Program Tajaan Tambahan 9A SPM 2008

Closed Thread

inadilemma Female

#1 Old 04-06-2009 Default Program Tajaan Tambahan 9A SPM 2008

Hey guys,
i found this on the JPA esila website- Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008. Good news!!!
To us who fail to secure any scholarship, don't lose hope!

I think this scholarship is for those who have obtained 9As and above in SPM 2008. I remember students of SPM 2007 who obtained 9As and above were rewarded this scholarship. To any seniors out there, do correct me if i am wrong.

it will open in mid-June.

but, i have a question in mind, is this scholarship for overseas or local tertiary education?

thanks in advanced!
Super Moderator

#2 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008

If this is still the same as last year, it should be for matriculation and Form 6 students. You can check back last year's thread for more info.

Miracles happen everyday
Cadence_hope Female

#3 Old 05-06-2009 Default Re: Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008

Thank you very much for the info. But why don't you just post the links, instead of copying them all over here?

Here is one question from me in the thread 'appeal jpa 2009' that you can't answer because vseehua closed the thread.

Thank you very much for your suggestion. But do those foreign campuses and AIMST offer ANY course you like? For example, actuarial science seems not in their list of courses. Do correct me if I made any mistake..
superdupree Female

#4 Old 05-06-2009 Default Re: Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008

Originally Posted by Cadence_hope View Post
Thank you very much for the info. But why don't you just post the links, instead of copying them all over here?

Here is one question from me in the thread 'appeal jpa 2009' that you can't answer because vseehua closed the thread.
Hey. Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't know how to quote all the posts i posted on all the threads. Not exactly a very internet savvy person. And crap, now my age and hometown is known by all @.@

Well, to be honest, not ALL types of courses are availabe in all the unis. For example, actuarial science. I don't think any private uni in Malaysia offers that course. So I guess for all of you who failed in the appeal and is interested in doing actuary, you will have to either go thru form 6 or matrix. And then enter one of our local uni.

#5 Old 05-06-2009 Default Re: Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008

Originally Posted by superdupree View Post
Hey. Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't know how to quote all the posts i posted on all the threads. Not exactly a very internet savvy person. And crap, now my age and hometown is known by all @.@

Well, to be honest, not ALL types of courses are availabe in all the unis. For example, actuarial science. I don't think any private uni in Malaysia offers that course. So I guess for all of you who failed in the appeal and is interested in doing actuary, you will have to either go thru form 6 or matrix. And then enter one of our local uni.
Well, you can just post the link and remove the whole text actually.. And since you put your age and hometown in your profile everyone can see them isn't it?

One thing I must correct you is, there are more private universities providing actuarial science than the one of public universities. For example, AUP at Taylor's, INTI, Sunway and Nilai University College. Now I'm studying at inti majoring actuarial science though..
chele

#6 Old 06-06-2009 Default Re: Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Undergraduate

Hey Zwitterion. thanks alot for all the infos!! =D
However,earlier i sent an enquiry via email regarding this scholarship to both the Pengarah (tajudin.don) as well as the Tan Sri but they didnt reply me till now =(

should i just send my application through snail mail? whom shall i address the letter to?
Athersin

#7 Old 06-06-2009 Default Re: Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008

do we need to send our pre u result to JPA ?

what is the difference of that tajaan and JPA PIDN?? i dun really get it ..@@

#8 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: Program Tajaan Tambahan 9A SPM 2008

Thread split out again. Sorry for my confusion...

sugarspice Female

#9 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: Program Penajaan Tambahan Pelajar 9A SPM 2008

Haha, good that JPA is continuing this tajaan this year.

The official announcement is on JPA website, follow this link. You will see that under 'Permohonan Atas Talian'.

Yes, it's true that this scholarship is opened for students who got 9As and above in SPM 2008. Most, if not all 9As+ scorers will get it.

Here are some details about this scholarship (as in what happened last year):

1. It will be opened in mid-June, as stated in the eSila website. It closes quite soon, so be quick.

2. You will need to apply online. "borang permohonan dalam talian yang dimuat turun, decetak dan dihantar melalui pos tidak akan diproses" And then you print out sth called Slip Permohonan Penajaan Tambahan SPM 2008.

Last year JPA did asked us to send in some documents (via pos laju of sorts), like a certified photocopy of SPM results and siblings's I/C (I wonder what's the use of sibling's I/C...lol) etc.

CCA and ECA certs are not needed.

But for last year, some of my friends did not even send ANYTHING to JPA but they still got it. So, I guess sending in the docs is just a formality. The most important thing is you need to apply online.

3. The offer letter of this scholarship will be sent in bulk (there will be many many scholars) to your school. So you don't have to sit at home and wait like PILN...lol. You will need to sign a contract & a surat penerimaam/penolakan.

If you already got other biasiswa/tajaan, like Biasiswa Persekutuan kecil, you can either choose this JPA or your biasiswa. You cannot hold both.

But if you're a matrix student, you will still either get your matrix allowance or this one.

4. The amount of scholarship is counted from May 2009 to Nov 2010 (18 months). It might change this year, I duno.

RM110 per month for Science students
RM90 per month for Arts students

So, total is

RM 110 x 18 = RM 1980 for Science students
RM 90 x 18 = RM1620 for Arts students

You will most probably be asked to open a bank Islam account. JPA will give you an account number by calling you (some of my friends did not receive any calls from JPA though), and with that account number you will need to go to Bank Islam and 'buka account'. If you did not receive any call, don't worry. Just head to the nearest Bank Islam and tell them you wanna buka account for this Tajaan JPA and they will tell you what to do. This will happen around late january next year.

The most you can take out from the bank is RM1962 (for Sc students), the rest will go to ATM card and other bank services.

5. This scholarship is actually called Biasiswa Persekutuan Program Penajaan Tambahan Tahun 2009 JPA (Tingkatan 6/Matrix)

And it will be continued if you get an offer from any IPTA or IPTS recognised by JPA upon graduating from form6/matrix and with a minimun of 4 Bs in STPM/ matrix. By that time you need to apply online again. But whether or not JPA is going to support your tuition fees I don't know.

In our year, recognised IPTS were Nottingham, Monash, Swinburne and Curtin. Some said MMU, UTP and UNITEN are also included. Not sure.

Oh yeah, this sponsorship only applies for undergraduate studies 'dalam negara'. That means even you're enrolled in Nottingham/Monash, you cannot transfer to UK/Aussie main campus. You have to finish your degree here.

6. Some syarat-syarat asas: (copied from the handbook last yr)

warganegara Msia

not exceeding 20 yrs old on 31 December 2009

at least an A2 in Bhs Melayu, Sejarah and P Islam/Moral and any 6 of the subjects below
physics, chemistry,biology,maths, additional maths, English 1119 (not GCE O), Accounts, Perdagangan, P Keusahawanan, Ekonomi Asas, EST, Geografi, IT, Bhs Arab Tinggi, Bhs Arab Kuminikasi, Tasawur Islam, P Seni

healthy, not having critical diseases

got offered a place to do form6/matrix

I guess that's about it. Goodluck. Feel free to ask questions here. =)

Last edited by sugarspice; 08-06-2009 at 05:59 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to sugarspice For This Useful Post:
Athersin

#10 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: Program Tajaan Tambahan 9A SPM 2008

for matric students, it is counted like this:

Science and acc: RM 1250 (June 2008- April 2009) This is what apply to me last year.The amount given is exactly the same as matric allowances!

We have to choose either receiving this tajaan or matric allowance..either one.
ya, u can continue to apply after finish matric, going to 1st degree at IPTA.
but i wonder , how much the allowance given per month for undergradute one?
It will open around mid JUne?