| Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY |
Also, do read what I wrote properly, especially the words "if" and "likelihood", which would have indicated my doubts as to the certainty of the PU and RCSI arrangement. And seriously, why so antsy and defensive? The tie-ups are mentioned in Perdana's website. http://www.perdanauniversity.edu.my/...grammes/purcsi Whether or not it will suffer the same fate as PMC, time will tell. FYI, my relative was offered a place in PU-RCSI program, that "with your results, you will definitely get a JPA scholarship for this course", and NO, this offer was not entertained by the relative. |
For US, to practice medicine one must take the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE). Students and graduates of medical schools outside the United States or Canada register for Step 1 and Step 2 with the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG). Source: USMLE wiki page International medical students/graduates must submit an Application for ECFMG Certification before they can apply to ECFMG for examination. The Application for ECFMG Certification consists of questions that require applicants to confirm their identity, contact information, and graduation from or enrollment in a medical school that is listed in the International Medical Education Directory (IMED). Source: Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) Requirements for Certification ![]() Source: International Medical Education Directory (IMED) search results PU-RCSI isn't listed in IMED so graduates are not eligible to register for USMLE with ECFMG. This is for US lah. For Singapore, simply check Singapore Medical Council List of Registrable Basic Medical Qualifications (pdf). Only UM and UKM medical qualifications are recognized. On the other hand, none of Malaysia's dental degrees are recognized in Singapore. Source: Singapore Dental Council List of Registrable Basic Dental Qualifications (pdf) Whereas for pharmacy, only USM is recognized by Singapore. Source: Singapore Pharmacy Council's Recognized Qualifications (pdf)
| The Following User Says Thank You to plawks For This Useful Post: |
Fine, so USM is off the chart, but UKM was in. I don't exactly remember the exact details, pardon that, but I know USM is in the States list, as for UKM in Sg and States. Perdana U is so new, heck I wonder if they even have a teaching hospital for the clinical years. I didn't really comprehend "FYI, my relative was offered a place in PU-RCSI program, that "with your results, you will definitely get a JPA scholarship for this course", and NO, this offer was not entertained by the relative." So, did relative X take up the offer or not? And how did JPA come into the picture? Believe or not, JPA definitely pops in. Its because that's the way the parties behind make money out of the taxpayers' cash. Ask the students there, I can bet at least 70% are JPA scholars. As for USM's case of not being recognized by Singapore, doesn't matter much. What matters is USM does have a clinical hospital whereby Perdana U is hanging high and dry without a proper direction in ways that their student probably have no idea where. Believe it or not, Malaysian budding doctors still have yet to know what is up for them. All, I mean ALL of the Monash Sunway students I've met in my first sem in med school never knew they had to undergo 2+3 years of HO and MO till they can set down to even consider specializing. Seriously, how ignorant can the budding medical students get? It's really infuriating. |
PURCSI graduates won't be getting a degree from Perdana. After 5 years, graduates will receive a degree which is identical to Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland; differ from PMC degree. If you have done some research, you will realize that the faculties are outstanding. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?...6750290&type=3 I do agree that RM800,000 is ridiculous. However, there are 2 schools in Perdana University; RCSI and John Hopkins. RCSI is excellent in everything, but Perdana administration is quite annoying. All the best
It's JohnS Hopkins, and I believe this is the graduate entry program, which is set to commence this September? Or was it last September? Last edited by podrunner; 23-08-2012 at 06:27 PM. |
When your clinical studies are performed offshore from the institution of degree awarding, your credibility is already void whether you like it or not. The countries such as Singapore, US and UK are very keen in selecting recognized degree with clinical years practice in country which you receive your degree from. As we are back to UM vs Perdana, UM over Perdana all the way, credibility wise or experience wise. Perdana is way too new. All programs performed offshore are subjected to credibility scrutiny as well as suspicion. Whether or not the faculties are excellent, we should see when the graduates are being released into the market to serve. |
| Bookmarks |