Career and opportunities Graduated and need help finding a job? You found the right place!

Resume / Curriculum Vitae

chenchow Male
ReComer

#1 Old 25-05-2004 Default Resume / Curriculum Vitae

This is a pretty important aspect of any job application, or applying for anything from conference to other opportunities... So, may be we can have a thread dedicated to it.. where we can talk about how a resume/ CV is good or poor...

I saw this article :-
Click here
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
jacLC

#2 Old 31-05-2005 Default

A resume n vitae can oso b faked. So actually all of those stuff r juz a way of showing u didn eat, study ,& sleep all day long.

Academic performance is still de most crucial part in everything.

#3 Old 01-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by jacLC
A resume n vitae can oso b faked. So actually all of those stuff r juz a way of showing u didn eat, study ,& sleep all day long.

Academic performance is still de most crucial part in everything.
This is not quite true. Yes, grades are important. But you can't really tell how technically competent a person really is through his/her grades. I am not familiar with other fields, but most companies these days do not want to hire fresh grads because of their lack of experience. Getting some experience is probably more important than getting all A's.

That's why doing internships related to your field of study during your undergrad and grad years can be very beneficial. Doing internships will also get your foot in the door with the companies, making it easier to get a job with the companies that you interned with upon graduation.
wccstudent is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 01-06-2005 Default

Chenchow,
can you please post your CV as an example for us?
masdie

#5 Old 01-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by iQing
Chenchow,
you can go to chenchow's homepage. his cv is there. but beware, his cv is loooooooong. if i'm not mistaken, the last update was in jan 2005.
masdie is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 23-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by masdie
Chenchow,
you can go to chenchow's homepage. his cv is there. but beware, his cv is loooooooong. if i'm not mistaken, the last update was in jan 2005.
CV is not supposed to be more than 2 pages long, isn't it?
pandaboy is offline   Reply With Quote

#7 Old 23-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by pandaboy
Originally Posted by masdie
Chenchow,
CV is not supposed to be more than 2 pages long, isn't it?
well... there's no cold and hard rules on CV... u just list what u deem as important... and if it is long, let it be... but if some employers do specify a limit for it, then, u'll have to keep to that limit...
DecentMerson is offline   Reply With Quote
windy_city

#8 Old 23-06-2005 Default

Well there is a convention on resume, for undergrad in US, a resume more than 1 page is asking for your own funeral.
windy_city is offline   Reply With Quote
bunny

#9 Old 23-06-2005 Default

think a resume/cv should not be too long. The HR dept will not spend a lot of time reading through your resume and weeding out the important information.

I think the key idea is not to have everything, but to include only your experiences that you think are valuable to your potential employer and design the structure of your CV/resume such that when your future employer reads it, they will not get a jumble of information, but a coherent idea of what you want your employer to think you are good in and what you will be like as a person and an employee.
bunny is offline   Reply With Quote

#10 Old 23-06-2005 Default

My thoughts:

- Different countries have different standards of resume's

- Cookie-cutter resume's don't make the cut
misled_youth is offline   Reply With Quote