Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships

Permohonan Skim Pinjaman Yuran Pengajian Ijazah Pertama Di Luar Negara

khuanoz Male

#1 Old 02-06-2008 Cool Permohonan Skim Pinjaman Yuran Pengajian Ijazah Pertama Di Luar Negara

~ONLY FOR THOSE WHO HAVE COMPLETED STPM/MATRICULATION/A-LEVELS/FOUNDATION OR EQUIVALENT AND PURSUING 1ST DEGREE~

well i happen to chance upon this possibly newly introduced scheme by our beloved JPA and didn see it in the forum so ya..decided to take the initiative to start the discussion about it..i noe you guys mite be put off with the word 'Pinjaman' but its really not so bad..wel maybe not for me but mite be good for others so ya..you guys get it going..i'd just give ya the links and some info to spice things up

Application Form
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/borang_pinjaman_luarnegara.php

Official Guidelines and Detailed Info
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/garispanduan.html

Now..on to the reasons why you should probably consider this

1. Best for (aspiring) MEDICAL students (also includes dentistry and pharmacy)

- Free RM200,000 should you be willing to come back and serve our country

"Pinjaman ini dikhaskan untuk pelajar-pelajar yang mengambil bidang perubatan, pergigian dan farmasi di luar negara. Pelajar-pelajar yang mendapat kemudahan pinjaman ini boleh dikecualikan daripada membayar balik pinjaman sekiranya pelajar bersetuju mengikat kontrak untuk berkhidmat dengan Kerajaan Malaysia selama 10 tahun selepas menamatkan pengajian dengan jaya."

- The catch is its only up to and MAX RM200k while other expenses shall be bourned by thyself (living expenses and airfare e.t.c)

"Kemudahan pinjaman yang disediakan adalah berkonsepkan cost sharing di mana JPA akan membiayai yuran pengajian sahaja tertakluk kepada jumlah maksimum sebanyak RM200,000.00 seorang. Had ini ditetapkan agar tidak membebankan pelajar-pelajar untuk membuat bayaran balik selepas tamat pengajian nanti. Lain-lain kos seperti kos sara hidup dan kos kerugian pertukaran wang asing adalah di bawah tanggungjawab pelajar sendiri."

2. Ok ok also for (poor) students who aspire to have a foreign cert or just want the experience (probably to brag about it later..)

- Same RM200k limit but NEED to pay back..but hey its INTEREST FREE and you get to pay them back slowly at your own desired pace =)

"Bayaran balik pinjaman perlu dibuat selepas pelajar berjaya menamatkan pengajian atau ditamatkan pengajian kerana sebab-sebab kelemahan akademik, sakit dan sebagainya. Bayaran secara ansuran bulanan adalah berdasarkan jumlah pinjaman yang dibuat."
For example, if you borrow RM200,000 then you can either pay
RM 400 x 40 bulan or RM 600 x 120 bulan or RM 800 x 140 bulan =)

- The catch is should you be unable to pay the agreed installments (overdue by one year) then you'd need to pay an extra 4% out of the remaining amount left unpaid

"Peminjam yang gagal membayar balik pinjaman dan mempunyai tunggakan yang genap setahun akan dikenakan penalti iaitu bayaran perkhidmatan sebanyak 4% dari baki yang tertunggak."

okie that's about all..happy looking, researching, asking and answering..i might check back from time to time but don't blame me if i don have all the answers to your queries since i myself am not interested in this (don't want medicine nor wanto spend money for overseas study) =)

cheers,
khuanoz

edit: thanks for the advice from you guys..edited it to be much clearer..its similar to the Permohonan Penajaan Pelajar Peringkat Ijazah Pertama di 4 Kampus Cawangan, Ivy League Universities dan Setara which many confuse to be eligible for '07 SPM Leavers =)

Last edited by khuanoz; 03-06-2008 at 12:08 AM.
khuanoz is offline   Reply With Quote
michaelbyz23 Male

#2 Old 02-06-2008 Default

the problem is.. we cant apply it using our spm results
michaelbyz23 is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#3 Old 02-06-2008 Talking

Originally Posted by michaelbyz23 View Post
the problem is.. we cant apply it using our spm results
of course my dear. it says. Skim Pinjaman Ijazah,its degree.
you can get some private foundation scholarships,then apply this.

尔俸尔禄,民脂民膏,下民易虐,上天难欺。
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote
Glassylicious Female
The Iron Fist
Chief Editor of ReMag

#4 Old 02-06-2008 Default

There's one important thing which you guys forgot to mention.

You need to have completed at least one year of your studies overseas. Or one semester, if you're doing a diploma program overseas.

It's not the fact that it's a loan that puts people off. It's the fact that you need to dig into your pocket to fund your entire first year expenses yourself before you are eligible to apply for this loan. And a lot of people can't afford even that, to be honest.

Friend: "I've discovered something that's even better than sitting on a chair and spinning on it -- sitting on a chair BACKWARDS and spinning on it!" *spins around in glee*

Compliment yourself today!
Glassylicious is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Glassylicious For This Useful Post:

#5 Old 02-06-2008 Default

is RM200K enough??? it sounds insufficient to me... the fees study oversea are sky rocketting nowadays...
Gabrielle90 is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#6 Old 02-06-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Gabrielle90 View Post
is RM200K enough??? it sounds insufficient to me... the fees study oversea are sky rocketting nowadays...
moreover when you need to change the currency. hmmm.

尔俸尔禄,民脂民膏,下民易虐,上天难欺。
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote
Theen Female

#7 Old 02-06-2008 Default

i m doing my a level now locally..can i still apply for the loan??maybe after my a level in june 2009?or i apply now??
Theen is offline   Reply With Quote
Glassylicious Female
The Iron Fist
Chief Editor of ReMag

#8 Old 02-06-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Theen View Post
i m doing my a level now locally..can i still apply for the loan??maybe after my a level in june 2009?or i apply now??
If you read my previous post, you'd have found the answer to your question.

Originally Posted by Glassylicious View Post
There's one important thing which you guys forgot to mention.

You need to have completed at least one year of your studies overseas. Or one semester, if you're doing a diploma program overseas.

It's not the fact that it's a loan that puts people off. It's the fact that you need to dig into your pocket to fund your entire first year expenses yourself before you are eligible to apply for this loan. And a lot of people can't afford even that, to be honest.

Friend: "I've discovered something that's even better than sitting on a chair and spinning on it -- sitting on a chair BACKWARDS and spinning on it!" *spins around in glee*

Compliment yourself today!
Glassylicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Trekk Male

#9 Old 01-06-2009 Default Re: Permohonan Skim Pinjaman Yuran Pengajian Ijazah Pertama Di Luar Negara

Hey guys, just wanted to clarify. The requirements are:

- below 25 years of age
- have completed 1 year of study
- gained acceptance into year 2

Is that really all? No SPM prerequisites?
Trekk is offline   Reply With Quote
Trekk Male

#10 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: Permohonan Skim Pinjaman Yuran Pengajian Ijazah Pertama Di Luar Negara

Is there anyone here who has applied for this before?
Trekk is offline   Reply With Quote