View Full Version : Self Learning
23-06-2004, 03:05 AM
Learning is a life long process and we should not just learn from text book...
I believe if we have interest we can seek knowledge by ourselves...
we can look for seminars, knowledgable websites, books etc.
let?s discuss about knowledge seeking here
all those who are thirsty for knowledge are welcomed to voice out here....
------------
can anyone here share how you gain extra knowledge in life?
thanx
23-06-2004, 03:49 AM
I have found a cool way to look for pictures in the internet...
if u wanna look for picture u dun have to go to search engine..
google has a special feature where u enter a name and all the results are not links but pictures only!
try this...
images.google.com
try and find pictures on MALAYSIA
and promote them to foreigners..
have fun!
23-06-2004, 04:43 AM
to find map here?s a good source..
u can even find the map of my small hometown with it....
http://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl/kevmap/map.htm
23-06-2004, 10:55 AM
Hmm.. does this thread do a survey or discuss on how we can self learn?
23-06-2004, 10:59 AM
we can discuss how to expand our ways of getting info
and share our experience of how we get info.
The_Observer
23-06-2004, 08:17 PM
I usually do a combination of those mentioned in the poll...but if you have me choose the best...then I choose the greatest invention of mankind...the written word: Books (stolen from the movie 'The Day After Tomorrow").
Besides, different styles of learning fit different types of courses and of course fit different subjects within the course.
Taking my course of medicine for example...
Subjects like anatomy...require not only a good textbook but of course observations and practical work on cadavers.
But then of course, things like embryology or immunology is more or less rote learning via books mainly.
PBLs is so much better when you do it in a group study...works wonders when you discuss over with friends...
23-06-2004, 11:16 PM
i mean learning stuffs not in your courses..
for example learning investment or communication skills by our own...
Randomphantom
24-06-2004, 05:58 PM
For stuff outside your course, definitely the INTERNET.
Beats searching through a library.
25-06-2004, 12:02 PM
interesting..
can u please share some of your favourite learning links where there are tons of info?
thanx again...
The_Observer
25-06-2004, 01:03 PM
A lot of stuff you look for on the internet are replicas of hardcopy material published somewhere else...don't you think that the original sources are books?
So, which should take the credit?