View Full Version : [STPM] Is cocurricular activities important for STPM students?
baby-doc86
21-06-2004, 12:22 PM
i'm just wondering if i still want to take part in the cocurricular activities in my school since F6 life will b very busy..i heard tat in order to enter local-u, we hav to b very active in tat area. it is true?
I used to participate a lot of activities when I was in form 5.......Chairman,vice-chairman,secretary,monitor,took part in the debate at state level n etc,thus i get quite highest marks v A in my penilaian coco,(the highest in my class) but I dun think tat it really very helpful n important enough.......
I read the thread under the topic of JPA,Chenchow mentioned tat there r too many students very active in coco( but just within school ),so it doesn?t really help in applying d JPA.they will most probably consider those who represent country or take part at national level.(am I right? if I am wrong, sorry 4 tat ). Thus, I think it seems like my coco doesn?t give my any priority to get the JPA. (I know there many other factors r taken into consideration)
My teacher asked me to join the society again........n what should I do? Should I fully concentrate in d study or else? If I join, will it help me if in the future (I mean get into local-u)? Once I decide to take part, I will definitely become very busy n "ponteng" class like form 5 bcoz there r many things to b done........how? Besides, I myself r already very busy v my own activities on Fri, Sat n Sun.
Who can give me advice? Is coco play an important role for us to get into local-u?
21-06-2004, 06:30 PM
I will say that this will be a question mark, as government may make changes at last minute.
However, for this year, co-curricular activities is used as tie-breaker, i.e. if you get 4.00, how to select among those 4.00 would be on tie-breaker. So, say you get 3.92, your co-curricular activities will help you get better than other 3.92 students, but not those 4.00 students. This is the way it is done this year. They may change it.
Personally, I think if you enjoy it and still can cope, do get involved. And I think the co-curricular activities used (and may be even now) divide into 3 categories, : uniformed body, society, sports. Check and see whether it is true. And you count the highest for each category and divide by the 3 categories.
Anyway, personally, I would say get involved for co-curricular activities, irrespective ofwhether it helps in university admission or not.
Daniel
21-06-2004, 07:02 PM
yupe! it divided into 3 groups which is "Badan Beruniform" , "Kelab dan persatuan" and "Sukan dan permainan". Our Cocu teacher told us it is compulsory to join at least a society under "Kelab dan persatuan" and "Sukan dan permainan" . And we can choose either want to join Uniform Body or not. That's why until right now i still wonder should i Join Uniform Body or not.
greyhair
21-06-2004, 10:12 PM
for my school, we compulsory 2 join per-u club only. but we olso can join uniform org. n sports as an advisor or coach. for ur inormattion, IPTA(i m not sure is IPTA or other gov. bodies) sent letters 2 my school 2 approval whether two stpm leaver r active in cocu or not. i think cocu will help a little bit if we want to enter hot courses. anyway, for me, studies come 1st.
too bad...in my sch,everyone is compulsory to take 1 kelab/persatuan n 1 badan beruniform which is wat everyone hate most,include me.Activities held can b counted with less than 5 fingers n everyone is so lousy,like camping day or performance during the sport day.for every saturday meeting,every member(of every badan u)got to kawat under scorching day.
Anyway its jus the activity in my sch in jb.How about other sch?
is any factor encourage one to take part the CCA?(I cant think out any persuasive reason to take CCA except for the point.)
22-06-2004, 11:43 PM
I would say that the main and only reason I am active in co-curricular activities (and I have been consistently spending at least 4 hours daily in co-curricular activities, since Remove till today. That's like for 10 years already) is that it gives us lots of experience in life. We get to learn a lot of stuff.
For instance, in uniformed body, I learn a lot in terms of discipline. I have been marching for 5 years under scorching son, at least 8 hours a week. Do I complaint before? Yes... But through time, the bond we go through, the discipline etc, builds up my mental strength. Whenever we go through any activity, anyone does something wrongly, everyone get punished. That is the kind of bonding that we make. Those are wonderful time...
I have been getting involved in so many organizations, and while often it is energy sapping, the satisfaction of organizing something is definitely very rewarding, seeing people enjoying and gaining benefits from the activities that you organize.
I am not sure why there are few people getting involved in clubs/societies elsewhere, but in my high school, my school has to limit students to join only 3 clubs/uniformed bodies/sports clubs at maximum. Like the Mathematics Club that I was the President for a year, the active members were like 250 or so, and we had not less than 40-50 meetings/activities a year. For my uniformed-bodies, Teens-Belia, when we were in afternoon session, then we usually spend 3 morning doing marching, learning first aid, knot, preparing some dance etc etc... The same goes to when we are in morning session. For saturday, usually our activity goes from 7+ am to late evening and during holiday, we spend most of our time (something like 28 out of 30 days in the activities for the uniformed body). We really look forward to those activities...
I have seen myself grow from an introvert guy to be an extrovert guy, able to listen to command, discipline, able to communicate, lead etc....
And ReCom is my current and future passion, where I learn a great deal... So, it is definitely much more motivating if you join with this mentality in mind, rather than thinking of how many points to get... Frankly, I never care how many points I get in co-curricular activities and now in university, it is our ownself that make us join and be active. No one cares... And I am still active in activities on campus. My grade is much poorer compared to other students, but I think what I get from the education is an all-round education
I am sure many other ReComers are active in co-curricular activities too.
thanks chenchow 4 ur sharing n encouragement but i think there r oso a lot of factors tat influence me n give me bad impression bout CCA especially badan beruniform.hope others do enjoy CCA!
Is there any activity for uniformed body tat can be held to arouse members' interest (excluding marching)esp lazy guy like me?
24-06-2004, 12:26 AM
Activities for uniformed bodies? Below are some of those that I have gone through and there are much more possibility:-
marching, camping, campfire, tour, visits, abseiling, monkey crawling, flying fox, first aid, fire fighting, dance, building gadget, knots, control traffics, maintain the school garden, recycle, team building activities, charity event, seeking donations, acting, blood donations, etc etc...
excuse me, a question here.i knows tat CCA really plays an important role tat decides who can enrol into the local university esp to medicine student.However,i jus got the vice secretary for science club,vice treasurer for "bomba/fire bridgade " n "pertina/persatuan tingkatan enam"...(can't find any leadership ,rite?)will it be an advantage to apply for university?
Kevinlim
07-07-2004, 12:18 PM
Am very active in form5..... form6 lower was still active coz still eligible for MSSD n MSSPK(18) but now not that active already.... juz join and help out only... don't really work very hard about it... Anyone here into chess?
teazo_darren
12-07-2004, 09:29 PM
but some of the competition like Intel ISEF and Sony SSEA are the CCA that quite interesting.....hope all of u try to involve with these competitions.~
Kevinlim
13-07-2004, 04:52 AM
I was involved in the Sony SSEA competition when I was in Lower6. Yea, it's kinda interesting with all the experiments and the works.
do u mind sharing a bit more info bout tat INTEL SSEA or SONY...(sorry i forgot the name :lol: ) ?
teazo_darren
29-07-2004, 07:41 PM
about Intel ISEF, u might go to this website and get the further information.... www.sciserv.org/isef and ya.....be prepare the ISEF, it's fun enough~
about Sony SSEA, well mostly school will receive the letter from Sony Company and school will choose the participants.anyway the volunteers are welcomed~
for me both i took part b4 and for next year i might take again.maybe.who knows?.haha....day still beautiful~
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.