View Full Version : Elections within a Political Party
SHuLy
20-06-2004, 12:31 PM
Elections within UMNO is up. Top posts are not being contested. Perhaps due to the "advice" made by people sitting in those seats to the other members - that they do not contest for these posts.
to me, it's something very .... i dunno, not leader-like?
Perhaps any of you would have an opinion of two on why are they doing so.
20-06-2004, 01:53 PM
Practicing the 'un-democraticness' of our country within the party perhaps? Quite frankly I don't know why these posts shouldn't be contested and I don't think I've heard of a valid reason for this as well so far.
20-06-2004, 09:59 PM
UMNO election, at least for the top positions, is a farce.
demokrasi terpimpin kononnya.
adeh demokrasi terpimpin. sakit aku tahan gelak
The_Observer
21-06-2004, 12:12 PM
You could find the same thing happen in a kampung...just that there is no imam/bomoh to mediate or pull strings...
Randomphantom
23-06-2004, 12:52 AM
Its for the sake of unity within a party perhaps. Else people might split into factions and oppose each other.
Also a viable excuse to warm the seat for a longer period of time.
SHuLy
23-06-2004, 10:06 AM
if it was the grassroots' leaders who advised the other members not to contest, it would seem more reasonable, (but it shows that they are 'shoe-polishing'. however, to know that the so-called advice came from top leaders themselves, telling other not to contest somehow seem rather odd. as a leader, one should encourage it-in a healthy way. afterall, they are the ones who go about preaching democracy, 'fairness', equal opportunity...gosh*! konon lar!
may the best men win..(in this case, the top men)
26-06-2004, 03:43 PM
I guess many of you would agree with this:
http://www.umno-reform.com/jun04/syedhamid22062004.htm
05-07-2004, 01:59 AM
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/4/nation/8365720&sec=nation
proof that UMNO cannot be trusted to uphold democracy.
If they do not practice democracy in their own party, I doubt that they will promote democracy for the country.
09-07-2004, 01:37 PM
The battle lines are drawn. Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah (Ku Li) is going to
make a bid for the top job; that of the Umno Presidency, which would
then automatically make him the Prime Minister of Malaysia.
That would be interesting. Read it here
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/bungaraya/message/29007
It's surprising to hear that what UMNO's doing is against party constitution which states all posts are open to be contested.
So we'll see.
The_Observer
09-07-2004, 06:08 PM
I smell a lot of banknotes being handed around like chips in a casino....
How much you think for a local UMNO chieftain's vote? RM 5000?
Would that be enough?
Dam, it was only that much...we can spend more to try amend some parts of our national Constitution for greater benefit of the country as a whole.
09-07-2004, 07:16 PM
The battle lines are drawn. Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah (Ku Li) is going to
make a bid for the top job; that of the Umno Presidency, which would
then automatically make him the Prime Minister of Malaysia.
That would be interesting. Read it here
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/bungaraya/message/29007
It's surprising to hear that what UMNO's doing is against party constitution which states all posts are open to be contested.
So we'll see.
actually, i dont think anything is being violated. it was simply an unwritten agreement. merely a loophole.
but i am glad to see ku li going for the top post.
Hah. We economists will eventually rule the world.
The_Observer
10-07-2004, 01:27 PM
Do you think all this could be a farce to show that UMNO is not one of those autocratic-styled parties we normally associate with modern despotism?
That Ku Li knows he will lose but he does it for the party's good?
Pak Lah's or Najib's strategy to show more "transparency" or "checks and balances" in order to gather more support for the ruling Government, both locally and internationally?
10-07-2004, 08:38 PM
Ku Li's wish to compete is a bit ...hmm,can't think the right word..maybe a bit weird.
what he gonna prove?
before u accused UMNO as undemocratic and blah blah,you might wanna realize that it's an unwritten rules.UMNO still allows internal election amid the heinous backstabbed that will follow Ku Li.at the end of the day,no party in m'sia can prove to me thay they practise pure democracy.
i wonder what will happen if Ku Li wins.will we have him as our PM?God forbids.
11-07-2004, 01:30 AM
Ku Li's wish to compete is a bit ...hmm,can't think the right word..maybe a bit weird.
what he gonna prove?
why weird? going against the wish of the incumbent?
What Ku Li is doing is democracy and that is the right thing to do. Nobody should prevent him from contesting the post.
and what does the incumbent has to prove by defending his post without a contest?
before u accused UMNO as undemocratic and blah blah,you might wanna realize that it's an unwritten rules.UMNO still allows internal election amid the heinous backstabbed that will follow Ku Li.at the end of the day,no party in m'sia can prove to me thay they practise pure democracy.
yup, its an unwritten rule but its still undemocratic. It doesnt take a written rule to prove a party is democratic or not.
i wonder what will happen if Ku Li wins.will we have him as our PM?God forbids.
So far, all UMNO Presidents have been the PM except Dato Onn.
Your claim does not go well along that fact. care to elaborate on your opinion?
11-07-2004, 06:11 AM
i'm not backleashing ku li's decision to compete,it is just why the president?he used to "win" the 1987 election before dragging umno to the court and building semangat 46.
i wonder why all the way president?so does he think,he is capable of having visions to rule the party?or is this just another option chosen by him to reach his political paramount?
i wanna see a true leader with great visions inside his brain to rule the nation,not someone who thinks he is capable but at the end of the day,cakap tak serupa bikin.
11-07-2004, 12:03 PM
It is up to Ku Li to contest any post in the party. It should not be dictated by anybody. If he thinks he is capable and some believe in him, then by all means he should contest the post. Discouraging contest is bad for health.
Concerning the 1987 event, we do not know whether the same thing will happen again. But I say it is better to face such uncertainty rather then walk a path leading to a certain autocracy.
You are worried of Ku Li's not having a vision. But does Pak Lah has a vision?
And you said you want to see a true leader that does that he says. Well, has Pak Lah done anything that he promised? Months after the election, things seem to be quiet.
IMO, Pak Lah does not have the charisma to lead Malaysia. Malaysia needs a leader with Mahathir-style capabilities and I think Ku Li is the closest thing after Anwar Ibrahim.
Furthermore, Ku Li does understand the economy better than Pak Lah. That is the most important fact for an country such as Malaysia from my POV.
i wonder why all the way president?so does he think,he is capable of having visions to rule the party?
why NOT the president? if you are going for a post might as well make it worthwhile. if he thinks he can do the job and more importantly, other people that think he can do the job, i say go ahead and go for presidency. the whole "no contest for the top spots" because it "breaks up the party" is bullshit anyways. well, it actually is true but that's what democracy is. On a side note, I wont vote for people that are capable of having visions :P.
or is this just another option chosen by him to reach his political paramount?
and why can't his=umno's=malaysia's? that seemed to be true with mahathir :/
i wanna see a true leader with great visions inside his brain to rule the nation,not someone who thinks he is capable but at the end of the day,cakap tak serupa bikin.
well, unless you're a card-carrying UMNO member, you don't have much of a say in the matter. seems weird, but ultimately, most malaysians don't have a say as to who becomes the country's leader. some democracy eh?
13-07-2004, 02:09 AM
i agree with most of the things i read.sure Pak Lah will never come close to Dr. M,not even any UMNO leader today can come close.dont start with PAS and blah blah blah.
but then again,this might broke the party into two,leaving behind a divided and weak umno hence GIVING UMNO BASHERS the UTMOST right to kill UMNO.i know it sounds undemocratic.but then again,if you are inside umno,you might agree with this unwritten rules for the party robust look.but then again,some umno members might hate this unwritten rules too.
all i wish is that,this pemilihan will go smoothly.no break up in UMNO.and yeas,pak lah need to work hard.he needs visions.when you are too aloof,ppl can pijak ur kepala.
never know ku li.well,it doesnt take an economist to create a strong national wealth.Dr. M is after all is a medical doctor.not saying his policies were flawless,just that there are too hard too be looked down.
hmmm,my vote is still for pak lah.