View Full Version : Exchanging MP3 files amongst Recomers

26-06-2004, 10:54 PM
since Yahoo MSN war is going on our emails are expanding like rockets and now exchanging MP3 is possible...

so we can do some pakatan / request to exchange MP3 amongst us

but before that let?s discuss whether it?s morally right to exchange files this way? for sure it?s not as bad as P2P...

anyway, does anyone have yanni and kitaro?s MP3?

launa
27-06-2004, 08:19 AM
i think it is not against law if we exchange mp3 for our own use only. how can we define 'morally right'? everyone have different view about this.

at the end, i also want to exchange mp3 also.

27-06-2004, 12:15 PM
OK....
u can make an MP3 request here..
hope those recomers who have tje MP3 u want can post them to u...

anyone have yanni, maksim, kitaro MP3 ?

27-06-2004, 02:45 PM
It's not against the law if YOU as the owner use it YOURSELF.

But if you spread it around to other users (in this case thru email which is not anonymous), you'll get in trouble faster. You risk your email account being revoked.

I'm against this.

Why don't you use other P2P software? I don't want to lose my email account.

Btw, I use to have some of Kitaro's songs on CD and I converted to mp3. But I don't have em right now.

27-06-2004, 04:14 PM
It's not against the law if YOU as the owner use it YOURSELF.

But if you spread it around to other users (in this case thru email which is not anonymous), you'll get in trouble faster. You risk your email account being revoked.

I'm against this.

Why don't you use other P2P software? I don't want to lose my email account.

Btw, I use to have some of Kitaro's songs on CD and I converted to mp3. But I don't have em right now.

please show us where u have read that exchanging mp3 is illegal

here?s a quote from this link

More importantly, users will now have space to store the digital photos and MP3 music files that are increasingly popular attachments to e-mail and are usually a few megabytes in size.

http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/techscience/story/0,4386,258372,00.html?

27-06-2004, 04:15 PM
hmm....since the founders of ReCom are based in the US, they might get into trouble with RIAA if you do that! And does this website have any "Terms of Use" to absolve Recom of any crime...can't really remember if I've seen it when I was registering....

Anyway, this is from the RIAA website:

"Piracy" generally refers to the illegal duplication and distribution of sound recordings. There are four specific categories of music piracy:

* Pirate recordings are the unauthorized duplication of only the sound of legitimate recordings, as opposed to all the packaging, i.e. the original art, label, title, sequencing, combination of titles etc. This includes mixed tapes and compilation CDs featuring one or more artists.

* Counterfeit recordings are unauthorized recordings of the prerecorded sound as well as the unauthorized duplication of original artwork, label, trademark and packaging.

* Bootleg recordings (or underground recordings) are the unauthorized recordings of live concerts, or musical broadcasts on radio or television.

* Online piracy is the unauthorized uploading of a copyrighted sound recording and making it available to the public, or downloading a sound recording from an Internet site, even if the recording isn't resold. Online piracy may now also include certain uses of "streaming" technologies from the Internet.

and under the "online piracy" section, by exchanging your copyrighted MP3s in this forum which is considered public....ReCom can get into trouble I think...any future lawyers can confirm this?

27-06-2004, 04:23 PM
Anyway, this is from the RIAA website (http://www.riaa.com/issues/piracy/default.asp)

...hey mods sorry man, accidentally pressed the 'quote' button instead of edit and by the time I realised it, I've pressed 'Submit' =P

27-06-2004, 04:44 PM
More importantly, users will now have space to store the digital photos and MP3 music files that are increasingly popular attachments to e-mail and are usually a few megabytes in size.

What they mean by storing MP3 music files in this case is music YOU made yourself or your friends that you guys wanna share amongst yourselves. NOT from a popular artist.

Let's say you recorded your own song you wrote yourself and distributed it to your friends, that's not illegal. Cause you gave the implicit consent by distributing it at the first place. It's your own work.

Other people's work can only be distributed IF they gave you the explicit consent. In this case all popular music are properties of their respective owners and CANNOT be distributed in any form, including but not limited to electronic form.

I'm proud to say 90% of my MP3s are from CDs that I own. a small percentage are weird and funny songs which I don't think anyone bothers to sue me.

However, I'm not sure about you recording your OWN rendition of someone's else's music.

Anyone care to enlighten me on this?

hmm....since the founders of ReCom are based in the US, they might get into trouble with RIAA if you do that! And does this website have any "Terms of Use" to absolve Recom of any crime...can't really remember if I've seen it when I was registering....

I agree on weich's suggestion. Put a prominent line saying something like "Posts in ReCom are the opinion of their respective writers and do not in any way reflect the opinions of ReCom's owners bla bla bla..."

27-06-2004, 07:16 PM
Bad idea.

There is a reason online stores don't sell music in MP3 format you know (allofmp3.com is sketchy at best).

It is also too open for abuse, and the last thing recom wants is a love letter from our friendly neighborhoold RIAA office.

If you insist on doing this, do it quietly on any of your favorite P2P networks!

27-06-2004, 07:45 PM
I agree on weich's suggestion. Put a prominent line saying something like "Posts in ReCom are the opinion of their respective writers and do not in any way reflect the opinions of ReCom's owners bla bla bla..."
That very line you suggested has been down there in ReCom's footer for ages ... am I the only one who can see it or is it just people who love to ask for things w/o checking whether the things they want are already there before they even think of it?

27-06-2004, 07:47 PM
That very line you suggested has been down there in ReCom's footer for ages ... am I the only one who can see it or is it just people who love to ask for things w/o checking whether the things they want are already there before they even think of it?
That line is useful, but I don't think you need the "MacOS...respective owners" part.

27-06-2004, 11:35 PM

Sorry bout that, must have been the lack of sleep. :oops:

27-06-2004, 11:53 PM
so all ReCom anchors please come up with a conclusion..

if it?s not legal... this should be locked....

28-06-2004, 12:02 AM

There is no need for a lock. I'm tired of seeing mods locking perfectly fine threads which further discussion can and should be continued.

28-06-2004, 08:26 AM
If you want to exchange the MP3 among yourselves, then, ReCom has no problem with it, since you're on your own (using MSN mssnger, bittorent, etc).
But Recom cannot help hosting your Mp3 request.that's all.
For this threads, it is crystal clear that you cannot post your request here, following the same analogy with Napster.

Napster got into trouble when hosting songs. People swap songs online using Napster server and finally got into trouble. Kazaa, being a little clever, avoid the 'centralized' server such as Napster, claiming that users downloading songs among themselves, and there's no problem with it. But still, you know the rest of the story. Kazaa office finally got raid.

ReCom, since its early days,strives not to be 'yet another Mp3 swapping center'. If you read through all the hundreds of posts at the thread how to improve our website (http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=27&highlight=improve+websiite&sid=c6d50ca0d8dfecc7e36ca428222cda0e), you'll get to know how recom website evolves since April 1, 2003.

There is no need for a lock. I'm tired of seeing mods locking perfectly fine threads which further discussion can and should be continued.

the prime reason why we lock threads is to avoid duplication of topic discussed and to avoid some outrageous posts .But if any of us spot any good discussion that should not be locked, please PM any of the mods (recom forum managers :thirdshifter, littlebigone, pandaboy, or any of us), or simply post a discussion suggesting which thread should be unlocked. we're more than happy to hear that. After all, forum here exist so that we could discuss stuff that matters.

we welcome feedbacks from all of you.

29-06-2004, 12:26 PM
Yes, I agree with masterof_none. That is why we moderators always put up a reason or a message there before we lock up the thread. If fellow recomers feel that the discussion can proceed further, then pm the moderator who locked the topic or other moderators. We are always open to receive feedback from u guys.

Should we discuss further on this topic? I personally thinks it's inappropriate to trade mp3 files here in recom. But if u wish to trade mp3s among the members, you guys can pm each other or by email. So should this topic be locked? Since iQing (who started this thread) himself requested for a lock?

29-06-2004, 12:35 PM
I think we can leave it open for this thread...at least temperarily, may be someone has some opinions to share.

ReCom would not host any file swapping of MP3 etc... If you want to do it, you can post like what others did, i am looking for this and that MP3 etc... And then you guys do it (not within ReCom). Can anyone advise me on whether this is fine. I am thinking of this opinion, so that those who wish to exchange could get some contacts, while ensuring that ReCom is not implicated.

We discouraged anything that infringes on others' copyrights. ReCom strongly promotes originality. To those who wish to utilize others' copyrights randomly, I would say that wait till you have developed your own thing (something that you have worked hundreds or thousands of hours) and others use it for free, without even acknowledging your work or paying you anything... Then, you will realize about this issue.

29-06-2004, 12:53 PM
what about announcing the MP3 of artist we have...
or requesting for MP3 by just stating the artist of the song we want
(do pakatan)

and then later we discuss further via pm or email quietly before exchanging MP3 via email...

does this works?

29-06-2004, 02:36 PM
if you start a request thread isn't it obvious you guys are trading files, and site admins are responsible for what happens in a forum since they have admin/mod rights even if it's other ppl's opinion. But anyway, if you wanna do that...you can probably do it...till RIAA finds out and give a warning...and then only remove it =) Or alternatively don't host this site in the US and go to some other countries with no copyright laws =)

Just my opinion =P....so any future lawyers out there in the forum can clarify this?

...Anyway, why not just use P2P programs like Kazaa-lite/BitTorrent or Xolox?

29-06-2004, 02:39 PM
thanx for sharing...

not all MP3 can be found via P2P..

what about FTP?

29-06-2004, 05:27 PM
If you wanna use FTP, make sure your host does not forbid hosting illegal files such as pirated copyrighted music.

Some hosts will just delete your account if found to be hosting these kinda stuff cos they might get in trouble with RIAA too.

I suggest using P2P, you make an appointment with someone who has the file, and then get online at the same time. You can use the search user function in most P2P.

Or just use direct file transfer.

Anyway, I strongly disagree with exchanging pirated music.

Why don't u buy it from iTunes or something?

29-06-2004, 07:58 PM
Actually, since you are in Germany, RIAA/MPAA does not have any jurisdiction so you won't get any trouble from them. Of course, that does not make piracy any less illegal.

There is this Russian based http://www.allofmp3.com/ to purchase really cheap music from but it's legality is debatable. However, I find it strange that RIAA has not issued a single press statement about this yet.

29-06-2004, 09:33 PM
Sorry guys, please do not post messages annoucing your mp3 collection nor requesting for any mp3's. While we're at it to make this warning more complete, this also goes for audio and movie files of any format that are copyrighted.

If you do post such messages, we will simply remove your message.

Such activity is illegal and ReCom cannot allow anyone to do it here.

For now, this thread is open for people who want to discuss the issue of pirated music.

I hope you guys understand the matter at hand. Thanks.

30-06-2004, 12:50 AM
how about if we just put a direct link to download mp3 through some website?
just like what my friend do...
http://s8.invisionfree.com/Come_Come_Paradise/index.php?showtopic=25&st=0

windy_city
30-06-2004, 01:23 AM
It is still illegal!!
No matter what you do, exchanging any copyrighted stuffs without the consent of the author is illegal.

Anyway, I dun think that the RIAA will want to go after Recom for posting a thread on exchanging/requesting MP3. Nonetheless, doing so will tarnish the reputation of Recom, so I totally against the idea of requesting songs or even posting songs exchange link here.
By the way, it is not illegal to post a link for exchanging song /even requesting song (as long as Recom do not store the song in its servers and do not involve in exchanging the song (example, providing downloading tool for it), it will not get into trouble) but by doing do, it spoils the good name of Recom. So it is up to you guy to decide. Anyway anyone who want more specific legal advice, ask someone from law school. :D

30-06-2004, 08:13 AM
ReCom strongly promotes originality.
I second that. If you haven't visited the creative corner, you probably want to - ReCom is more than happy to host your work and let everyone know what you can do. That goes with MP3s too. If you made some recordings of your own, or if you wrote a song, (and you're not planning to sell it to some company), then why not share it in the creative corner?

30-06-2004, 08:16 AM
huh? creative corner?
i haven?t been there for ages...

30-06-2004, 09:26 AM
Link to Creative Corner:-

http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=creative2

Please feel free to upload your own original creation of artwork, music, paper etc there...