Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

View Poll Results: Which course/programme in NTU that would attract you to study at NTU, Singapore?
Business & Accountancy 32 21.92%
Engineering 65 44.52%
Communication Studies 1 0.68%
Education Studies 3 2.05%
Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) 22 15.07%
Science (Mathematical Science) 10 6.85%
Linguistic Studies 1 0.68%
Information Technology 2 1.37%
Economics, Psychology 9 6.16%
Sport Sience & Management 1 0.68%
Voters: 146. You may not vote on this poll

LaLaLaKenz Male

#511 Old 30-06-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Hi, i will be joining the engineering faculty soon !!
according to this link http://www.funkygrad.com/campus/disp...87&subcat=rave

does it imply that engineering students will get the mentioned halls only ? ( we dun stand a chance for the newly built halls ? )

As for scholarship recipients, will the room mate be a scholar too ?
LaLaLaKenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Max4Life Male

#512 Old 01-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Nononono...the hall are RANDOMLY assigned for Year 1 students. Your accommodation is not linked with your academics results or whether you are a scholarships recipient or your course. Basically for Year 1, you will be randomly assigned for a Hall. Then from there onward to 2nd, 3rd and 4th year you need to apply your hall[annually] and the allocation of hall/room will be based on your ECA[Extra Curriculum Activity], so you can apply to any hall you want ^^ But more on that, we seniors will guide you throughout the FOC and after FOC if you have more questions.

Oh ya !! I forget one important thing lol....rmbr rmbr bring your own LAN Cable...hahaha
Max4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
LaLaLaKenz Male

#513 Old 01-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Originally Posted by Max4Life View Post
Nononono...the hall are RANDOMLY assigned for Year 1 students. Your accommodation is not linked with your academics results or whether you are a scholarships recipient or your course. Basically for Year 1, you will be randomly assigned for a Hall. Then from there onward to 2nd, 3rd and 4th year you need to apply your hall[annually] and the allocation of hall/room will be based on your ECA[Extra Curriculum Activity], so you can apply to any hall you want ^^ But more on that, we seniors will guide you throughout the FOC and after FOC if you have more questions.

Oh ya !! I forget one important thing lol....rmbr rmbr bring your own LAN Cable...hahaha
Thanks... isn't the internet thing available in all hostels?? the LAN cable not prepared ?
Max4Life Male

#514 Old 01-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Yes...high-speed internet is available at all hostels for free...however it is not "Wi-Fi type". Under each room's study table there will be an internet port. So you need to bring your own LAN Cable to connect to your laptop ^^ thats y i said its a important reminder...hahaha.....cause during my arrival last sem luckily i got a senior remind me...some of my friends few days can't access internet[which i beliv a lot ppl cannot live without it even for a few days] and find free day go nearest shopping centre to buy it...hahaha and yes...it is not provided by the hostel..u gotta bring it urself
LaLaLaKenz Male

#515 Old 01-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Originally Posted by Max4Life View Post
Yes...high-speed internet is available at all hostels for free...however it is not "Wi-Fi type". Under each room's study table there will be an internet port. So you need to bring your own LAN Cable to connect to your laptop ^^ thats y i said its a important reminder...hahaha.....cause during my arrival last sem luckily i got a senior remind me...some of my friends few days can't access internet[which i beliv a lot ppl cannot live without it even for a few days] and find free day go nearest shopping centre to buy it...hahaha and yes...it is not provided by the hostel..u gotta bring it urself
Thanks for the reminder !!
is there wifi in the whole campus?
Max4Life Male

#516 Old 01-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Yes....throughout the whole Academic Complex including lecture theatres, tutorial rooms, seminar rooms, libraries, corridor walkway, canteens and etc will be fully Wifi-ed and its high speed one.

There are also Wifi at Hall's Canteens[some canteens..not all] and hall's tv lounge and study room[not 100% sure, but i think there is].
The Following User Says Thank You to Max4Life For This Useful Post:
johnconnor Male

#517 Old 22-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Guys, I just got a scholarship to read Mechanical Engineering in NTU last Thursday and I'm late for everything. *gasp!*

I'm a boy and I have just been confirmed of a scholarship to do Mechanical Engineering in NTU. I'm late for everything, but I hope to look for a roommate with an acute sense of self-discipline during my time in NTU.

I'm the kind of person who prefers having a routine-based lifestyle, sleeps early (11-11.30pm) and wakes up early (6-7am), and keeps things very clean and tidy.

Please do contact me via PM should you find me as a suitable roommate to assist in your practising a disciplined lifestyle and a study-conducive partner.

Last edited by johnconnor; 23-07-2012 at 08:48 AM.
johnconnor is offline   Reply With Quote
LaLaLaKenz Male

#518 Old 22-07-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Originally Posted by johnconnor View Post
Guys, I just got a scholarship to read Mechanical Engineering in NTU last Thursday and I'm late for everything. *gasp!*

My main concern is getting a roommate - assuming I manage to secure myself a place in any of the Halls at this period of time. I practice military-like living habits, and I'd really appreciate having a roommate with the same style as I do.

In case you haven't realised, I'm a boy LOL. Anyone interested in getting a roommate like me please don't hesitate to contact me via PM. Thank you!
military life ??
ubuntuleong Male

#519 Old 15-08-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Anyone with the results of 2A2B in A Levels admitted to NTU before? If yes, what is the course you are in now?
ubuntuleong is offline   Reply With Quote
lowch1

#520 Old 20-08-2012 Default Re: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Originally Posted by johnconnor View Post

I'm a boy and I have just been confirmed of a scholarship to do Mechanical Engineering in NTU. I'm late for everything, but I hope to look for a roommate with an acute sense of self-discipline during my time in NTU.

I'm the kind of person who prefers having a routine-based lifestyle, sleeps early (11-11.30pm) and wakes up early (6-7am), and keeps things very clean and tidy.

Please do contact me via PM should you find me as a suitable roommate to assist in your practising a disciplined lifestyle and a study-conducive partner.
Congrats! You will be just fine. I hope you will enjoy your time in NTU. =]

Originally Posted by ubuntuleong View Post
Anyone with the results of 2A2B in A Levels admitted to NTU before? If yes, what is the course you are in now?
http://www3.ntu.edu.sg/oad2/website_...Y11-12_IGP.pdf

Last edited by lowch1; 20-08-2012 at 02:28 AM.
lowch1 is offline   Reply With Quote