View Full Version : Ketuanan Melayu
25-06-2004, 04:58 AM
hi guys
sensitive topic really.. but i just need to hear what you guys think about this article on Malaysiakini, written by "Putera Hang Tuah"
http://malaysiakini.com/letters/200406240037191.php
"Jadikan Pemuda Umno benteng Melayu "
25-06-2004, 05:07 AM
Wasn't there proof found that Hang Tuah was of chinese decent??
jay86
25-06-2004, 08:51 AM
ermmm here is an article which can really rebut wat the hangtuah have said..and i agree with this writer (Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud), sadly there is only a few rational and farsighted educationist in our country like her......
http://malaysiakini.com/letters/200406140037105.php
tunsrilanang
25-06-2004, 09:23 AM
the harder things get, the better and more we learn.
however, some lecturers in malaysia are not helpful to the students. hence the not-so-remarkable performance by the students.
those selfish and unhelpful lecturers must strive to work harder and be friendlier with the students.
i agree with dr mariah.
25-06-2004, 09:37 AM
poor lecturers indeed - teachers and educationists in malaysia receive a paltry pay. just about alllll the teachers i've had asked me to never be one, the most important reason being the kind of pay you'll receive in a lifetime (for doing a dog's work). how to blame the lecturers?
blah... i'm just terpinga-pinga to hear umno-ites being so nationalistic, and after half a century of independence, still so uptight and xenophobic against the 'other' races. actually i'm quite sad... i'm born malaysian and lived a malaysian and after 23 years, i'm a beggar in my own country.
Randomphantom
25-06-2004, 10:44 AM
Oh right, its a 'permainan perkauman' yet again and people are going to manipulate it to further their causes of what, a more meritocratic and just system? Maybe people marking the STPM papers conspired to give these 128 students perfect scores? Precedent - as to the problems we will be facing year after year especially when grades are inflated? What does reciprocity and patriotism have to do with it, I wonder... In fact it's this type of backward thinking hindering the progress of Malaysia and Malays as Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud says.
Pak lah was the one immediately proposing a solution to the problem, and if he was the one putting his vote on him - tough luck then. I guess statistics do speak louder then some words.
gohweihan
25-06-2004, 11:51 AM
This "racial game" would continue as long as there exist people who wrote that first article.
According to Islam (an explanation in the Form 2 textbook), land belongs to no person, and that humans are just there to work the land. Therefore, it is illogical to say that Malays inherit the land, as inheritance indirectly shows ownership or possession over the land.
And indeed if land does not belong to anyone, then it should be that everyone that is on this land is treated equally and given fair and equal opportunity, not like the current system of biased meritocracy.
His arguments tells us (the non-bumiputeras) only one thing - it doesn't matter if we are born in this nation. If our forefathers are not from this land, then we do not deserve the full benefits of this nation. The question is, why are we being punished for the events of the past?
Like what he said, I'm merely continuing what someone else started.
deaf-knee
25-06-2004, 04:05 PM
according to the sej textbook chapter 7 of form 5 ketuanan melayu tidak harus disoal or dibicarakan or something like that but I don't know nuts so ignore me. :)
25-06-2004, 04:07 PM
his name proves it...
same sirname with hang li poh
25-06-2004, 06:30 PM
according to the sej textbook chapter 7 of form 5 ketuanan melayu tidak harus disoal or dibicarakan or something like that but I don't know nuts so ignore me. :)
hmmm...do moe changed the syllabus?
as long as i know,and as far as i have studied,isn't that chapter 5,form 5.under kepentingan perlembangan and yada yada yada..
25-06-2004, 06:39 PM
his name proves it...
hmmm....hang li po was never a chinese princess.the historian who did check the annals proved that the emperor of china never had a daughter with the name hang li po.plus,hang was not the dynasty that ruled china by then.
though who was hang li po sounded very2 intriguing.one has to prove with great details and robust facts before jumping to conclusion that these ppl and these ppl are linked.
i thought it was hang tuah who said,"takkan melayu hilang di dunia"..how come he forgot his real background if he was by any chance have connection to hang li po.
enough of me babling about history.yawn.
25-06-2004, 08:22 PM
I dont think the revisionist history is right. Hang Tuah can't be Chinese just because the "surname" - if it were a surname at all.
Furthermore, what do you make of Hang Nadim?
But I donno. There's a theory that the Malays come from Yunnan.
deaf-knee
25-06-2004, 09:17 PM
hmmm...do moe changed the syllabus?
as long as i know,and as far as i have studied,isn't that chapter 5,form 5.under kepentingan perlembangan and yada yada yada..
Yup everyone lucky enough to be born in 1987 in Malaysia or those born in 1988 lucky enough to pass PTS have the honour of studying 5 wonderful chapters of Islam in form 4. All in all a whooping 19 chapters to study for SPM. And yeah Chapter 7 Form 5 is the Perlembagaan thing. Chapter 5 is about Malayan Union and PTM 1948 and PTM 1957. I think.
Yup. It's a sad world.
25-06-2004, 09:29 PM
hmmm,1st and foremost even in USA a huge emphasized is place on islam..i just finished writting a paper work about islam for my final exam.from 4 questions given,2 are about islam.and hmm,i'm at usa.
so,get used with it.if u think remembering al-khwarizmi as a numeral prowess or ibn sina as a medical savvy are hard,try writting them down.it all boils down to ur brain.if u think these and that sux..how will u brain gonna love perusing them then?
hopefully after this u know what are the theories of kedatangan islam or who wrote Das Kapital.or at least our falsafah pendidikan negara.
dont just memorize the skema and derived 1A from it.
25-06-2004, 10:10 PM
good call phantom - yeah i admit i hated learning about sejarah back home. the entire book revolved around only malaysia and islam (then again i left for singapore after 1996, where i learnt about wwii, stalinism, the depression, etc.). truth to be told, many of my peers are convinced that the textbooks are manipulated to 'brainwash' students into some stupefied level of patriotism.
as for hang li po, i think the historians believe that she was just a common aid to the lady royalties on the ships. when ma sanbao (laks cheng ho - whom by the way was muslim, and was almost 7ft tall) took his hundred white ships to sail, it was with the intention to claim Ming sovereignty as far as possible. and what better way than to scatter your own kind around and pitch a flag?
as for that letter in malaysiakini how do you those back in malaysia feel in terms of what's really going on on campus? i remember some crazy university in kl(?) shut a student-run chinese cultural show? what are your experiences like?
25-06-2004, 10:17 PM
I find it to be very intrigueing that there are m'sians who still look at race as a factor in making decisions. i would like to share that even as a chinese student, i grew up in high school having a Malay as my best friend and there are a lot of things we have gone through that we have done irrespective of race. I still remember stirring the dodol with him and his dad at the eve of Aidilfitri and working together with him in school competitions.
In short, we were and still are like brothers. For some reason, i feel that racial segregation in the educational field is somewhat hindering our country's growth. One question that one may ask is: when is bangsa Malaysia going to surface?
IMHO, we all come from the same mold and racially biased thinking should not dominate any argument/disagreement. Even in the US, sometimes racial segregation can affect quotas. e.g: If i'm from Michigan Tech, i'm considered 'inferior' and if i apply to U of Michigan, they will accept me as a student because they are trying to preserve diversity. The explanation of this is that people from the upper peninsular are 'mentally challenged' and need help. (and yes, it also applies to international students)weird huh?. Thus, although i was accepted, to U of M, I decided not to go since it was not meritcracy based. I think U of M is dealing with the lawsuit that comes with this acceptance policy now...
As for the role of Islam in history, i would prefer not having half the form 4 history books full of stuff on Islam. I have tremendous respect of people of all religions and races but dang...i find it hard to remember those names. as far as history goes..is there an 'absolute truth'? Who knows?
Even people are disputing stuff in the bible in the US. Should we just accept other's interpretation of an event? or seek the truth?
I leave u to be the judge
man i need sleep.....
The_Observer
25-06-2004, 11:11 PM
Tell that to our Government, mate...tell that they have nothing to be afraid of us Chinese.
Tell them that they can get out of their 'protective' shells that they place over their heads.
After you done that, tell the more hardline Chinese nationalistic spirit in all of us that we have nothing to be afraid of them.
Tell them that, we Chinese will remain Chinese till the end of time and that we can actually live freely and happily together.
I wonder which one will hang you from the nearest tree.....<muses>
25-06-2004, 11:18 PM
between the devil and the deep blue sea huh?
26-06-2004, 03:55 AM
you're right, Observer - it seems like it's a problem of the chicken and the egg, which of the 'culprits' do we have to allow for compromise first?
well firstly, i believe a lot of chinese are pissed with the radical umno youth guys, people whose mindset writes letters such as the one posted in the beginning of the forum. and guess what - umno youth will be taking over the running of the country in the not too distant future.
secondly, MCA - what spineless 'heroes' of the chinese people. if you think about it, it's nothing more than a puppet for the radicals, to keep the chinese happy, and they are merely - and i say this with much contempt - tokens in the government. where were they when the chinese community clashed with the ultra-malays? when some benevolent minister threatened to burn down the selangor chinese assembly hall? etc.
lastly i wish there's a good alternative to umno and mca, but sadly so far there's none. dap used to be the most credible candidate but it's gradually imploding. keadilan is just... keadilan without an objective. pas... don't mention.
sighhhhh
deaf-knee
26-06-2004, 02:24 PM
I think that bangsa malaysia will never surface UNLESS they decide to treat everyone equally.
If we were bangsa malaysia then my bumiputera friend with lesser grades than me wouldn't get a scholarship to the UK when I'm stuck in form 6 and probably won't even get the course of my choice in a local uni, right? Since we're all the same and all? One language, one culture, one nationality, and one RACE?
That's just from form five-r's point of view anyway.
26-06-2004, 02:27 PM
I have to say MCA is not chinese hero at all...
here?s the quick picture..
throwing chair in meetings..
kongsi gelap
A team vs B team
buying nanyang.. control over mevdia..
evan the chinese main associations sees MCA as threat as they keep trying to influence the AJK of these associations
MCA is not a good party....
by the way, I have read even the singapore malays thinks the malays in malaysia is pampered by the government...
26-06-2004, 02:30 PM
MCA is powerless... They just speak when UMNO allows them to do so. I hope Ong Ka Ting can set things straight in MCA.
26-06-2004, 02:31 PM
my mother always tell me...
in oversea the government is fair to everyone
but the people are not fair (racism)
in malaysia the people are nice..
but the government is not fair
26-06-2004, 03:06 PM
The title of this thread says it all - Ketuanan Melayu
Why must we 'mempertuankan' any race? Isn't that racism?
The MCA isn't there to protect the Chinese. Its there to protect Chinese businesses and interest - in short: Chinese money. Look at the MCA people. Most of them are rich businessmen hoping to get in the govt's good books so that their businesses will prosper. Are they in it for the people? Do they even care about making a change? Some maybe yes (Michael Chong is one) but the majority is a sad no. The main rule I found out about the MCA is if you have money, you can go to the top. I've seen many MCA branch leaders with no credentials, just money. How the heck they got to becoming MPs, Aduns and branch leaders beats me. Bottom line: MCA = materialistic UMNO ass kissers. Plain and simple.
26-06-2004, 07:05 PM
I think on this issue, we need to look across the masses... I feel that if we are going to have everyone feeling much better... Malaysians have to take a step back and each practices give and take and build up from it...
There is no 100% fair government in the world.... go figure...is US Government fair? how about UK? how about China? How about Singapore? Each has its fair share of problems... I choose to look in between and see how we can improve things around in our own country...
This is sort of generalization, but I think as we are looking at this issue, we could gradually do it from the general public, even within ReCom. What can we do to improve the ties? It may even be a 0.000001% effect on the country, but the long-lasting effects will be fantastic...
Say, only 50 of us here, start by improving racial ties with 3 of our friends and asks your friends to do so, that is 200 of us. Then the 150 friends, each improve racial ties to 2 of their friends, that is 300 more, so 500 of us. And if these 300 friends, each improve their racial ties to 1 of their friend each, so 300 more, there would be 800. So, a small initiative, turns out to be beneficial the big way... And we have to be sincere and genuine...
So, I would argue that it all starts from individual... So, lets make a change!
The_Observer
26-06-2004, 08:03 PM
You know what I am thinking about?
For once, a Prime Minister or Deputy PM which is non-Malay...that will definitely kick start reforms...or at least 50% of cabinet members who are non-Malay...
But, I dun think we could do anything to make that come about...
BTW, I liked what iQing's mom said...good one!
26-06-2004, 08:06 PM
hmmm..
I think it?s hard to agree on this one...
even when DAP won last time cause a lot of trouble in 1969
althought sometimes malaysian government is not fair but by putting pucuk pimpinan as majority non malay can?t solve the problem...
besides, malays are the majority race in our country.....
26-06-2004, 08:07 PM
but one thing interesting...
why did mahathir say it?s possible for non malay to be PM
he must have a reason behind it to say such thing...
windy_city
26-06-2004, 08:22 PM
He said that to make people from other races to be HAPPY!!! and vote for him!! Go BM, nice tactic!!!
26-06-2004, 09:11 PM
Oh, and here's something related to the topic that someone sent to my inbox under the title 'FW: Wut Happen To our INDIANS!!! (Pls read if u r a true INDIANS)'. Not sure who the author is, but he sounds like one pissed off Indian...
Dear friends,
I would like to share with all of u...........this year the university
intake was not fair especially for indians........only around thousand
students were given places in local university............what's happening
yar???.............the number of indians in local universities is
decreasing every year............and nobody seem to take any action on
this. The MCA leader's are totaly against this and they are finding a way
to help their childrens.............but what the hell our leader is
doing..?????
It was better with qouta system...........at least 10 % of indians got
place in U............but now they introduced.........meritocracy
system.....which was so called fair to all the students.............but
what happening now.................they compare STPM and
matriculation............anyone of u ever seen the matriculation exam
paper....??.........so easy man............so the natans can pass very
easily............and the STPM sudents will get lower marks if compared to
them..............so all this natans will go to university.....to do
engineering, medic,law.................which they dont deserve at
all...................and you know what.........all the indians who got
good result like 4A's and so on didn't get the course they applied
for...............this is another trick of their...............they
know.........all this students will never go to university if they dont get
the course they applied for.........they will either go to college or
overseas............and what will happen??????? the places will be given to
the stupid natans........
My god the situation is getting worst in here........we gotta do something
for the sake of our brothers and sisters.......think of the poor
ones........the rich ones can always go to college or overseas........but
how about the poor ones........they will end up doing unprofessional work
and their future will be a question marks...............the stupid natans
will become doctors and engineers and there is no other way for our
students to excell in anything at all.................they will end up
doing the lower job function such as in Majlis perbandaran
etc...............DO U WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO UR BROTHER'S, SISTER'S OR
YOUR CHILDREN.............???????.......
Act now!!!!!!!! send this e-mail to all the indians.................hope
there will be a change soon..........................
From,
An Indian
Note: Anyone knows what 'natan' here means or who it refers to?
26-06-2004, 11:15 PM
I also like what IQing mom says..
and cannot help myself to agree again with what Iqing says
although sometimes malaysian government is not fair but
by putting pucuk pimpinan as majority non malay can?t solve the problem...
with the existense of ReCom, a place where we can meet and talk
freely to each other will help us to solve such a problem in the
future. We can't just hope to improve things in a short time. We
always need time to build the fundamental and make the
transition smooth. If not, after some time, racism will be a major
problem among the Malaysian again.
The government we have today will not be there 30-40 years in
the future. They will be replaced by the new generation. What
does it mean by the 'new generation'? It's people like you! Like
IQing, like Chen Chow, like Syamsul, like Bachok.. and like all of us
here. So if we keep a good communication and interaction among
people around us, the future will look brighter for everyone.
One thing we should always bear in mind, power is not the only
thing that determine happiness. Yes, we need power to do
something, but fighting for power is not the way to do it. It will
cause much trouble.
Let's not just ask what the country has done for us.. but ask
ourselves.. what have we done for the country.
in malaysia the people are nice..
go auntie!!
gohweihan
27-06-2004, 12:27 AM
One thing we should always bear in mind, power is not the only thing that determine happiness. Yes, we need power to do something, but fighting for power is not the way to do it. It will cause much trouble.
Let's not just ask what the country has done for us.. but ask ourselves.. what have we done for the country.
Power is not the only thing that determines happiness, if applied to the person in question. But power is necessary for the happiness of the non-bumiputeras in Malaysia. Only with the power obtained by a qualified individual that we can change the status quo, and to give everyone the equality that they deserve regardless of race.
The current government had been in power since our independence. And for the years, they had failed to address this one issue that makes the non-bumiputeras unhappy. Everytime they come up with laws and policies that favour a race, the non-bumiputeras fall back. They introduce quotas, and the non-bumuputeras fall back. The line must be drawn here, now.
Just because the non-bumiputeras do not voice out their views on the unjust and unfair system, it does not mean that all of them are happy as it is. Moreover, there is the ISA to deal with when giving out opinions publicly.
As for what have we done for the country, it should be what has the country had done for us that we should now repay by doing something for the country. It is a two way thing. You cannot expect a person to sacrifice for the country when his sacrifice goes unnoticed. It is just not right to do so. The country is the people, and the people is the country. But with the current system, it is more of the country are the bumiputeras, and the bumiputeras are the country. All non-bumiputeras are just citizen holders and serve only as placeholders for a multiracial nation, and because of that, deserve no more than the basic rights of a citizen.
morpheous
27-06-2004, 12:47 AM
morpheous's nonsense talk continues it shall on this thread....
aarh...ketuanan melayu...sensitive words indeed...
a summary on all the "serious and heavy" thread discussions in this recom site...morpheous shall give...connects the dots and truths,morpheous will do...
poor morpheous...pardon morpheous's mistakes..pardon morpheous's grammar/spelling errors...will ya..?
ketuanan melayu is related to malays's special rights . ketuanan melayu is related to government which is related to separation of judiciary,legislative,executive which is related to accountability and transparencies of public funds .
ketuanan melayu is related to bahagian keselamatan negara,ISA.
accountability and transparencies of public funds is related to welfare program.
accountability and transparencies of public funds is related to political power(problems with msian's politics,elections within political parties,etc..) which is related to tun dr.mahathir and related to two laws about political powers..a must read!!!heehee...:D
accountability and transparencies of public funds is related to corruption and cronyism.
accountability and transparencies of public funds is related to science which is related to technology(time to create our own technology) which is related to industry(construction industry,Petronas Twin tower,infrastructure developments, proton,khazanah/GLC,MSC,biovalley,transportation system,etc...)
in other word ..related to the wheel of socio-economic changes which is related to Job Opportunities(at MSC or anywhere else,companies interviews questions,etc.....)
accountability and transparencies of public funds is related to education( the bulk of it..: matriculation,Form 6/STPM,life after form 6?,local/private unis,quota system,private colleges,which courses to take,do medicine in which countries?,JPA scholarships/sponsorship,JPA tests,JPA fumbles,education in german,hot careers, life in INTEC,good brains for doctors?,meritocracy,Biotechnology,academicians in local unis,study in singapore,ASEAN scholarship,brain drain, engineering, ATU talk, etc..) which is related to foreign education (sending students overseas,education-industry-government conspiracies...a must read too!!hahaa!!,etc...):D
government/legislative is related to freedom of speech and national stability.
government/judiciary is related to anwar's appeal cases.
Tianshui boasts of a hero,
Talent came forth from Xizhou,
Lu Wang fathered his spirit,
Zhuge Liang tutored his mind,
Valiant he ever pressed forward
Therefore it is prophesied that a new strong, young Malay generations' leaders shall emerge from MMU. His mind shall be tutored by genuine Malaysian academicians in MMU. His name is Sima Yi and he will carve his political path by joining UMNO (Wei Kingdom) and rise meteorically to usurp the Wei Throne and founded the new Jin Dynasty. Great battles to win the minds and the hearts of Malaysians shall be fought as Zhuge Liang's expeditions ( UTAR/MCA-Gerakan future leaders) to capture Luoyang, Changan and Xuchang (Kuala Lumpur-Selangor area and PutraJaya) shall engage Sima Yi which resulted in total stalemate................
prophetic messages has become a legend...a legend has becomes a myth..a myth among future young malaysian generations....
a folk tale share by many malaysian schoolchildren....
only time will tell who is the ONE....
amused you shall..morpheous hopes..... :lol:
27-06-2004, 12:59 AM
morpheus, stop talking nonsense.
And your RTK stuff is running dull.
Anyone can relate anything to current issue. In fact, one could related Mahathir and whatever other stuff with Hamlet. I could say Anwar is the Prince of Denmark, Mahathir is the new king, the ghost of hamlet's father is some other figure and voila, the prophecy is true!
All its need is excessive imagination.
RTK is a great novel i know but with you, its starting to become a cliche, a very boring and annoying one.
and do you ever read all other posts before you post your nonsense?
Randomphantom
27-06-2004, 11:16 AM
Err.. that sounds quite like the introduction in english Ragnarok Online...not amused am I... Good sense that makes not.
I'm not Indian, I can only guess what he means by 'natan' I think you can too. One point: I don't know why people are so eager to hop on the bandwagon of so called "professional work" and looking down on so called "unprofessional" work. Yes I know everyone has a right to a good education, but whats wrong with "unprofessionals"? Sounds like another form of discrimination on a social scale to me.
Ask ourselves.. what have we done for the country - instead of the ruling party.
gohweihan
27-06-2004, 01:48 PM
Ask ourselves.. what have we done for the country - instead of the ruling party.
We want to create a fair and equal system which does not look upon one's race. But with the ruling party in power, can we achieve that?
It is not what we have done for the country, but the limitations placed upon us does not allows for us to do what we want to do for the nation.
kuahyeow
27-06-2004, 02:45 PM
his name proves it...
in actual fact, "hang" is not the surname. Its an honorific, similiar to "mr" or "lord"
The_Observer
27-06-2004, 07:07 PM
Oh well, boys and girls...we are stepping across a gorge which its depth could not be seen, on a single thin thread....
If you read up on the coming UMNO elections, one can see that the next generation of leaders (for perhaps the next 20 yrs?) are ppl like Najib and Muhidin Yassin (i forgot the spelling, but you guys get the picture). I begin to fear the worse....
In 40 yrs, its going to be our generation...I hope I will be around to ensure that I am serving the country one way or the other...to support the next ruling Government which I hope will be more sensitive and more just in such issues.
That is why we should never stop discussing these issues...so that we will never forget how one issue can be seen from so many angles
LONG LIVE ReCom !!!!!
27-06-2004, 07:38 PM
As long as this issue remains a controversial one in Malaysia, it would never be resolved. The moment you open your mouth to the issue, half the country will hush you up and you have almost zero hope of expressing your ideas on the media. Heck it's even stipulated that it is "tidak boleh dipersoalkan"..
Well that is precisely where the internet comes in. I like this development! :)
28-06-2004, 02:57 AM
you think recom will be a good place to speak up about this?
perhaps we could also set up another forum where conversations dwell around this idea of ketuanan melayu, its issues, its pros/cons, and the people who speak for and against it etc.
it's 2004 for crying out loud and if it's something that tidak boleh dipersoalkan then we might as well walk off the cliff somewhere.
and i believe the malaysian government pledged against, and even have a law against internet censorship. so why not?
21-08-2004, 06:57 AM
There's been a major change to the Malay land recently. The full news:
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/8/20/nation/8712092&sec=nation
Laws to allow Malay land to be leased out for development
PUTRAJAYA: All Malay reserve land can be transferred to non-Malays for development on a 60-year lease as part of an overhaul of land laws to be tabled in Parliament next month.
The amendments include allowing Malay reserve land to be leased to selected financial institutions and allow it to be jointly developed by the owners and others, including non-Malays.
There are 4.7 million hectares of Malay reserve land and the amendments will enhance its commercial value and also allow the owners to get adequate financing if they want to develop them.
----
Anyway, I thought I'd have it attached to this thread, it has since went dead but I think it is a discussion we should continue to have.
What do you guys think about the ammendment? Do you think it is good enough? Or it's just the same old medicine (considering the fact now any Malay can apply for new classification)? Is this yet another effort to continuously remind the people about the ketuanan melayu thingy? To me I feel like they are rubbing it in...
<aside>I read that Hang is just a translation of "Han", which is commonly used to describe a Chinese. Legend has it that Hang Tuah and gang are of Chinese descend, very good in fighting and therefore ordered to protect the Sultan of Melaka. I don't know how true that it, but that was the basis that the education ministry decided to remove Hang Tuah's legend from our history textbook. </aside>
10-12-2004, 03:21 AM
what do you think?
From malaysiakini:
No sir, gov?t won?t reverse brain drain
http://www2.malaysiakini.com/letters/32020
excerpt
The thinking of Umno leaders like Mahathir is that it is better for Malaysia to be backward and inefficient as long as the bumiputeras benefit rather than for it to be prosperous and achieve a developed nation status where others prosper but the bumiputeras lag behind.
10-12-2004, 03:32 AM
...Shaking the foundations of the Rock of Gibraltar would be comparatively much easier.
I could not have said it better myself...
10-12-2004, 05:05 AM
There is an issue about Hang Tuah being a chinese debated over here: Click me! (http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=87147&hl=hang%20%20tuah&st=0)
The article entitled "Hang Tuah Berbangsa Cina" (Hang Tuah is a Chinese) is written in bahasa Malaysia, the national language of Malaysia, I hope to be able to translate it into English once I have some time. For forumites who understand Malay it makes interesting reading though.
Hang Tuah Berbangsa Cina
Shahabudeen Jalil
Ramai di kalangan anggota masyarakat kita terutamanya orang-orang Melayu menganggap Hang Tuah adalah legenda pahlawan Melayu. Pada hakikat sebenarnya Hang Tuah bukanlah dari keturunan Melayu sebagaimana yang disangkakan. Itulah yang bakal dihuraikan dalam artikel ini.
Selama ini orang-orang Melayu telah terkeliru atau mungkin tertipu dengan kedudukan Hang Tuah sebagai legenda pahlawan Melayu yang dibangga-banggakan. Hang Tuah sebenarnya telah diMelayukan untuk tujuan kemegahan semacam bentuk yang tercatat pada Robin Hood.
Di dalam bilik-bilik darjah, dewan-dewan kuliah atau seminar bermotifkan sejarah atau kajian sejarah hanya membincangkan tentang kepahlawanan, kebijaksanaan serta kesetiaan Hang Tuah. Kisah Hang Tuah yang diagung-agungkan ini telah menenggelamkan keadaan sebenar tentang asal keturunannya.
Di kalangan masyarakat Melayu dewasa ini telah timbul semacam keraguan tentang pahlawan mereka ini, apabila penghormatan kepada pahlawan mereka mula dipersendakan dengan reaksi-reaksi melampau seperti kelihatan dalam filem Hang Tuah.
Keraguan terhadap kedudukan Hang Tuah sebagai pahlawan Melayu telah menghasilkan satu penyelidikan dijalankan terhadap asal usul keturunan secara hipotesis. Jika pepatah Melayu sendiri telah mengatakan ¡®bahasa jiwa bangsa¡¯ dan ¡®manusia mati meninggalkan nama¡¯ . Bagaimana pula kita hendak menafikan kenyataan ¡®nama menunjukkan bangsa¡¯. Bahasa ¡®nama¡¯ merupakan identifikasi yang cukup jelas untuk mengetahui jenis sesuatu bangsa itu.
Bukti yang dapat menerangkan asal-usul Hang Tuah setakat ini, hanyalah dapat disandarkan pada namanya. Oleh itu satu kajian secara hipotesis telah dijalankan dengan bersandarkan kepada ¡®nama¡¯ manusia untuk memperolehi jawapan tentang asal-usul Hang Tuah sebenarnya.
Dalam perbendaharaan nama-nama orang Melayu semasa zaman kesultanan Melaayu Melaka, tiada terdapat nama-nama seumpama Hang Tuah, Hang Kasturi, Hang Jebat, Hang Lekir, Hang Lekiu, ringkasnya ringkasan yang bermula dengan ¡®Hang¡¯. Sejarah juga telah mencatatkan nama-nama dari bangsa Cina yang bermula dengan Hang, Tan, Maa dan Lee. Ia bergantung kepada suku kaum atau asal-usul keturunan mereka dari wilayah tertentu dari China. Kemungkinan untuk mendakwa bahawa gelaran ¡®Hang¡¯ telah dianugerahkan oleh Raja-Raja Melayu juga tiada asasnya.
Mengikut kertas kerja yang dihasilkan oleh Mohd. Yunus Ibrahim dari Jabatan Sejarah UKM dengan tajuk ¡®Melaka 1400-1511 Dari Aspek Kemasyarakatan,¡¯ cuma menyatakan bahawa sesuatu penghormatan, ketaatan atau kedudukan adalah diberi gelaran seperti Bendahara, Paduka Raja, Temenggung, Laksamana, Shahbandar dan Mandulika.
Mengikut buku ¡®Sejarah Melayu¡¯ edisi W.G. Shellabear penerbitan Malaya Publishing House Ltd. Singapore halaman 123-131, menyatakan tentang Tun Perpatih Putih, iaitu utusan Sultan Mansur Shah ke negeri China telah membawa balik bersamanya seramai 500 orang dayang serta Puteri Hang Li Po. Sultan Mansur Shah dikatakan telah berkahwin dengan puteri dari China ini dan telah menghasilkan anak bernama Paduka Mamat.
Perkara yang menarik dari edisi W.G. Shellabear ini ialah munculnya nama puteri Hang Li Po. Hasil perkahwinan ¡®campur¡¯ antara puteri Hang Li Po dengan Sultan Mansur Shah, telah dikurniakan seorang putera dan telah diberi nama Paduka Mamat. Nama Paduka Mamat adalah nama Melayu dan tidak pula berlaku nama ¡®Paduka Hang Mamat¡¯ sebagai penghargaan kepada puteri Hang Li Po, contohnya. Sejarah telah membuktikan bahawa nama-nama dari keturunan Cina biasanya bermula dengan Hang, Tan, Maa dan Lee bergantung kepada suku kaum mereka dan dari wilayah tertentu asal mereka.
Jika dihubungkaitkan dengan nama Hang Tuah dari sebutan loghat Cina adalah berbunyi seperti Hang Too Ah. Nama Hang Jebat berbunyi Hang Jee Fatt, Hang Lekir pula seperti Hang Lee Ker, manakala Hang Lekiu seperti Hang Lee Kiew. Mengikut prosedur tentang suku kata nama bangsa atau keturunan Cina, biasanya cuma terdiri dari 3 suku kata sahaja. Nama Hang Kasturi pula diragui kerana 4 suku kata walaupun ia bermula dengan perkataan Hang. Perkataan Kasturi pula ada berbaurkan loghat bahasa Melayu.
Terdapat 3 andaian hasil kajian secara hipotesis yang dijalankan.
Pertama : Hang Kasturi adalah berbangsa Melayu tetapi bergaul rapat dengan anak cucu dari rombongan puteri Hang Li Po.
Kedua : Nama sebenarnya ialah Kasturi tetapi telah digelar Hang Kasturi oleh 4 orang rakan karibnya yang berketurunan Cina sehingga menjadi sebutan yang kekal.
Ketiga : Mungkin nama Cina sebenar Hang Kasturi sukar disebut oleh masyarakat tempatan. Oleh itu mereka telah memberikannya nama baru mengikut loghat orang Melayu tempatan dan nama ini telah diterima dengan baik oleh beliau.
Perkara lain yang menarik ialah petikan kertas kerja Ong Hak Ching. Jabatan Sejarah UKM ada mengatakan bahawa Sultan Mansur Shah telah memberikan tempat kediaaman di Bukit Cina kepada puteri Hang Li Po serta 500 orang dayang-dayangnya. Anak-anak cucu mereka digelar ¡®biduanda Cina¡¯ juga bermakna golongan yang dilindungi. Sama ada yang sudah memeluk Islam atau masih memeluk agama asal mereka.
Terdapat 3 andaian secara hipotesis mengenai hal ini.
Pertama : Tidak kesemua dari anggota rombongan puteri Hang Li Po yang memeluk agama Islam.
Kedua : Hang Too Ah, Hang Jee Fatt, Hang Lee Ker, Hang Lee Kiew, adalah keturunan dari rombongan puteri Hang Li Po.
Ketiga : Keempat-empat sahabat ini kemudiannya telah memeluk agama Islam tetapi mengekalkan sebutan nama mengikut loghat bahasa Melayu atas sebab-sebab tertentu, seperti Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Lekir dan Hang Lekiu.
Hal yang lebih lanjut mengenai Hang Kasturi. Telah timbul percanggahan pendapat sejak dahulu lagi, sepertimana kajian secara hipotesis ini meragukan tentang nama sebenar Hang Kasturi. Percanggahan pendapat ini berlaku antara pengarang ¡®Sejarah Melayu¡¯ dan pengarang ¡®Hikayat Hang Tuah¡¯ mengenai siapa sebenarnya telah menderhaka kepada Sultan Melaka. Pengarang Sejarah Melayu menuduh Hang Kasturi manakala pengarang Hikayat Hang Tuah Pula menuduh Hang Jebat.
Pertama :Tersirat sesuatu hal yang unik dan tersembunyi tentang kedua-dua tokoh pahlawan ini sehingga tidak ada satu kata sepakat di kalangan kedua pengarang serta pakar sejarah lampau.
Kedua : Pengarang ¡®Sejarah Melayu¡¯ telah menggunakan bahan dalam penulisannya secara mengambil pendapat lisan dan tiada ada satu penyeledikan terperinci, kerana ia menyentuh kisah-kisah yang terlalu luas serta hal-hal yang menyeluruh.
Ketiga : Pengarang ¡®Hikayat Hang Tuah¡¯ adalah lebih formal kerana menggunakan semacam bentuk kajian sehingga dapat menggariskan hal-hal peribadi Hang Tuah secara lebih detail.
Hasil kajian secara hipotesis ini telah membuktikan pengarang Hikayat Hang Tuah mempunyai banyak kelebihan dan penulisannya tentang hal Hang Jebat yang telah menderhaka kepada Sultan, adalah diterima mengikut hukum asal. Rumusan daripada kajian yang dijalankan telah menghasilkan penemuan baru yang melibatkan kedudukan Hang Tuah sebagai legenda pahlawan Melayu. Mengikut kajian hipotesis ini, Hang Tuah merupakan pahlawan yang telah diMelayukan demi untuk kemegahan atau simbol kepada orang-orang Melayu. Kita lihat bagaimana hipotesis ini menerangkan asal-usul Hang Tuah.
Hang Tuah adalah anak cucu kepada keturunan rombongan puteri Hang Li Po yang datang ketika pemerintahan Sultan Mansur Shah. Nama sebenar Hang Tuah ialah Hang Too Ah. Tetapi bertukar kepada nama sebutan Hang Tuah apabila pahlawan ini memeluk agama Islam dan berkhidmat kepada Sultan Melaka.PengIslaman Hang Tuah telah mempengaruhi 3 orang rakan karibnya iaitu Hang Jee Fatt, Hang Lee Ker dan Hang Lee Kiew. Keempat-empat sahabat baik ini juga bergaul rapat dengan Kasturi, iaitu rakan sebaya mereka yang berbangsa Melayu. Mereka juga menggelar Kasturi dengan gelaran Hang Kasturi sebagai tanda satu persahabatan yang abadi.
Kelima-lima sahabat ini mula masyhur di kalangan istana apabila mereka menyelamatkan Bendahara dari serangan orang mengamuk. Mereka berlima kemudiannya memeluk agama Islam. Nama-nama mereka mengikut loghat Melayu telah tersebar dengan cepat dan meluas samada di kalangan istana atau orang-orang Melaka ketika itu termasuk nama Hang Kasturi.
Tiada bantahan yang pernah dibuat ketika itu kerana masyarakat Melayu zaman itu telahpun menganggap anak cucu dari rombongan puteri Hang Li Po sama seperti saudara Melayu mereka. Demikianlah serba ringkas kisah Hang Tuah yang berasal daripada keturunan puteri Hang Li Po dari kajian hipotesis ini.
Berdasarkan hipotesis ini juga bererti orang-orang Melayu telah kehilangan seorang pahlawan lagenda yang selama ini mereka bangga-banggakan. Walaupun demikian orang-orang Melayu telah terselamat daripada tuduhan menderhaka kepada Sultan. Hang Jebat atau nama asalnya Hang Jee Fatt yang telah menderhaka kepada Sultan bukanlah daripada keturunan orang Melayu Jati.
Berdasarkan hipotesis ini juga bererti orang-orang Melayu telah kehilangan seorang pahlawan lagenda yang selama ini mereka bangga-banggakan.Walaupun demikian orang-orang Melayu telah terselamat daripada tuduhan menderhaka kepada Sultan. Hang Jebat atau nama asalnya Hang Jee Fatt yang telah menderhaka kepada Sultan bukanlah daripada keturunan orang Melayu Jati?
p/s: by the way wishbone n RoyMcAvoy, the first post is copy form whereelse. not my own comment. nothing personal ok! can u just come out n giv me some idea y gov suddenlly "deleted" hang tuah from sec school history book? instead of flaming me? just like they "deleted" yap ah loy last time.
beside, nowsaday bu analysis the skeletons' DNA can trace the human origin. tats y scientist believe that human being r origin from africa.
Sorry if it's too long.
10-12-2004, 06:55 AM
haven't we gone through this before? there's one similar item someone posted it here...
Anyway, has anyone found out about the credibility of Shahabudeen Jalil? And he did not cite his sources... Sounds weird...
10-12-2004, 07:21 AM
haven't we gone through this before? there's one similar item someone posted it here...
Anyway, has anyone found out about the credibility of Shahabudeen Jalil? And he did not cite his sources... Sounds weird...
Really? I just read through the posts here in this thread and didnt see anyone posting this. Did i miss it?
10-12-2004, 11:36 PM
ElansarGelmir, I am not sure whether it is the same Shahabudeen Jalil, but there is at least one Shahabudeen Jalil in ReCom and I know him. He is the founder and ex-president of Overseas Preparatory Program Student Union (OPPSU) for my batch. OPP is the old name of INTEC.
11-12-2004, 03:22 AM
Someone could also argue that Hang is actually come from Kedah
(Hang nak pi mana?). OK, that may be a joke.
Perigi Hang Li Po, Perigi Hang Tuah and Bukit Cina still exist in Melaka.
Hang Tuah might be the Laksamana that came along with Hang Li Po from China. But I disagree with the name twisting like , Hang 'Too Ah' or something like that. It just sounds too cheesy for me.
Also, apart from Hang 'Kasturi', kasturi in Malay refers to some good smell from bunga kasturi. and Tuah is 'luck'. I'm not sure about Jebat, Lekiu and Lekir, but that could be just random name like Buyong or Kitul.
Someone might ask why this Hang Tuah story is not inside Sejarah syllabus. I have no idea. I think it's just a legend, like Lagenda Mahsuri in Kedah (do we have Mahsuri in Sejarah?), and thus, it could just safely be ignored. But if more people can come up with the proof that Hang Tuah is actually from China, I would be more interested to hear about it.
PS: please read 'Sejarah Melayu' book where Tuah's and friends' story was told. It would give you more ridiculous account such as the paddy field turn into gold, and there's a government under the sea, etc. (although those might just be metaphores). I'll leave the details to the Historians. It's an interesting book though.
wonder if there's an online version of Sejarah Melayu... that would be sweet :)
11-12-2004, 08:29 AM
This is not the real Sejarah Melayu, but there are a number of links about Malaysia's history.
http://www.sabrizain.demon.co.uk/malaya/links.htm
11-12-2004, 09:11 AM
wonder if there's an online version of Sejarah Melayu... that would be sweet :)
I have the hardcopy version with me right now. =)
shouldn't Sejarah Melayu be in the public domain?
anyone familiar with copyrights law at home?
i should start a ReCom Translation program, and our first translation would be Sejarah Melayu :)
cheongsoon
11-12-2004, 03:55 PM
Someone could also argue that Hang is actually come from Kedah
(Hang nak pi mana?). OK, that may be a joke.
This is the funniest joke I've heard all week!!!! And boy can I use a laugh during end of semester crunch!
Anyway, what does it matter if Hang Tuah and his kakis were from China or had Chinese blood? Melaka and the Southeast Asia trading port-cities at that time were so cosmopolitan and there was so much mixing of blood among the royal houses with foreigners that nobody could be called "pure" then.
The great Mansur Shah, as with all previous and subsequent Melaka Sultans, made sure he was on good relations with the Chinese and Javanese royal houses (and married a fair number of princesses from them). He appointed a south Indian as his Bendahara, who would become the grand-daddy of the famous (in Sejarah Melayu) Bendahara Sri Maharaja. Mansur Shah also didn't have any qualms about appointing a non-Muslim from Palembang to be his Laksamana. And there were always four Shahbandars in town of different nationalities regulating the port.
Man, they were more tolerant and cosmopolitan then than they are now in the Bay Area!
To try to extract modern-day political-racial lessons from the ethnicity of a larger-than-life character from days gone by, when things were very different (there was no Malaysia then, remember?) is either fruitless or smacks of someone (or groups) with less-than-sincere agendas.
By the way, if you read the Abdul Rahman Ismail romanised version of sejarah melayu and compare it with John Leyden's english translation, it's like night and day!!!
cquayhl
12-12-2004, 05:53 AM
By the way, if you read the Abdul Rahman Ismail romanised version of sejarah melayu and compare it with John Leyden's english translation, it's like night and day!!!
Tangent, but Cheong Soon, care to elaborate and/or point us to a compare and contrast kind of review?
Charis.
14-12-2004, 01:21 PM
eh where's cheongsoon?
he pergi HANG kai? :lol: (jalan-jalan in cantonese...)
cheongsoon
14-12-2004, 02:52 PM
aiyah, swamped with papers to finish this week. no time to think about sejarah melayu. if i don't hand in papers, i'll be sejarah myself!!!
later, later...
14-12-2004, 03:33 PM
Do guys honestly believe that Malaysia is not a developed country like the USA or Singapore because the Malays are lazy and not working hard enough?
I mean, come-on now guys.. I'm pretty sure Mr. Nelayan who would sell the "catch of the Day" to the many 5 star hotels for RM 0.50 which in turn would be sold for RM 100 there, would like you think otherwise.
In my opinion, Malaysia is not a first world country not because of its Lazy-Malays but because of the Leaders and politicians of the Country.
Please point the fingers where it should be pointed at. If the Chinese and Indians keep voting for the MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all those other component parties of BN it's definately not UMNOs fault because obviously if they are being voted in for the ast 50 years they know they are playing the game right.
It's not Mr Melayu fault but everyones fault. If Policies in Malaysia seems to be not fair.. you change it not just complain to the end of time and hope it'll change itself.
Stop bit-ching.. Start a revolution.
14-12-2004, 11:39 PM
Aren't you forgetting the infamous ISA and various other draconian laws third?
As for Hang Tuah, I personally think the reason he isn't included in Sejarah books is because there isn't much to confirm his existence (or inexistence if you wish), just like the way King Arthur and Robin Hood are treated in English history (or folklore).
15-12-2004, 12:35 AM
eh 3rd who's saying the malays are lazy?
i agree with you it's the self-righteous dudes up there who are so clouded by their own ignorance that we have what we have today. i personally have malay friends who're 10x smarter and 100x more hardworking than my yellow chinese ass. wait did i just say that? sorry caffeine high...
so how does one convince the other groups of elite malays, that 'ketuanan' for them is archaic, not relevant, and should be done away with?
15-12-2004, 12:39 AM
eh 3rd who's saying the malays are lazy?
Almost everyone including the national service camp trainer! There's so many ways of saying it, it's not funny. I will compile a list and quotes from recom.org to prove this.
15-12-2004, 07:23 AM
Aren't you forgetting the infamous ISA and various other draconian laws third?
As for Hang Tuah, I personally think the reason he isn't included in Sejarah books is because there isn't much to confirm his existence (or inexistence if you wish), just like the way King Arthur and Robin Hood are treated in English history (or folklore).
By the way, was it included in Sejarah textbooks before? I kinda read that it was included before but later removed? Correct me if I'm wrong... :oops:
15-12-2004, 11:31 AM
you talking ISA or Hang Tuah and friends?
someone once made a claim that it was a malay who first sailed the world, not magellan. mag died on the way, and this malay sailor continued the journey with another crew.
17-12-2004, 03:02 AM
you talking ISA or Hang Tuah and friends?
someone once made a claim that it was a malay who first sailed the world, not magellan. mag died on the way, and this malay sailor continued the journey with another crew.
Er....you mean me? I was talking about Hang Tuah in the post before yours if that's what you're asking... Sorry if it's not... :oops: