ReCom.org
Portal Page Forum Wiki Social Groups Scholarship Holders Infobase Site Map About
Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate

Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

Studying Economics for a Bachelor's degree

frostbyte13 Male
Slightly Senior Member

#1 Old 18-06-2011 Default Studying Economics for a Bachelor's degree

Hi, as the title implies, I was hoping to get some starting points on the know-hows of studying economics. I am currently in my Cambridge A-level, taking Economics, Maths, Chemistry and Physics, and have only sat of my institution's internal exams. I have not sat for my AS trials or my actual AS, as I am a January intake student. So, basically my questions are as the following :

1. I don't plan to study overseas, but I will consider twinning. My A-level results won't really help me get a place in any IPTA. So, I need to ask, which local private institution offers a good economics degree ? Prefer to know about those under external degree programs by overseas universities.

2. I have set my secondary option as Singapore. Which is a reputable university I can study in for a degree in economics ? And will my Cambridge A-level be enough as the entry requirements ? Scholarship info would also be useful.

3. Is the difference between a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Arts in Economics really significant ? In another forum, I was told both have almost equal exposure to the needed mathematics for studying Economics, with the former emphasizing more in order to study Econometric.

4. Are the prospects of an Economics degree profitable in Malaysia ? Or will I need to seriously consider working in the public sector or even overseas ?

5. Are there any seniors in this forum who has taken or are undergoing a degree in Economics ? I would like to ask you guys personally the experience of studying it

Thanks
frostbyte13 is offline   Reply With Quote