View Full Version : Business Administration & Management
28-06-2004, 03:03 AM
Here you can post questions on Business admin and management.
08-07-2004, 03:26 PM
I'm wondering, can a person with a science degree pursue Masters in Business such as MBA? Do they need any related working experience? How can a person with no business background pursue a postgraduate course in Business? Anyone care to elaborate?
windy_city
09-07-2004, 01:47 AM
I'm wondering, can a person with a science degree pursue Masters in Business such as MBA? Do they need any related working experience? How can a person with no business background pursue a postgraduate course in Business? Anyone care to elaborate?
Everybody can pursue an MBA, regardless on whether you are a science or an art student.
But the qualification varies among the business school.
Work experience is necessary for most school, but a must (minimum about 2 years) for most top business school such as Kellogg, Wharton, Sloan, Harvard B. , Chicago B. etc.
To get into the top B school in US you will need an undergraduate degree, good GMAT score, working experience, and money (because it is not cheap to study MBA).
If you are interested about MBA stuff, I think a good place for research is businessweek.com MBA section. They have ranking for the school, plus tips and other stuff about B school in US and in Europe.
There is an interesting article by Financial Times, they compiled all the ranking by all the major publications in the world and make an aggregate ranking out of it.
In this page, you will find all the current ranking about B-school ever publish:
http://specials.ft.com/spdocs/FT3Y4RCD2BD.pdf
09-07-2004, 10:32 AM
Thanks windy_city for ur infos and links. I'm still wondering, what's the point of studying business degree for 3 years for business students? The science students can simply skip the 3 years for business degree and go for MBA straight away. What does this implies?
Is it advisable to go for double degrees, say Bachelor in Pharmacy + Bachelor of Commerce? It seems very common nowadays, but I was told that it'll be just a waste of time by school counsellors.
windy_city
09-07-2004, 10:41 AM
Thanks windy_city for ur infos and links. I'm still wondering, what's the point of studying business degree for 3 years for business students? The science students can simply skip the 3 years for business degree and go for MBA straight away. What does this implies?
Is it advisable to go for double degrees, say Bachelor in Pharmacy + Bachelor of Commerce? It seems very common nowadays, but I was told that it'll be just a waste of time by school counsellors.
What the point to do the 3 years business degree you ask??
Maybe it is because of interest, these students want to go to business admin field straight away and they dun like science.
There are million of possibilities, it all just depend on what a person want to do, that all. Not all business degree people go on n do MBA too.
About the double degree thing, well, like I said it depends on your interest. If your plan for double degree is so that you can get in B-school, yeah it will be a waste of time because you can do that with just about any degree. If you want to do it because of interest or because you haven make up your mind on whether you want to do pharmacy or commerce, then go ahead and get the double degree!
09-07-2004, 11:10 AM
What I meant was it sounded like 3 years used for studying a business degree is nothing as science students can just skip the 3 years and straight away go for the MBA. Does that mean that the 3 years are just to study very basic things? If not, how can science students afford to skip that part and go for MBA? Anyway, I'm just confused as I have no basic knowledge about business at all.
CyberJaya
09-07-2004, 02:07 PM
This is for questions on business admin at degree level. not for debate on business.
09-07-2004, 03:41 PM
This is for questions on business admin at degree level. not for debate on business.
now i'm questioning about MBA, isnt it a masters in business admin? isnt it a masters degree for business admin?
The_Observer
09-07-2004, 07:02 PM
Cool rankings...say...know of anywhere to find rankings for medical schools?
chriistney
23-02-2007, 12:06 AM
i want to know too. about the ranking of medical school. help, anybody?
08-06-2007, 02:53 PM
Hi, for MBA, how many years do we need to study?
kintaro_kun
26-07-2007, 03:47 PM
first of all, whats your definition of a business degree? to some ppl, a business degree is business related, such as a bachelor of commerce(accounting), bachelor of finance, bachelor of economics(not strictly so, but misconception is frequent), and of course, a bachelor of business/bachelor of business adminstration(BBA).
different qualifications above lead to different outcomes to your career prospects. most bachelor of commerce graduates become accountants, finance grads become financial analysts, financial planner etc, economics grads will works as economists, researchers etc. for bachelor of business/BBA grads, depending on their major, they can work in human resource, marketing, management, among others. please note that exceptions do apply. medical grads dun necessarily become doctors, same as all other grads.
the MBA is a generalist degree, and so accepts ppl of various academic backgrounds. it drills you in the basics of managing business, and then goes into massive amounts of advanced material. students are expected to be able to cope with the workload, since they are all graduates and have had a few years of managerial experience after all. interaction in classes is a must, and it trains students to cooperate with fellow classmates, accomplish projects, gather know how, in an intensive fashion, just as what the real world expects you to. its intensivity is highly valued, student networking and contacts are also assets for the students themselves, not to mention the connection established with the schools and professors.
this is different than business undergraduate degrees, where different types of degrees can lead you to various destinations. you cannot be an accountant, actuary, financial planner etc based solely on your MBA. an MBA is just a general skills upgrade, and not a qualifying ticket to professional organisations. an MBA, depending on which country or which school youre taking it, has different durations of study. USUALLY, american MBAs take 2 yrs, australian take 1-1.5 yrs, uk take 1 yr. accreditation of MBA programmes can be seen as a measure of quality(highly subjective). most popular accreditation bodies in the world for MBAs are AACSB, EQUIS, and AMBA.
a double degree is a good option for ppl who want a broader outlook in life, and have more career doors opened to you. example, a bachelor of commerce enables you to be an accountant, and bachelor of pharmacy enables you to be a pharmacist, and why not? the ability to manage a business and balance business sheets complement your pharmacy business no? many skills in double degrees complement each other. and some are just studied to further ones interests. why isit a waste of time? in fact, i think education is nvr a waste of time, even for programmes ppl always think they are, like the bachelor of arts. what grads lack these days are soft skills, communication, and the ability to convey their thoughts across. BA students, no matter what they major in whether history, media, politics, french, or gender studies, are trained and well positioned to be excellent communicators. if you can afford it and are able to handle the workload, a double degree, or a liberal degree is highly recommended.
erm..juz one ques..is business admin a too-general-course to study?---coz when i tell my uncles and aunties bout me gettin to do BBA in nus..they were like ''Biz admin is too general...take other subject instead..'' :))
989Lee
09-06-2008, 10:31 PM
are there lots of investment stuffs for business admin?
teiya_drumzaddict
12-06-2008, 01:02 AM
erm..juz one ques..is business admin a too-general-course to study?---coz when i tell my uncles and aunties bout me gettin to do BBA in nus..they were like ''Biz admin is too general...take other subject instead..'' :))
well it isn't too general if you are doing majors. like in victoria university australia they do have double majors for business degree. u cud major in specialised fields such as Economics, Financial Risk Management, Banking and Finance, International trade. I almost go for double major thru VU but decided on fast track accounting instead. gud luck to you tho.:amuse
rainyshark
13-06-2008, 09:08 PM
I don't know whether this fall under this thread or not...
IB require us to do a research paper on business and I absolutely have no idea on how am I gonna finished it...haven't started on it too...
Have some ideas but zero output on it...
The problem is I don't understand the concept in business that is...There goes by chance of being filthy rich...
Anyway..I always picture the thing that we learn in business is operated in a big manufacturing companies...(as a result of watching too many cooperate-related dramas)
Lorraine88
01-09-2008, 12:43 PM
well it isn't too general if you are doing majors. like in victoria university australia they do have double majors for business degree. u cud major in specialised fields such as Economics, Financial Risk Management, Banking and Finance, International trade. I almost go for double major thru VU but decided on fast track accounting instead. gud luck to you tho.:amuse
My aunt also said that BA too general..so that i dare not to take as i am a science student since highschool i dont even have basic in account..now i am taking A level in science..but i still thinking to take BA after A level...or nutritious course..so confusing..beside that,my english is a problem also..i heard that study business or other course u need to have a basic english.but i think i still need to improve..?any idea for me?
ur pieces of mind greater meaning to me..thanks a lot...
UglyGirl
05-09-2008, 01:09 AM
Hello! Is there any twinning program for business degree programs?
21-12-2008, 07:30 PM
is business administration that general??? there are a few subs in business administration like marketing, accounting, and yada yada... can i know the difference in bachelor of business in finance, bachelor of art in finance, bachelor of science in finance and bachelor of finance??? what is the meaning of the term of bachelor of xxx??? sorry for my jakun-ess...