Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Another move by CMU !!

View Poll Results: What do you all think?? Firstly do you all think online learning will ever overtake the normal lectu
Yes 1 12.50%
No 7 87.50%
Voters: 8. You may not vote on this poll

jagganatha

#1 Old 11-07-2004 Default Another move by CMU !!

Hmm.. another move by CMU to overtake MIT.. What do you all think?? Please vote and give your comments..

As for me I don think so. Still prefer that lecturer to student class.. Its easier to interact..
jagganatha is offline   Reply With Quote
__earth Male

#2 Old 11-07-2004 Default

you will need to use a more descriptive topic next time.

#3 Old 11-07-2004 Default Re: Another move by CMU !!

Originally Posted by jagganatha
Hmm.. another move by CMU to overtake MIT.. What do you all think?? Please vote and give your comments..

As for me I don think so. Still prefer that lecturer to student class.. Its easier to interact..

I think CMU (chinese media union) has nothing to do with MIT (Malaysian Investigation Team) to do.

maybe such act is not rational...
kelvinlym Male

#4 Old 11-07-2004 Default

I think CMU (chinese media union) has nothing to do with MIT (Malaysian Investigation Team) to do.

Your post has nothing to do with the topic! A post with a joke but without your own input on the topic, is called SPAMMING!

it's OK to put a joke but please add your input about the real topic after that.

P.S. BTW it's not funny.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand. Distance learning will not replace the mainstream lecturer student learning. To me I will definitely choose the latter.

It might supplement it but definitely not replace it.

#5 Old 11-07-2004 Default

Originally Posted by kelvinlym

Your post has nothing to do with the topic! A post with a joke but without your own input on the topic, is called SPAMMING!

it's OK to put a joke but please add your input about the real topic after that.

P.S. BTW it's not funny.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand. Distance learning will not replace the mainstream lecturer student learning. To me I will definitely choose the latter.

It might supplement it but definitely not replace it.

ya ya wise guy teaching...

#6 Old 11-07-2004 Default .

do write such a thing in every ElansarGelmir threads.
that would be interesting.
kelvinlym Male

#7 Old 11-07-2004 Default

I just don't think it's appropriate to do this in the Education thread. BTW, you can edit your previous post instead of double posting.

This kind of behaviour will only increase the slow down time of ReCom. Might not be significant, but if you double post every time, than it's gonna affect the servers. (I might be wrong, but double posting is always not very well accepted in forums)

Just letting you know.
ElansarGelmir Male

#8 Old 12-07-2004 Default Re: .

Originally Posted by iQing
do write such a thing in every ElansarGelmir threads.
that would be interesting.
Ehmm... iQing, can u stop accuse me of SPAMMING? Even though i digressed at times, but i made a point to make some points on the topics in every message... It's not that i just drop in some non-linked comments and off i go... hope u know how to differentiate that.

And oh yeah, on the CMU thingy... I have nothing against it... i mean, so what if the univ wants to have E-Learning, or maybe mass learning, or make the students teach instead of the lecturer. As long as the students are comfortable with the methods, there's nothing wrong with it... If u choose to remain skeptical that this is just a move to compete with IVYs, then i believe any projects or ideas from the univ will be viewed as another motive of competition too, huh? I think it will benefit most students, else they won't start such thingy... I'll go for it!

#9 Old 12-07-2004 Default Re: Another move by CMU !!

Originally Posted by iQing

Eh? When I first read this I thought you really meant something serious. No way anyone could make a joke this bad.

But anyways...I think that distance learning is everywhere. Cornell has summer distance learning. I heard from a friend who is doing a course that they do discussions by posting messages on forums. It's not really a big thing. Reading the slashdot article, I think the CMU Open Learning Initiatives maybe a more interactive and FREE system for everyone to take advantage of. This is as far as I can see probably the only difference between regular online courses and the CMU Open Learning Initiative.

My opinion on the future of online education is that would take over the more traditional methods. However a lot more has to be done. Two issues that I think would be of concern would be to create AI that would be able to simulate a real tutor. The second thing that I think would make online learning difficult is the integrity of the system. There has to be a way to ensure that students or anyone truly has qualified and passed all the requirements and did not cheat in anyway.

~John Lennon
littlebigone is offline   Reply With Quote

#10 Old 13-07-2004 Default

CMU is carnegie mellon uni right...i thought my uni already have the same system,it is called world campus,where students can take courses online..you can take like so many courses there,from english to turfgrass....and you can take it anywhere you want,any time you wish.maybe i will take this courses online when i wanna balik malaysia.see mum and see books at the same time.
phantom is offline   Reply With Quote