Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships

Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

magtum Female

#1 Old 25-03-2009 Default Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

During JPA application, I had chose "PERUBATAN".
Fortunately, I had been selected for the "PENDEDAHAN KERJAYA SEORANG DOKTOR" programme.
After the fisrt day of the activity, I found out that I was not interest in medicine, it seems too hard for me. And... I didn't complete the pragramme. And i know that this will lower my chance to get JPA.

But, I had been called to attend JPA interview.
What I want to know is
Can I change the course during JPA interview?
magtum is offline   Reply With Quote
seiy Male

#2 Old 25-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

wah..
ur case is too serious..
i dun know.
hehe..
sori..

#3 Old 25-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

i think YES
CCY_to_the_top is offline   Reply With Quote
Cadence_hope Female

#4 Old 25-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

Yeah you can change your course during the interview day. Choose the course you prefer (think seriously) and let the urusetia temuduga know. Do you have the borang pengesahan kehadiran for medic course applicants? I think you can write your choice and reason under the box 'minat' there.
Plz correct me if any of the info is wrong. Because I just heard those from other scholars. Btw I'm also shortlisted for interview and my choice of course is actuarial science.
Cadence_hope is offline   Reply With Quote
p0laris

#5 Old 25-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

probably not...
p0laris is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 25-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

I suppose this should be the reason behind the exposure program - to let people change their options if they find themselves unsuitable for medicine.

By the way I am glad you avoided entering a field that you find unsuitable. Many people chose medicine and end up suffering.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
thomas_hang0000 Male

#7 Old 25-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

On the Interview day, before and after entering the interviewing room, kerani will ask those who take Medicine whether want to change their mind or not (after the Kursus Kerjaya Kedoktoran). If yes, they'll help you.

This only applies to those attended Kursus Kerjaya Kedoktoran.
thomas_hang0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thomas_hang0000 For This Useful Post:
extell

#8 Old 27-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

I haven't heard of the outcome of changing courses during interviews...but it's risky for sure...
If you seriously don't want Medicine, maybe you should be honest.
Many people made that mistake and went for medicine option just because they got a chain of A1s.
It's good that you found out early. Goodluck.

~life as a medic student~
My recipe of failure: A Macbook + internet
extell is offline   Reply With Quote
xellos Male

#9 Old 27-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

Originally Posted by extell View Post
I haven't heard of the outcome of changing courses during interviews...but it's risky for sure...
If you seriously don't want Medicine, maybe you should be honest.
Many people made that mistake and went for medicine option just because they got a chain of A1s.
It's good that you found out early. Goodluck.
It's not risky at all. The purpose of the Program Pendedahan Kerjaya Seorang is allow student to change course in the event of dislike.

#10 Old 27-03-2009 Default Re: Can I change the Course during JPA interview?

i believe that it should be possible, as mentioned by thomas. my friend also told me that the same thing happened to him. he managed to change his course and still clinch the scholarship for his alternative field.
gman is offline   Reply With Quote