View Full Version : Helping my daughter choose course after SPM

bonfire
09-12-2009, 12:57 PM
Hi all,
My daughter has finished SPM and is looking to choose a course to continue study. She is looking at a few colleges in Subang area - what she told me is her good friend going to INTI so she is going as well. I have no restrictions as they have a wide range scholarships and I'm pretty sure my daughter can get it.

Now the problem is what she wants to study - Business. I don't know much about courses but business is a wide field. Therein lies my worry. I would advice her to take something more specific like Psychology. I have enrolled her for a free Psychology workshop and she also wants to go for Business workshop (organized by INTI - http://www.theintiexperience.com/) and there are many other course workshops as well so she can try the careers out and see if she actually like it, or she just making quick decision about her future.

From parents and you guys who are also in her position, what do you guys think? Is it better to put off her studies and go for pre-U or what? Business...I don't know la. Very generic right?

09-12-2009, 11:24 PM
BUMP

^ I just approved this message a couple of minutes ago so here's a BUMP to increase its visibility ^

unsolvedcryptex
10-12-2009, 12:21 AM
Hi all,
My daughter has finished SPM and is looking to choose a course to continue study. She is looking at a few colleges in Subang area - what she told me is her good friend going to INTI so she is going as well. I have no restrictions as they have a wide range scholarships and I'm pretty sure my daughter can get it.

Now the problem is what she wants to study - Business. I don't know much about courses but business is a wide field. Therein lies my worry. I would advice her to take something more specific like Psychology. I have enrolled her for a free Psychology workshop and she also wants to go for Business workshop (organized by INTI - http://www.theintiexperience.com/) and there are many other course workshops as well so she can try the careers out and see if she actually like it, or she just making quick decision about her future.

From parents and you guys who are also in her position, what do you guys think? Is it better to put off her studies and go for pre-U or what? Business...I don't know la. Very generic right?

There will be an Edu fair at PWTC this saturday and sunday by Facon. But it's clearly stated that it's Postgraduate. check out the website. erm lazy to post. google search for Facon Education Fair. There are two. One on this weekend another one next year March. I think she can attend if she want to although it's clearly stated it's postgraduate. Correct me if I am wrong as I am going. The facilitators will be very helpful. They are most likely to ask " Are you a SPM leaver or other?" which means, they understand that some students are SPM leavers.

Although she has decided on studying at INTI, she can ask different colleges about the courses offered or maybe attend the talks at the education fair but I have a big feeling the talks are more on Postgraduate studies.

Another Education fair will be held next weekend at Mid Valley Megamall. It's by NAPEI. I can't find the website. So, I will try to gif info here. It's on Sat and Sunday ( 19 and 20 Dec). Should be available from 11am till 6pm.

Taylor's and most of the colleges are having their open day this week and next week. She can attend those talks.

Sorry if I am not answering your question about which is better because I am not interested in either field. Also, it's very subjective. It depends on how you see the issue. Every course is good but of course not in terms of job prospect and so on.

zane
10-12-2009, 03:33 AM
Hi all,

Maybe taking A level/STPM/SAM is a better choice. Taking foundation has its risks lah...You can still venture into business if you take those pre-u courses isn't it?

Just my 2 cents =)

bonfire
15-12-2009, 12:16 PM
thanks for the bump youngyew :)
thanks for the advice zane and unsolved.
Went to INTI Open Day and workshop as well as FACON with her past weekend.
The INTI staff were quite helpful, especially because we didn't want an escort showing us around. we just went around ourselves looking at the facilities and things. They look quite equipped. Did a career exploration test and the facilitator explained what the tests indicated and when she told him that she was interested in business, he said that psychology is a large field and it has lots of applications, including in business and management.
So we're tthinking maybe we can try a double major. ADP is a possibility as well because it seems they are quite strong in that from what I hear?

unsolvedcryptex
15-12-2009, 02:05 PM
. ADP is a possibility as well because it seems they are quite strong in that from what I hear?

From a talk at Taylor's Open Day, Psychology is the second largest course that is taken in US. ADP can help students to pursue psychology because this course is not that well developed yet in Malaysia but is developed in US. Another question asked by my friend about studying psychology in Malaysia was a bit being turned down. She said it's better to enroll for the ADP and study at US for psychology. If your daughter intend to take up psychology, ADP should be what she is looking for.

frankchong
15-12-2009, 02:37 PM
Hi bonfire,
I am a parent too, if I were you I would be happy my daughter wants to study business rather than psychology. Of course, I would rather she persue courses that gives her hard skills. I have parents who were trying very hard to talk their kids out of psychology, even after their kids got full scholarship offer from reputable American Us.
Have you ever find out the employment situations for psychology majors? I/my company have sponsored a number of employees for H1 visa applications in USA, usually they have hard skills. Business background is possible if she has experience that is needed in USA, but hard to find in USA. For a psychology major, the odds are not good, it is not one of the critical skills and there are lots of psychology majors looking for work.
Your daughter could be an exception, but the odds are against her if she majors in psychology. Do not listen to PR, ask for hard data on past graduates on where they go after graduation -- how many graduated, how many got job offers and what type of jobs.

regards,
Frank

Blue2u
15-12-2009, 03:10 PM
Personally, if I want to do business and around Subang, I'll go Sunway. I know a few seniors there doing business and they say it's great. INTI is fine too, if you ask me. So if you're still unsure, go around checking out other colleges and pick out a suitable pre-U course. I strongly recommend A-levels/SAM over foundation as it gives a wider choice later on if you don't want to do business and is more recognized.
I advice you to let your daughter do what she is interested in, do not force her to take a field she is not interested or it'll just be a waste of her time and money.

stevelim90
21-12-2009, 10:27 AM
Hi all,

You can ask your daughterto take A-levels or SAM 1st, because there are psychology and business studies, she can take these two subjects, after only choose which she wish to specific.
My opinion, if she takes business foundation or diploma directly, no doubt, she can get into 2nd year directly, save time, but what if suddenly she change her mind? I was taking business in A-levels before, previously I thought that subject is easy to pass and study, because its all based on theory and common sense, but it is actually not like this, after study one month, I realize that I am not suit to this subject, so I change subject, some of the Uni allow student change subject within 2 months(depends on which college), those Uni or college workshop of course will make every course very interesting, because they want you to study in your college, if she only wants to follow her friend, I will advice her not to do so.
A-levels is 100% examination, if your daughter wants to have course work, SAM is suit to her, 50% course work and 50% examination. IB I am not sure.

21-12-2009, 09:26 PM
Hi all,

Yes , you are right about that, Business is too general. You also study marketing, HR, finance, economic etc. That's why business study graduates ended up doing all kind of job available like administrative works, customer services, management level in a company, more or less on the scope of office and paper works.

while if you say that psychology is a more specific fields, i beg to differ a bit, psychology is actually wider field. It ranges from sport psychology, child psychology, etc...
I dun think there will be any difficulties to get a job with a degree of psychology. Unlike IT field , Psychology can be used in TOO many different areas. Education , law , business etc. and look, western countries eg UK are better and modern than Msia yet they need psychologists.
FYI, HELP is well known for its psychology programmes and it offers degree in bussiness psychology .U may try to check it out.

21-12-2009, 10:04 PM
Hi all,

Just for your information. :)
I'm a JPA sponsored accounting student and I am currently undergoing South Australian Matriculation (SAM) in Taylor's. In my intake, we are required to take these 5 subjects:

English as a Second Language (ESL)
Mathematical Studies
Economics
Accounting Studies
Psychology OR Specialist Mathematics

In my opinion, by taking A-levels/SAM/ICPU your daughter has wider options compared to just going straight into foundation/diploma.