Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Debates

Debates Nothing senseless here. Argue your points and stands here.

Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

eve88 Female

#51 Old 27-05-2009 Default Re: Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

mmm... We'll just leave them to it? Nothing really stops us from ignoring them... so, i mean, they're not really bothering me, so live and let live, i guess.

(Okay, im not sounding too coherent here =( sorry)
eve88 is offline   Reply With Quote
breakmx Male

#52 Old 28-05-2009 Default Re: Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

wow...I didn't know that it bothered people that much.haha
frankly i kinda like using them because I'm addicted to the internet & spend my time chatting.So using the shorthands while chatting and also smsing really does save me time.Nevertheless i don't let it get crazy with all the symbols and numbers because that is really irritating.When people uses them i rather not read at all.haha.Well my point is that as long as you can get you points heard and understood i don't think it matters as it does save little time for those who are familiar with it.Keep it mind to not let it detoriate your grammar or such.

The latter statement is FALSE.The former statement is TRUE.
breakmx is offline   Reply With Quote

#53 Old 28-05-2009 Default Re: Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

Originally Posted by vseehua View Post
p/s: After so many years overseas, I find that sms is a plain waste of money. With the prevalence of instant messaging, facebook, email and other kinds of electronic communication, i find that sms serves less and less purpose in my life. Such that I can actually live without it
For overseas, of course is a plain waste of money.
For local, sometimes sms helps a lot as some people can't really online everyday by utilising electronic communication.

Originally Posted by starlemon View Post
Manglish is way to show that we are after all----MALAYSIAN!That would probably means we can recognise each other quite easily then. Even as if i am speaking with some Malays, chinese or indians, most of them stick to Manglish. want to know reasons? that is so cool to have our unique languages of our own.

But then, please don't use managlish in a formal situation or else people would find a hard day, deciphering what you are to mean then.
Well, most of malays or bumis I'm talking to seldom speak Manglish which the words end with la, meh, le, eh,...

For instance, I ask: Ya meh? They ask in this way: Ya kah? See the difference? Sometimes I feel ashamed of myself. Hahaha. I'm accustomed with it already... However, I would never speak Manglish in formal conversation.

Originally Posted by breakmx View Post
wow...I didn't know that it bothered people that much.haha
It does bother some people.
For me, I still can accept Manglish and SMS language in informal conversation.
But for l33t speak, a big NO NO!

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.

If more is less, is less more?

Keiko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Keeper of the Scrolls

#54 Old 28-05-2009 Default Re: Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

Originally Posted by Keiko123 View Post
For overseas, of course is a plain waste of money.
For local, sometimes sms helps a lot as some people can't really online everyday by utilising electronic communication.
I doubt you are going to be far from your computer for long anyways. And when i go out, I definitely won't waste time messaging when I can use the time to relax and jalan-jalan around town. Chit-Chats can always wait till later ;)

It is always good to be naïve, for when we cease to be naïve, it is the end of life as we know it!

#55 Old 28-05-2009 Default Re: Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

Originally Posted by vseehua View Post
I doubt you are going to be far from your computer for long anyways. And when i go out, I definitely won't waste time messaging when I can use the time to relax and jalan-jalan around town. Chit-Chats can always wait till later ;)
I would dead living without computer. Unfortunately, I'm going to buy laptop, so not considered as far.

Sometimes it's not you want to find people when going out, conversely, others tend to find you.

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.

If more is less, is less more?

Keiko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Keeper of the Scrolls

#56 Old 28-05-2009 Default Re: Should we condone the use of l33t speak/Manglish/SMS language?

Originally Posted by Keiko123 View Post
I would dead living without computer. Unfortunately, I'm going to buy laptop, so not considered as far.

Sometimes it's not you want to find people when going out, conversely, others tend to find you.
if it's important I'll call back. If not it can wait

It is always good to be naïve, for when we cease to be naïve, it is the end of life as we know it!