As awesome as he is, we can't escape the fact that LCW was sooooo close to winning. This is such a devastating night for him. If he had won I can imagine this news being on the front page of tomorrow's newspapers; history would have been made, not only for the nation but also personally for him.
Anyway back to the topic, everyone has said everything that could have said, but my personal two cents is that the match could really have gone either way. One point here, one point there. It's a good match, and hey, two Olympic Silver medals are still a hell of a lifetime achievement. He provided us all with an inspiration, and that's his greatest contribution to the country. (And of course no one would retweet any line from this last paragraph because it wasn't said by an "ESPN commentator" )
There's this other one: “.. in the eyes of people who love the sport, he is the true champion.” - David Mercer of the BBC on Lee Chong Wei Anyone knows if that one is true? Well, whatever one said or did not say, Lee Chong Wei united us for that 70-odd minutes. |
Recycling one of my Facebook comments:
We can definitely form our own opinions in this case, I agree.*[on whether it really matters whether ESPN commentator really said that since we can form our own opinion] My pet peeve in general, however, is the prevalence of misconstrued or artificially constructed quotes and how easily people are taken in by such "statements from an authority", as long as it fits in with what they like to hear. * There are many examples around, like Bill Gates' lessons to young kids that are not taught in school, Lee Ka Hsing claiming that life insurance is the best thing he has ever invested in, and a young Einstein beating atheist professor in a debate about God and the existence of evil. All of the above are not related to the person they claim to be related to. They are simply invented or misquoted and claimed to be coming from these famous people to make them more compelling.* While many of these claims like this ESPN thing are relatively harmless (it would be very unprofessional still for a sports commentator to call one of the best players in a sport "arrogant" and could well tarnish the station's image), there are way many other myths which are outright harmful. I am sure people would have also come across articles like a so-called advice on cancer allegedly by Johns Hopkins hospital, which is full of untrue and some outright harmful claims about cancer treatments. But just because it says it's from JH which is a famous hospital, many people could easily have believed in it and actually jeopardized their own health.* If we don't culture a habit of verifying suspicious claims, we will eventually fall victim to believing in mistruth simply because it fits with our preconceived notion. This is why I always harp on seeking the truth in the age of misinformation overload, even in seemingly trivial case like this.*
These comments just sound like things we Malaysians are making up - sure they may be true for us (that LCW is our 'true' champion) but objectively I can't really find any other reason for someone outside to think so - it's not like Lin Dan played worse, or played dirty or anything. In fact I think it's only because Lin Dan has a temper and is very... expressive, that makes him less likeable (mostly to us). |
||
He definitely played his best. I kind of suspect at first that he will win but somehow the court on his side has the tendency for the shuttle to overshoot.
Well, it's true. The last point Lin Dan got was when the shuttle overshoots. Not sure why though. Anyway, as all matter of sport, we win and lose. The most important thing is our fighting spirit. I somehow got some extra energy to do something meaningful, for myself, my family and my country after watching this match. One effort from a person, give much impact to all of us. |
||