Scholarships A place to find out about scholarships available for Malaysians

Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Gemini123 Male

#21 Old 14-06-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Oh ty for your advice and it did put me in ease a lot.
So, did you manage to make it to the Pre-U scholarship award ?

And this is how I prepare for the test :
1) Memorizing formulae ( because I heard that formulae won't be given, eg. Trigonometry )
2) Trying to understand the fundamental concepts of the topics like differentiation and integration
3) English ? I'm a moderate English reader and used to write narrative essay because I've an imaginative mind rather than a very logical and analytical mind that can think critically =.= So cramming 350 words in 30 minutes might be tough to me as the essay coming out would be more to current issues or points of one's view.

Anyway, than you!
Gemini123 is offline   Reply With Quote
yfeng93 Female

#22 Old 14-06-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Just in case anyone who applied for the test but couldnt get into the ASEAN scholarship test part.. Mind to share when is the test? Are all the test being conducted on 16th of June? Thanks for replying..

Have a nice day!
yfeng93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Gemini123 Male

#23 Old 14-06-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

For this I'm not sure
But I think that the dates and venues depend on which part of Malaysia you're living in.
Those living around the vicinity of Selangor probably go to Sunway Pyramid, which located in Selangor too,to sit for the test. I live in Johor and it's really not practical to have me sitting for the test in Selangor right? Instead, I'm being posted to take the exam in Singapore
Gemini123 is offline   Reply With Quote
kenlim92 Male

#24 Old 14-06-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Hi, if you all need the gat test format you can try this website. the question is somewhat similar (some are even the same if my memory din fail me). I agree with nicholas that gat test has a heavy weightage in your selection process. Among the scholars i met, all of them found gat test easy. Ironically, all of them found either english or maths test is challenging. Good luck juniors!

http://iqtest.dk/main.swf
kenlim92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Nicholas92 Male

#25 Old 14-06-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Originally Posted by Gemini123 View Post
Oh ty for your advice and it did put me in ease a lot.
So, did you manage to make it to the Pre-U scholarship award ?

And this is how I prepare for the test :
1) Memorizing formulae ( because I heard that formulae won't be given, eg. Trigonometry )
2) Trying to understand the fundamental concepts of the topics like differentiation and integration
3) English ? I'm a moderate English reader and used to write narrative essay because I've an imaginative mind rather than a very logical and analytical mind that can think critically =.= So cramming 350 words in 30 minutes might be tough to me as the essay coming out would be more to current issues or points of one's view.

Anyway, than you!
Yeah I did.

Anyway,
1) This is a given, though I'd add that it isn't enough. Questions will make you think differently, so formulae will be the least of your problems.
2) Better. If you understand rather than memorise the basics, you can rationalise weirder questions better.
3) If you're fluent in English, that's half the battle - unfortunately there are no more 'write a story' kind of essays when you get to Singapore, so you may as well get used to writing argumentative/expository pieces now. Cramming, well, at this stage just put in what you can.

Oh and the other parts are crap also. The vocabulary part, either can do or cannot. If cannot just forget about it, better things to do.

No problems! If anyone has questions can just contact...aiyo it was a bit long ago for me but whatever I can remember will help you all out lah.
Nicholas92 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nicholas92 For This Useful Post:
withfaith1103 Female

#26 Old 27-08-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

any news on the interview stage?
withfaith1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
dttkwan Male

#27 Old 29-08-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Hi, My daughter is shortlisted for interview on 16th Sept in KL . I wonder how many will be offered the scholarship this year. The Singapore Cambridge A Levels is quite different from the A Levels offered here in the private colleges. The norm is 7 subjects. General Paper (GP), Mother Tongue Language and Project Work (PW) are compulsory. One of the other four subjects must be of a contrasting discipline. Eg. (Math + 2 Sciences) + 1 Arts (the contrasting subject). Those who know please correct me if I'm wrong . Students from kebangsaan school may have difficulty with the contrasting subject as Geografi/Sejarah are in BM. The other choices for a contrasting subject would be another language different from the MTL, Literature, Art, Music, Economics, etc. I wonder how many Asean Pre-U scholars actually make it into a University in Singapore . Are they properly guided by their teachers so that they can get a place in the Uni? Is it true that the teachers over there are helpful and dedicated? Thanks.

Last edited by dttkwan; 29-08-2012 at 03:40 PM.
dttkwan is offline   Reply With Quote
kenlim92 Male

#28 Old 30-08-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Originally Posted by dttkwan View Post
Hi, My daughter is shortlisted for interview on 16th Sept in KL . I wonder how many will be offered the scholarship this year. The Singapore Cambridge A Levels is quite different from the A Levels offered here in the private colleges. The norm is 7 subjects. General Paper (GP), Mother Tongue Language and Project Work (PW) are compulsory. One of the other four subjects must be of a contrasting discipline. Eg. (Math + 2 Sciences) + 1 Arts (the contrasting subject). Those who know please correct me if I'm wrong . Students from kebangsaan school may have difficulty with the contrasting subject as Geografi/Sejarah are in BM. The other choices for a contrasting subject would be another language different from the MTL, Literature, Art, Music, Economics, etc. I wonder how many Asean Pre-U scholars actually make it into a University in Singapore . Are they properly guided by their teachers so that they can get a place in the Uni? Is it true that the teachers over there are helpful and dedicated? Thanks.
First of all congratulations to your daughter! Yes, Singapore A level is quite different. Well, for malaysians, we will/can be exempted from taking Mother tongue language. Having to say that, the pre u scholars will take 6 subjects only if you din take H3 subjects. Basically, H3 subject is a subject which allows student to learn deeper in a particular subject, let say Mathematics. So student who take H3 maths will be exposed to university equivalent modules on top of their normal H2 syllabus. There will definitely be difficulty with the contrasting subject *Even the singaporeans are having hard time coping with the contrasting subjects* To be frank, most asean pre u scholars make it into singapore university, i.e. NUS NTU SMU *at least for my batch* The school and teachers are really helpful so no worry. Singapore welcomes your daughter. It's really a good experience to study in singapore.
dttkwan Male

#29 Old 30-08-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Thks KenLim92, she's keeping her fingers crossed until the selection interview is over. So it's basically 6 subjects if she doesn't take any H3 discipline. There's this subject called Knowledge & Inquiry (KI). It seems like a hard subject and can be used as a contrasting subject. It's equivalent to GP + one H1 subject. Wonder any M'sian has taken it? I heard from this forum that GP by itself is already a tough subject.

It's a relief to know that most make it to uni. As for contrasting subjects, do you think a scholar without basics in a particular subject at SPM level will be able to handle that subject at A level? Would it be a good idea to enrol her for a short course in that subject prior to going to Singapore in Jan? Thanks again. Regards
dttkwan is offline   Reply With Quote
kenlim92 Male

#30 Old 30-08-2012 Default Re: Asean pre-u 2012/2013

Originally Posted by dttkwan View Post
Thks KenLim92, she's keeping her fingers crossed until the selection interview is over. So it's basically 6 subjects if she doesn't take any H3 discipline. There's this subject called Knowledge & Inquiry (KI). It seems like a hard subject and can be used as a contrasting subject. It's equivalent to GP + one H1 subject. Wonder any M'sian has taken it? I heard from this forum that GP by itself is already a tough subject.

It's a relief to know that most make it to uni. As for contrasting subjects, do you think a scholar without basics in a particular subject at SPM level will be able to handle that subject at A level? Would it be a good idea to enrol her for a short course in that subject prior to going to Singapore in Jan? Thanks again. Regards
Yeah KI is a hard subject. For my school, even if you are taking KI, the school will still need you to take another contrasting subject at H1 level. So, you will be taking KI, 3content subject + 1 H1 contrasting subject. Soi, I would say it depends on the school policy. In my school, there was one malaysian who took it and she dropped it at the end of the first year. However, there are a few indonesians, one prcs, one indian took KI too. Ultimately, KI requires more of thinking skills on top of proficiency in english.

Well, for me, I am able to handle Economics even if i dun have any prior knowledge about it. So i would say it depends on individuals. Ultimately, students tend to start off weakly for art subject, i.e. econs, geog, history, lit because they could nt master the answering technique. So, if you let her enrol in short course, she will be exposed to the content but i am not sure about the answering technique part.