Matriculation All threads about matriculation (matrikulasi) belong here.

Matrikulasi

Closed Thread

MEW_MEW

#1 Old 22-05-2004 Default Matrikulasi

In this topic ,let us discuss about matrikulasi.
My friend who is doing matrikulasi told me that nowadays private colleges and universities do not accept matrikulasi students except for local Universities.
those lecturer in matrikulasi are teaching in malay language even the note is writting in english. Also, they always scold the students who are speaking in english.My friend told me that one day a malay student who speaks in english,then the lecture said:"i thought our school got student from foreign country, who knows that he just a KL boy." something like that.
gohweihan

#2 Old 23-05-2004 Default Re: Matrikulasi

Originally Posted by MEW_MEW
In this topic ,let us discuss about matrikulasi.
My friend who is doing matrikulasi told me that nowadays private colleges and universities do not accept matrikulasi students except for local Universities.
those lecturer in matrikulasi are teaching in malay language even the note is writting in english. Also, they always scold the students who are speaking in english.My friend told me that one day a malay student who speaks in english,then the lecture said:"i thought our school got student from foreign country, who knows that he just a KL boy." something like that.
I would say matriculation is a goverment ploy to get more Bumiputeras into public universities. It doesn't matter whether private colleges or universities accept these matriculation graduates - what matters is that the public universities do, because with that, it is enough to churn out a large number of Bumiputera graduates. Quality wise, these graduates are to be in doubt.

With the recent opening of matriculation to non-Bumiputeras, it is just another ploy to stop the public from saying that matriculation is exclusive to Bumiputeras. Even if one percent of the matriculation students are non-Bumiputeras, it is no longer valid to say that matriculation is exclusive to Bumiputeras.

Besides that, the selection criteria for non-Bumiputeras are made in a way so that to project that Bumiputeras are smart. Matriculation places for non-Bumiputeras are given to those who did not get excellent results, whereas those with excellent results are denied the chance to get a place. By doing so, they can ensure that those non-Bumiputeras in matriculation will perform on par (or below par) with those Bumiputeras in the course.

Previously, matriculation students were pitted against the other Bumiputeras when it comes to university placement under the racial quota system. With the abolishment of that system, matriculation students are pitted head on with STPM students, with the STPM grading system modified in a way to make it match the matriculation CGPA system. However, everyone knows these modifications put STPM students at a losing end. This is just another conspiracy to get the same amount of (if not more) Bumiputera students in public universities.

Matriculation is a false reality. It is said that matriculation is as good in terms of quality and knowledge level as STPM. What many found is that STPM students are far superior (when it comes to knowledge) compared to matriculation students of the same CGPA. A person who gets a 4.00 in STPM (4 A) is indeed smarter than most matriculation students who get the same CGPA. That is a fact that the government and some still continue to deny.

Matriculation is also said to be recognized worldwide, and therefore STPM is upgraded to the matriculation grading system to ensure a fair meritocracy to university. However, looking at the reality today, foreign unversities like UC Berkeley, National University of Singapore, and Nanyang Technological University does not even want to consider Malaysian matriculation candidates for entry into the university, yet recognizing STPM as an entry qualification.

The government has mentioned a few universities that recognize Malaysian matriculation. Hoever, since these universities also recognize STPM, and since there are also instances where universities recognize STPM but not matriculation, how can we say that matriculation is of STPM standard (or in the government's claim, STPM is of matriculation standard)? Is this not proof that STPM is a level higher than that of matriculation?

Besides, STPM is said to be one of the most difficult exams in the world, in the same league with exams like the Cambridge A-Levels. So if matriculation is claimed to be of that standard, why doesn't most foreign universities that recognize A-Levels also recognize matriculation, since STPM is of that same league?

The questions remain, yet there is only one truth - matriculation is a dream that is nothing but that. It is a government conspiracy and deliberate ploy to bring in more Bumiputeras to the public universities, and to make Bumiputeras look smart, although at times they aren't.

I'm typing this based on observations made during my STPM years and this observation is shared by many STPM students, some who were my classmates, and some who are from places not in the town of Taiping or the state of Perak. Therefore, for those who wish to flak all this, go ahead, but understand that the fault of all this are not because of the students of the matriculation, but because of the government's implementation of the matriculation system.

#3 Old 07-06-2004 Default

i am going to agree with gohweihan, i scored straight 10A1 but not eligible for matriculation program. More than 20 people in my school score more than 8As and above did not get the matriculation program(all chinese). And our school just one person get the matriculation program, she scored only 7a, 4a1 and 3 a2. Wondered how they selected it??? I heard a lot of rumours said that the matriculation will choose the best bumi students while they will choose average non-bumi students so that the bumi will look smarter. But i am still proud of non-bumi because they consists of 37% of the top students from matriculation last year.
cl86

#4 Old 07-06-2004 Default

Well there are three non-bumis from my school got it. Two of them going to science stream while the other accounting stream. For the science stream, one of them got 11A1 while the other 10A1, 1A2. The one that got accepted into accounting stream only obtained 6A1, 2A2. I think the one in kevinkhoo1986 school that got matriculation is now studying in accounting stream. The requirements for the accounting stream are much lower than science stream if i am not mistaken.
ElansarGelmir Male

#5 Old 07-06-2004 Default

Matriculation doesn't help Malaysia in producing high quality international force labor. In fact, those ppl who graduated from Matriculation will perhaps be able to find jobs in regions in Malaysia. It's nothing international, compared to STPM.

#6 Old 08-06-2004 Default MATRIX?!

Icant deny tt the matri is established especially 4 bumi fren.i got 9a1 but oso failed to get (anyway i dont intend to enter it n waste the place if i m chosen).it is oso the same fate to of my 10As fren.anyway,any matric student can explain bit bout their life n study ?
sorry 4 my offensive word.
chenchow Male
ReComer

#7 Old 08-06-2004 Default

Frankly, I would say that matriculations would provide a more all-round education. I believe that a much higher percentage of students there are involved in activities, mainly due to the fact that it is residential schools. So, a lot of those learning outside of classroom actually happens. You learn as you play with others in the sports hall. You study together, you go through activities together.

The same goes to university. If you want to just learn everything from textbook/notes in school, go to e-learning and learn it all. You can learn from the lecture notes from many of the top unis in the world, be it MIT, Harvard etc... It is the all-round learning and interaction that matter. Those lecture notes are all free of charge available to any internet user, you don't even need to register to use....

#8 Old 08-06-2004 Default

Still doesn't justify the discriminatory practices surrounding the selection of non-bumi students.

Reminder: Hishammudin Tun Hussien announced that matrics would no longer be available to non-bumi students.

Such discriminatory practices are against the national constituition.

Article 153 (8A) - 1980
  • Notwithstanding anything in this Constitution, where in any University, College and other educational institution providing education after Malaysian Certificate of Education or its equivalent, the number of places offered by the authority responsible for the management of the University, College or such educational institution to candidates for any course of study is less than the number of candidates qualified for such places, it shall be lawful for the Yang di-Pertuan Agong by virtue of this Article to give such directions to the authority as may be required to ensure the reservation of such proportion of such places for Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak as the Yank di-Pertuan Agong may deem reasonable, and the authority shall duly comply with the directions.

On the other hand, matrics practices dubious methods of student selection, coupled with the impending ban on non-bumi students, which is against Article 8 of Fed Const.

Article 8
  1. All persons are equal before the law and entitled to the equal protection of the law.
  2. Except as expressly authorized by this Constitution, there shall be no discrimination against citizens on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law relating to the acquisition, holding or disposition of property or the establishing or carrying on of any trade, business, profession, vocation or employment.

By the time BN realises the contradiction in the Fed Const, they would amend it and misled_youth would have nothing to grumble about.

Cermelang, Gemilang dan Terbilang, indeed!
oxm8

#9 Old 09-06-2004 Default matrix

I am a bumi and I entered matrix before I joined Atu5. and sit the 1st seme xam too. what i can tell about matrix?
yup, more than half come from SBP/MRSM........
we have three sem back then, rasa nyer now mcm dah reduce to 2 sem...not sure....but it is one year course.....jimat masa sket....our classes start as early as 8 or 9 am till 5 or 6 pm....an hour break for lunch/brunch/minum ptg....differ ikut your class....i can say u spend about about 6 hours a day go to kuliah/tutorial/lab.....
besides core subject, math,bio,chem,physic (for pure sc stream) you also take BM, one elective (penampilan diri /club), english, agama.......
I can say that matrix is much more easier than STPM or IPTA matrix (before the new gov-rule matrix was introduced).......sbb tulaa UM ada pusat asasi sendiri.......tp skrg pusat asasi UM guna sillibus yg sama dgn matrix gov....
easier sbb we cover less than STPm..most of the time students are using STPM as our buku rujukan....math is just a few additional stuff from Add math SPM :)......
soklan exam selalu nyer hampir sebijik2 dlm buku teks matrix (yup kitorg wajib beli buku teks)......kalo tak sama....just twist sket2.....I know because we usually hafal bulat2 from the text book.....lab counts for about 10-15% of your final grade......

lecturer semua muda2.......because spm/stpm teachers dont want to be matrix lecturer..leceh.........

penanda matrix exam papers are stpm teachers from all over the country....my aunt is one of them......they all meet in one place for a week or so and begin marking.....

it think stpm is much more better.....or let the U conduct their own pre-U......
chenchow Male
ReComer

#10 Old 09-06-2004 Default

misled_youth, in fact, Hishammuddin didn't say non-bumi would not be allowed to enter matrics, but what he was saying is that the quota of 10% would stay and it won't be completely open. I posted the link to the news report after I went through a number of newspaper. I guess one newspaper made the quoted the minister out of context.

Thanks oxm8 for the introduction of matrix. It gives a better understanding of how the program is.
Closed Thread