Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

UM medic or Perdana University?

ANDREW_CHIN Male

#1 Old 09-08-2011 Default UM medic or Perdana University?

Ok here's the story.
I'm an ex-matriculation student who's been offered to study medicine in UM.
But today I just received a call from JPA which requires me to go for an interview for Perdana University. I'm still choosing whether to go study medic in UM or Perdana. Any help/suggestion/comment?
ANDREW_CHIN is offline   Reply With Quote
melindaL

#2 Old 09-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

If I were u,I would go for the interview since both unis offer medicine.
melindaL is offline   Reply With Quote
AFRO117 Male

#3 Old 10-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

I'll pick UM over Perdana.

Firstly its because it has been around for quite some time and there is something that is not quite right with Perdana Uni yet. I can't remember the link but you can check this dude's blog:-

http://pagalavan.com/

He's well known for his critical insights on our medical education. Look for the particular post on Perdana Uni in collaboration with John Hopkins and Rcsi, I think.

And I am not sure how it is this time. But last year I attended a talk from Singapore ministry of health and *drumroll* they only recognize UM grads and will only take them as houseman/intern. Take this into account, should you have any plan on doing your HO in Singapore lah.

I think that should pretty much explain why I'd pick UM over Perdana.
But no harm done. You can just attend both interviews and see the facilities and faculties yourself. I might be a bit biased as I have never seen this Perdana and most of my friends are UM grads.
AFRO117 is offline   Reply With Quote
zahra Female

#4 Old 10-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

I'd say, go for UM. There are so many people out there crying for not getting a place in UM Medic. Why go for a program that is not yet accredited, when you have a safe option? UM has their own hospital, lecturers, and is well known. Internationally recognised.

Doesn't it sound fishy, the government is suddenly sponsoring students to study in a new private medical school that has yet to be accredited? Earlier they said that there's a freeze in new medical programs, and yet this new school came out of nowhere and the government are sponsoring students to study! Way too fishy.

Try going through this thread: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthrea...medical+school

Yes, I was the one who started the thread. But later I realised the bitter truth and didn't apply. Anyway, if you choose UM we'll be coursemates

#5 Old 10-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

Originally Posted by AFRO117 View Post
I'll pick UM over Perdana.

Firstly its because it has been around for quite some time and there is something that is not quite right with Perdana Uni yet. I can't remember the link but you can check this dude's blog:-

http://pagalavan.com/

He's well known for his critical insights on our medical education. Look for the particular post on Perdana Uni in collaboration with John Hopkins and Rcsi, I think.

And I am not sure how it is this time. But last year I attended a talk from Singapore ministry of health and *drumroll* they only recognize UM grads and will only take them as houseman/intern. Take this into account, should you have any plan on doing your HO in Singapore lah.

I think that should pretty much explain why I'd pick UM over Perdana.
But no harm done. You can just attend both interviews and see the facilities and faculties yourself. I might be a bit biased as I have never seen this Perdana and most of my friends are UM grads.
I think it's this article:
http://pagalavan.com/2011/05/21/is-t...johns-hopkins/
Cactus is offline   Reply With Quote
AFRO117 Male

#6 Old 11-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

Originally Posted by Cactus View Post
Yeap. thats the one im looking for. Thanks Cactus.

Where's TS? Looking forward to his reply tbh.
AFRO117 is offline   Reply With Quote
kai_xxx Male

#7 Old 11-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

go for um of coz. do u know perdana university is not recognized anywhere except malaysia? not to mention u're obliged to a 10 yr old bond. unless u are willing to be bonded due to the foreseeable issue of glutting doctors in a few years. at least um is recognized in singapore
kai_xxx is offline   Reply With Quote
melindaL

#8 Old 12-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

Originally Posted by kai_xxx View Post
go for um of coz. do u know perdana university is not recognized anywhere except malaysia? not to mention u're obliged to a 10 yr old bond. unless u are willing to be bonded due to the foreseeable issue of glutting doctors in a few years. at least um is recognized in singapore
I supposed rcsi will deliver high standard teachings.
melindaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Young Male

#9 Old 12-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

Originally Posted by melindaL View Post
I supposed rcsi will deliver high standard teachings.
That is debatable.

#10 Old 12-08-2011 Default Re: UM medic or Perdana University?

Go for UM,i was heartache for doesn't get a place in UM MBBS...
BTW,as STPM leaver i don't hope much to get a place in UM MBBS so it's glad to have UKM MD...
IF UM over RCSI-UP,RCSI may have high standard teaching but i think that Medicine isn't things that you learn everything in lecture hall,it's crucial more in clinical part i guess? to be a great surgeon,experience is the vital part. And if you want more experience, UM Medical Centre will provide you that,University Hospital is always good place for learning what...RCSI still young even if they have their own medical centre...
sch_hong91 is offline   Reply With Quote