View Full Version : Anybody go ice skating here?

Xero
10-11-2009, 01:43 PM
Hey guys, I just started ice skating at pyramid. Mostly cuz I'm practising to skate so that I can play ice hockey later. Still very new. But right now I'm in need of an ice skating partner because my friends quite hard to get them out to ice skate. And if anybody can share their knowledge with me or whoever kind enough to teach also can. Thanks! appreciate anybody who can help out :D

12-11-2009, 09:09 PM
I do go ice skating at pyramid occasionally. But I'm a beginner too; just skated twice. I'm getting the hang of it though I still need to work on my balance...

For balance, place your feet in v-like shape and bend your knee when you want to slow down (but I guess you know these VERY basic things already, haha).

Xero
13-11-2009, 04:53 PM
My problem is braking now actually. I can skate fast now but still dunno how to brake. I think once I learn how to break, the rest would be easier to learn. When are you going to skate again?

13-11-2009, 11:20 PM
Just skated today, haha. The next time will probably be next year cos I'll be going back to my hometown during the holidays.

zane
13-11-2009, 11:35 PM
I just know how to slow down, but not to break instantly...Ask from pros maybe? haha...

29-12-2009, 01:07 PM
I think when you need to brake, you need to scrape your skating shoes onto the floor either to your right or to your left.
And if you want to skate backwards, you can open and close your skating shoes, it will go backwards naturally. :)

However, I'm not any skating pro.:P Braking is hard enough for me.

29-12-2009, 05:06 PM
I think when you need to brake, you need to scrape your skating shoes onto the floor either to your right or to your left.
And if you want to skate backwards, you can open and close your skating shoes, it will go backwards naturally. :)

However, I'm not any skating pro.:P Braking is hard enough for me.

well, you sound like a pro....

*from someone who has never gone ice-skating....sigh...

chocomaniac
29-12-2009, 08:36 PM
well, personally i am not a professional skater myself. Guess we all share the same prob : breaking

I remembered the first time I tried to skate was after I watchd disney movie "Ice Princess"...Haiz...How I admired pretty girls skating gracefully in their swim suit...

29-12-2009, 09:31 PM

Haha! :laugh I've went ice skating for three times only, and I'm definitely not a pro.
For ice skating, it's not a very pleasant experience for the first timers cause you tend to feel like you're about to fall down. Some of my friends gave up just after their first round because they where scared. Thus in my opinion, if you really want to skate, you need to have the courage to try and be prepared to have bruises everywhere! Especially around the bottom part... :P

29-12-2009, 09:46 PM

:hi5
yo! Next time we go together kay... :cool
Actually I also don't know how to skate... :sweat
Just remember don't "stick" to the wall, like what I saw many people did last time. :amuse

29-12-2009, 10:01 PM
LOL. My first skating experience ended with 15 falls but it was worth it cuz I can skate without falling down anymore now. LOL. Most important thing i guess is balance. And skate following a v-shape motion. To brake, juz tilt your skates a little but I find it rather annoying some of these skaters skating so fast and braking so hard that it causes the ice around to be rough and harder to skate.

But best part for me is when I bring ... someone I ... to skate and it was awesome!! LOL. So, guys, learning to ice skate is important!!! next time bring ur girl to go skate and u'll be one happy person at the end of the day.

**Best tip, try going on roller skates first on the road to get the hang of the right balance thingy.. Good roller skaters prove to be quite a good ice-skater too..

29-12-2009, 10:33 PM
LOL. My first skating experience ended with 15 falls but it was worth it cuz I can skate without falling down anymore now. LOL. Most important thing i guess is balance. And skate following a v-shape motion. To brake, juz tilt your skates a little but I find it rather annoying some of these skaters skating so fast and braking so hard that it causes the ice around to be rough and harder to skate.

But best part for me is when I bring ... someone I ... to skate and it was awesome!! LOL. So, guys, learning to ice skate is important!!! next time bring ur girl to go skate and u'll be one happy person at the end of the day.

**Best tip, try going on roller skates first on the road to get the hang of the right balance thingy.. Good roller skaters prove to be quite a good ice-skater too..

Yay...i have hope then....I can roller skate...on cement floor, that is..... I've tried the road...basically when on road is like being on grass.... i don't really move...too much friction...:P

29-12-2009, 10:48 PM
Yay...i have hope then....I can roller skate...on cement floor, that is..... I've tried the road...basically when on road is like being on grass.... i don't really move...too much friction...:P

LOL. awesome then.. bt i still think that it'll be more ideal if a guy knows how to skate and brings a girl to skate.. that'll be.. so.. korean-dramaish. hahahaha!!!

29-12-2009, 11:05 PM
LOL. awesome then.. bt i still think that it'll be more ideal if a guy knows how to skate and brings a girl to skate.. that'll be.. so.. korean-dramaish. hahahaha!!!

Haha...imagine the girl turns out to be better skater than guy....but buat tak tau...really so drama

wawa
30-12-2009, 05:32 PM
There are a couple different ways to 'brake'...you can google youtube and there are video's out there teaching you how to do it.

The ice hockey players brake really fast with the hockey plough....turning on one foot and digging the blade into the ice with the other. Its really cool watching my ice-hockey mates do it (I usually don't dig hard enough and end up doing circles:P)!

alter_ego
05-06-2010, 04:19 PM
Nice thread ! I just went iceskating yesterday and i was really really excited. Haha
Feel free to read my experience here (http://aku-alia.blogspot.com/2010/06/aches.html)
But still, falling down is inevitable for beginner. :P

kaiyi
05-06-2010, 04:32 PM
my first experience of ice skating is 3 years ago(without any fall~). My second and last experience is end of last May, while waiting my brother to have his ASEAN selection tests(end up with 3 falls, fortunately not drench).

when ice melts and the place become wetter, chances of falling down increase drastically...I saw a girl broke her leg and ambulance came in.

alter_ego
05-06-2010, 04:43 PM
WOW kaiyi ! I'm impressed with you. How did you manage that?

And and poor that girl. Yea, it's really dangerous when the ice melts, making the surface become very slippery.