score for "perfect storm".. very nice....
and.. how come u guys left out Alan Silvestri? i think he's a genius.. i love his scores best.. especially for "forrest gump" and "castaway"... corect me if i'm wrong.. but i think he's the composer... n HOward Shore.. oklah.. hehe.. quite nice.. :)

Alan Silvestri rules..... yey! :P

SpRInG
25-03-2004, 09:34 AM
hmm.... music....whoa.... sounds like a field that i'm interested in..
kekekeke... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

i'm into all kind of music, except certain loud or heavy music, for me, this type hurts my ears... but i'm not against them, i respect all kind of music....

hmm... still searching for the right scope to discuss about this topic

hungwei
25-03-2004, 09:21 PM
Count me in, music lovers!

But I don't know how to play any musical instrument. Too bad for a music lover.

Thinking of learning to play one, maybe guitar for a start in US. Might get one in US. Is it expensive there?

25-03-2004, 11:22 PM
wau.....!!! so many people out there like chinese songs!!! impressed! to yakban81......................u have the same taste with me! totally same :!:
jacky cheung-i first listen to his songs since i was small n that because of my sister influence(his big fan)...we almost got every single tapes of his albums
jay chou- his songs are superb to me
sun yan zi-emerge nearly same time with jay n become a hit
faye wong-my idol ever. her songs r different from other definately

25-03-2004, 11:27 PM
I love CoCo Lee's mandarin songs, though i dont understand any of it. It's not really the spoke language that matters, it's the universal language, music.
Anyone here like to help me translate a mandarin song? Just one.

26-03-2004, 12:00 AM
let see if i can help
which song?

26-03-2004, 10:37 AM
jacky cheung-i first listen to his songs since i was small n that because of my sister influence(his big fan)...we almost got every single tapes of his albums

NatureSimple, you sounds like me too...haha :D . I have more than 100 collection of Jacky best song in my harddisk8)

Mandarin/chinese song aside, how about your taste for English music? [/quote]

26-03-2004, 12:16 PM
Tomorrow 27th is Mariah's 34th birthday:!: :D :P :lol:

26-03-2004, 04:40 PM
let see if i can help
which song?

i dont even know how to spell the title.

it comes from this album
http://www.efanguide.com/~cocolee/discography/cd-forever.jpg
one of my favorite.

this is the lyric, http://www.efanguide.com/~cocolee/discography/cd-fnuf.html#track1
the first song.

i know it's a sad song, but i have no idea what it means. i love it though.

Cirnelle
26-03-2004, 04:58 PM
Jay chou rulez!!
David tao rockz!!!
Faye wong amazes!!
oh and i love Penny tai...she is a singer@<hidden> writer@<hidden> ..made in malaysia!! she is really cool...

oh and i love classical music too....beethoven and schubert and tschaitowsky are my all time fav...i play the piano and violin and viola and i love orchestral music!!

oh and any live music turns me on instantly...let it be unplugged or band.... 8)

26-03-2004, 05:42 PM
yeah, beethoven rules. he's one of my favorite. i love his music, and reading about him makes me understand his music better. what a person he was.

mystique_jasper
26-03-2004, 09:28 PM
serious? u translate for me ha...later don't say i 'mah fan' lor. :P :lol: S.H.E is not really that talented. actually, come to think of it, there's one member in the trio who has a deeper voice. dunno what's her name. :? anyway, i disliked her voice at that time, thinking that it spoils the songs. But, after listening to her voice for a few times you can say that i have come to like her voice...hehe. funny how things work out. :lol: :oops:
F4 is...well, not bad lar...haha! now vanness is not bad looking eh! anyone watched MTV Asia Awards? he was the host...cute lor! :wink:

I think the SHE member you are saying is HEBE... 8) ...Her voice... fuyoh...the best lar... as for F4, vaness good-looking... :? errr....no comment.... I think wang lee hom is the most handsome chinese singer in the music industry...HA...HA.. his voice is sweet also...very talented composer..... :wink:

sKYwalker
26-03-2004, 09:36 PM
hmm..well, i think i can sing better than wang lee hom....

hungwei
26-03-2004, 09:39 PM
Well, sKYwalker, be careful that you don't turn into the next william hung. He was sure that he could impersonate Ricky Martin, but....
On the other hand, who knows? hehe :lol:

mystique_jasper
26-03-2004, 09:43 PM
well, william hung not bad what...he has his own album wo...he can "dance" well too....compare skywalker to william hung.... :?: No comment :D ...ha...ha

sKYwalker
26-03-2004, 09:44 PM
eerrmm...i think i hav just sensed some jeolousy....

my mother is right....
we must be unassuming...sometimes saying the truth is not a good thing to do.... :lol:

26-03-2004, 09:45 PM
hmm..well, i think i can sing better than wang lee hom....

Are you sure about that?
Maybe ATUSA should have a sKYwalker personal concert next semester. Everyone agrees?

mystique_jasper
26-03-2004, 09:48 PM
Are you sure about that?
Maybe ATUSA should have a sKYwalker personal concert next semester. Everyone agrees?

i agree... let him sing at the atusa night.. :D He sure can "attract" a lot of girls.... :lol: he might impress the mak guard with his sweet voice tooo :lol:

sKYwalker
26-03-2004, 09:49 PM
if there is a popular demand, i won mind.....
(actually this is quite redundant, since it is for sure that there will be....)

please don't turn this into a chat room..
any vehement disagreement or doubts about my ability should be direct to me personally...don't turn recom into room 16/312 in cemara.....

26-03-2004, 10:01 PM
please don't turn this into a chat room..
any vehement disagreement or doubts about my ability should be direct to me personally...don't turn recom into room 16/312 in cemara.....

agree....

Panda
26-03-2004, 10:02 PM
if there is a popular demand, i won mind.....
(actually this is quite redundant, since it is for sure that there will be....)

SkyWalker, you have been too much with your narcissism. You can talk like that in the room, but you say like that in the forum???? Have you gone out of your mind?
If you can sing better than wang li hom, animal also can talk lah :roll:

27-03-2004, 12:43 AM
再見一面
我答應你的 已經慢慢實現 不想你的好 忘記你的笑臉
因為愛失眠 那些恍惚的白天 已成泛黃的從前
你和他之間 紛紛擾擾流言 聽了多少遍 心早已經厭倦
沒有人相信 我從來不曾埋怨 只是偶爾難免 還有一些思念
好想再見你一面 看看最近的改變
沒有你陪在身邊 我學會 自己勇敢一點
快樂 悲傷 都變的很淺 簡單的生活是我唯一心願
只想再見你一面 我可以站得很遠 若不小心被發現
一瞬間 所有纏綿 也是雲煙

see u once again
wat i promise u...is becoming reality...not thinking of ur good side...forgot ur smiling face
preference in insomnia...those daylight...has been yellowed
between u n him... slow conversation...have heard countless times...too bored about it
nobody believes...that i never blame...but sometimes...there is still a little feeling of missing u
hopefully to see u once again...to see changes in u lately
without u beside me...i will learn...to be brave in myself
happiness..sadness...but love on the surface...simple lifestyle is my only wish
just to see u once again...i can stand far far aside...only if i 've been seen
(the last line i really dunno how)

27-03-2004, 02:49 AM
thanks a lot for the translation.
i think i still donno what the first few lines mean. if you dont mind, can u elaborate, i mean, dont translate word by word. can u paraphrase it?
Thanks dude.

Melo_15
27-03-2004, 01:57 PM
erm ehem ehem...actually....skywalker has a point....dun turn this forum into room 16/312 haha

then...bout he can sing better than wang lee hom, then i am gonna be william hung!!! haha nola jkjk...wayne can sing 'like' wang lee hom haha......

27-03-2004, 03:06 PM
then...bout he can sing better than wang lee hom, then i am gonna be william hung!!! haha nola jkjk...wayne can sing 'like' wang lee hom haha......

Then we ask Wayne to sing all his 'personal composed' songs in the concert as well lar. We'll have the best duet of all - Wayne cum Skywalker........

For safety precautions, everyone is reminded to bring their umbrellas along ... there'll be a very strong thunderstorm on that night.

Juz kidding, no offense, ya?

sKYwalker
27-03-2004, 04:41 PM
eh, one question..

do anyone know where to get the"flight of the bumble bee" piano music sheet for free?? i mean the one played by maxim...

hope sb can help.

z
27-03-2004, 05:27 PM
eh... cemara... not akasia? hahaha

lonewolfhan
30-03-2004, 11:46 AM
Ewwww.... sing better then LeeHom? Sigh~ juz want to remind uguys that this is not a private chat room !!

Btw... everyone... if u really want to listen to skywalker singing... Hmm.. perhaps u shouldl listen to William Hung songs more often(get used to it~).. and expect the voice which is worse than Hung's... Hahaha.a. (dun sia sui urself la..)

Well.. for the piano sheet of "Flight of a Bumble Bee"... my fren managed to get it withouht paying a cent.. shouldnt be soooo hard to find one ah !!! perhaps u can try www.popiano.com or www.popiano.net.... not sure about the address.... my frens and i got most of the scores from this site.. mostly chinese songs la...

SpRInG
30-03-2004, 11:55 AM
haha....

good news for you, sKYwalker.. i have the piano sheet for 'the flight of the bumble bee"..

but the bad news is that the score is in my laptop.... but i'm not accessing the internet from my laptop right now..

hmm. but i'll try my best to tell you the site.... koz i can't really remember.... but i haf the file....

sKYwalker
30-03-2004, 01:46 PM
o....thx spring and lonewolfhan!

cause i have been seaching this music sheet for a long time...
all of those i managed to find is not free one...

31-03-2004, 01:32 AM
i think i still donno what the first few lines mean. if you dont mind, can u elaborate, i mean, dont translate word by word. can u paraphrase it?

actually i'm not very good at giving remarks.....just try la...

the first line is saying that the author la..... have been dumbed by her bf or maybe separated n promise not to think about him anymore. that's wat the author mean in the first line.

then the author said she do not wanna sleep (too sad already i think) n bright days becoming yellowing (just some symbolic that show it is like becoming end of the day or hope deemed)

n all this happened because of the third person who penetrate in their relationship.the author felt bored listening to their explanation.

but the author never blame them. in contrast she still miss him a little.

[/quote]

31-03-2004, 01:36 AM
Mandarin/chinese song aside, how about your taste for English music?

i prefer coldplay n norah jones, they r very talented

besides i 'm very much impressed by mariah carey for her vocal performance

tree007
31-03-2004, 11:11 AM
there's one member in the trio who has a deeper voice

reagarding the SHE thigny, i think she is referring to Ella.. yeah.. i think the voice is.. ermm.. let's just say it doesn';t really blend in with the other 2.. i mean.. hebe n selina's voice r those type that can make ur bulu roma stand up whenever they whail...... hehe.. but in person.. i think ella is the cutest.. no in looks, but in person, as in personality.. very... active, jumpy.... hehe... oh yeah. ella rox!!! haha.....

31-03-2004, 11:13 AM
thanks a lot dude. i used to listen to this song, feeling sad, as if i understand it (even though i didn't understand a singe word of it). i relied on the somber melody, and her excellent expression. now, i think i have more idea of what this song is all about. thanks again.

http://solaria.stanford.edu/images/women/4coco.jpg

damn i love this chick. I still remember quitting my school band, and went to genting alone when i was in form 4 to watch her concert. it was a great experience. even though i didn't understand anythig that she said, and i was apparently the only non-chinese fan in there, i didnt regret paying RM200 for the ticket. aargh, i miss it.

chenghau
31-03-2004, 11:15 AM
Coco Lee?

lonewolfhan
31-03-2004, 11:15 AM
Err... SHE.... i think three of them make a great group! their different personalites are their trademark !!!! love them~
well.. ella's voice is deeper... but the way they arrange their vocal is juz nice.... their voices CAN blend ! hehee... :P

31-03-2004, 11:32 AM
Coco Lee?

yup.

31-03-2004, 05:39 PM
beautiful snapshot of Coco Lee :D
I like her song too. She sings very well too in english; Before I fall In Love, Love Before Time.

naturesimple, I am a crazy admirer of MC...her vocal performance is indescribably incredible. 8O

My favorites song of her from Mariah Carey - Vision of love, Vanishing, Love takes time. From Emotions - Can't let go, Emotions. From Music Box - Dreamlover, Hero, Music box, Without you. From Merry Christmas - All I want for Christmas is you. From Daydream - One sweet day, Fantasy, Underneath the stars, Always be my baby, When I saw you, Looking in, Open Arms. From Butterfly - Butterfly, Honey, Breakdown, Fourth of July. From Glitter - Never Too Far. From Charmbracelet - The one, I only wanted, Through the rain, Yours. My favourite album is either Daydream or Emotion. I really can't decide. My least favourite is either Glitter or Charmbracelet.

31-03-2004, 05:54 PM
Some said that SHE sounds like chipmunks vocal.
I like to hear song at that way. "Hua Dou Kai hao Le"-Flower oredi Blossoms? Voices are blended very well? Interesting, I am looking forward to hear that song.
Even though SHE is not my favorite but I do like some of their songs; Re Dai Yu Lin and Super Star.

kIdd0
31-03-2004, 08:39 PM
Hmmm..... talking bout chinese music.... one very general question :!:

:?: ANYONE HERE WHO'S FORMERLY FROM CHINESE SCHOOL N DOESN'T LIKE JAY :?:

seriously, this intriguing fact i suppose... there is this "thing" bout those Chinese-ed n JAY... they all just seem to like him... i dare say that not a single one i have encountered does not fancy JAY or his songs to some extend...

not that im against JAY or anything, just something i thought rather bizarre...

-signed-
JAYFAN

tree007
31-03-2004, 09:48 PM
errr.. got one.. i got frens who dun like jay.. 'cos.. he's... too popular? :P

his songs very chun ler.. all also mumble wan.... haha... n when u try to play his song on piano, u'll be like.. hitting one key all the time.. haha... (wat to do, rap...):P

but.. jay rox! yey.....

hungwei
31-03-2004, 10:42 PM
Jay is OK.
He's not bad, so I see no reason why I should hate him.
Did you ask your friends why they dislike him?

Panda
01-04-2004, 10:17 AM
Yeah I like Jay songs.
I especially like his early day songs. His new song I dont really like. Does anyone has the same thought as me?

01-04-2004, 10:39 AM
same thought here. there's some nice new songs too but i still prefer his old songs like "hei se you mo" (black humor), tornado and cute woman. i think more or less he's repeating back some of his old songs' style, dun you think so? anyway, not really a big fan of him but no doubt some of his songs are pretty nice.

any new and nice chinese songs lately? i think i had lost track of it. and the latest chinese mp3 on my com is like 1 year ago.

any J-rock fan here?

lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 03:30 PM
JAY ROCKs la... have no reason to dislike him at all.. his songs are soo unique... and NICE ! :D the lyrics all very meaningful.. although they r quite hard to be memorized ( i like challenges.. ).. .and the Rap part.. .Woww... superb .... I like both the old and new songs !
not only that, his piano skill... Phewww... too good to describe !

News Update: his latest album has juz been nominated for 8 categories (The highest number of nominations) in this year's GOLDEN SONG PRIZE (direct translated from Mandarin)...
however... YAnZI gets ZERO nomination this time.. maybe due to her decision to rest for one year (not Fair.. )... S.H.E nominated for the Best Group only...

01-04-2004, 04:18 PM
in www.friendster.com ..... i answered a question on wat song i would like to be played in my funeral.... i tot of all the sad songs i like and i could oni think of this one.......

Soledad
Westlife

If only you could see the tears in the world you left behind
If only you could heal my heart just one more time
Even when I close my eyes
There's an image of your face
And once again I come I'll realize
You're a loss I can't replace

Chorus:
Soledad
It's a keeping for the lonely
Since the day that you were gone
Why did you leave me
Soledad
In my heart you were the only
And your memory live on
Why did you leave me
Soledad

Walking down the streets of nothingville
Where our love was young and free
Can't believe just what an empty place
It has come to be
I would give my life away
If it could only be the same
Cause I can't still the voice inside of me
That is calling out your name

Chorus

Time will never change the things you told me
After all we're meant to be love will bring us back to you and me
If only you could see

Chorus:cry: :cry: :cry:
*sigh* hope ppl will remember this post........

mystique_jasper
01-04-2004, 09:04 PM
8) hai! I am also yanzi fan....ha...ha... Her voice fuyoh!!!!!!!I like her song especially "tin oh oh" (the black sky) Sorry ah... Direct translation....hai :cry: Too bad lor..she is now taking her break..Hope she will return to her singing career soon...Miss her so much... :oops: :cry:

lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 09:26 PM
Hmm.. YanZI just needs a break from the hectic singer's life... not for the study this time.. but she certainly has this plan...
Dun worry YanZi fans.. she will be back in a few months time... Jun will be the month when she comes back with her concert in BeiJing, China- The 1st show after taking the break... so... juz a few months away and we might get the chance to listen to her new songs ade.. Yeahh ! :D

02-04-2004, 10:27 AM
Music is part of parcel of our life. Sometimes music gives boost to our motivation when life is hard. Here’s a song from MC entitled Hero. It always comes to life in my mind whenever I encounter hardship in life.

There's a hero if you look inside your heart
You don't have to be afraid of what you are
There's an answer if you reach into your soul
And the sorrow that you know will melt away

And then a hero comes along with the strength to carry on
And you cast your fears aside and you know you can survive
So when you feel like hope is gone
Look inside you and be strong
And you'll finally see the truth that a hero lies in you

It's a long road when you face the world alone
No one reaches out a hand for you to hold
You can find love if you search within yourself
And the emptiness you felt will disappear

Lord knows
Dreams are hard to follow
But don't let anyone tear them away
Hold on
There will be tomorrow
In time you'll find the way

02-04-2004, 10:50 AM
Judge : You can’t sing, you can’t dance. What do you want to say?
Will : I have no professional training.
Judge : This is a surprise of the century.

Once a rejected American Idol, William Hung indeed never be an American Idol but he is American most wanted in the pop world right now. Cool real guy…
I wonder, anyone have heard his so-called hot selling album “She Bangs”? Can get one in local market now?

03-04-2004, 08:32 AM
i used to listen to this song, feeling sad, as if i understand it (even though i didn't understand a singe word of it).

the power of music

ingshan
03-05-2004, 04:12 PM
hehe....i'm an otaku....thus i LOVE!!! anime songs....as u see....anime songs are different form j-pop......dunno y i'm addicted to it now....i currently have 350++ over songs in my playlist which is anime songs.....

i have the mp3s even of those anime i didn't watch....crazy huh....
btw, my favourite singer is Megumi Hayashibara, Masami Okui and Kuribayashi Minami......

hail anime!!!! :twisted:

03-05-2004, 04:17 PM
in www.friendster.com ..... i answered a question on wat song i would like to be played in my funeral.... i tot of all the sad songs i like and i could oni think of this one.......

why choose a sad song? You got me thinking about what song I would like at my funeral and I would choose "Time of your life" by Green Day.

widagdo
03-05-2004, 05:03 PM
I wonder, anyone have heard his so-called hot selling album ?She Bangs?? Can get one in local market now?

Hot selling? Do you really mean it? :P

SpRInG
03-05-2004, 08:44 PM
at my funeral, i want people to be happy... i want happy songs to be played... i dont' want people to sob.. i don't want people to mourn, but i want people to rejoice.... O When The Saints Go Marching In would be one good song for my funeral

03-05-2004, 09:28 PM
At funeral I'd like Enya's Now We Are Free to be played. Y'know, that song at the end of the movie Gladiator. For those who haven't watched the movie or don't know this song, download it immediately (alternatively, you can try the legal method and buy the soundtrack!).

Anyway for William Hung fans (haha!) check this out:
http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2004/5/3/features/7852106&sec=features

Sez here that his biggest female fan base is Singapore (OMG!) and his album Inspiration sold 3000 copies there on its launching day. Do try listening to his songs. I'm sure your life will be shortened by a couple of years by his bad singing.

03-05-2004, 11:06 PM
why choose a sad song? You got me thinking about what song I would like at my funeral and I would choose "Time of your life" by Green Day.
lol. i'd choose 'man in the box' by alice in chains. pretty apt if you ask me.

03-05-2004, 11:10 PM
Still haven't think that far yet about my funeral... But whether it's a happy song, or sad song, i prefer them to play the song that i like best... And there are a long list of them... HEHE

darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 05:39 PM
omg william hung inspiration..... I listen to hotel california i wanna ko already lo.... :roll: hahaha. Anyways I think nobody can do without music., with the exception of some ppl ( u know who u are ) Anyways i listen to anything english, but prefer latest lo , from pop to dance. btw it's been 2 days here already, and i'm having so much fun!

27-06-2004, 05:47 PM
omg william hung inspiration..... I listen to hotel california i wanna ko already lo.... :roll: hahaha. Anyways I think nobody can do without music., with the exception of some ppl ( u know who u are ) Anyways i listen to anything english, but prefer latest lo , from pop to dance. btw it's been 2 days here already, and i'm having so much fun!

Hehe... glad to hear that you find it fun in Recom... Do explore the SIGs and other forums... maybe u can start a new topics?

Oh yeah, William Hung... i dunno why lar that bloke go and humiliate himself by singing those songs? Dunno what makes him popular... shrug!

darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 08:22 PM
but the smart thing is he sacrificed his dignity for bling bling ( cash la) don't you think that's smart!!

gatecrasher
27-06-2004, 08:39 PM
Yeah it is smart. Not that i think it is right. Some people are willing to do so, and i suppose we shouldn't meddle if it's none of our business.
And what do you use as a measure of popularity? Album sales or fan clubs?
Assuming you use album sales, i don't think he's popular for his voice nor even for his erm... attitude. Don't you sense that he's being treated as a novelty, like some circus freak? He's something different and of course the public is curious to hear him sing. And probably enjoy some comic relief at the same time.

27-06-2004, 09:07 PM
yeah....

and he did one thing rite.... naming the album as 'inspiration'

the album is very inspirational and very good to lift up one's spirit....

when u r feeling down and exhausted... try listen to his "I Believe I Can Fly".....

after listening to him, you can really fly... high up the sky... u will feel like on top of the world...

when u r sleepy, but u still have tons of homework to do... try this album too...

but at your own risk....

oh yar, and when some one commented on ur singing, u can still be happy bcoz u still know that u can sing better than William Hung...

so.. it is important for us to have William Hung...

darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 09:40 PM
yeah....fly until a needle pops your balloon haha....

anyway what he did is a novelty, it is either a hit or a flop, but looking at the sales i'd say it's a floppy hit ( whatever thats means ) 8O

well, we haven't seen novelty success for the first time right? what about los del rio macarena las ketchup the kicap song and cheeky girls... errt that song lah cheeky song, sure the lyrics are crap but everybody listens, so sometimes crap can sell too!

Randomphantom
27-06-2004, 10:44 PM
Come on he's a Eng. student from UC B. He's smart to cash in on his stunt in American Idol... and with a muka tembok to boot. Shebang is quite bearable but listening to "I believe I can fly" makes me puke. Lately some of those CD sellers in pasar malams are blaring his songs for all to hear and it makes me feel very embarrassed, like in you don't know whether to laugh or cry. Hope he doesn't inspire too many tone-deafs to join his league... that'll be the end of all music.

Any fans of FF and its music, I wonder? FFvii's songs are timeless... btw, don't think me as childish to like gaming music, k?

darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 10:50 PM
no you're not....i personally think that FF songs are pretty good

27-06-2004, 10:56 PM
if u think listening to william hung is bad...

wait till u see a guy trying to sing Madonna's 'like a virgin' in american idol

brrrrrr...sends a chill down my spine just thinking about it
*cringe*

darkhorse_86
28-06-2004, 07:10 AM
oh yeah that guy hahaha

28-06-2004, 07:15 AM
yeah....

and he did one thing rite.... naming the album as 'inspiration'

the album is very inspirational and very good to lift up one's spirit....

at first it was named ' the real idol right'???

05-12-2004, 09:06 AM
hello, does anybody listen to handel?

06-12-2004, 01:43 PM
I do all the time.

06-12-2004, 01:47 PM
at my funeral, i want people to be happy... i want happy songs to be played... i dont' want people to sob.. i don't want people to mourn, but i want people to rejoice.... O When The Saints Go Marching In would be one good song for my funeral
Here's a personal decication to you when you die:

Happy death day to you!
Happy death dear SpRInG.....!
Happy death day to you!

Sung to the tune of Happy Birthday to you. :P

Hope we don't have to hear it for many years to come :)

06-12-2004, 02:03 PM
I do all the time.

just wondering, do have the water suite? I've looking all over the internet for it.

06-12-2004, 02:19 PM
I don't :( well at least not here. I got the CD in Petaling Jaya, and that's I think 10000 miles away right now...

I got Queen Sheba at home if you want :)

06-12-2004, 02:22 PM
Would you take Bryan Adam's Summer of 69 instead? :)

06-12-2004, 02:54 PM
oh no. That's copyrighted, unlike most of handel's.

i would never break the law :twisted:

debbie
06-12-2004, 04:38 PM
For the best music around, listen to The Idea of North and the Ten Tenors. They're real nice. Like really, really nice. Tchaikovsky is great too .. Overture 1812, The Seasons and his ballet works. Listen to them ok? Really nice.

theT
06-12-2004, 05:48 PM
support local music scene...

some nice site I found on the net http://www.i-bands.net/

check it out!

debbie
07-12-2004, 04:29 PM
Wow. Like I'm living in M'sia and I had no idea those bands exist. Checked out tht site and the only one I know is Ben's B*****s cos they were recently in the papers. Also aware of Altered Frequency, Reshmonu ... so blur. *sticks out tongue* They should er.. publicize more.

08-12-2004, 04:01 PM
oh no. That's copyrighted, unlike most of handel's.

i would never break the law :twisted:
Word, word....

StupidCupid
12-12-2004, 04:29 PM
as for me, i listen to all kind of musics.

all depends on my mood...

sad - heavy metal, hard rock, techno ....... etc the noisy one

high - heavy bass

reading - sentimental, enchantment ... etc the soft one

at times i like britney's songs, sometimes i don't

that's me!!

12-12-2004, 04:47 PM
currently, kinda crazie about Joss Stone and Jack Johnson. Think the music is kinda cool. Joss sings w so much soul, and Jack Johnson, man...listening to him reminds me of the sea, the hawaiian thing.

Anyway, other than that, i'm kinda into this female singers phas, Diana Anaid, Jill Scott, Joss Stone, Angie Stone etc

Just think they're cool..
but also listen to other singers..like Switchfoot, Keith Urban, Tim McGraw. I kinda like country songs too..but not Shania Twain, and Faith Hill. Not sure why, i like the male singers more in this sense.

16-12-2004, 12:03 PM
anybody knows where to find good classical internet radio stations?

I usually get mine from www.shoutcast.com but its getting bored. Need new stations.

16-12-2004, 12:07 PM
anybody knows where to find good classical internet radio stations?

I usually get mine from www.shoutcast.com but its getting bored. Need new stations.

Piano pieces are boring to me. That's why I dun really like Chopin and Listz's works.

Does anyone have The Who's Tommy musical pieces?

29-04-2005, 06:33 PM
currently, kinda crazie about Joss Stone and Jack Johnson. Think the music is kinda cool. Joss sings w so much soul, and Jack Johnson, man...listening to him reminds me of the sea, the hawaiian thing.

jack johnson is awesome. my two favorite songs are "Inaudible Melodies" and "The news"

kamilchan
29-04-2005, 07:24 PM
try hearing, taking back sunday, matchbook romance, ataris, sugarcult, eisley..anything man..it sounds great..or try the album "punk goes acoustic"..man, the acoustic is very nice to hear..mainly the songs are bout depression, life and love. hear it!

30-04-2005, 04:52 AM

jack johnson is awesome. my two favorite songs are "Inaudible Melodies" and "The news"

Yeah my friend listens to Jack Johnsen alot and i have to say that i've found some of his tunes quite addictive. I asked to borrow it from h im but he said get your own :lol:

30-04-2005, 05:06 AM
does anyone know Nick Drake?

30-04-2005, 02:21 PM
Call me retro, but I listen to lots of Beatles songs. They're quite good actually, except that some songs have like totally no meaning (like "I am the Walrus")...

Any Beatles fan out there? :)

02-05-2005, 10:12 AM
beatles is always good.

have you heard of DJ Danger Mouse. He made a mix of the Beatles's White Album with Jay Z's Black Album. It's called the Grey Album (which makes total sense).

Anyway, it's pretty cool.

markuzzz
02-05-2005, 01:01 PM
hey anyone here into jazz and swing? Michael Buble, Renee Olstaed, Ray Charles, Vonda Shepard, jamie cullum, ella fitzgerald.. nothing beats an afternoon with them crooning away in the background and a good novel at hand.. =)

02-05-2005, 02:05 PM
i've listened to ray charles and ella fitzgerald.

How about john coltrane and mile davis?

I've also listened to contemporary jazz; norah jones, diana krall.

Also my friend is in a jazz band so occasionally hear him play. The other day we had a party and we had a band. It was awesome listening to them play, just improv. trumpet, bass, guitar, and drums.