View Full Version : PA STPM
piiven
19-06-2004, 07:59 AM
Does anybody know any info regarding to the topic below: -
Nation vs World Peace
:?: How can nation contibute towards world peace?
:?: Is it a good idea to boycott Amecia's products?
Thanks!!!!!
oinkoink
19-06-2004, 09:45 AM
Why do u put this under PA STPM ?
19-06-2004, 10:28 AM
This is because, to avoid many threads are coming up on various topics under PA, so any discussion on the PA, would be under this thread.
Piiven is trying to get information for his PA on this topic.
19-06-2004, 08:07 PM
This is 2 talks that I have typed out in ReCom, which may be linked towards.
One by Jody Williams, 1997 Nobel Peace Prize.
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=8394#8394
Second by Bill Clinton, 42nd President of US.
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=19360#19360
Guess the stuff there have at least some connections with what you need..
Hope others could chip in and discuss... Make Guidance for SPM & STPM SIG useful for you and everyone!
is PA=Pengajian Am?The format of PA is changed this year according to my teacher n become worse...i mean harder.anybody provides the gd method to learn PA?may i read English news instead of Malay news?
greyhair
20-06-2004, 08:34 PM
bill:
hehe, as far as i know about the format of PA are added 5 IQ questions in paper 1 and bahagian C in paper 2.....other than these all r almost the same. my teacher ask us 2 read newspaper dialy as we need general knowledge 2 answer the q esp bahagian C which required all rank of views. the q which r posted by pii ven without the "keratan akhbar" are in bahagian C. he said that the language of PA is not totally malay, but combined of english n malay. i think we may read english newspaper a week followed by malay a week
20-06-2004, 10:42 PM
Here's a tip from one of my PA teachers. If you're writing an 'esei laras sains', do not write a point about social, economics or politics in it. You won't be given any marks for it. The same goes for 'esei laras sastera'.
For example, my midyear question was:
Untuk mencapai status negara maju, sesebuah negara perlu mencapai tahap kemajuan sains dan teknologi yang tinggi. Jelaskan peranan sains dan teknologi dalam konteks penyataan di atas.
One of the points I wrote was about the ability of S&T to aid the economy of a country, and I got no marks at all for the whole point and its explanations. Too bad I had to learn it the hard way...
salyeo
21-06-2004, 12:50 PM
can everyone share their midyear PA essay questions here? i think by doing so, we can have a collection of different topics plus the important points on wat should we write in those essay questions.
i often have the problem of not getting the correct 'huraian'... i wonder if there is any particular techniques or strategy to write a good PA essay systematically?
thanks a lot to greyhair n USSDefiantNX74205.
it sounds like PA is harder than other subjects cos nothin can b memorise but easier cos no need to memorise anything...ha..
anybody can recommend some good books with updated syllabus to study PA?thanks...
29-06-2004, 11:45 AM
I think the essay part, best ways to know more, would be to read widely, in any topic, be it in magazine or newspaper...
Daniel
29-06-2004, 12:07 PM
Dunno nothing much about PA. But my teacher do recommend us to use Fajar Bakti publisher. I am going to buy it soon
greyhair
30-06-2004, 06:05 PM
i have the fajar bakti book. it is so thick. i dunno it is good or not.
i m reading the notes given by my teacher. he shorten it and highlight on important point. easy for me 2 study.
Daniel
01-07-2004, 01:10 PM
Just wonder for the essay part(Karangan laras sastera and laras sains). Do i need to use a very good language like kata kiasan and etc to make the essay more attractive like i used to be in form 5 for Bahasa Paper? Or i just need to write out the main point?
01-07-2004, 08:23 PM
Just wonder for the essay part(Karangan laras sastera and laras sains). Do i need to use a very good language like kata kiasan and etc to make the essay more attractive like i used to be in form 5 for Bahasa Paper? Or i just need to write out the main point?
I would say that having a smooth paragraphs with correct tatabahasa would be helping a lot. I believe the stress is more on the points, however you need to make your essay easy to understand and have some sort of variety in your sentence structures... Don't think you need to purposely make it look very attractive.
greyhair
01-07-2004, 08:43 PM
below is the topic of tutorial of my group. we need 2 produce very detail notes(around 25 pages), photostat 2 every1 in my class n present in class within 45 min.
pls suggest ur idea n what should i look for 2 find more information.
Malaysia memerlukan ramai ahli sains menjelang 2020. Kerajaan amat bimbang dengan bilangan ahli sains yang sanat kecil di Malaysia. Cadangkan cara-cara untuk meningkatkan minat sains dan teknologi di kalangan generasi muda.
thx 1st for ur kind help......
gohweihan
01-07-2004, 09:06 PM
Malaysia memerlukan ramai ahli sains menjelang 2020. Kerajaan amat bimbang dengan bilangan ahli sains yang sanat kecil di Malaysia. Cadangkan cara-cara untuk meningkatkan minat sains dan teknologi di kalangan generasi muda.
I think for this topic, you should analyze how science is taught and graded today, the flaws in that method that leads to student losing interest, and then find information on the methods required to counter this lack of interest.
gohweihan
01-07-2004, 09:24 PM
Actually, it doesn't matter how you write it. The examiner of the PA essay would not look at how well your language is, or whether you meet the grammar syntax as defined in Tatabahasa Dewan. As long as your essay is understandable (and readable), your essay would be safe from being thrown out the window, but that doesn't mean you can get marks for it. The majority of the points are awarded for the points and elaboration you give.
It goes this way - if your point is in the marking scheme, you get marks. If it does not, then it is up to the discretion of the examiner. However, from observation for the past few years, the trend is that the examiners would not bother to even find out the validity of a point that is not in the marking scheme. Therefore, the PA essay has become something more of like a jackpot - it's either you hit it, or you do not.
For example, say you are given an essay about the benefits of information and communication technology. And also, say one of the points you wrote is about E-commerce. If it is not in the scheme, then no matter how well you structure, or develop the point, you get zero marks for it.
I would advise that you concentrate on writing just a plain, clean essay with just the points and elaboration, and not try to use the fancy elements of the language, unless these elements are required to make your point or elaboration understandable. In short, like chenchow said, do not try to deliberately make your essay look more attractive.
In the marks division (STPM 2003), 20 marks goes to the points and elaboration (4 marks for each point and elaboration set, 5 sets in total), 5 marks to language, and 5 marks to impact. Usually, if you get quite high marks for points and elaboration, your marks for language and impact would be high as well. Therefore, the language part is not tied to how well your language is, but just the ability to produce a readable and understandable essay.
01-07-2004, 10:12 PM
1. Get the students involved to spend time within the science and technology faculties in IPTA and IPTS. That would inculcate their habits.
2. Encourage creativity and originally, since young.
3. Provide avenue for students to design, create with science and technology stuff, like RECSAM competition.
4. Encourage students to read widely in the field since young...
5. Having students talking and discussing about the importance of science and technology...
6. Getting students to visit research labs that they have interest in and also get them to network.
piiven
10-07-2004, 07:29 AM
[quote="greyhair"]bill:
my teacher ask us 2 read newspaper dialy as we need general knowledge 2 answer the q esp bahagian C which required all rank of views.
Yeah, that's what our PA teacher told us to do. In fact he encourage us to get or read materials stated below:-
:arrow: Magazines like Minda, Dewan Kosmik ( Laras Sains ), Dewan Siswa, Dewan Masyarakat, Pemikir and so on.... There is another good malay magazine too... which is MASSA, but something went wrong somewhere and it was force to stop publishing it's magazine. Do try to find the previous ones and read... quite good....
:arrow: newspapers ~ especially NST and The Star on every Sunday, Thursday and Saturday. There are lots of articles that might come in handy especially under the column " Focus" Previously, there are some good articles and issues on water, corruptions and more..... Therefore do take note!
:arrow: English magazines such as Times and Newsweek......
Our teacher too remind us to read journals and to focus on Economy, Social, Politics, Science and Tech. , Environment and Health.....
Oh yeah, under health, do focus on serious disease.....
joebf86
10-07-2004, 08:48 PM
well, as stated on the past posts, language is not an important facotr, so does it mean that those who is good at BM will have no advantage? ..to the point that they will get same marks as those wif a poor command of the language?
anyone can tell me whether the facts we used in da essay must be accurate? does the teacher bother 2 find out bout it? will he/she be annoyed if we write something too detail (eg biology facts) and annoyed he/ her?
joebf86
10-07-2004, 08:52 PM
i know we need to read lots of material ie newspaper and magazines to know da latest issues
but my question is will a student who is up-2date with currents news, provide detailed explaination, good examples...get same marks with those who just dig up whateva he/she knows, something outof date, some common explaination....
do we really need to know that much(latest news,examples...) or juz simply modify some lame and common facts(without much isi)...?
did the q finish to b done?tis is due to the limited time frame to set the stpm q...so if its true,den should we try to find previous news n articles to read?...
reign226
19-07-2004, 07:21 PM
Heh, in our school, our teacher just packs us to the library where we do ulasan on topics he has selected (some 60+), and we do so by referencing books that are in the early 90s. Are the books too old? We were told to do ulasan on MSC and the books I could find on that discussed about the plans for BUILDING MSC.
I guess some issues are timeless, like diseases, hydroponics, etc. And other issues can only be found in the past, like rasuah (although there is a recent one earlier this year), sekolah bestari, etc. My question is: read recent, or read the past?
I am of the opinion that the essay questions for PA will be focusing on 'current affairs', but how correct is my assumption? I remembered last year they asked about Obesiti, which doesn't sound like a very 'current' thing to me. I am thinking maybe they will be asking about stuff on international terrorism or SARS this year.
Can anybody enlighten me on the essay part of the paper?
joebf86
28-07-2004, 08:38 PM
yeah, i m confused bout da essay part too.
any1 can confirm with me how the marking scheme ar?
the 1 given by my teacher was
isi-5
huraian-15
bahasa -2.5
impak -2.5
but in da fajar baktibook, it stated we only need 2 give 2 isi+huraian....
and izzit possible to get 20 something, such as 23, 24marks?
the NEWEST marking scheme is
1)idea- 4 m
2)huraian-12m
3)bahasa-5m
4)impak-4m
total-25m
hope all stpm students (including me! :wink: )will do their best n hav a bright future!
joebf86
30-07-2004, 11:00 AM
oh, thx
tat means my teacher is using da old marking scheme..? :?
so wat's da average mark of an average student?
sorry i dont noe bout tat but the marks r supposed to b the top secret in MOE,aren't it?But wat i noe is nobody ever got full mark for this part!
joebf86
01-08-2004, 08:16 PM
wat i mean is: the marks got by da students in skool exam....
izzit possible 2 get 20 something.....in skool?
joebf86
01-08-2004, 08:18 PM
anyone tell me da LATEST marking scheme for Section C, D and E?
will ur teachers give u 4 marks for minor mistakes in Bahagian D-Carta Pai, such as forget 2 write "juta" after da Jumlahbesar?
salyeo
14-08-2004, 06:33 AM
i heard that the STPM exam time table is out....anyone got the time table already?
seiken
22-12-2004, 10:27 PM
Hi...holiday's gonna end soon. Will be starting life as a fellow upper six student. Just wanna ask the opinion of all the recomers here. How do you manage time during PA paper 2? There's so many question to complete. During the PA paper 2 (lower 6 exam), I failed to finish the paper. The last question which is about carta aliran i think i cant even write a word...
Typically, try to time around 30 minutes for each section. Never ever leave the last section blank, cos that's the way to guarantee a maximum B.
joebf86
21-03-2005, 10:24 PM
i really need help from u guys, those who are taking STPM this year
one thing,i am still confuse about the marking scheme for the essays. i asked bout this before. but, can anyone provide me with the latest, proven correct marking scheme cause my teacher seem to be using her own version, which i think she modified the previous marking scheme (previously it carries 30 marks, but now only 25 marks are allocated for it...) or nobody knows the EXACT marking scheme even to this day?
another thing is the grammar, which i m really disatisfy. well, for me, every sentence that begins with "ini..." is wrong and she'll cancel the wrong thing. i think my bm is pretty good (not showing off) and i'm sick seeing my paper scribbled by her. she knows nothing about tatabahasa. well, going against her is not a wise move. btw, she's one of the "pemeriksa berpengalaman"... hope ur paper doest fall to her hands...
the worst part is section E (tafsiran jadual). till today, i have absolutely no idea bout how to do well for that part. i have no clue on how to get high marks. so can anyone enlighten me on that?
i would really appreciate those who are preparing for STPM this year is willing to share what they know with me...
baby_ghost
01-06-2005, 07:58 PM
Hi,I am a new user here!Nice to meet you all(concern in study)!!
I am a lower six student...just started two weeks.Thus,I have some questions to ask you guys.
Regarding PA(paper1 and Paper2):
I came across two books 1)written by Dr.Ranjit Singh Malhi(paper1)
2)Longman brand
Question:I haven't really look through them,so does anyone know which one is better?or do you have other books to recommend?(for paper 1 and 2)
By the way,any effective ways to score PA?What kind of preparation?(always read newspaper,magazine...whatever)
Actually,I don't like this subject because it is similar to sejarah which are boring and always memorizing things....how can I "fall in love"with this subject??
Thanks to those who kindly reply!
reign226
02-06-2005, 07:39 AM
I don't think leaving the last section will guarantee a B. AFAIK, you're graded according to mark, not how many sections you've completed. I believe this is just a myth, but I'd like to hear how you came to that conclusion.
The marking scheme is something like this. 25 marks, down from 30. Last time you need to write 5 isi, so presumably now you only need to write 4. There's a further breakdown of language, style, impact, etc etc but just remember to write 4 isi, and write to your best ability and you should be fine. I think the marking scheme is supposed to be secret, hence the reason why they are so many teachers using different schemes. There's more emphasis on your substance than your language tho, because it's assumed you got credit for your BM in SPM, so you should be able to write credibly in BM.
You can't do anything if you have a teacher like that. Mine will give me 1/15 for the graph if I did even one simple mistake like writing the nisbah wrong (Never use 2: RM 15. Always write 2cm mewakili RM15. That way the pemeriksa's hands are tied). I don't know how many marks is allocated for language. I sure hope it's not too much tho, because it's a shame if you get low marks just for some measly spelling errors. The paper is supposed to be indicative of your KNOWLEDGE of issues, not languages.
Section E has two question, of which only one is carta aliran. IMO carta aliran is easy to do if you understand the charts because you just need to write what you see. For tasfiran jadual, you need to recognize what 'pola' is presented in the jadual. For example, menurun, menaik, menaik dan menurun, menurun dan menaik, tak konsisten, etc.
After that you need to give a reason why (isi tersirat). You also need to do some calculating on the numbers. For example, you need to write things like "kadar kematian jalan raya pada tahun 2005 menunjukkan peningkatan 254 kes daripada tahun lalu, tetapi ia hanya merupakan 5% daripada jumlah kematian yang berlaku tahun ini". In other words, you need to 'massage' the data to show you have done more than just copying blindly the numbers presented. (This is actually a criteria in the marking scheme. Something about 'Calon menunjukkan keupayaan mengaruh data' or somesuch).
I remember there are already PA books out that give a detailed breakdown of paper 2 along with sample questions. It's generally suggested that one does not answer the carta aliran. Also, never start from the graph component first, because last year those who did are faced with more than 15 angkubah and they blindly spent more than an hour on it, guaranteeing their demise. Always do the graph last or second last, depending on how many variables are given on your paper. Generally I find the time is better spent answering the essays first (50 marks already in the pocket there), the moving on to section C, then doing section E before coming back to section D. I dunno, maybe i just hate colouring.
lowch1
04-06-2005, 03:58 PM
I just want to wish you all good luck. :D
shrenka
06-06-2005, 12:44 PM
Thank you so much, reign226. You make me get to know this PA better. BTW, is there any method to complete the whole Paper 2 in 3 hours? The time given is so limited!
reign226
07-06-2005, 06:55 PM
Time yourself, i guess. My teacher just tell me to keep practising, make sure you got the timing right. The main point here is to get as much points in as possible (and that gives you marks) so even if you haven't finished a section (and time is against you), move on to sections where you can easily get marks. For example, if you only have little time left, DO NOT do the graphs, because even tho you might get some marks for your table, most of the marks are in the graph itself.
hi can anyone help me out, we're doing this tutorial and my group was asked to present a topic. it's about tourism. can anyone give ideas or tips about the result/effects of tourism on local(malaysia) cultures?
as in 'kesan-kesan pelancongan terhadap budaya tempatan.'
here's the original question :
Industri pelancongan semakin penting kpd Malaysia. kerajaan dengan kerjasama pihak swasta, telah melancarkan berbagai-bagai kempen promosi untuk menarik pelancong asing ke Malaysia. Akan tetapi, kedatangan pelancong asing telah membawa perubahan kpd budaya tempatan.
Bincangkan kesan-kesan pelancongan terhadap budaya tempatan.
so the kesan could be good and bad rite? i just need some ideas so i could eleborate on it, but a full eleboration would be just fine.
thanks alot.
jackfook
22-07-2005, 06:38 PM
Kesan-kesan positif perkembangan sektor perlancongan:
-meningkat nama Malaysia di peringkat antarabangsa
-memupuk pengenalan budaya antara penduduk tempatan dengan pelancong asing
-meningkat pendapatan negara
-mengurangkan pencemaran alam sekitar kerana tiada penglibatan pembuatan dan pembinaan produk
-membangunkan ekonomi negara kerana kebanyakan pelancong mungunjungi pusat-pusat membeli-belah
-tradisi kebangsaan seperti pembuatan batik dihidupkan
Kesan-kesan negatif:
-pelancong menyalahgunakan paspot perlancongan menjalankan aktiviti haram seperti penjualan barangan cetak rompak,pelacuran
-budaya barat yang bercanggah dengan adat timur Malaysia menjadi daya tarikan rakyat
-keselamatan setempat tergugat kerana segelintir pelancong terlibat dalam jenayah
-penyebaran penyakit berjangkit seperti AIDS,SARS
thanks, but do you have more information on the budaya (culture) side? cuz the tutorial emphasize on the cultural side. say, like pictures, etc.
anyway thanks alot again. apreciate it.
littlepiglet
24-07-2005, 11:08 PM
the book which wrote by ranjit singh is good or not. i hear that the noted being given is very little. is it better if i buy the fajar bakti or longman once?
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.