| Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY |
ReComer
Since the bulk of ATU Recomers join ReCom after the university application process is over. Hence, I feel that there is a need to have this one thread, to fully concentrate on US University Application Tips.
So, this is a way for past ATU students to share their university application tips to the juniors who apply. Although majority of those who get help would be ATU 11, others who apply to US, can get a good idea too. Hope you guys can share~! And also of course, invite those juniors to join ReCom and get benefits from it~! To those ATU 10 who are about to fly, Bon Voyage... The Land of Opportunities are waiting for you guys~! Moderator Action: Subject edited to allow this thread to be more general for everyone that applies to US universities. - chenchow
ReCom.org - The Worldwide Malaysian Students Network. Chen Chow's Personal Blog ReCom.org Wiki PitchYourTalent.com US Applications Workshop & Resources (KK & Kuching - 19th June 2010, Penang - 26th June 2010, Klang Valley - 25th July 2010, 2-day workshops - 7th and 8th August 2010 |
-cries-
Why is it sooooooo hard??! applications are 20 pages longgg...sob. Hahaaha..just kidding. Thanks for the thread chen chow, we need all the help we can get. My first question : should i get my teachers/other recommenders to write separate letters or fill in the spaces left for them in the application forms (eg stanford)? Another question : Lets say i apply for 3 unis under jpa and 3 on my own. Eg: under jpa: 1. harvard, 2. NYU, 3. UCLA by my self : 1. cal-berkeley, 2. chicago, 3. Boston U Say i dont get harvard(highly likely i wont) and i get the rest. Will jpa allow me to go to cal-berkeley instead of NYU (which is my 2nd choice under jpa)? Or will they make me go to chicago, which is the next highest ranked? Thankums...i have lots more to aks, but quite brain dead, will ask more soon. |
woah, noaj!!! has ossp shown u the list of approved universities that u can apply to? maybe the list has changed, that i don noe, but as far as i know, we were not allowed to apply to NYU, Boston Uni, UCLA, cal-berkeley...maybe u better check it out before deciding...
i'm going to u of chicago...hehe...so if u haf any questions juz ask me... |
JPA will allow u to go for the unis u applied urself if...
1) the uni is ranked higher than the rest under JPA according to the ranking JPA uses.. (which is.. outdated.;.) 2) if the uni u got is freakin prestigious.. say.. UC Berkeley.. home to William Hung.. hehe.. on contrary with wat gal flower said.. INTEC did allow 2 students to apply for UC Berkeley.. but fail lah... 'cos... i think no A-Level n maybe no athletic background? just assumptions... ohya.. if u really~~~~ wanna apply to UC Berkeley... here's some tips... 1) apply under INTEC.. 'cos they'be done stunt before.. they've managed to squeeze students in UC b4.. as in. they bended the UC rule which requires their undergraduates to have A-Levels 1st.. 2) errrmm... show off ur athletic ability? not really sure wat Berkeley wants lah.. 'cos if u got no A-Level.. errr.. u have to be like.. really special???? maybe can ask Berkeley seniors here lor... anyway.. good luck to 'ya on the apps... work extra hard on the esasys yar.. teacher recommendation.. i think write on separate sheet better kut.. just wat i think.... all the best! |
Uhmm... who's helping u guys out in the application in the OSSP? Pn. Umi or En. Sharim? If it's Encik Sharim, i guess u guys got to be extra careful, pay attention to details, and find infos by urself.... that guy's lazy! And maybe he's not updated to the latest news... i may be wrong... but just for precautions......
Although I have not been through the JPA process of application, here's some general tips to keep in mind.
1. Since you're sponsored, try to apply to more private colleges. In general, private colleges (since students pay a lot more) are better funded and in general have more resources. Some colleges like UC Berkeley are very famous public colleges, but keep in mind that universities gain fame for their research, not undergrad teaching. 2. Do thorough research on the internet on the colleges. Don't just really on some rankings that some website or JPA gives you. These days, google searching capabilities are amazing. |
ReComer
However, you can always get more recommendation letters that are written on separate letters. So, basically ensure that you have your best recommenders fill up the form, and other recommenders use separate pieces. Quantity should not be the main concern, but the quality fo the recommendation. My personal advice would be to get someone that really know you very well. Recommendation letter is not a letter where you just copy from your curriculum vitae that you are this national champion, this state athlete etc... but it is something for you to showcase something that is not shown from your certificates... like how hard you have struggled into becoming state athlete, what kind of special contribution you have done to your school etc... My main advice on application is put a lot of efforts on your application essays and recommendation letters. Feel free to keep the questions coming... naoj, invite your friends here to ask questions too...
ReCom.org - The Worldwide Malaysian Students Network. Chen Chow's Personal Blog ReCom.org Wiki PitchYourTalent.com US Applications Workshop & Resources (KK & Kuching - 19th June 2010, Penang - 26th June 2010, Klang Valley - 25th July 2010, 2-day workshops - 7th and 8th August 2010 |
well, i just feel that ATU 11 is just so lucky and blessed to have this channel for them to gain information from experienced people.
Unlike us in ATU 10, most of us are unguided by anybody, going out there, in the midst of wilderness, confused by Suriana the Madam, making our ways to our respective unis... |
VERY IMPORTANT:
Don't stamp "Certified True Copy" on copies of your translated certs! It may seem convenient to just chuck them in together with copies of the originals to undergo the same process, but our dear suriana Don't be like me... committed that mistake and had to photocopy and certify a mountain of translations again! it hurts your wallet too! PS: Encik sohami is quite helpful and friendly compared to suriana and sharim. one is unfriendly while the other is lazy. |
no more suriana dy lah..
yeah.. go for suhaimi.. he rox man... if u got any further questions just post lor... more than happy to help u guys out.. (cheh... got that senior "feng ge" already.. muahahahahahah...) |
| Bookmarks |