View Full Version : Is there such a thing as a happy ending?

strawglow
07-01-2010, 01:15 AM
I personally think that there is.Not the overally dramatic "And they lived happily ever after".

But more into fulfillment.That is ,being in your happy place at the end of our life's journey.

Thoughts?

Leen
07-01-2010, 07:05 AM
Happiness is not a destination, it is a voyage.
It's a choice to be happy basically.

Then I guess if you choose to be happy, there will be happy ending.

07-01-2010, 10:51 AM
Yes I do believe there are happy endings. When you make the right choice, do what you really wanted to do in your life and achieve your goals, you will have a happy ending, unless what you do is something bad. Being optimistic, give and receive love from people around you can ensure your happiness last for a long time. :)

07-01-2010, 11:08 AM
With the word ending are you referring to the very end of life or old age in general?

starlover
07-01-2010, 11:23 AM
Happy endings are not impossible. As long as we choose to be happy and to be grateful with what we have :amuse

I'd say..gratefulness is the key =)

chocomaniac
07-01-2010, 10:12 PM
happiness is a very subjective topic, it doesn't have a barier and is different to everyone. Depending on how that person, how he/she defines his happiness. And if he/she feels happy and contented till the rest of his/her life, then why not consider it as a happy ending?

strawglow
09-01-2010, 09:25 PM
youngyew,both.

10-01-2010, 11:17 AM
Watch Disney's Bedtime stories. LOL.

wieya
16-01-2010, 08:17 PM
ppl without love is pathetic. wat goes around, comes around. do good deeds, n u will get a hepy ending. =.=

starlover
17-01-2010, 10:01 AM
Watch Disney's Bedtime stories. LOL.

i watched it already :lmao

yeah, actually the movie taught me a lot. about life particularly. no easy way out :wink

ppl without love is pathetic. wat goes around, comes around. do good deeds, n u will get a hepy ending. =.=

that's..a little bit too positive :P

obviously we depend on others to be happy, no? :laugh

17-01-2010, 12:26 PM
Why should we cry when others are sad? Why should we laugh when others happy? Can't we be our true selves? I mean... Why should we pretend everything is okay when something is actually not okay? Why humans like to be hypocrite so much? Why there is no true friendship when they think you are just their temporary toy to play-and-kick-off? Why we need to be so susah payah just to be good persons to entertain others but neglect our own feelings? :huh

wieya
17-01-2010, 03:30 PM
i watched it already :lmao

yeah, actually the movie taught me a lot. about life particularly. no easy way out :wink

that's..a little bit too positive :P

haha.yup, we depend on others to b hepy. but , we cant b too dependent on them. at da end, we r the one who deciding whether we shud have a hepy ending o not.we choose our path by choosing our own decision(including listening to others opinion), whether d decision cn bring a hepy ending o not.:wink

17-01-2010, 08:12 PM
Why should we cry when others are sad? Why should we laugh when others happy? Can't we be our true selves? I mean... Why should we pretend everything is okay when something is actually not okay? Why humans like to be hypocrite so much? Why there is no true friendship when they think you are just their temporary toy to play-and-kick-off? Why we need to be so susah payah just to be good persons to entertain others but neglect our own feelings? :huh

Nobody is demanding you to act so. You can just be yourself in any given circumstance and surely there'll be people that like your personalities and befriend you. :laugh

17-01-2010, 08:25 PM
Nobody is demanding you to act so. You can just be yourself in any given circumstance and surely there'll be people that like your personalities and befriend you. :laugh
I didn't say I don't have friends what... :notrust :P
Sorry for so many why-s, I didn't mean for that. Haha. Just my sudden feeling about life... Aren't that people so pretentious in any way...
Happy,
So what if it hurts you,
So what if you break down,
You gotta find your place,
'Cause you are just trying be happy. :))

starlover
17-01-2010, 08:54 PM

hypocrisy..my teacher once said, women must be hypocrite. Especially when mother-in-law is involved :P
Because we have to be nice, or else, tolak markah :lmao

Why we need to be so susah payah just to be good persons to entertain others but neglect our own feelings?

This..because it's..natural. I think it happens to everybody :notrust

but how?

17-01-2010, 10:29 PM
I didn't say I don't have friends what... :notrust :P
Sorry for so many why-s, I didn't mean for that. Haha. Just my sudden feeling about life... Aren't that people so pretentious in any way...
Happy,
So what if it hurts you,
So what if you break down,
You gotta find your place,
'Cause you are just trying be happy. :))

I, too, sometimes got that kind of feeling. Philosophies of life huh! I do not mean you don't have any friends. Sorry if my words meant something else to you. :sweat

but how?

I mean don't act in front of your friends. If you don't like the stuff, just say you don't like it and something like that lor. :P

17-01-2010, 11:07 PM
For me, if you really ask my version of a happy ending in reality, I think it would be an old person lying on bed with loving friends and family surrounding it, one who had accomplished something in life, has live life to the fullest and had helped those that needed it.

So is there such thing as a happy ending? I think so. :)) And to achieve that, i bet we need to pour all our heart out and colour our life with various experiences. : ) :paint

starlover
20-01-2010, 01:34 PM
I mean don't act in front of your friends. If you don't like the stuff, just say you don't like it and something like that lor. :P

it's good to be straightforward some of the times, but sometimes it might hurt others..I won't be happy to hurt someone :P

but after all, honesty is the best policy.

For me, if you really ask my version of a happy ending in reality, I think it would be an old person lying on bed with loving friends and family surrounding it, one who had accomplished something in life, has live life to the fullest and had helped those that needed it.

So is there such thing as a happy ending? I think so. :)) And to achieve that, i bet we need to pour all our heart out and colour our life with various experiences. : ) :paint

yeah, I think that should be it :nod

*you really like that colour2 emoticon huh? xD

20-01-2010, 08:25 PM
** it's due to "to colour one's life", that's all. :P but i think i do like it. xD :paint <-----looks cheerful

20-01-2010, 08:47 PM
We should add more dark emoticons like Dark Knight to the collection :P

20-01-2010, 09:45 PM
haha! Please do, the dark knight is cool!:wink Will be looking forward to it. :P but does the dark knight consider a happy ending?

slappyfin3
20-01-2010, 09:54 PM
the dark knight's ending can't be considered happy unless you're some sadist XD

but the movie paints life as it is which is why I enjoyed it. Not many movies can portray the betrayals, ruthlessness and wickedness in the people who inhabit this world like the dark knight did

20-01-2010, 10:41 PM
haha! Please do, the dark knight is cool!:wink Will be looking forward to it. :P but does the dark knight consider a happy ending?

Dark Knight has one of the darkest ending for a movie. Usually the hero ends up walking away, living happily ever after. In dark knight, the hero end of becoming the de-facto villian, and loses everything...

slappyfin3
22-01-2010, 02:08 AM
totally agree with vseehua. He became hollow, without a soul. It's a definitely a movie I'm not letting my nieces and nephews watch XD

23-01-2010, 05:09 PM

Your answer reminds me of a quote I once read: "Live out your life such that when you die, even the undertaker will be sorry"

alter_ego
19-03-2010, 05:51 PM
Happy endings are not impossible. As long as we choose to be happy and to be grateful with what we have :amuse

I'd say..gratefulness is the key =)

yeah.i agree with u. :)

gto
13-06-2010, 02:05 PM
say,thinking it this way...if u r not happy then u r not even close to the ending.
n if u r happy,be warned dat u r at the end, savour every moment...

well,i would say happy ending does not exist because i feel everything is a cycle...including happiness n sadness...like a wheel,it turns with time...nothing is permanent, jz as we learnt in the poem "if" during secondary school days by Rudyard Kipling. treat triumph and disaster just the same...

however,i used in the sense that,i still be joyous when happy times and cry when im sad but not blow it out of proportion.

this is my 2cents worth...=)

lxy
13-06-2010, 04:30 PM
well,i would say happy ending does not exist because i feel everything is a cycle...including happiness n sadness...like a wheel,it turns with time...nothing is permanent, jz as we learnt in the poem "if" during secondary school days by Rudyard Kipling. treat triumph and disaster just the same...

yeahyeah, i think it sort of works that way too. you can't be in happy circumstances all the time, there's gotta be some not-so-happy ones. that's the only way we improve as people.

i also think happiness is pretty much subjective. you choose whether or not to be influenced by circumstances. for example, during major exams, you can choose to freak out because your friends are, or you can keep calm and not be affected by the people around you. i figure happiness sort of works that way. we should control our emotions, not let emotions be our master and dictate our actions. IMO la. :amuse

13-06-2010, 09:26 PM
yeahyeah, i think it sort of works that way too. you can't be in happy circumstances all the time, there's gotta be some not-so-happy ones. that's the only way we improve as people.

i also think happiness is pretty much subjective. you choose whether or not to be influenced by circumstances. for example, during major exams, you can choose to freak out because your friends are, or you can keep calm and not be affected by the people around you. i figure happiness sort of works that way. we should control our emotions, not let emotions be our master and dictate our actions. IMO la. :amuse

Yes, very true. In the first place, in order to answer the topic question, the definition of happiness should be determined. I believe there's several kinds of happiness like superficial happiness and true happiness. Superficial happiness is more or less what most people experience most of the time. Superficial happiness is usually achieved by something external, the fulfillment of desires and based on circumstances. In this case, then there is such a thing as a happy ending.

But in the latter case, true happiness comes from within and not without. It's actually a little difficult to exactly define what true happiness is but I feel that it is a state of mind that is stays positive no matter what. The circumstances may be bleak, but somehow it is still possible to feel happy. It may not be that over-the-moon-jumping up-and-down sort of joy but the kind that stabilizes, centres the mind and soothes the soul and provides hope. It sounds ideal but of course it is a challenge to experience this sort of happiness. In that context, on whether there's such thing as a happy ending, I wouldn't say it's impossible but almost next-to-impossible. I believe everyone at various points in their life have experienced this kind of happiness but it's usually a very brief moment as we are then influenced by the next events that occur and so our emotions follow suit. This are just my opinions... Any thoughts on this?

gto
13-06-2010, 10:06 PM
I believe everyone at various points in their life have experienced this kind of happiness but it's usually a very brief moment as we are then influenced by the next events that occur and so our emotions follow suit.

agree with this:)...hmm...mentioned in some previous posts,maybe the key to get the 'next n next' events to be pleasant is by practicing good in all aspects of living ...the possibility to have saddening events can be reduced.i guess a long period of happiness is kinda close to the happy-ending...

yhu1
21-12-2010, 12:52 PM
It's better to be optimistic about the outcome of all things around u~~

21-12-2010, 09:36 PM
Life is filled with many obstacles of life. It depends on the determination of a person. It's just like sitting for a paper. If we worked a lot for the paper, it's likely that we will pass it with flying colour. Of course, there are those who don't work much and still do well in the paper and those who worked a lot but their results isn't that good. This shows that some people get their happy ending easily, others have to figure a good strategy to succeed in life.

Thus, there is such thing as happy ending but not everyone will get it. We have to earn it.

vikraman
21-12-2010, 09:43 PM
Establishing that the only true ending is death, and upon death you cease to exist and therefore cannot be either happy or sad, the existence of a "happy" ending depends on how many enemies, friends and frenemies you make.

If you're widely hated, your death will be greeted with much joy and celebration. A "happy" ending, if you must. If you're widely loved, your death will be greeted with much sadness and mourning, what I would quantify as a "sad" ending.

So if you really want a happy ending, be an asshole. You're pretty much guaranteed one :D

21-12-2010, 09:55 PM
If you're widely hated, your death will be greeted with much joy and celebration. A "happy" ending, if you must. If you're widely loves, your death will be greeted with much sadness and mourning, what I would quantify as a "sad" ending.

So if you really want a happy ending, be an asshole. You're pretty much guaranteed one :D
You, sir, have just won the thread.

sisasha
21-12-2010, 10:01 PM
Happiness is very relevant. You can be poor but happy, or you can be rich and happy. What matters is the individual itself. Whether you are contented with what you have or not. Happy ending is offered to everyone. The matter is whether do you or do you not choose it. I believe it all lies in the our mind. Whatever you think is what you'll attract. So yea, happy ending does exist-if you are faithful enough to believe in it.

CelineD
03-01-2011, 04:27 PM
Hmm...in my opinion this seems like a 3 part act:

We try to solve problems and overcome obstacles. (Part 1)

Once a problem nor obstacle in life is solved it's a happy ending. (Part 2)

But, some time after that another new one crops up and then we have to solve it...(Part 3) (do you know someone whose life is problem free, even minor problems?)

Most fairy tales focus on part 1 and 2. the story doesn't imply or continue part 3 after that.

It's an endless cycle of growing up and maturing.

So to answer the question...ya, I think there is a happy ending in every situation if one is wise in making decisions:)

FoxyWoxy25
26-02-2011, 09:59 PM
Only in massage parlours.

vampiric_guy_01
18-03-2011, 11:25 AM
happy ending? i think its a YES .. happiness depends on ur point of view... actually