Social and Entertainment Corner Share your cool links, funny videos, discuss movies, music or ask for dating tips here :)

Compliments

Glassylicious Female
The Iron Fist
Chief Editor of ReMag

#1 Old 13-04-2010 Wink Compliments

As most of you are probably aware, we are at the height of the yearly scholarship application season, and many providers have started shortlisting their applicants and calling them up for interviews. Everyone is worrying about something -- their upcoming interviews, how they performed in the aforementioned interviews, and most importantly, the outcome of their application[s].

The atmosphere is intense and nervous, and most disturbingly, overall quite negative. Doubtless, some rejections have been dished out, and morale among some users has been running low.

So! In my efforts to combat this, I present to you this little game which I've set up in previous forums and I daresay, have enjoyed a considerable amount of success.

One simple rule:
In every post you make in this topic, you compliment three people.

The first person is the user above you. Even if you do not know the person very well, try to say something nice about him or her. Perhaps you really like his avatar, or perhaps you've gone through some of his previous posts and saw that he has provided helpful information about a particular scholarship, and would like to compliment him for his efforts. Everybody likes to hear compliments, so really, the sky is the limit!

The second person is someone you can randomly nominate. It can be a fellow Recom user, or it can be someone you personally know in real life. It can be anyone, as long as you feel that he or she deserves a compliment.

The third person is yourself. In the face of countless trials and rejections, it can be hard to regain your confidence, but the effort must begin from you. So as difficult as it sounds, think back about everything you've done in the past, and who you are, and take a well-deserved moment to toot your little horn, as nobody else will do it often enough for you. ;) You completely deserve it, so don't feel bad about praising yourself.

P.S. For other feel good topics, check out the Count your blessings thread.

------------

I will start the ball rolling!

1. Since there isn't really a user above me, I'll nominate a random Recomer. I wish to compliment chenchow for his enthusiastic contributions to Recom. He never turns anyone who approaches him away, from what I hear, and that level of humility from someone who has achieved so much is admirable.

2. Another person I would like to compliment is Smilehoe, for his one act of kindness that I will never forget. Thank you for going the extra mile for someone who is a virtual stranger, and may you be blessed in your endeavours to come.

3. Lastly, I wish to compliment myself for helping out with a user's very complicated dilemma when I could easily have turned her away. I provided a few pointers of what she should do next, and she seems to be well on her way right now. I wish her all the best in her future endeavours. =)

Friend: "I've discovered something that's even better than sitting on a chair and spinning on it -- sitting on a chair BACKWARDS and spinning on it!" *spins around in glee*

Compliment yourself today!
Glassylicious is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Glassylicious For This Useful Post:

#2 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

^ The most caring sister ever. Glassy's posts in ReCom are some of the most inspirational ones that I have ever read. And she is constantly concerned about the well-being of fellow ReComers and will go the extra two miles to ensure that everything ends up fine and well (and polished)

> youngyew for showing how someone can be level headed under all circumstances. You'll have to wonder if he'd ever gets angry

< Me for... uhh... still being in one piece after all the broken bones

Last edited by vseehua; 13-04-2010 at 10:18 AM.
Turkey

#3 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

Since I don't really know the seniors yet, therefore... I would dedicate the first 2 to all of you!

1. I would like to compliment the seniors for having an eternal passion of helping the juniors. I sure that everyone appreciates the opinions which all of you gave, even though they might not visit here anymore after continuing on their life. But there are quite some numbers of juniors who are inspired by all of you and stay here, helping the spread the favour. Therefore, all of you did a good job in keeping Recom tidy and easy to find information! *thumbs up*

2. I would like the compliment the seniors too for their good command in English! Believe it or not, I have a dictionary tab beside this website now, so that I can constantly check on the words that I don't understand which I saw from the seniors' posts. You guys really know a lot of deep words! Since i joined Recom, I've already learned some new vocabulary, such as "digress".

3. Umm...myself? What to compliment.... Okay, I want to compliment myself for helping out my friends in school when they have any problems. And I hope I can help someone here too.

Turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
BattleBoyz Male

#4 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

^ Joined in recom for the sake of others. Turkey really helped some of the juniors! Mind telling you are a he or a she?

> Restl3ss for being so friendly and made me feel accepted in recom when I joined in last year.

< Compliment myself for getting over with the rejections of scholarships successfully!

Live your life to the fullest, for yourself and for those around you.
BattleBoyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Glassylicious Female
The Iron Fist
Chief Editor of ReMag

#5 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

I would like to compliment BattleBoyz for gladly sharing his JPA interview experiences for the benefit of other members, and more importantly, for expressing his intentions to stay on in Recom to continue contributing and just being part of the family. =)

I would like to compliment See Hua [since he didn't get a compliment from Turkey], for his dedication in helping out juniors who approach him and in clearing out the masses of spambots we get everyday, and for humouring me and putting up with my nonsense. *feeds the Charizard some more Recomer meat*

Lastly, I would like to compliment myself for my commitment in keeping up with my revision for the past 5 weeks of break. It takes real willpower not to slack off during vacation time. T_T Reaaaal willpower.

Friend: "I've discovered something that's even better than sitting on a chair and spinning on it -- sitting on a chair BACKWARDS and spinning on it!" *spins around in glee*

The Following User Says Thank You to Glassylicious For This Useful Post:
Nicholasng925 Male

#6 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

I would like to compliment Glassy, the caring sister for helping me to get through the tough time i had faced, especially during scholarships rejections on last Friday. Six rejections for now, but well, i have gone through the misery and i don't think i'd be affected by any rejection again. Maybe. Oh, and thanks to Glassy, i finally have my plan B. If i failed to get any scholarship, which means lottery in the other word, I'd be studying A-Levels on my own, or maybe Form 6 in the end. And thanks to the big sister, finally I have got back my spirit in continuing my adventure in this tertiary education.

I would like to compliment See Hua, the old admin here who helps almost every Recommer for 6 years now, and well, he still staying here, with us, in this big Recom family. Of course he'd sometimes feel bored though throughout these years, but still he stays here, and protecting this network from spam boats and all sorts of dangers. Even though he teased some younger Recommers, crushing apples, cherries and turnips, charring the cute baby Siberian tiger(my avatar) into rug in Glassy's room, but yet he still tries to entertain us here. Good luck in your studies anyways!

Me? Hmm... I'd like to compliment myself for successfully getting through this scholarships rejection misery. For now, I have only attended JPA interview, and got rejected by TNB, TM, Khazanah, UEM, Petronas, and PNB, left out BNM, Sime Darby, Shell, Japan Embassey(MEXT), and Asean that yet to release the shortlisted list. Wish me lucks guys!!!

1. Out of clutter, find simplicity.
2. From discord, find harmony.
3. In the middle of difficulty, lies opportunity.
=[{Albert Einstein}]=

Feel free to visit my blog here!!!
Nicholasng925 is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#7 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

Would like to dedicate my compliments to

1. YoungYew, See Hua, Miracle Seed & Glassy: YoungYew, who spent his precious time entertaining my funny medical-related questions; See Hua, the guy who came from the same hometown that inspire (-ing) me; MS, the helpful one & Glassy, for her sister-alike approach.

2. Chen Chow: his commitment towards youth activities.

3. Battleboys and SPAM followers! You guys make me feel that life is not just EDUCATION only.

<digression>
Just notice i didnt follow the format.

Federation of Malaysia is formed by Sarawak, North Borneo, Malaya (and Singapore) by 16 Sept 1963. It has nothing to do with 31 Aug 1957. Just saying.
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote
starlover Female

#8 Old 13-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

My compliments to:

1. Xon because of his funny posts in HOS that successfully made me laugh. Particularly, VARNISH. Good job, Xon!

2. Boyz Zoo because of his warm welcome when I first joined HOS. Thanks boyz! *stop bullying starlover.*

3. Myself for becoming so kiasu these days. Big clap!

#9 Old 15-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

The person above for treating me good when I was a kiddo in Recom. (though I m still one now~ ) She treats junior well and reply to most of my spammy posts. It was quite hard for me to start talking in Recom, because everyone here seems so excellent, and what you published will be viewed by everyone. And Starlover was really the one who gave me the confidence to try. check the post and you'll see she was the one who interacted the most with me during my newbie period.

Compliments to BB for always being there for me when I was emo-ing. ( I don't know how, but he just happens to be there) Compliments to him for lending me a ear, and not pushing too much. And compliments to him for trying to help me when I was unable to gain access of the internet and get the latest updates. Compliments to him for treating a virtual friend like me as a true friend too. (But don't get cheated by someone online someday kay? )

Compliments to myself? Aww.. this is hard. Well, I compliment myself for standing up for my friend when she was accused by some strangers of stealing. She was in the verge of crying, and I kind of stood up and dare the person to call the police if he's so sure we stole his money. Then, I took my friend by hand and left the shop when the person was speechless and turned away.

p.s. didn't want to talk about voon yet since everyone has been complimenting him.
The Following User Says Thank You to Restl3ss For This Useful Post:
Glassylicious Female
The Iron Fist
Chief Editor of ReMag

#10 Old 15-04-2010 Default Re: Compliments

My compliments to Restl3ss for being such a wonderful contributor and HOSer on Recom, and for plucking the courage to speak up. It definitely isn't easy, given how intense the atmosphere in Recom can be, but well done! Also, you have such amazing patience in the HOS, especially in the face of our ceaseless teasing, which I do apologize for, but wish to add that most of us just can't help ourselves as we know the kind of reaction you're going to have. ;)

My compliments to Nicholasng925 [since Xon conveniently neglected to give him a compliment *coughs*], for keeping your nerves and mind together in the face of rejection, for being realistic about your situation and not pinning your future entirely on getting a scholarship, for putting together a solid, feasible Plan B, for having such strong initiative to do your own research on your course and other related things, and more importantly, for having the determination that you simply CAN, and the confidence in your own abilities. Your attitude will take you far. Keep it up! =)
Lastly, my compliments to myself, for not giving in to temptation to sleep more and for sticking to my militant plan of having 6 hours of sleep per day. During what is supposed to be my Easter break.

The Following User Says Thank You to Glassylicious For This Useful Post: